User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 197 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 197
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AlisonR.
    Jan 1, 2006
    0
    Insufferable.
  2. May 28, 2012
    2
    There is nothing good about this movie except its impact to children, which is the reason I gave a 2, not a 0, and for its memorable anthem, that is I LIKE TO MOVE IT MOVE IT, which for me is super horrendous and corny...............
  3. VinceH.
    Jun 3, 2005
    3
    My main criticism of this movie was echoed by Ace W. below me...the story. Nothing really happens here. Not that I would have preferred the busy-plot mechanics that made "Shrek 2" and "Antz" such chores to sit through, but at least some semblance of a story. Some shred of a plot that has peaks and valleys and maybe something of character development. Instead what we get is bunch of ideas, My main criticism of this movie was echoed by Ace W. below me...the story. Nothing really happens here. Not that I would have preferred the busy-plot mechanics that made "Shrek 2" and "Antz" such chores to sit through, but at least some semblance of a story. Some shred of a plot that has peaks and valleys and maybe something of character development. Instead what we get is bunch of ideas, gags, bits, homages, etc. all crammed into a 85-min cartoon. The first 15 minutes are pretty damn funny, moving at a lively pace, but thereafter it meanders for a while and doesn't really pick up any steam thereafter. The movie just kinda lies there, existing as the object it is, but with no real emotional core or jump-off-the-screen characters that make the classic moments of great animated films what they are. When your big climactic setpiece is boring, ya know something is wrong. Expand
  4. DavidF
    May 27, 2005
    4
    Disappointing - I've loved Shrek movies and this one just left me shifting in my seat waiting for it to end. 6 yr old with me wanted to know what we'd be seeing next.
  5. Tonydannie
    Jun 17, 2005
    3
    I was Dissapointed through out the whole thing. Alex The Lion voiced By Ben Stiller is about as annoying as Ben Stiller In person. Chris Rock had nothing funny to say. david Schwimer's girafe Charecter whined way to much and was to familair to another Scwimer Charecter.. I was waiting to hear him Yell out that "We were on a break" line. And those lemers were just boring. To think I was Dissapointed through out the whole thing. Alex The Lion voiced By Ben Stiller is about as annoying as Ben Stiller In person. Chris Rock had nothing funny to say. david Schwimer's girafe Charecter whined way to much and was to familair to another Scwimer Charecter.. I was waiting to hear him Yell out that "We were on a break" line. And those lemers were just boring. To think this was the studio that brought us Shrek and the Less favorite by some but in my opinion much more funny film Shark tale. Kids will definitly think this is funny. but for us adults looking to escape from the usual comedy trash hollywood throws at us, this movie falls short on entertainment... How ever Those Penguins are a riot but not worth paying the theater admission just for 3 or four laughs here or there. That was my mistake. Wait for it on DvD. Expand
  6. MichaelD
    Jun 6, 2005
    3
    There were some funny moments. the penguins were funny the monkeys were great, but they onlly had one joke. This was not a laugh a minute fest, not even close. Im amazed at some of the reviews that criticized the incredibles and shrek 2 for having a plot. This could use one. Id like to care about the characters, but hearing 2 simps sing an old Sinatra song off-key was no help. And heres There were some funny moments. the penguins were funny the monkeys were great, but they onlly had one joke. This was not a laugh a minute fest, not even close. Im amazed at some of the reviews that criticized the incredibles and shrek 2 for having a plot. This could use one. Id like to care about the characters, but hearing 2 simps sing an old Sinatra song off-key was no help. And heres one thing noones mentioned. How about all those pseudo-hip phrases Chris Rock had to spout off. "Im off the hizz-00k" Um, no. No you're not. The actors were wasted in this snoozer. If you really want an average heart-warmer, watch the Heffalump movie. At least that was admirable for its earnestness and good natured simplicity. This movie has nothing. pardon me while I LOOK FORWARD to watching Nemo for the 50th time with my daughter. At least at the end of that one I want them to find him. Leave these chars in Madagascar, Antartica, anywhere! Just keep them away from me. Expand
  7. BruceH.
    May 27, 2005
    0
    I'm trying to figure out why Cuba Gooding Jr. picked "Madagascar: as his comeback vehicle. Here's my theory: he made a bet on the election, and said that if John Kerry lost, he'd star in the single worst script making the rounds in Hollywood. Let's not forget that Cuba Gooding Jr. was a great actor in movie such as "Gladiator" (1992) and "Men Of Honor." He could have I'm trying to figure out why Cuba Gooding Jr. picked "Madagascar: as his comeback vehicle. Here's my theory: he made a bet on the election, and said that if John Kerry lost, he'd star in the single worst script making the rounds in Hollywood. Let's not forget that Cuba Gooding Jr. was a great actor in movie such as "Gladiator" (1992) and "Men Of Honor." He could have made a real comeback in a hipster independent film, or maybe with a strong supporting role in a quality blockbuster. Instead, he picked an incredibly tired vehicle about an insanely overprotective zebra who schemes to get rid of his nieghbor's prospective best friend. Maybe Gooding Jr. figured it would boost his image to co-star with Ashton Kutcher, but Kutcher gives the worst performance of his career in a story that wouldn't make a good sitcom pilot. There's nothing to this movie other than the two animals battling out in embarassing fashion. Topher Grace used to date Jennifer Garner who's now engaged to Ben Affleck who was friends with Kutcher who starred with Grace on "That '70s Show," and I mention all this because it's a lot more intresting than Grace's white-bread performance as the wimpy mama's boy girrafe who doesn't just tell his overbearing nieghbor to take a hike. And how annoying is that emo/pop puk music soundtrack? "Madagascar" is the first sure bet to make my list of the ten worst movies of 2005. It's rated PG-13, and you should SKIP IT. Expand
  8. jeffn
    Jun 8, 2005
    4
    Just weak. i think we're spoiled by pixar and companies that do animation well with good plot, good characters, artistic deisgn, not just animation for the sake of animation.
  9. RoyM
    Jul 11, 2005
    2
    I only laughed once and chuckled a half dozen more times. I just didn't find it funny. Although there weren't many kids in the audience when I went, I didn't hear them laughing either.
  10. DavidE
    Jul 18, 2005
    2
    Hyper active and consequently very tiring animation, characters mostly with one note, boring dialogue, non-discript voice performances, not many gags that made me laugh in fact I found the film annoying and wanted to leave half way through. Stayed for my child right to the bitter end. although it barely ended just petered out. I only hope it wasn't for a sequal?
  11. JackS.
    Nov 22, 2008
    2
    Yes, the animation was fair. The voices were not that realistic. It had absolutely NO PLOT. There was barely any good jokes. Actually there wasn't any good jokes. The only cool thing about this movie is the song "Move It" and that the animation was fair. But, those are not what makes a good movie. Definately the animation part, I said FAIR, they really could of gotten better and more Yes, the animation was fair. The voices were not that realistic. It had absolutely NO PLOT. There was barely any good jokes. Actually there wasn't any good jokes. The only cool thing about this movie is the song "Move It" and that the animation was fair. But, those are not what makes a good movie. Definately the animation part, I said FAIR, they really could of gotten better and more realistic animation. But, even that only plays a small part of a good animation. The real part is this is ANIMATION!!! Not reallity. Animated movies are suppposed to creat things that truly entertain the minds of people. This was way to ordinary. Hasn't any of you already thought of a bunch of zoo animals washing up on a shore of an island? This is orgiinal. The jokes were the lamest jokes ever, they're worse then my friends jokes! When he tries to crack one everyone who hears it wil go totally silent, everytime. This is no hyperbole, everyone goes silent when he tries a joke, even if we are cracking up at the table. Expand
  12. Nawi
    Nov 16, 2005
    1
    Boring. The writing is so lame and the story and jokes so bad.
  13. MarkB.
    Oct 24, 2005
    1
    I waited forever to see this popular CGI-fest because Robots and Shark Tale left me cringing in abject terror at any piece of 3-D computer-generated animation NOT bearing the Pixar label...but the short subject featuring the Madagascar penguins that preceded Wallace & Gromit: The Curse of the Were-Rabbit turned out to be surprisingly bearable (if immediately forgettable compared to the I waited forever to see this popular CGI-fest because Robots and Shark Tale left me cringing in abject terror at any piece of 3-D computer-generated animation NOT bearing the Pixar label...but the short subject featuring the Madagascar penguins that preceded Wallace & Gromit: The Curse of the Were-Rabbit turned out to be surprisingly bearable (if immediately forgettable compared to the feature that followed), so I ponied up my $2.50 to finally check it out at a discount theater, and guess what? This turned out to be by far the worst of the sorry bunch: a film so relentlessly shrill, assaultive, headache-inducing, self-satisfied and aggressively unfunny that it ALMOST made me want to re-evaluate Shark Tale, which at least had some well-cast voices, and Robots, which boasted some impressively elaborate animation set-ups. (Notice that I said ALMOST; life is already too short, I just blew 80 minutes on this, and I'm sure there are sock drawers that need rearranging somewhere.) This completely heartless, soulless and utterly disjointed tale of city zoo animals forced back into the wild, where they have to face their primal instincts and temptations certainly had potential, but stampedes it completely beneath an endless cacaphony of pop-culture riffs and movie references (I hesitate to even call most of them "jokes"; they're so joyless and perfunctory that they're far more accurately described as checklist items) that take the place of a cohesive script; this is exactly the same chop-suey corporate writing approach that turned The Simpsons from what was at one time the greatest TV show on the air to the completely unwatchable farrago it is today. I was shocked to see Hans Zimmer's name credited to the music; his work may have been one of several contributions to turning The Lion King from an animated kiddie musical into a dramatic movie of real heft, but Madagascar is so wall-to-wall loaded with push-button soundbites from TV and movies (the worst example: the Hawaii Five-O theme IMMEDIATELY followed by the Chariots of Fire theme) that I honestly don't recall any background music that Zimmer contributed! I'm certainly well aware that the history of popular animation--from Warner Bros. Looney Tunes cartoons to Rocky and Bullwinkle to even the early years of The Flintstones--includes many examples of simultaneously appealing to kids on one level while pitching jokes to adults that the little ones won't catch (the "NUTS" gag in the Wallace & Gromit movie is a delightful contemporary example of this) ...but Madagascar tips the scale so far one way that it made me start to understand Michael Medved's appreciation of Barney the Dinosaur playing 100% to his wee audience and completely chucking the smart-aleck postmodernism, especially during the truly hateful bit about cute little creatures being devoured in the jungle that made one little guy in my audience burst into sobs. The character design is harsh and repellent, with the lemurs' egg-yolk eyes in particular being...well, an eyesore; the animation, especially of people and crowds, is frequently inept; of the voices, Chris Rock comes off as the most overbearing, Jada Pinkett Smith the least, and most of the others far closer to Rock than Smith. Some have argued that Madagascar's uber-rapid-fire, yock-on-top-of-yock approach carries on the tradition of what Tex Avery did so successfully in the 1940s and 1950s, but there IS a crucial difference: Avery's features worked because he limited them to 7 minutes. But then, Madagascar is hardly a movie that respects its betters: early on, a couple of monkeys discuss flinging their poo at Tom Wolfe. Now we can agree to disagree about I Am Charlotte Simmons, but for a group of hack committee sitcom writers to make a comment like that about the master satirist who wrote the brilliant novels The Bonfire of the Vanities and A Man In Full (whether he wears a white suit or not) merely underscores the wise old agage: throw one piece of poo, get 1,463,892 pieces of poo thrown back at yourself. At least! Collapse
  14. TomD.
    May 27, 2005
    2
    About as much fun as watching paint dry. the kids weren't into it at all and I blew $30 that I could've spent on something with more family-fun. It certainly does have 'blockbuster' written all over it, although Blockbuster is also a pretty depressing place these days.
  15. Feb 19, 2011
    0
    Easily the worst movie I have ever seen. Even though I was much younger when I saw it, I was very disappointed with the lack of sophisticated humour. Awful...Absolutely awful...
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36
  1. 63
    Eventually, it had to happen: a computer-animated dud.
  2. It's frustrating to see this wonderful-looking, laugh-out-loud funny survival tale fall short of its potential.
  3. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    60
    Pleasant, if mediocre family fare.