Universal Pictures | Release Date: July 25, 2014
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 986 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
609
Mixed:
218
Negative:
159
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
FuturedirectorJul 17, 2016
Scarlet Johanson and Luc Besson's enthusiastic work makes Lucy smart and thrilling, but at the end, it exaggerates with it's unremarkable stunts and undeniably flawed characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
HotelCentralJan 31, 2017
One of the best films I've ever seen. Yes, there's a lot of action, but if you're only into films for the action then this isn't the film for you. You need to have some appreciation for psycho-babble and pseudo-philosophy and questionsOne of the best films I've ever seen. Yes, there's a lot of action, but if you're only into films for the action then this isn't the film for you. You need to have some appreciation for psycho-babble and pseudo-philosophy and questions about just what the heck are human beings supposed to be doing with their various talents and abilities. And what if all this science fictiony stuff turns out to be more or less true? If you can go with the flow and see where it leads you'll like this film. If you've got very narrow definitions that guide your every waking moment then do yourself a favor and look for a film that's more conventional. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ScraperJan 14, 2017
Whether or not the science adds up, or the heavy point comes across and shatters your windows of reality, Lucy had some genuine things to say. The action was great. The entire picture kept moving rapidly. I was coming off some veryWhether or not the science adds up, or the heavy point comes across and shatters your windows of reality, Lucy had some genuine things to say. The action was great. The entire picture kept moving rapidly. I was coming off some very slow-burning films so the frequent cuts and ambitiousness of Lucy were a welcome change of pace. The cerebral points of this science fiction don't always land, but nevertheless, I suspended my disbelief and didn't want to stop. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DanBurritoOct 3, 2016
Lucy is utterly bonkers and sometimes cheesey, but Scarlet Johansson's charisma and Luc Besson's stylish direction make it an enjoyable action-thriller despite its flaws. I will say that certain viewers are likely to be annoyed by theLucy is utterly bonkers and sometimes cheesey, but Scarlet Johansson's charisma and Luc Besson's stylish direction make it an enjoyable action-thriller despite its flaws. I will say that certain viewers are likely to be annoyed by the implausibility of the plot, but viewers looking for a purely entertaining ride should be satisfied. The action is pretty solid, as are the performances and visuals. Johansson makes for a strong leading lady, and the movie does have pretty interesting themes about how the fabric of reality could be altered as we develop. Overall, silliness aside, Lucy rises on the strength of its star and stylishness to become a wildly entertaining ride with plenty of fun. 7/10. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
tethysdustSep 21, 2016
I'll admit it was a bit fun, but the premise was completely nonsensical. I kind of hope this is the last movie we see that relies heavily on the "only using 10% of your brain" myth. The special effects were nice, but the story was silly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
night4Jul 2, 2016
I expected more of the cool action, but it was surprisingly rare.

What I got instead was schizophrenic at times, and aimless at other times. Morgan Freeman barely serves a purpose in the movie. The ending is abrupt and unsatisfying.
I expected more of the cool action, but it was surprisingly rare.

What I got instead was schizophrenic at times, and aimless at other times. Morgan Freeman barely serves a purpose in the movie. The ending is abrupt and unsatisfying. It's still watchable, I guess.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
VickimageJun 10, 2016
This is one of the best popcorn films of recent times - a very tight 85 or so minutes which is refreshing after all the bloated two-and-a-half hour superhero films we've had to endure lately. Luc Besson has let his imagination run free andThis is one of the best popcorn films of recent times - a very tight 85 or so minutes which is refreshing after all the bloated two-and-a-half hour superhero films we've had to endure lately. Luc Besson has let his imagination run free and the result is an action movie where you genuinely don't know what is going to happen next. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
BarnyJun 6, 2016
How to characterise this production? Well it is simple: Scarlett Johansson plays the role of Scarlett Johansson: she is frail at the beginning but still a good (sic) person inside, gains powers and flickers her pretty eyes... Morgan FreemanHow to characterise this production? Well it is simple: Scarlett Johansson plays the role of Scarlett Johansson: she is frail at the beginning but still a good (sic) person inside, gains powers and flickers her pretty eyes... Morgan Freeman talks low, in a deep an suave tone, about stuff which do not make any sense if your brain is good enough to pass the 3rd grade. Jean-Luc Besson does what Jean-Luc Besson does best: ergo Jean-Luc Besson semi action/sci-fi flick. Apart from that, is is a poor production where the "magic" (I do not dare say sci-fi) element comes from pills which are concentrated "women powers" (sic) (and there is no pun intended, it is truly what is served to the audience). The rest of the movie is a pointless chase ending tragically (as the majority of the audience is banging its head on a wall). If you can totally disconnect your brain for 90 minutes and perform the equivalent of a Men In Black mind wipe then go for it, otherwise please be aware the plot holes and other issues may haunt you for quite some time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
nightblade00May 14, 2016
One day a struggling screenwriter took some mushrooms, and while watching The Shawshank Redemption, started a script about a girl who takes the blue meth from breaking bad and it turns her into an emotionless metaphysical superhero.

The
One day a struggling screenwriter took some mushrooms, and while watching The Shawshank Redemption, started a script about a girl who takes the blue meth from breaking bad and it turns her into an emotionless metaphysical superhero.

The result was Lucy.

Its not very good.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
phildogApr 24, 2016
Honest to god, I think the only reason people aren't ripping this film apart was because Scarjo is in it. Don't get me wrong, she does okay, but the film itself is bloody terrible. It lacks any basic consistency of what she can do, herHonest to god, I think the only reason people aren't ripping this film apart was because Scarjo is in it. Don't get me wrong, she does okay, but the film itself is bloody terrible. It lacks any basic consistency of what she can do, her personality, or the personality of any of the other characters. VFX were brilliant though, but the best thing I can say about this movies is it was over quickly and that isn't much. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
knowmoviesnoseApr 17, 2016
Okay... "Lucy;" i.e. "Lucifer" terribly trying to cover up a plot that is completely hinged on darkness and light, and if anyone wants to buy that feeble attempt at the end where Lucy and the monkey touch fingers, which I don't think is inOkay... "Lucy;" i.e. "Lucifer" terribly trying to cover up a plot that is completely hinged on darkness and light, and if anyone wants to buy that feeble attempt at the end where Lucy and the monkey touch fingers, which I don't think is in homage to E.T. (lol, kidding) but to the painting of Adam to His creator, then this is just plain mockery to God in every way. I give it a two b/c I doubt I'll every give a movie a zero or for that matter a one, so this is about as low as it gets for me unless absolutely no thought, effects, or anything is put into it at all. The silly thing is that humans do use 100 percent of our brains, we just only use about 10% at a time because our brain has so many different functionality to access - it's like saying that cooking and mathematics and sex can all be done at once perfectly when they require different parts of our stimuli and brain, so the concept is half-hearted at best with a huge splash of blaspheme. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
SpangleApr 16, 2016
I did not care about the science portion of this. It's a movie, so who cares? What did bother me, however, was just how dumb the rest of it was. An interesting premise turned into something I cannot quite place my finger on. The specialI did not care about the science portion of this. It's a movie, so who cares? What did bother me, however, was just how dumb the rest of it was. An interesting premise turned into something I cannot quite place my finger on. The special effects were cool, but as she gained brainpower, it seemed like she just learned how to create special effects with her eyes more than anything else. The film is stylish and pretty classic Luc Besson in its exploration of heady ideas and a greater purpose, but the film thinks it is way smarter than it actually is as it tries to answer the questions behind our existence and evolution. However, it is clear that the strategy the film opted for in this regard is to throw everything it had at a wall and see what stuck. Not much sticks, but it did deliver pretty visuals and fun action. As far as turn your brain off blockbusters go, Lucy could be worse, but it is quite the no brainer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeFeb 4, 2016
Lucy is history-making at history's best. Despite the movie getting cut down by unnecessary parts, it's 2014's juiciest action/history movie everyone's ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
benbuttbusterJan 22, 2016
This is the stupidest movie ever. Worst one yet. If you think this is an intelligent or good movie, please kill yourself. You deserve to die. You are scum. 10/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MeritCobaDec 28, 2015
No reason or rhyme slows down this movie that has Scarlett Johanson overdose on a new synthetic drug that boosts the usage of her brain above that of the ordinary human and thus unlocks untold superhero powers and a personality change toNo reason or rhyme slows down this movie that has Scarlett Johanson overdose on a new synthetic drug that boosts the usage of her brain above that of the ordinary human and thus unlocks untold superhero powers and a personality change to boot: Scarlett goes from an interesting trashy lady to boring cold calculating **** in a matter of minutes.

