Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 636 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 45
  2. Negative: 2 out of 45
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Jul 26, 2014
    90
    The summer’s best, coolest, juiciest, smartest action movie.
  2. Reviewed by: Kate Stables
    Sep 5, 2014
    80
    Besson is at his balls-out bonkers best in this genre-scrambling, mind-expanding exhilarator.
  3. Reviewed by: Tirdad Derakhshani
    Jul 25, 2014
    75
    When it comes to sheer comic-book fun, few summer movies deliver a more consistent, satisfying, thoroughly enjoyable shot of cinematic jouissance than the delightfully adventurous actress Scarlett Johansson's latest bit of strange, Lucy.
  4. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Jul 23, 2014
    70
    Giddily recycling everything from “2001: A Space Odyssey” and “The Matrix” to yakuza actioners and National Geographic documentaries, it’s a garish, trippy, wildly uneven and finally quite disarming piece of work, graced by a moment-to-moment unpredictability.
  5. Reviewed by: Tom Huddleston
    Sep 5, 2014
    60
    This ridiculous, highly watchable, at points startlingly psychedelic action thriller is probably Luc Besson’s best film since ‘Léon’ (which isn’t saying a great deal).
  6. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    Jul 23, 2014
    58
    There are moments of real wonder and even beauty amidst the slam and the bang and the big bada boom, and while Lucy is a mixed bag, it's been mixed by a master, and it is delightfully, happily insane.
  7. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Jul 24, 2014
    12
    Besson has always demonstrated the ability to chuckle at the madness of his own material, and he provides some solid laughs from time to time. But these winks do nothing to erase the reality of a plot that becomes unintentionally hilarious.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 197
  2. Negative: 67 out of 197
  1. Aug 3, 2014
    10
    I thought the movie was great. It had a spiritual message that provoked one to thought. I love action movies and this film does give lots ofI thought the movie was great. It had a spiritual message that provoked one to thought. I love action movies and this film does give lots of action; however, typically action movies don't offer any depth to the storyline. "Lucy," does provide depth and need for thought and I left contemplating its message. It reminded me a bit of the Matrix. The message was a labyrinth of possibilities. Expand
  2. Feb 10, 2015
    9
    This is an excellent movie for the initiated. I could relate tremendously with the psychological profile of Lucy. Her strive for knowledgeThis is an excellent movie for the initiated. I could relate tremendously with the psychological profile of Lucy. Her strive for knowledge was detaching her away from humanity. The questionable actions she made throughout the movie explained the accelerated extent of her detachment from humanity as well... the random cut scenes in her mind were a bit annoying but exactly how some people use their imagination in critical moments. Expand
  3. Jul 29, 2014
    7
    Part action, part esoteric extrapolation, the movie was bound to draw a line down the middle with people. For me I enjoyed the deeper, trippyPart action, part esoteric extrapolation, the movie was bound to draw a line down the middle with people. For me I enjoyed the deeper, trippy concepts that made up the heart of the story. Scarlett Johanson was perfect in her role and I doubt it would've been nearly as enjoyable without her leading the way. I recommend it if you like action and also enjoy contemplating spiritual of higher level consciousness type stuff. I think some of the folks that are having such a negative response to it are those that don't like when things aren't totally spelled out for them. Expand
  4. Aug 26, 2014
    5
    Although it's enjoyable to watch, this movie is not good science fiction. The premise is based on the old saw that says "we only use 10% ofAlthough it's enjoyable to watch, this movie is not good science fiction. The premise is based on the old saw that says "we only use 10% of our brains." So what would it be like if we someone could use all 100%? Of course the premise is nonsense. If we really used just 10% of our brains, then evolution would have given us brains that are 10% as large as they are now. The brain is an energetically-expensive organ. It makes no sense from an evolutionary standpoint that we would have brains 10 times larger than we need.

    A good science fiction film should have some basis in real science, or at least have a comprehensible and consistent explanation of whatever pseudo-scientific ideas it relies upon. This film is fantasy masquerading as science fiction. There have been a couple of films that develop this topic in a more satisfying way -- Charlie and Phenomenon come to mind. (Those films are good science fiction, check them out.)

    Still, the special effects are fun to watch, and the plot, while implausible, did hold my attention. Entertaining fantasy, but not science fiction.
    Expand
  5. Nov 16, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Some parts of the beginning had potential. Then, it just became implausible, absurd and pretty much just escalated too quickly. So in the end, 'Lucy' became a god? I thought it was trying to send a message that we don't use our brains enough but alrighty then. The last straw was when she injected herself with the 'drugs' and this black, tree-like thing started growing out of her. That part really hit me and realized I was not going to leave happy. When she started travelling through space and time made me laugh a bit. In the end, it seemed like the director collaborated with M. Night Shyamalan on acid. But yeah, I'll give it a 4 for effort and for the actors. Expand
  6. Jun 20, 2015
    3
    Whoever wrote the script of this movie probably just used ten percent of his brain, as this film came ambitious at first, though the way itWhoever wrote the script of this movie probably just used ten percent of his brain, as this film came ambitious at first, though the way it entered audience's mind is confusing, but in the end, Lucy was poorly executed and uninspiring. Expand
  7. Mar 6, 2015
    0
    Achei o filme horrível. Simplesmente não consegui gostar de nada. Nem da ação (completamente previsível), nem das viagens da interação cérebroAchei o filme horrível. Simplesmente não consegui gostar de nada. Nem da ação (completamente previsível), nem das viagens da interação cérebro x matéria, nem do enredo, nem da desculpa para ela ficar daquele jeito. Nem o drama (que drama?) sobre o que é mais importante para os seres vivos, enfim, nada. Expand

See all 197 User Reviews