User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 137 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 137
  2. Negative: 13 out of 137

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 1, 2014
    6
    Cliched and traditional in its romance, Love and Other Drugs benefits from Anne Hathaway and Jake Gyllenhaal who are powerhouses together. The film isn't perfect, but somehow that's alright.
  2. Aug 21, 2014
    7
    This movie got average reviews but it's a normal thing, generally sex comedy or romance comedy or just comedy don't get good reviews because of the obvious reason they are not serious stuff which should be taken seriously..!! LOL
    .
    But i think different, i find the story, the massage, the sex, the comedy, the love everything a little above average because my expectations from a romantic
    is comedy is almost fulfilled by this movie. Expand
  3. Oct 15, 2013
    7
    I'm very surprised with Jake Gyllenhaal. When he was young he was very scrawny but now he is really hot. Gyllenhaal and Hathaway have very chemistry. In "Brokeback Mountain" you could watch but Brokeback Mountain story is totally different to "Love and Other Drugs". Hathaway is fine in this role and Gyllenhaal, wow he is great. "Love and Othe Drugs" is a cool love movie it is not unusual but it's perfect for a good time. Expand
  4. Feb 27, 2013
    3
    The film starts out acceptably but slips continuously into the realm of the average American rom-com and continues to lower itself with every misguided or half-hearted attempt to be inspirational until it becomes truly unbearable.
  5. Dec 28, 2012
    5
    Love and Other Drugs lacks a true identity; it has the sex/nudity of a raunchy teen comedy, but the emotion/drama of a romantic dramedy. Respectable as it is, the film never finds the balance that humors, as well as touches the audience. Gyllenhaal and Hathaway are terrific, they both give solid performances. The rest of the film is really likable as well, except Josh Gad, who plays Jake Gyllenhaal's brother. The character was completely useless and irritating. Other than that, I thought this was a good film despite it not being as unique as it tried to be. Expand
  6. Jan 19, 2012
    6
    This is not one of the all-time greats but, I highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys and appreciates the growth and development of great talent. With your two stars you have two great actors as they are just starting to reach their prime. For this reason alone, this move is worth making time to watch.

    The story was weak. Much of it was filled with distractions and poorly developed
    ideas. It could not decide on whether it was a love story, an indictment of "big-pharm", a comedy, a drama, or a pseudo-documentary of what it is like to love someone who is terminally ill. Regardless, worth seeing for the acting performances of its stars. Expand
  7. Jan 7, 2012
    6
    A bit torn to decide what I think of this one: On one hand, a sensitive subject handled tactfully with a handful of funny moments. On the other hand, and I do not believe I am saying that, a lot of unnecessary nudity sometimes felt more like a mashup of three or four different movies.
  8. Dec 29, 2011
    7
    I don't get why this movie is situated in comedy, romance. It's a romantic film, that's for sure, but it's not a comedy, definitely not. This movie has a great long start and a 'normal-expected' ending. The plot was a little bit disapointing, but this is forgiven because of the great acting by Jake Gyllenhaal and Anne Hathaway. These two actors did a very good job, I really believed their story. Good film, but it could have been better with a little script changing Expand
  9. Dec 23, 2011
    4
    It has lots of things that could have been great. With an interesting story and remarkable Viagra-Parkinson's backdrop, "Love and Other Drugs" could have been a great film. However, the romantic comedy aspect of it came in the way. I just cannot emphasise how much the predictable "romantic comedy" aspect of the film, ends up ultimately hurting the film. With a cliched story, predictable dialogues, and horrible horrible soundtrack (every time Gyllenhaal and Hathaway have a "romantic" moment, the same annoying song starts - oh.my.god. someone kill the composer/director). It is, as many have pointed out, refreshingly sexual and liberated in many ways, which is positive for Hollywood films, and its Parkinson's aspect is done tastefully. That much I can give it. However, overall, the film does not quite live up to its potential, being ultimately sunk by the heavy baggage that a romantic comedy has to carry with it. 4/10 Expand
  10. Dec 13, 2011
    0
    This movie is simply embarrassing to watch, and must be the low point in both Gyllenhaal's and Hathaway's careers. Hard to understand why they would agree to act out this utter nonsense...
  11. Nov 15, 2011
    6
    A decent movie with a cast that delivered superb performances. A little eerie as LaOD starts off all steamy, but ends with a disturbing unsatisfying twist.