But it is all for nothing because Scarlett knows somehow that she has only 24 hours before her body will fall apart or something. So what she needs is the rest of the drug to boost her brain power to 100 %.
I am still unsure what her purpose really was. Did she hope to gain the knowledge to save herself or was her aim to gain knowledge for humanity? Who knows. The movie doesn't linger too much on explaining things. Or it isn't made for creatures that only use 12% of their brain capacity..

A French cop obliges to help her out, while a Japanese drugslord makes matter difficult. It doesn't make much sense. We even get to see a large scale battle between the cops and the gangsters that has the criminals gain the upper hand despite the police being forewarned by Scarlett and thus should have been able to lever the power of the French state against the scum. I would have laughed at this for being silly nonsense, if it wasn't for the fact that nowadays that might even possible. At present the state seems more able to cow their citizens into obedience than stopping terrorists from harming people, which is after all a primary function of the state.

There isn't much more to say really. Engaging dialog? Nope. Intriguing characters one can identify with? Forget it. A larger than life opponent? Not at all. A deep meaningful exploration of the concept? Ba-boom! But worst of all. No explanation of the motivation of the characters is given.

This movie has a script that contains an interesting idea and filled in the remaining blanks with action scenes. Even the action scenes themselves are senseless as they are disconnected. Scarlett's powers change from scene to scene depending on what looks awesome.. At one point the movie becomes pretty awkward because after killing all his minions, Scarlett lets the bad druglord live. The only conceivable reason is that he had to reappear again in the rest of the movie. That is a pretty bad level of writing..
It gets a 5 for being meh.

Oh, it has also Morgan Freeman in it. He is there to illustrate things to the people who use far less than their allotted 12 percent. Totally superfluous.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
JamesIrish68Nov 29, 2015
The science is just not true, but who cares, we have plenty of factual science shows if we want hard science. Instead we want a beautiful woman being a superwoman. And we get it...Taipei, Triads, Paris, Rome, an irreverently hilarious EnglishThe science is just not true, but who cares, we have plenty of factual science shows if we want hard science. Instead we want a beautiful woman being a superwoman. And we get it...Taipei, Triads, Paris, Rome, an irreverently hilarious English guy. Morgan Freeman being cool.....and Scarlet being fantastic.. Lucy the first humanoid female is here too with a little spirituality thrown in.. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
gigiharris17Nov 10, 2015
Faster than the speed of light, Lucy is certainly the best film I've seen this summer.

Click here to watch the movie http://www.watchfree.to/watch-29ed79-Lucy-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ThesulaNov 3, 2015
I thought this movie is also a one of traditional - action film when I enter the DVD in to my player . But when I'm watching it for a time,I found that It's not what i meant & there is a deep idea behind it . Definitely I know what is it . II thought this movie is also a one of traditional - action film when I enter the DVD in to my player . But when I'm watching it for a time,I found that It's not what i meant & there is a deep idea behind it . Definitely I know what is it . I see that it has a relationship with Buddhism directly... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
NinthDoctorGuySep 6, 2015
Scarlett Johansson's and Morgan Freeman's performances were fantastic, the special effects were exhilarating, and the plot was intriguing and handled effectively. The only con that knocked my rating down a couple pegs was the lack ofScarlett Johansson's and Morgan Freeman's performances were fantastic, the special effects were exhilarating, and the plot was intriguing and handled effectively. The only con that knocked my rating down a couple pegs was the lack of characterization. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
grandpajoe6191Aug 22, 2015
What happens when one can access the human mind to one's fullest extent? Luc Besson's "Lucy", despite its obvious plot holes and ridiculous ex machines, does show its own creative answer to the question as the film does manage to be a smart,What happens when one can access the human mind to one's fullest extent? Luc Besson's "Lucy", despite its obvious plot holes and ridiculous ex machines, does show its own creative answer to the question as the film does manage to be a smart, ingenuous, and action-packed as it shows. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
WoodCoinDotNetAug 11, 2015
Despite an instantly unlikable character in the lead role (Lucy) this movie dazzles with intelligence, dark humor and a fierce attack on the current limitations of humankind. Everyone has heard that people use only 10-15% of their brain-powerDespite an instantly unlikable character in the lead role (Lucy) this movie dazzles with intelligence, dark humor and a fierce attack on the current limitations of humankind. Everyone has heard that people use only 10-15% of their brain-power and "Lucy" takes that concept to a satisfying extreme. With allusions to witchcraft, near-death-experience and LSD, the script/direction/acting/effects encompass nearly everything a viewer could expect from the concept. (Lucy being the name of the oldest female human skeleton found on Earth is quite funny, in that Lucy in the film starts out at 7% capacity.) Like in the movie "Her," Johansson wraps her mind around artificial intelligence and manages to exude a cool congeniality while becoming superhuman. Sadly, Morgan Freeman as a professor of neuroscience (parodied in Scary Movie 5?) seems more like an afterthought than anything integral to the plot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
WJSAug 1, 2015
Scarlett Johansson is brilliant and magnetic in this fast passed, intriguing and entertaining Sci Fi action thriller that's very well directed by Luc Besson. It's at times very violent and crazy but still very entertaining with some greatScarlett Johansson is brilliant and magnetic in this fast passed, intriguing and entertaining Sci Fi action thriller that's very well directed by Luc Besson. It's at times very violent and crazy but still very entertaining with some great action set pieces and the supporting players are also very good, especially Morgan Freeman. Some of the visuals are also very interesting and I think that this film is well worth the time spent watching it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
bigjon1958Jul 24, 2015
I was not taken too this movie by the trailer and only watched it because I like Scarlett Johansson from her Avenger role and other movies and also the critic reviews were mostly positive. However, turned out this was one movie whereI was not taken too this movie by the trailer and only watched it because I like Scarlett Johansson from her Avenger role and other movies and also the critic reviews were mostly positive. However, turned out this was one movie where Metacritic failed me. I've give the movie plot a big zero and the acting in the movie maybe a 2. The movie made no sense and here, three days later, I am still not really sure what the movie was all about. For those who love graphic violence this movie will not disappoint you - there is a lot of it. But this movie severely lacks a coherent story line. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
AnthoNYCJul 17, 2015
This film is an insult to the intelligence of anyone that has the slightest bit of education. I only gave it a one because the visuals were cool but this movie was designed to separate mankind even further between the logical and the naive.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
kamhaghJul 12, 2015
Stupidest video I've ever seen.
I can't describe this in words! i've never seen something so terrible!

Don't waste your time on this movie!
The physics are worst than tom and jerry
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MyodynamicJun 29, 2015
Life was given to us a billion years ago, now you know what to do with it. A Young woman whose brain has become powerful enough to have access to every information of this universe, the approach of the movie is one that gives us the access toLife was given to us a billion years ago, now you know what to do with it. A Young woman whose brain has become powerful enough to have access to every information of this universe, the approach of the movie is one that gives us the access to the dearth of human life and its marshalling. A mind boggling, mind- expanding, exhilarating thriller. Scarlett Johansson in the movie has acted gracefully, beautifully and in the unique expansion as is given to her in her deserving role of superwoman from an indie-film icon and Marvel-universe sidekick, netting unity to the infinity of the concept. Although the concept was a recalcitrant one, the philosophy is the one that says more than the fantastic concept of using your brain to its maximum capacity. The fast pacing movie is one to be watched with an open view, and not with the circumspection of finding logic in it. By and Large, a fantasy that will get you challenged with grand notion that with great power comes genetic transformation and a baffling imaginary to support this pseudoscience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Tomle1202Jun 20, 2015
Whoever wrote the script of this movie probably just used ten percent of his brain, as this film came ambitious at first, though the way it entered audience's mind is confusing, but in the end, Lucy was poorly executed and uninspiring.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
RayzorMooseJun 13, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie's premise and plot were completely implausible... She somehow is able to unlock a higher % of her brain in mere hours and can then control time and gravity among everything else? Also the movie really gave zero character development or any explanation of any of the characters motives or purposes in the first place all ending with a very undesirable outcome... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
chepod8Jun 11, 2015
El mensaje es tan claro que no encontramos nada que destacar, tanto así qu lo mejor de la falta de emotividad que encontramos en la película es que dura 90 minutos.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
GentM2015Jun 10, 2015
I don't understand how Lucy actually has got Positive reviews.This movie is really boring and doesn't have any reason what so ever to even be existing.It doesn't make any sense at all,the character Lucy is boring and let's not even being withI don't understand how Lucy actually has got Positive reviews.This movie is really boring and doesn't have any reason what so ever to even be existing.It doesn't make any sense at all,the character Lucy is boring and let's not even being with the Directing that feels so dumb and uneven.There are some good parts at times but overall Lucy is just a huge let down. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Epik_NinnjaMay 25, 2015
I would give this movie a 7.5/10 not for its action or anything but for how interesting the whole concept of it is. Yes, it's science fiction because no, if you could fully contorl you're brain you couldn't control time, etc. That doesn'tI would give this movie a 7.5/10 not for its action or anything but for how interesting the whole concept of it is. Yes, it's science fiction because no, if you could fully contorl you're brain you couldn't control time, etc. That doesn't mean it's not interesting to see what new abilities she gets upon achieveing each new level of control over her brian. Too many people complain about "not enough action" and "the science makes no sense." I didn't expect non-stop action and would be disappointed if that's what I got. Well,t here you have it. I enjoyed the movie almost enough to give it an 8/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
feetjaiMay 18, 2015
(Spoiler alert)

The main character loses her charms after 25 minutes. First she is a human with heart, but changes to a heartless psychopath. Personally I find it important that the main character is a person I can relate to, but her
(Spoiler alert)

The main character loses her charms after 25 minutes.
First she is a human with heart, but changes to a heartless
psychopath. Personally I find it important that the main character
is a person I can relate to, but her actions makes me as viewer
want to distant myself from her. Where this happens?
Her coldness and emotionless starts in the hostipal where she
just kills the patient on a table. The reason is that she wants the doctor
to remove the bag of drugs. A pity that the script writer chose to
make her personality so cold.

A second issue in the movie:
In the movie she archives a high brain capacity, thus I guess a high
IQ. But what does she do?? She attaches a silencer to her gun.
Walks with the gun in her hand, every one can she the gun, and walks
slowly to the operation room. How can such an intelligent person do
that?? Or was the movie script writer having a break?

Third issue:
The actors in the movie don't respond to Lucy at all. She has a gun in her
hand, and no one notices it. How unrealistic.

The movie stops taking me on the journey after Lucy's cold and heartless
act.

Apart from the first nice 25 minutes, the movie has another good thing.
Gordon Freeman tells one of the people who listen to his idea that
is about the brain is used for 10% is actually not real, it's a hypothesis.
So says the Gordon Freeman. In real science should use that word more often, even some "proven" facts
might be false ideas, that look truthful.... (humans are masters in telling half truths)
Any detective knows that truths that connect, are not always a real presentation of the facts.

If the movie continued the first 25 minutes to the very end, the movie would receive at least a 7.
But with the flaws mentioned here in this review. I don't want to give it a higher value than 4/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
webratMay 16, 2015
Lucy (2014), a film by Luc Besson, considered a science-fiction movie which hasn’t really received many good critical reviews is way more than meets the eye (or the mind). If words can reach its infinite meaning, I will be trying to do thisLucy (2014), a film by Luc Besson, considered a science-fiction movie which hasn’t really received many good critical reviews is way more than meets the eye (or the mind). If words can reach its infinite meaning, I will be trying to do this here.
What started as a drama in which some characters were being victims of a drug cartel ended up as a philosophical and, literally, mind-blowing movie – compared only to Inception or the very few similar ones. The main character, a woman named Lucy, is a common woman who is forced to transport, she believed, a syntectic drug. Yet, it proves to be much more than that when she is accidentally affected by that after some (can you imagine) kicks in her stomach. From here on, she becomes much more than a woman, as the professor interpreted by Morgan Freeman explains in flashbacks through the beginning of the movie.
As predicted by him, after human beings (in this case Lucy) reaches more than 10% than the human brain potential they beginning to develop what we call paranormal capacities, like controlling gravity, electromagnetism and so on, including other people. And it keeps increasing until one reaches 100% - in which point no one really knows what is going to happen.
This movie develops in a rapid speed from drama, to action, to (a kind of platonic) romance seasoned with lots of sci-fi elements that many would disregard as silly. What can be done what that, though? It also means that this movie becomes much more than a science-fiction movie (most of them), a philosophical movie (which is also one of the reasons Matrix 1 became such a cult movie after one goes beyond that bullet-dodging moment).
The ending is as amazing, actually, much more amazing than what we hoped it to be, since one big question pops to mind and stays there: what would humanity do with so much knowledge that is impossible to even fathom? I bet nobody really knows that answer, though it reminds us how the Devil tempted Jesus in the desert, with all the knowledge in the world (and He refused). However this is not a religious discussion, just one of the most crucial aspects of mankind taken into consideration.
Therefore, I invite you to watch this movie with open mind (pun intended) and no pre-conceptions of what some trailer of some 15 or 30 first minutes can present to any viewer.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Mgd12DiazApr 22, 2015
Análisis rápido: Lucy es una película que no llega ni a mediocre, se queda en intento de cine.
Análisis largo: Lucy es un insulto a mi inteligencia, plantea un argumento que trata de ser inteligente porque de vez en cuando muestra alguna que
Análisis rápido: Lucy es una película que no llega ni a mediocre, se queda en intento de cine.
Análisis largo: Lucy es un insulto a mi inteligencia, plantea un argumento que trata de ser inteligente porque de vez en cuando muestra alguna que otra metáfora visual y en otro momento una crítica "express" al capitalismo y la sociedad en una frase de Morgan Freeman.
Scarlett Johansson realiza un papel mediocre interpretando a la protagonista de la película, un personaje vacío, mal construido y que sinceramente al llegar al final de la película me importa su vida lo mismo que en el minuto 00:00.
En esta película es mala hasta la banda sonora, las escenas de acción son ordinarias, sabes que son de acción por las explosiones.
El argumento está mal hecho y es un intento de plantear una trama inteligente.
Una de las peores películas que he visto nunca.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
sanyrubApr 20, 2015
Very entertaining action film with a female character as the star for once. The film is a little bit empty and of course the premise is absurd, but we are supposed to take this as a sci-fi movie, so it should not matter when it comes toVery entertaining action film with a female character as the star for once. The film is a little bit empty and of course the premise is absurd, but we are supposed to take this as a sci-fi movie, so it should not matter when it comes to judging it. Johanson shows she can really be an action film star. Not much more to say. Entertaining. Not worse than some of the basic comic book movies some people praise that much now (talking about the basic ones, not the great ones like The Dark Knight). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Rox22Apr 18, 2015
*meh*

Plenty of action which was awesome, but so little else. Clearly this movie is feeding off of Johanson's Avengers fame. Putting an iconic female action star and relying on that to carry the movie. The plot is just utterly
*meh*

Plenty of action which was awesome, but so little else.

Clearly this movie is feeding off of Johanson's Avengers fame. Putting an iconic female action star and relying on that to carry the movie.

The plot is just utterly stupid, using a long since disproven theory about the mind as its premise and expanding it to moronic levels of fantasy. At times the movie almost seems to believe its own bull. Still, if you simply shut your brain off and accept things as presented, then it is entertaing.

Aside from Lucy, no one else is significant, either in performance or relevance to the plot.

Overall:
Lucy is turn-your-brain-off-at-the-door movie, and if you can do that it's allot of fun. Great action, stupid story.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
mijxeroApr 3, 2015
While I love psychic powers and abilities in moving in games anything with that gets bonus points. Chronicle and Push, cough cough. I got excited when she first started getting her powers, but I soon found they sucked all the fun out of it.While I love psychic powers and abilities in moving in games anything with that gets bonus points. Chronicle and Push, cough cough. I got excited when she first started getting her powers, but I soon found they sucked all the fun out of it. While this could have been a great action movie with a good story it tried to be all philosophical and had forced scenes where she could have easily killed or knocked out all the enemies with her powers but instead didn't. Half-way through I was begging for some cool looking fight scene and never got it. I guess what I thought I was getting was a big bowl of super nachos and instead got a poorly cooked steak. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CherryxldMar 30, 2015
Lucy es una película de ciencia ficción que te mantiene estimulado desde el primer momento que empieza la película hasta su final.

Sin dudas esta película es un film bastante acelerado, en donde lo único que hace es ir directo al grano en
Lucy es una película de ciencia ficción que te mantiene estimulado desde el primer momento que empieza la película hasta su final.

Sin dudas esta película es un film bastante acelerado, en donde lo único que hace es ir directo al grano en cada punto de la trama, manteniendo al espectador en un estado de adrenalina bastante consecutivo, convirtiéndola en un largometraje que mantiene un ritmo veloz durante todos sus 89 minutos, entregando al público y siendo una ciencia ficción de ideas.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
WARCHILDMar 26, 2015
I can't be any more helpful than to warn the reader NOT to buy this film. It's really really bad... Why? Well, just think of any bad movie you've seen in the last 10 years and you'll have your typical set of reasons.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
mustard_tigerMar 9, 2015
The plot doesn't make any sense, the characters are pointless and the conflicts are contrived to an insane level.

Everything seems as by the numbers as you can get, Asian mobsters, the old trick of having them not speak English so their
The plot doesn't make any sense, the characters are pointless and the conflicts are contrived to an insane level.

Everything seems as by the numbers as you can get, Asian mobsters, the old trick of having them not speak English so their lines don't sound cliche and stupid, the main character is an ultra super bad ass so guys are ok with her plus this regular girl is also ultra super beautiful in a scarlet johansen way and not a chick in a Michael Bay movie way so women can be cool with her too and LOOK AT THOSE RED BOTTOM SHOES... LOVE THEM YOU SEALS.. LOVE THEM, THESE SHOES CAN FEED AN AFRICAN VILLAGE FOR A MONTH BUT WHO CARES THEY ARE AWESOME GO BUY BUY BUY... Sorry, just should it was funny that they make a point to show her shoes a few times. I imagine her other stuff is expensive too but I don't know.

Its a really dumb movie that pretends its not which hurts it because the nonsense really pulls you out of the story.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
DuduziuzMar 6, 2015
Achei o filme horrível. Simplesmente não consegui gostar de nada. Nem da ação (completamente previsível), nem das viagens da interação cérebro x matéria, nem do enredo, nem da desculpa para ela ficar daquele jeito. Nem o drama (que drama?)Achei o filme horrível. Simplesmente não consegui gostar de nada. Nem da ação (completamente previsível), nem das viagens da interação cérebro x matéria, nem do enredo, nem da desculpa para ela ficar daquele jeito. Nem o drama (que drama?) sobre o que é mais importante para os seres vivos, enfim, nada. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
ClariseSamuelsMar 1, 2015
The Beatles song “Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds,” the acronym for which was LSD, comes to mind in this film where the drug of choice is called CPH4. It’s not clear that this drug puts the addict in a pleasurable state of mind since itThe Beatles song “Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds,” the acronym for which was LSD, comes to mind in this film where the drug of choice is called CPH4. It’s not clear that this drug puts the addict in a pleasurable state of mind since it appears to cause much suffering, angst, and if overdosed, death or molecule disintegration and an omnipresence that is usually only attributed to God.

Scarlett Johansson in the title role captures just the right balance of female vulnerability and steely superpowers that make her a force to be reckoned with. She is abducted in Taiwan by Korean bad guys, who sew a bag of the blue crystal-like substance into her abdomen with the plan to send her home and have the bag removed by the drug dealers. But first she is roughed up in a holding area, again by Korean hoodlums, who accidentally cause the bag to rupture and leak into her system. The drug has thus been administered to her, and she starts to obtain extrasensory powers and phenomenal strength because CPH4 allows the recipient to start using more than 10% of her brain. This is the primary theme of the plot, and all else hangs from this premise; it justifies the supporting role of Morgan Freeman, the neuroscience professor who has based his career and about 6,000 pages of publications on the study of how humans can use more of their brain matter.

Unfortunately, this nineteenth-century belief has been dismissed long ago, but if one keeps up with the controversy about the power of Artificial Intelligence (AI), this dilemma is not as far-fetched as it would seem. We use 100% of our brain, but our intellect, reason, logic and enormous creative powers are based on only a tiny portion of our DNA that is different from that of a chimpanzee. We share about 96% of the same genetic material as a chimpanzee. That last bit is enormously powerful and is what makes us human. It has been hypothesized that if we can make a robot that emulates a human brain and then perhaps wire it to be just a little more evolved than a human brain, we are in danger of making a robot that can evolve by itself into something that may be omniscient, omnipresent, and dangerous, which is to say, we may unleash forces that we cannot control. Billionaire inventor Elon Musk and others are raising the alarm about the unpredictable dangers of AI. Lucy, if she were actually a human or a robot whose brain has been tampered with to jump ahead on the evolutionary ladder, may be a sample of what we would be dealing with.

Just a slight revision in the film’s explanation behind how the fictional drug works changes the implausible premise of the film to a realistic one. Johannson is superb in the rendering of her transition from human to demigod. And Egyptian-born Amr Waked is excellent as the French police officer who feebly offers her protection even though she could wipe the floor with him. And it seems that Hollywood has found a new source for evil—Koreans. Russians used to be the bad guys, and then the Cold War ended. And many ethnic groups get offended if they are portrayed as stereotypical thugs; by the time The Lion King was produced, the only acceptable bad guy was a Brit (Jeremy Irons as the evil uncle) since Englishmen cannot claim to be ethnic. (They are the standard by which all ethnicity is measured.) Director Luc Besson did not overlook this option—Julian Rhind-Tutt is a bad guy who is also an English twit. In any case, some excellent Korean actors like Min-sik Choi (as Mr. Jang) will now be more employable.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheQuietGamerFeb 27, 2015
The old "we only use 10% of our brains" thing has become widely talked about, especially as of late. Writer and director Luc Besson takes that scientific theory/urban myth and creates a wildly entertaining action sci-fi movie. While thingsThe old "we only use 10% of our brains" thing has become widely talked about, especially as of late. Writer and director Luc Besson takes that scientific theory/urban myth and creates a wildly entertaining action sci-fi movie. While things get quite absurd it never breaks the bounds of reality anymore than other sci-fi movie has, so I really don't get the complaints surrounding that.

At least in this movie is in on it. There are quite a few nods to the audience that say Besson knows just how out there this whole thing is. It leads to some humor injected to the mix. The action is solid, but don't expect it to be a non-stop thing. The real treat comes from the impressive visual effects and Johansson's performance. As the character becomes less human Johansson becomes more interesting and fantastic.

Watching "Lucy" flick through periods of time like she's swiping an iphone is an incredible treat to behold. The visual effects are marvelously done and as they get more intricate the more fun you'll have with this film. It's sci-fi at it's most fun. O

This is one that takes the absurdity of it's premise and runs fully with it. Because of that certain elements of the plot can feel disjointed. For instance outside of one key plot-point surrounding Freeman's character, the supporting cast feels useless. However that never stopped me from enjoying it. Don't let the fact that's it's a science-fiction movie turn you away. There's a little something here for everyone.

I give "Lucy" an 8.4/10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AvgassFeb 22, 2015
Good action flick provided you can check your brain at the door and ignore the ridiculous science explanations (Morgan Freeman has never sounded so unconvincing). It's a bit predictable in parts but alot of the film is pure eye candyGood action flick provided you can check your brain at the door and ignore the ridiculous science explanations (Morgan Freeman has never sounded so unconvincing). It's a bit predictable in parts but alot of the film is pure eye candy including most of the special effects and the main chase scene! Very watchable Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
yusepFeb 19, 2015
I liked Lucy, that said I must say the movie is empty.
I liked the effects and the theme but there is absolutely nothing else in there. the movie is well produced and executed but totally meaningless. The characters are just plain and
I liked Lucy, that said I must say the movie is empty.
I liked the effects and the theme but there is absolutely nothing else in there. the movie is well produced and executed but totally meaningless. The characters are just plain and useless ( why bother to hire Johanson, Freeman and Min-Sink) and after watching the movie i felt totally empty and without any type of self-questioning about whatever the movie wanted to express me.
It follows my theory that Luc Besson has nice ideas and good film starts but has no idea about how to end films.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
psyberdelicFeb 19, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie could/should have been a lot better. The concept was interesting although scientifically inaccurate. Lucy OD's on some obscure pregnancy hormone and transcends physical reality when her brain hits 100% utilization. Too much padding in the form of intercut scenes and CGI to flesh out an otherwise boring plot. Just barely worth the $1.58 at Redbox. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
TantricSkyFeb 16, 2015
We humans may only use ten percent of our brain capacity, but it is clear that the writer and director of this movie were using considerably less than that. Even adding an extra couple of tenths of a percent for the brilliant idea of havingWe humans may only use ten percent of our brain capacity, but it is clear that the writer and director of this movie were using considerably less than that. Even adding an extra couple of tenths of a percent for the brilliant idea of having Scarlett Johansson traipse about in her undies for most of the movie doesn't help the overall total much. And wouldn't the absolute amount of brain capacity (of the which the percentages are taken) be an important factor as well? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Bruce722Feb 12, 2015
While the premise and concept of this film is absolutely ridiculous, the special effects laughable, and the plot without actual resolution, the movie still finds a way to be at least slightly entertaining. I think that mostly stems fromWhile the premise and concept of this film is absolutely ridiculous, the special effects laughable, and the plot without actual resolution, the movie still finds a way to be at least slightly entertaining. I think that mostly stems from Scarlett Johansson doing a great job with the character and the movie, however outlandish, is actually a little bit interesting. It still isn't worth your time but it isn't a complete waste of time and being under and hour and a half guarantees that if you feel that it is, at least it didn't waste much of it. I do feel that they missed an opportunity to make a great movie though. There is a time between the film starting and Lucy becoming a superhero/magician/Neo that I thought we had a real gem on our hands. Unfortunately they left reality at the door and chose to make a borderline comedy instead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Dragon_FlyFeb 10, 2015
This is an excellent movie for the initiated. I could relate tremendously with the psychological profile of Lucy. Her strive for knowledge was detaching her away from humanity. The questionable actions she made throughout the movieThis is an excellent movie for the initiated. I could relate tremendously with the psychological profile of Lucy. Her strive for knowledge was detaching her away from humanity. The questionable actions she made throughout the movie explained the accelerated extent of her detachment from humanity as well... the random cut scenes in her mind were a bit annoying but exactly how some people use their imagination in critical moments. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
Lumio_DracoFeb 8, 2015
I was a little disappointed on how short the movie was. It introduced a lot of deep concepts, but did not explore any of them in depth to my liking. There was a potential story that was wasted....
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
pdpmagiFeb 7, 2015
only reason you would watch this movie is to look at scarlett johanasson ...no really but in all seriousness this is an average flick , morgan freeman adds a nice touch to it and the story is interesting but this is ur avg 90 minute flick
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kat889Feb 3, 2015
Great movie, I really loved the plot. It's not a movie you would want to watch over and over, but it's worth watching. This movie is what I like to call brain candy. There's no point to watching it, it's just a good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
BrianMcCriticFeb 1, 2015
Give Luc Besson credit for not being dull that being said the film is far from great. This film is similar to Transcendence in plot but the presentation has more action. The main issue is you never felt anything was at stake. Lucy was neverGive Luc Besson credit for not being dull that being said the film is far from great. This film is similar to Transcendence in plot but the presentation has more action. The main issue is you never felt anything was at stake. Lucy was never really in trouble and in the end your just kind of indifferent. B- Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ydnar4Jan 31, 2015
I have been a pretty big fan of Luc Besson's work in recent memory. He's be responsible for a lot of Liam Neeson's recent projects, like Taken and he directed the Family which was a pretty good movie as well. I thought Lucy was so good forI have been a pretty big fan of Luc Besson's work in recent memory. He's be responsible for a lot of Liam Neeson's recent projects, like Taken and he directed the Family which was a pretty good movie as well. I thought Lucy was so good for the first hour and ten minutes. I was really shocked that the overall product could be this good. The topic is way over everyone's head but I thought Besson did a good job not to let it get too out of hand. I imagine there is a lot of stuff in this movie that is scientifically inaccurate but I tried to ignore that and I managed to enjoy it. This movie would have gotten a way better score from me if the ending wasn't so crazy, all over the place and hard to understand. I also like the casting of Scarlett Johansson. It nice to see Black Widow doing some more action movies. I'd watch another action movie with her in it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ToFewViewsJan 30, 2015
Lucy reminds me quite a bit of Limitless but maybe even more crazy Sh*t, Seeing it follows Scarlett Johansson's character involuntary ingesting a not very well known "Super Drug". This gives her the ability to use more and more of her brainLucy reminds me quite a bit of Limitless but maybe even more crazy Sh*t, Seeing it follows Scarlett Johansson's character involuntary ingesting a not very well known "Super Drug". This gives her the ability to use more and more of her brain power and basically become super human. The effects in this film really added to the immersion and is one of the strong points of the film. The story to this film isn't much, once it hits the less then mid way tipping point it becomes more about pure action and less about plot. Lucy does cover a few unique topics from evolution to the concept of Time but it feels like the movie is to fast paced and action packed to touch base much on said topics. Lucy is a good film for a weekend action flick or something to watch with your buds. But feels like wasted potential. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
manofthemoonJan 30, 2015
There is a cult that promotes Scarlett Johansson as a good actress. Combined with Luc Besson, who was once a talented director, Scarlett does action and being confused in Besson's latest eye candy thriller. In the end it runs out of otherThere is a cult that promotes Scarlett Johansson as a good actress. Combined with Luc Besson, who was once a talented director, Scarlett does action and being confused in Besson's latest eye candy thriller. In the end it runs out of other films to steal from and gives up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
TheTwistedKrisJan 27, 2015
Stupid stupid stupid movie. Horrible representation of neuroscience and supporting the myth of only using 10% of your brain. This movie is a lot like Ghost dad, it makes up any crap it wants and it will be legit because it runs on the excuseStupid stupid stupid movie. Horrible representation of neuroscience and supporting the myth of only using 10% of your brain. This movie is a lot like Ghost dad, it makes up any crap it wants and it will be legit because it runs on the excuse that nobody knows a thing about it. The human brain uses 100% as every brain scan has told us ever, maybe a percent is used consciously, but if a person were to control all of the subconscious functions of the brain they would surely die from having to process every bit of data taken in by the body manually. What is truly insulting is the extent they stretch that myth, saying that they can control matter with a whim? What in the hell did they smoke? Who in their right mind felt truly satisfied by this fairy tale that spat on everyone's intellect? Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
KingCassius13Jan 26, 2015
It's a good movie with good action scenes. Yes the science behind the plot is all wrong but it's a movie, and when has Hollywood ever gotten science or history correct in there films. So if you can not take everything so serious then youIt's a good movie with good action scenes. Yes the science behind the plot is all wrong but it's a movie, and when has Hollywood ever gotten science or history correct in there films. So if you can not take everything so serious then you should enjoy this film. It's surely not gonna win film of the year but it's certainly is and entertaining 90 minutes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
krystina080Jan 26, 2015
This movie was laughable and terrible. It starts out ok but then it seems like they didn't know what to do with it and ended it in the most ridiculous way. It was so bad.. So so bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
ZuchetoJan 25, 2015
Terrible movie with a terrible, corny plot. Most of the movie is just complete nonsense. I give it a 2 for each of Scarlet Johansson's boobs. And this last part I'm writing so this review is 150 characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DCEdmondsJan 22, 2015
"Lucy" 10 Scale Rating: 6.0 (Decent) ...

The Good: Starts off as a great idea and is very entertaining, for the most part. Scarlett Johansson does a terrific job in an action role and the effects are top notch. The film moves along at
"Lucy" 10 Scale Rating: 6.0 (Decent) ...

The Good: Starts off as a great idea and is very entertaining, for the most part. Scarlett Johansson does a terrific job in an action role and the effects are top notch. The film moves along at break-neck speed, remaining interesting throughout, and you find yourself just having to know how it ends. A solid enough action/sci-fi flick.

The Bad: While I tried to ignore it and just enjoy the movie, the premise starts to become more than a little silly. At times, it also feels very random and too far out there to be taken seriously. Morgan Freeman, as great as he typically is, was adequate ... but his role probably could have been played by just about anyone and would have felt the same.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
BennytwotimesJan 20, 2015
Wanna be deep nonsense.....do not waste your time. Cringe inducing dialog and ideas. The cast is capable but the script and direction make it hopeless to achieve anything with merit.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
meadowstreamJan 16, 2015
This film had a couple of interesting ideas, not new ideas, but fun ideas...but seems to be a series of short vignettes, each incorporating some cool notion or special effects that the director wants to explore, but without much connectingThis film had a couple of interesting ideas, not new ideas, but fun ideas...but seems to be a series of short vignettes, each incorporating some cool notion or special effects that the director wants to explore, but without much connecting each scene. I didn't hate it - but it is something like a 1-1/2 or 2 star film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Pooty_PootJan 11, 2015
A thinker + Scarlett Johanson being the most awesome badass ever = 10

A crazy action film with Scarlett being a badass, with a great performance from Morgan Freeman and Other actors who's names I've never heard before, and plenty of
A thinker + Scarlett Johanson being the most awesome badass ever = 10

A crazy action film with Scarlett being a badass, with a great performance from Morgan Freeman and Other actors who's names I've never heard before, and plenty of philosophy to go with it (it's just one of those movies that make you walk out of the theatre or your living room like: whooah!") than its awesome!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JonasDralleJan 9, 2015
Really great Movie with a really Great Plot.

What's good: -People speak their Native language (Korean, Chinese, German, French,...) (subtitles are available) -Really good Cinematics -Really good Effects What's not so good: -Many
Really great Movie with a really Great Plot.

What's good:
-People speak their Native language (Korean, Chinese, German, French,...) (subtitles are available)
-Really good Cinematics
-Really good Effects

What's not so good:
-Many Facts are really wrong. For example: Studies show that People do not use 10% of their Brain. The whole Plot is based around this wrong thesis.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
ToffenuffJan 6, 2015
Some cool visuals, other than that not much good to say. The main character, Lucy, basically becomes a god and if it wasn't for the fact that there wouldn't be much of a story or a movie if she actually dealt with all the challenges theySome cool visuals, other than that not much good to say. The main character, Lucy, basically becomes a god and if it wasn't for the fact that there wouldn't be much of a story or a movie if she actually dealt with all the challenges they faced head-on (which she definitely could have done) she probably would have if this were real. I dislike the false science about the brain, but I know it couldn't be helped because that false science is the foundation upon which the entire movie stands.

As an aside, before I learned about what this movie was about, I honestly thought this was a live-action take on the anime show Lucy, which it has some similarities to.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
MikefromAngusJan 4, 2015
The movie has a very good start to it about 15 mins in, I was into the story. After that, it was nonsense and worst part of all it wasn't entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheApplegnomeDec 28, 2014
Lucy. An innovative, epic and original science fiction/thriller film that completely surpassed my expectations.

Just the action alone is superb, not to mention the incredible performance from Scarlett Johansson. The evolution-theme gives
Lucy. An innovative, epic and original science fiction/thriller film that completely surpassed my expectations.

Just the action alone is superb, not to mention the incredible performance from Scarlett Johansson. The evolution-theme gives the film a great push, especially the opening scene. I wouldn’t define Lucy as a boring film, not by a long shot. It’s groovy and spectacular. But unfortunately does Lucy have many flaws. It’s very hard to watch this film without notice that the film is based on “the ten percent of brain myth”. The film has great science fiction, but it should have been presented a bit more credible. It feels to extreme. This it the biggest flaw in Lucy. Another downside is the script, because the conversations feel enforced. There’s also no clear structure in the film, where’s it going? Other minor flaws are the CGI (which are great but some of them are not so well done, the SFX are on the other hand awesome). The film also feels a bit to excessive on some places. But, it’s still a cool and great film that I really recommend everyone to watch. The first act might not be so awesome as the second and the third, but it’s still a great film!

There are much positive, but also negative sides of Lucy. I really like this film but the excessive amount of flaws pulls down my rating under an 8.

Lucy gets a 7.8/10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
LoRevisorDec 28, 2014
Premissa Inteligente,desenvolvimento lerdo e incoerente,Conclusão fraca.
Mas com excelentes atuações de Scarlett Johansson e Morgan Freeman,e bons efeitos especiais
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
briceDec 28, 2014
This movie it's a joke, don't see it. I loose 1h30 of my life please give me back.
I think Taxi 3 was better. Please Luc, do another Minimoys but no more movies.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
EludiumQ36Dec 24, 2014
Great popcorn flick, moves fast, and it "makes you think". This material would work even better as a 10-episode tv mini-series with each episode advancing her mental capabilities by 10% and depicting her new abilities. Yeh, that would be righteous.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
Sebe2012Dec 22, 2014
If it wasn't produced by besson , it would be classified as a B movie . This all pointless action but no substance film has more plot holes than Swiss cheese.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
ChaeoteDec 20, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm just gonna cut right to the chase.

Is this movie based on science fact?

LOL. No. But it at least tries to tie into it.

