Lionsgate | