User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 106 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 106
  2. Negative: 27 out of 106
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 1, 2010
    4
    Consistently idiotic (that's a plus here), very rude and timely given this year's flood of 80s style dumb action movies but only sporadically funny. Kristen Wiig is great as always and the love/sex scene is worth the price of admission alone. If you like action cliches spoofs, general silliness and have 95 minutes to waste... you'll probably have some fun.
  2. JPTC
    May 21, 2010
    0
    One of the lamest skits on what is now one of the lamest shows on television. It is sickening to see what SNL has become.
  3. Eddie
    May 21, 2010
    0
    I have seen literally 100's of movies, and this was by far the worst movie that I have ever seen. Was this movie written and directed by a bunch of junior high kids or what? The movie tries to be funny, but the only joke is on the people who bought tickets to this disaster.
  4. EvanQ
    May 21, 2010
    0
    I actually MADE my wife go see this thinking that, ok, it's stupid, but I have a good sense of humor and it'll be dumb, but funny. Seriously though, it's hard to find anything good about this. I was thinking more about why Will Forte thinks it's funny to constantly make 'sucking dick' and 'ass hole' jokes. It's just not funny. I wanted it to be I actually MADE my wife go see this thinking that, ok, it's stupid, but I have a good sense of humor and it'll be dumb, but funny. Seriously though, it's hard to find anything good about this. I was thinking more about why Will Forte thinks it's funny to constantly make 'sucking dick' and 'ass hole' jokes. It's just not funny. I wanted it to be funny but it was honestly just boring. Think SNL, but instead of commercial breaks and a change of scene, it's the same long boring sketch for 2 hours. Expand
  5. db
    May 23, 2010
    1
    Avoid at all costs!!! The fact that the humor is juvenile does not a comedy make. There is simply no excuse for this adolescent drivel. And I'm a huge Howard Stern fan for god sakes. I get juvenile. I'm a huge fan of "potty" humor. But this "film" couldn't find funny with a map. Everything, and I mean everything, every attempt at being funny falls flat with a thundering Avoid at all costs!!! The fact that the humor is juvenile does not a comedy make. There is simply no excuse for this adolescent drivel. And I'm a huge Howard Stern fan for god sakes. I get juvenile. I'm a huge fan of "potty" humor. But this "film" couldn't find funny with a map. Everything, and I mean everything, every attempt at being funny falls flat with a thundering thud. It hurts me all the more because I was really looking forward to this effort. SNL hasn't had a cast this good in decades and the show rocks. But this poor excuse for a comedy sets them back about five years. Expand
  6. AdamC
    May 24, 2010
    3
    I love a smart funny movie as much as anyone. I'm a big fan of the American Pie series, South Park, and just about anything Judd Apatow puts out. But MacGruber, try as it might to use crudeness to garner laughs, just falls flat. Fans of other crazy crude films like The Hangover need look elsewhere for their laughs. Heck, Hot Tub Time Machine was a better movie than MacGruber! To sum I love a smart funny movie as much as anyone. I'm a big fan of the American Pie series, South Park, and just about anything Judd Apatow puts out. But MacGruber, try as it might to use crudeness to garner laughs, just falls flat. Fans of other crazy crude films like The Hangover need look elsewhere for their laughs. Heck, Hot Tub Time Machine was a better movie than MacGruber! To sum it up, I believe Lorne Michaels once told the SNL cast that their audience responds best to ensemble skits. This attempt to push Will Forte to the front is a major misstep. Even the devilishly delightful Kirsten Wiig is unable to salvage this stinker. And for Jimmy Fallon who said this movie was so funny while interviewing Will Forte the other night, man, I respect your loyalty to the SNL brand, but come on, really? Really, Jimmy, really? Expand
  7. JeffF.
    May 24, 2010
    0
    I walked out at the 40 min mark. Excruciating. I doubt this would work as a 5 min scetch on SNL.
  8. DevinS.
    May 24, 2010
    1
    Ridiculously unfunny. This movie reminded me of watching those kids in high school that thought everything they said was really funny but nobody really thought they were. I wanted to find this movie funny, I really did. But in the end, my free ticket to the sneak preview just ended up being a waste of an hour and a half of my life.
  9. Sep 15, 2010
    4
    how do you take a mildley funny 3 min sketch from SNL and make it into a 90 min movie for the big screen? the answer is you dont . atleast not a very funny one. macgruber in its sketch form is kinda funny with the way they poke fun of mcguyver and him getting blown up at the end of every sketch and the funny song but as a movie it shoulda never been done. the humor in this movie is sohow do you take a mildley funny 3 min sketch from SNL and make it into a 90 min movie for the big screen? the answer is you dont . atleast not a very funny one. macgruber in its sketch form is kinda funny with the way they poke fun of mcguyver and him getting blown up at the end of every sketch and the funny song but as a movie it shoulda never been done. the humor in this movie is so childish its rediculas . if you are in the age of 10-16 you might find this funny. i found most of it unfunny. there was a couple of funny moments where i had a good laugh but most of it was just to stupid and just had me shaking my head in disbelief that some thing could be this stupid. Expand
  10. Oct 3, 2010
    0
    This movie is simply junk. For the millions they spent making this, couldn't the producers get a decent script, some funny jokes? And they wonder why movie studios are losing money.
  11. Nov 2, 2010
    1
    This movie so terrible that I couldn't stand of this character is acting like a jerk,jackass,and retarded! This is the worst spinoff that it's based on the SNL and it's nothing interesting about him. I couldn't even laugh this movie to the beginning and to the end. The jokes are so lame,the characters are so stupid,the story is a mess,the plot makes no sense about the character and theyThis movie so terrible that I couldn't stand of this character is acting like a jerk,jackass,and retarded! This is the worst spinoff that it's based on the SNL and it's nothing interesting about him. I couldn't even laugh this movie to the beginning and to the end. The jokes are so lame,the characters are so stupid,the story is a mess,the plot makes no sense about the character and they couldn't explain about him,it's just a based on the the character that he did shorts in SNL that's all they got. And how so STUPID that this movie is completely dumb that the viewers are enjoying this movie that is nothing to offer! Those viewers are idiots and that's fine like that! The critics are SO STUPID! Hey viewers,SHUT THE F@#$K UP,NO ONE CARES ABOUT HOW YOUR REVIEWING ARE,GO ENJOY IN THE WATER SLIDE FOR STUPID MOVIE! Expand
  12. Nov 15, 2010
    4
    Just if you have not better to do in a rainy Sunday afternoon... Few laughs, tries to have the essence of Tropic Thunder but fails. Best parts are the car stereos one
  13. Nov 19, 2010
    0
    I was honestly stunned at how bad this movie was, considering how funny the SNL cast members are in general. This was one of the worst comedies I've seen in a long time, I'd place it in the same group as those horrible _____ Movie. Yes, that bad. I laughed maybe twice in the entire movie.
  14. CRL
    Aug 30, 2011
    4
    It's funny that Hollywood keeps trying to make SNL skits into movies. News flash: it doesn't work. Another news flash: there are only so many f-bombs one can drop, so many sex-jokes one can make, so many completely overpowered explosions one can show, before they stop being funny and just start being stupid.
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 24
  2. Negative: 8 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    60
    Utterly disposable but diverting, MacGruber manages to spin feature-length product out of an idea that few would try expanding beyond a "Saturday Night Live" skit.
  2. 75
    How the hell can you take an SNL skit that runs 90 seconds and stretch it to a 90-minute feature? Sounds excruciating. But MacGruber breaks the jinx by putting the skit in the context of a 1980s action movie and creating its own brand of explosive lunacy.
  3. Think of a really bad, uncensored Saturday Night Live comedy sketch. Then make it worse – make it longer.