This movie is right up the same vein as Kill Bill or Pacific Rim.

It's live-action anime.

Sit back, and enjoy the show.

SPOILERS:

It's re-imagining of Metropolis
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SushiStonerDec 17, 2014
I was highly entertained for the majority of the runtime, even though the movie seemed irrational at times for its scientifically inaccurate plot, I must give it credibility for its creative hypothesis. The Action sequences were impressiveI was highly entertained for the majority of the runtime, even though the movie seemed irrational at times for its scientifically inaccurate plot, I must give it credibility for its creative hypothesis. The Action sequences were impressive and the visual effects were stunning. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
busbfranDec 14, 2014
Apart from the B class script, performances and direction "Lucy" can still be entertaining, though never really lifts into full gear. An unoriginal backbone with hardly any scenes or reasoning, fails to shock even the simplest of audiences.Apart from the B class script, performances and direction "Lucy" can still be entertaining, though never really lifts into full gear. An unoriginal backbone with hardly any scenes or reasoning, fails to shock even the simplest of audiences. Lucy never fully grasps what it wants to be, skipping this film could do you justice. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
ShedeggDec 5, 2014
Lucy is a sci-fi action film. It uses quite a lot of CGI which makes the watcher feel like the things they're seeing are real. I would say that this movie focuses more on the science than the fiction. The beginning stars of like most normalLucy is a sci-fi action film. It uses quite a lot of CGI which makes the watcher feel like the things they're seeing are real. I would say that this movie focuses more on the science than the fiction. The beginning stars of like most normal action movie, but then over time it turns more scientific whiteout you even realising it.the cast was good (e.g scarlet johanson and Morgan freeman) therefore the acting was good! It is watchable, and it isn't boring, but it does focus a lot on evolution so it feels almost educational in a way. Don't be out of by the way i said it feels educational, because it sandwiched between violence. Overall it is a fun watch. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
virginiaproudDec 1, 2014
Please, please, even if you think the lush Ms Johannsen poops rainbows, if you are a thinking person with more than a passing interest in logic and coherent storytelling, think twice before spending time on this film. This film has aPlease, please, even if you think the lush Ms Johannsen poops rainbows, if you are a thinking person with more than a passing interest in logic and coherent storytelling, think twice before spending time on this film. This film has a fascinating premise which is then totally subjugated into a chase'em/shoot 'em movie. All the action sequences are borderline ridiculous, the final gun fight, the manic drive across Paris... why? And those of us who bought in to the idea and (the first third, despite cliched stock shots is quite promising) are deprived of any meaningful, or even better than fantastical, discussion of the core theme. Rubbish. Just rubbish. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
6
BlitzWing00Nov 23, 2014
The premise is good, but the movie would have really benefited if the writing was tightened up and if it was more grounded in reality and actual science. The visuals and acting were strong though, Scarlett Johansson's performance wasThe premise is good, but the movie would have really benefited if the writing was tightened up and if it was more grounded in reality and actual science. The visuals and acting were strong though, Scarlett Johansson's performance was especially good despite her character was written somewhat poorly and flat for most of the movie. I felt this movie could have been terrific with better writing and execution. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
shadow-catNov 23, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The only thing that redeemed this movie was it's imagery. It wasn't outstanding or extraordinary but it was something that I concentrated on. I felt as though the movie was trying to break the mold of the typical Hollywood movie but managed to conform to all of those standards e.g having the Hollywood beauty (no offense to Scarlett Johansson). This felt like a pretentious movie that was trying to hard to be something that it wasn't but it didn't try hard enough to make me hate the movie. It was not memorable, predictable, it kinda sucked and I would have expected more from Luc Besson after I watched The Fifth Element, which is one of my favourite movies.
As a side note: For some reason I was offended by one of the last scenes, when Lucy was skipping through different times. When she met the monkey and tried to connect with it. Thinking about it it may have been because of the racist undertones in the movie - which can be linked back to it being a typical Hollywood movie. The Koreans were the bad guys and the beautiful blonde American woman with the fantastic french forces and minds defeat the evil Koreans.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
nicholasbertNov 23, 2014
If one overlooks the ridiculously unsupported premise of the entire film, and gets into the mindset that this is a particularly detached from reality sci-fi, and therefore ignores the impossibility of things narrated, Lucy still has majorIf one overlooks the ridiculously unsupported premise of the entire film, and gets into the mindset that this is a particularly detached from reality sci-fi, and therefore ignores the impossibility of things narrated, Lucy still has major flaws, especially in the choices of storytelling and character development. As for the latter, you quite fail to understand the sudden transformation from normal girl to ruthless killer, and as for the former, the film speeds up too fast towards the end, leaving behind gaps and plotholes.

Scarlett Johansson, an unconventional heroine, doesn't quite act as well as she's proven capable of doing before, while Freeman who gets second billing appears for about five minutes of screentime. The best acting, in my opinion, is strangely provided by the minor characters, such as the Taiwanese kingpin and his young "assistant".

Luc Besson is a weird French filmmaker, one that doesn't comply with the tradition of his country's cinema of being subtle, convoluted and generally actionless, as it is shown in Lucy, which, despite the scientific setting and the whole "unlock your brain" dilemma, delivers a film that you can easily shut your brain to, and enjoy, if that's your style, shootouts and car crashes.