  12. Oct 13, 2011
    9
    This movie focused on the girl who would have sex and avoid emotional commitment due to her personal emotional reasons of being unstable. She ends up falling in love with this guy who was suppose to be a one night stand. The movie focuses on sex as an outlet of emotional anxiety and as well unravels the turmoils of being diseased and believing no one will love you because of it. I was left quite entertained throughout and it was a good change to the commonly anticipated romantic comedies. Expand
  13. Sep 27, 2011
    6
    The movie is very cliched and skimmed, but however Edward Zwick's "Love and Other Drugs" still presents us the powerful, spellbinding chemistry between Jake and Ann.
  14. j30
    Sep 20, 2011
    4
    I wish Lucuna, Inc existed so I could erase this horrible romantic comedy out of my mind. The characters are thin and the plot is manipulatively stupid.
  15. Sep 17, 2011
    0
    A complete and total WASTE of my time. Unfortunately it was the movie my girlfriends picked for girl movie night, if I was in a theater seeing it, I would have left within the first half hour. The whole thing was porn.
  16. May 31, 2011
    9
    One of the best Rated R romantic comedies for guys and girls that I've ever seen. Very touching and heart-felt film. Anne Hathaway gives a beautiful performance (and this movie elevates her to an A-list actress in my opinion). And, it's rare that the storyline is the best part of a movie, but with this film it is, as you understand and truly share and experience the characters' love, struggles, and motivations. Expand
  17. May 29, 2011
    6
    The movie has its charm there, even though the story is well water with sugar. When the story begins, we do not know exactly what direction it will take. She will talk about two people who decide to have sex without commitment? Will do a critique of the pharmaceutical industry? Give hope to those suffering from Parkinson's disease? Among these and other questions, only one certainty: Anne Hathaway plays very well. Can move from comic to tragic way sooo convincing. It is the star of the new decade. As the 80 were Michelle Pfeiffer, the 90 of the 2000 Julia Roberts and Angelina Jolie, as of now it's time to shine as Anne Hathaway's diva. Expand
  18. Apr 18, 2011
    4
    If I had watched this movie a year later than it was set, 1997, I would have probably liked it a bit more as the viagra jokes and the fat IT geek brother comedic relief (or something like that!) would have probably fared a tad bit better. just a tad bit. However today it is simply tiresome, tasteless even. Hatheway-Gylenhall scenes feel contrived, scenes where one of them is missing feel even worse, Platt and Azaria's talents inelegantly wasted in brainless monologues with what looks like Gylenhall's life-size cardboard cutout right next to them throughout. All of these traits of weak movie making is attempted to be masked by uncalled nudity which really doesn't add anything, except to maybe appreciate two young actors in their physical prime. I really couldn't figure out why those two would agree to walk around in the nude in a movie where the script already leaves their characters naked and barren of any insight or originality. Expand
  19. Mar 15, 2011
    5
    Love and Other Drugs is both refreshingly sexual and a big statement to victim of Parkinson's disease. However, the film's lack of identity -- unfunny gags and rom-com cliches -- remind us how remarkable it could've been.
  20. Mar 12, 2011
    5
    "The leads and chemistry are good , Jake Gyllenhall and Anne Hathaway prove to be a good match , but with the over - obsessed dialouge and the real depressing back story. I really could not find any enjoyment out of this film , other than some minor laughs , its long run time makes it worse , but its ok as a date movie" .. B-
  21. Feb 6, 2011
    10
    Edward Zwick's "Love & Other Drugs" is typical rom-com flare seriously upgraded thanks to a surprisingly adult outlook when it comes to romance instead of using the typical romantic comedy stereotypes such as the bicker till they kiss romance plot line seen in " The Ugly Truth", "You've Got Mail", "Life as we know it". It does not sink to the conventional needs to tell a compelling and surprisingly fast paced love story about two people who do not want to get tied down by commitment. This films explores something that has become a very hot topic in romantic films as of lately they explore the aspect of a relationship without the relationship part no strings attached, no feelings just good sex and just sex but as anyone who has ever loved someone you know that you cannot keep it simple because eve if you keep the relationship just about sex sooner or later one or both involved is going to start forming some kind of attachment to the other person involved in this illicit act. The one thing that helped this film from sinking from above average romantic dramedy to sex comedy is the fine screenplay by Edward Zwick, Charles Randolph and Marshall Herskovitz they don't condescend or play off some of the more overly sentimental in the audience they wisely choose to have the film start out simple and gradually find its dramatic footing as you get in deeper into this films romantic story of fast talking, smooth operator Jamie Randall(Jake Gyllenhaal) and his no strings attached romance with free spirited sexually uninhibited Maggie Murdock(Anne Hathaway). When you first meet Jamie he works at a electronics store and it seems that Jamie is very good at what he does he has the charm to get anyone he comes into contact with in the store to not leave empty handed and he has the looks and the sex appeal to get any women he wants no matter who they are. Everything seems to be good for Jamie that is until he gets offered a job as a pharmaceutical representative for Pfizer pharmaceuticals. from then on everything changes for Jamie in the best and worst possible way he finds his main purpose in life as a slick pharmaceutical salesman he also finds that he now has an endless list of women that he can sack and leave behind if he chooses so. That is until he meets Maggie who isn't looking for anything serious Jamie thinks he isn't looking for anything serious either but deep down inside everyone even players like Jamie Randall sooner or later have to admit that when it comes to love there is no easy way, there is no keeping it simple because when it comes to love it is not simple or easy but there are those rare instances that it is definitely worth the trouble that it can bring with it .






    "Love and Other Drugs" is one of the sharpest , one of the most intelligent and possible one of the sexiest romantic dramedies I have ever seen. This is a quick witted fast paced film in its first half as you watch young Jamie skyrocket up the working ladder from electronic salesman to pharmaceutical salesman making a killing in the sales world and in the sack (which is not bad by male standards). But deep inside you know that Jamie is a hopeless romantic at heart even though he tries to keep it simple with Maggie he can not help himself by falling in love with her it is the way of life. You can not avoid love no matter how hard you try because when you least expect it love happens. "Love and Other Drugs" is the intelligent moviegoers romantic film, a film that does not condescend or play games with you it is straightforward with the audience even when its characters are not with each other, this is a fine example of how a true romantic film should be made(writers in Hollywood take note) "Love and Other Drugs" is a fine film and one of the years best romantic dramedies. I enjoyed this nice little surprise of a film immensely and I will be truthful with you I have never had this much fun watching a romantic film since I saw "Last Chance Harvey"(and that wasn't to long ago either) this truly a great picture and a true testament that love can never uncomplicated but if you ignore it the more complicated it can become, sometimes you just have to give into the feelings and try to make the best out of everyday of your life even if it won't always be easy.
    Expand
  22. Feb 6, 2011
    6
    The story is pretty basic, a guy that's very popular with the ladies falls in love with the only girl that rejects him, and that also has a disease. The whole thing seems to continuously bark at the same tree and how the girl is afraid to start the relationship, which kinda becomes annoying and irrelevant at times. The lines aren't that well put together and the story is pretty linear, however the acting is very good. I wouldn't say it's a bad movie but neither a good one. Expand
  23. Jan 18, 2011
    3
    This was a sad excuse for a movie and I cannot believe the hype that surrounds it. It simply bored me to tears. Can't a girl enjoy a decent chick-flick anymore?
  24. Jan 15, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The mix between comedy and drama is great. The plot of the movie makes it a drama (and most viewers don't like to see drama in theaters) but comedia scenes make fun and entertaining. Anne Hathaway and Jake Gyllenhaal correctly interpreted their roles: a sick woman and a seductive man. It's a movie that you see in the theater. Expand
  25. Jan 10, 2011
    9
    i think this is the best chick flick i have seen in a long while.. it hit home for me, but thats not why i am saying it was a great movie. call your girlfriend over snugglle up on the couch and sit back and enjoy.
  26. Jan 9, 2011
    2
    Bad, bad, bad movie. sorry to see talented actors (Hathaway, Gyllenhaal, Platt, Azaria) in such a tasteless, unfunny, predictable "romantic comedy". Total waste of time and money.
  27. Jan 5, 2011
    10
    Love and Other Drugs is simply great. It is not definitely movie of the year, but it is also not the worst movie. I really like Jake and Anne, and they did a great job with this movie, but it has too mush sex scenes, it would be much better that not have it at every 10 minutes. Still, some of you say that this movie is bad, some that is great, for me it is not bad at all, but it could be much better. Expand
  28. Dec 26, 2010
    5
    Despite charming performances from its leads, it ultimately can't overcome wild shifts in tone and quite possibly some of the worst and most laughably bad musical cues in any film of the last decade.
  29. Dec 20, 2010
    4
    The romance in this movie was its most compelling element, but the acting and casting was a stretch. Jake G doesn't play the d-bag well enough to believe he could be reformed and Josh Gad was way over the top with the comic relief.
  30. Dec 17, 2010
    7
    I thought this was a great re-telling of an oft-told story, and well acted. We kind of knew where it was going to go the entire movie, but story and acting were so good that they kept me engaged. Both these actors are really super and had great chemistry together.
  31. Dec 10, 2010
    10
    I was actually upset when I saw the horrible reviews on here. I really enjoyed this movie, I thought it took your classic romantic comedy and added nudity, raw humor and depth. The illness made you get deeper into the film and Jake's brother in the movie was hilarious. Jake's character was witty and fun to watch and he played it well (so it wasn't one of his deepest films but so what!) Yes, there was a decent amount of nudity but I'm sorry the only people that are going to be upset about that is middle aged or older people. I'm a 21 year old female and my boyfriend and I both loved it. It was not so called "pornographic" it fit the characters and was done tastefully. I would see it again for sure. Expand
  32. Dec 10, 2010
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Remember the commercials for Reeces Peanut Butter Cups(circa late-seventies) that ran on those long ago Saturday mornings in between the bad Hanna-Barbara cartoons, the ones which accentuated the recombination of peanut butter and chocolate like it was an alchemy for the ages? The two advocates for their respective goodies would bump into each other, then with mock outrage, offer up this exchange: "You got your chocolate in my peanut butter," and so on. "Love and Other Drugs", adapted from the Jamie Reidy memoir "Hard Sell: The Evolution of a Viagra Salesman" is kind of like a Reeces Peanut Butter Cup; it's a mishmash of seemingly disparate ingredients, in which raunchy drollery collides with earnest histrionics, all under a timeshare tent pole that also houses social satire and romantic comedy to boot. At one end of the filmic spectrum, you have a scene where Jamie(Jake Gylenhaal), a pharmaceutical salesman with a "swinging d*ck", catching his younger brother Josh(Josh Gad) in the middle of some sexy "me time" with a a naughty video that the Phizer rep had made with his Parkinson's-riddled girlfriend Maggie(Anne Hathaway). And on the other end, you have the sequence in which the Stage One beauty discovers other Parkinson's survivors at a smaller convention, an encounter group, really, across the street from the official event she was attending with Jamie. The heartfelt testimonies, both funny and poignant, delivered by those afflicted with the degenerative disorder(that wrecks havoc on the central nervous system), deserve to be in a that deals with the illness on a full-time basis. Jamie, an agent for both the "peanut butter" and the "chocolate", is employed by the filmmaker extemporaneously to point out this imperfect fit, when the salesman(lacking the proper gravitas, as does this atonal film) chooses not to take a seat alongside Maggie, while the weightiness of the mass catharsis plays out. How can we take Jamie seriously after watching him with Josh? Back in the convention hall, Jamie bides his time at the refreshment table, the husband of a Stage Four patient confronts the partner in crime(peanut butter role)/sick girl's rock(chocolate role) with the lowdown on what to expect in the not-too-distant future. The husband likens the effects of the disease to a Russian novel. It's this forewarning, so full of tortured, unflinchingly honest words about the limits to love, which renders the climax, typical of all romantic comedies, where the man declares his love in some overdramatic and self-deprecating fashion, usually in public(thankfully, Maggie drives, not flies to Canada: no airports), as being even more factitious than normal. Inspired by Maggie's videotaped drivel, Jamie knows! JUST KNOWS!!! Maggie is the one, prompting Jamie to burn rubber on the freeway so he can flag down the bus. Showing more restraint than most, Jamie coaxes Maggie off the bus, out of earshot from the other passengers, before he tears into his overblown speech, the kind that typifies the rom-com genre, which is supposed to leave not a dry eye in the house. Sometimes it works(Cameron Crowe's "Say Anything"), sometimes it doesn't(every movie since), as in the case here. While Jamie summarizes the notion that they should live for today in a language that Tarzan would understand("You. Us. This."), the laundry list of Parkinson's-related complications conveyed by the exhausted husband at the drug summit, systematically kills the fantasy of unconditional love that these rom-coms peddle on the moviegoers. As a result of the film's unexpected detour into docu-drama(the "Un-Convention" sequence recalls Todd Haynes' "Safe"), the happy-ever-after fallacy seems all the more naive. Worst of all, Jamie quits Phizer and applies to med school, which implies that Jamie will concoct the pill that will cure the disease. "Love and Other Drugs" shamelessly co-opts the disease as a vehicle to redeem an incorrigible p*ssy hound. Anne Hathaway almost makes this film work in spite of itself. Expand
  33. Dec 8, 2010
    1
    This movie was a complete waste of time. Hathaway could have done better and the story was long and drawn out. Too much sex.. Good grief. We get the picture. The ending was weak but the boy learned the planet did not revolve around him.
  34. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    I saw this movie and I cannot believe such great talent was wasted on this pornographic movie. We got the message at the first nudity and sexual encounter, but it went on and on and on at every 10 to 15 minutes. If I had wanted to see porn I would have gone to an X rated movie. I thought that with these two great actors that they would have used a little bit of discretion before agreeing to produce such trash. It could have been a beautiful love story, but lost me with all the foul language and nudity. Expand
  35. Dec 3, 2010
    9
    This movie was great. The more I think about it in retrospect, the more I appreciate the portrayal of the intimacy expressed in this film. The nudity was well-done, and not gratuitous in the least. Jake and Anne did a great job becoming "real people" and not just characters. See this movie and enjoy the beauty of a real relationship.
  36. Nov 28, 2010
    5
    A average story, with a little humor and more unresolved disease and illness. It is difficult to believe the movie was only rated R, as we were 'treated' to lots of nudity, including the entire Anne Hathaway in action, along with Jake Gyllenhaal. Further scenes (at a Hollywood sex party) were also quite graphic and a bit disgusting. The sex scenes were no erotic, but hey were explicit, leaving very little to the imagination of even the most inexperienced. If any one arrived familiar with all he anatomy involved, and how the process worked, before seeing this movie, there would be little left to explain to them after they had seen it ... definitely not a film for younger audiences. Expand
  37. Nov 27, 2010
    2
    Sorry this did not do it for me at all.
    I really thought it was a bad story.
    Nothing made sense.
    So what if they were naked throughout the movie. It was really bad.
    Do not waste your time or money on this one...trust me.
  38. Nov 27, 2010
    5
    This is NOT a romantic comedy, because there's not much funny. It starts that way, but moves into Hallmark territory with the addition of a chronic disease (conveniently left out of the ads). Jake Gyllenhaal plays a player, who charms the ladies, as he hawks his pharmaceuticals. His game is trumped when he meets charming Anne Hathaway. The plot follows predictable paths with the exception of the aforementioned complication. The chemistry between the two attractive leads bolsters the average writing, but the supporting characters add little life. An average chick flick. Expand
  39. Nov 25, 2010
    5
    I think the Metascore is right on for this one. Hathaway is tremendous, but Jake's role is not written with enough depth to keep me interested in him. His brother, however, is hilarious, and Oliver Platt is excellent as usual. It just seems that too many people had their hands in writing and re-writing this sucker. The original vision was just far too watered down.
  40. Nov 24, 2010
    9
    Love And Other Drugs was generally as expected - a cute, romantic story with the beautiful Anne Hathaway and dashing Jake Gyllenhaal. While it did seem to skip around somewhat, it's not nearly as severe and incomprehensibly scattered as a lot of critics are making it seem; Essentially, it could have had a better story flow, but what they had was still something you can follow and watch just fine. The amount of nudity is also something that seems to be exaggerated. The sex scenes and nudity were fairly "graphic", but not nearly to the point where it made myself, my boyfriend, or our friends feel uncomfortable. It fit the character, so it really didn't seem out of place. The film also had some great laugh-out-loud moments, especially between Jamie's occasional outbursts and his brother's socially-underdeveloped ramblings. Is it the best movie of 2010? No. Does it deserve more credit than critics seem to be giving? Yes, I think so. 9/10, would see again. Expand
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 38
  2. Negative: 4 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Dec 13, 2010
    50
    While Hathaway and Gyllenhaal have good chemistry, and director Edward Zwick moves the narrative along nicely, the film is too self-satisfied to be genuinely touching.
  2. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Dec 13, 2010
    60
    The film definitely gets it up, but has some commitment issues.
  3. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Dec 13, 2010
    63
    Zwick's "Once and Again" and "Thirtysomething" portrayed emotion more honestly than many TV shows of their time. But in Love and Other Drugs, he unevenly weds the satirical and the sentimental.