It doesn't get a lower score for two reasons: the somewhat brilliant quasi-final CGI parade, providing some insight, and the fact that Scarlett Johansson is in it, which is always good.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
SpiRoNov 22, 2014
This movie is so bad that i think this is the worst movie of this year and considering what garbage was released this year, that says something. Did one of the mobsters lose his shuriken ??
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
diogomendesNov 17, 2014
Silly at its finest, "Lucy" mostly succeeds at making an enjoyable summer blockbuster even if its ridiculousness gets a little too much. Is it satisfying? More or less. It's surely some dumb fun and it's better than some movies released thisSilly at its finest, "Lucy" mostly succeeds at making an enjoyable summer blockbuster even if its ridiculousness gets a little too much. Is it satisfying? More or less. It's surely some dumb fun and it's better than some movies released this year. I only recommend this movie to people who like to see some brainless action and witty performances. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
LaraRNov 16, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Some parts of the beginning had potential. Then, it just became implausible, absurd and pretty much just escalated too quickly. So in the end, 'Lucy' became a god? I thought it was trying to send a message that we don't use our brains enough but alrighty then. The last straw was when she injected herself with the 'drugs' and this black, tree-like thing started growing out of her. That part really hit me and realized I was not going to leave happy. When she started travelling through space and time made me laugh a bit. In the end, it seemed like the director collaborated with M. Night Shyamalan on acid. But yeah, I'll give it a 4 for effort and for the actors. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
eenieNov 16, 2014
Scarlet's looking good, Movie was good.
Plots a bit of a rip off of limitless, but overall was good
Don't know how people can give this a ZERO that's a bit ridiculous.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
3
ednunezNov 15, 2014
Exaggerated and laughable, almost to the point of insulting the viewer's intelligence, and dizzying in the construction of the action scenes. If you want cheap thrills, better play a video game.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
AshmoviesNov 12, 2014
Please don't waste your time watching this. Watch Limitless instead. I know, I know... you'll say... but there's Scarlet Johannson! Trust me, you don't want to waste your brain cell on this piece of non-sense.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
vikesh2206Nov 10, 2014
Lucy feeds on its original premise with silly thrills overshadowing it's complex intentions. Scarlets Johansson does her finest but when there is no character the audiencte can relate to + a weird premise = it's those fun thrills that remainLucy feeds on its original premise with silly thrills overshadowing it's complex intentions. Scarlets Johansson does her finest but when there is no character the audiencte can relate to + a weird premise = it's those fun thrills that remain in the mind after leaving the cinema. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
emirbudNov 8, 2014
This movie is just another episode of "Through the Wormhole", though one that is somewhat outrageous and off the chart, with weaker than usual science. I did not care for most of the action. There are some cool scenes and special effectsThis movie is just another episode of "Through the Wormhole", though one that is somewhat outrageous and off the chart, with weaker than usual science. I did not care for most of the action. There are some cool scenes and special effects which I enjoyed. It's a movie about a woman becoming god. I think she will be benevolent. Don't expect too much. Sit back, relax, and enjoy the good parts. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
ozymandias79Nov 7, 2014
This movie tries way to hard. ScarJo is good but there's better similar movies (looking at you Limitless). Some of the science is bit (very) dodgy too. Even as a straight action film, it's just not interesting enough. This movie needed aThis movie tries way to hard. ScarJo is good but there's better similar movies (looking at you Limitless). Some of the science is bit (very) dodgy too. Even as a straight action film, it's just not interesting enough. This movie needed a better script. Skip Lucy and see one of the better films it tried to imitate. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
TNI-PyranhaNov 6, 2014
Lucy is definitely the worst movie I've seen in a long time!
The story is far too confusing and told in a very bad way.
Morgan Freeman got his first very very bad movie.
I'm sorry for him.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheFilmFanaticNov 2, 2014
Lucy is a high-intensity science fiction spectacle with strong, realistic characters that endure great development through the story. The concept and script are excellently written with sublime special effects and visuals. The film lacks theLucy is a high-intensity science fiction spectacle with strong, realistic characters that endure great development through the story. The concept and script are excellently written with sublime special effects and visuals. The film lacks the typical action associated with Luc Besson's writing but with the lack of action benefits the strength of the sci-fi concept. However, the story is shown in such an interesting and dynamic way that it doesn't waste the only measurement worth anything: time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
MuratBaykurtOct 30, 2014
Is this a joke? If it is, a very bad one. No plot, no acting, no brains!!! God, I got 1,5 hours older because of this crap. Go on Hollywood, keep on giving us terrible movies like Lucy. Guess I'll go back to my 90's archieve.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
adamstylesOct 28, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What if a person could use 100% of their brain power? It’s a question that I think of more than I would like to admit and that’s why I have decided to research the use if binaural frequencies in film and music as I am studying film at SAE. However, I digress. For the purpose of a review, let’s look at Luc Besson's take on this question.
In true Besson style, the movie's main character is none other than a brash yet fragile female action hero played by Scarlett Johansson. Besson’s use of female action heroes has been prevalent in earlier works such as, The Professional, The Fifth Element and La Femme Nikita. When Lucy (Johansson) is forced into being a drug mule only to have the bag of synthetic drugs explode in her stomach, her fly by the night travelling rebel persona is quickly overpowered. With her brain now on overdrive running at 20%, she is automatically turned into a trained killer that can read minds and control matter. Drug Runner bad guy, Oldboy star Min-sik Choi has to now pursue Lucy to exact revenge. Lucy must retain the rest of the drug before her body rejects it and she dies, while also trying to understand her condition and explain it to Professor Norman played by Morgan Freeman. There is a good use of action and intensity as we see Lucy progressing through stages of accelerated brain power and having the ability to control her world similar to Christopher Nolan’s “Inception”. Upon reaching Professor Norman and killing the bad guys, Lucy reaches 100% brain capacity and after travelling back in time to the birth of man, she morphs into a sludgy computer only to turn to dust leaving a flashdrive of her knowledge for mankind to learn from. Sounds hard right? Well it’s not.
As soon as Lucy has the drug inside her and she discovers that she can feel no pain (20%), there ceases to be an element of threat. After she can control minds and objects, she has become super human and therefore fears no one. There is a need for her to find the remaining bags of the drug or face being turned into dust, so I guess you could say that the only real antagonist is time. She is crudely pursued by Mr Jang (Choi) but to what end? She knows and more importantly the audience knows that Mr Jang doesn’t stand a chance.
By all means see this film for there are parts that are something to admire. Johansson is fantastically mesmerising as a dead-pan hero with flashes of fragility and flaw and Besson beautifully creates a style of film that is visually stunning. His use of symbology to enhance scenes of fear and entrapment are a delightful addition, however unfortunately you might find that the story and the threat of an antagonist lacks conviction.

Adam Styles
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
NerdConsultantOct 24, 2014
it's really dumb.

for me I couldn’t suspend my disbelief enough. This is not how the brain works, this is not how humanity itself works and this is not how evolution works, and for a film that’s trying to report that it knows that!
it's really dumb.

for me I couldn’t suspend my disbelief enough. This is not how the brain works, this is not how humanity itself works and this is not how evolution works, and for a film that’s trying to report that it knows that! That’s a big sin.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
DorpisOct 22, 2014
The main idea of the movie got off to a good start, but as often happens, the ending was completely disappointing for me. However, the interesting storyline and sexy Scarlett's voice made a deal.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
SkateboardingOct 16, 2014
I loved this movie.....i thought it would be boring because of the name, but surprisingly it was the best movie.... I think they should make movies like Lucy
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
runnerOct 14, 2014
A quick review, couple of hours after watching the movie...
Couldn't really decide whether it was good or bad. Or both.
The movie is rather suspenseful, I'll give you that. I was never sure what's going to happen next and the movie keeps
A quick review, couple of hours after watching the movie...
Couldn't really decide whether it was good or bad. Or both.

The movie is rather suspenseful, I'll give you that. I was never sure what's going to happen next and the movie keeps you tensed and following the plot.
I found some of the scenes shocking and a little disturbing, but that could just be me.

The movie is centered around some woman which gets the ability to use more than 10% of her brain, an ability which regular humans lack according to the movie (and I'm not sure if that's entirely correct).
Anyway, the movie sways randomly from silliness to sophistication, with senseless violence in the middle. That's definitely how I'd describe it in one sentence.

It made me keep thinking about it after watching it, it made me go write a review ...
That's good enough, I guess.
The movie surely is entertaining, in a somewhat cheap way with some smart touches.
If you're into sci-fi andor human mind stuff, give it a try.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
LuisHernanOGOct 13, 2014
I found this movie a good excuse to get an entertainment time...that´s all..You can´t asking more of the film. However I will googling a while to find out if the scientific facts they talk about in the movie could have a bit of truth.I found this movie a good excuse to get an entertainment time...that´s all..You can´t asking more of the film. However I will googling a while to find out if the scientific facts they talk about in the movie could have a bit of truth.
Encontré esta película una buena excusa para entretenerme un rato... eso es todo.. no se le puede pedir más al filme. Sin embargo, voy a googlear un rato para averiguar si los hechos científicos que hablan en la película podría tener un poco de verdad.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
csw12Oct 11, 2014
One of the dumbest movies of the year with an ending that is as clumsy and far fetched as they get. The entire concept of Lucy makes zero sense and it seemed the director didn't know where to take the movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
ZapnessOct 10, 2014
Let me start by saying this: It's flawed. The whole "%10" thing is wrong. The myth originated back in the early 1900s, when scientists found that only 10% of your brain contained a certain type of cell or neuron (can't remember which), whichLet me start by saying this: It's flawed. The whole "%10" thing is wrong. The myth originated back in the early 1900s, when scientists found that only 10% of your brain contained a certain type of cell or neuron (can't remember which), which they thought was all your brains capacity. Later, they found out that the 90% WAS in fact being used, and that you use 100%, no matter how minorly, at all times.

But the movie itself is fun to watch. Good action sequences, good story progression, and developed characters. If you don't mind the many flaws, its a great movie. But I would not recommend showing this movie to children under a certain age, due to some... suggestive scenes.

Overall, a good movie with many flaws. Watch it if you have the free time to do so.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews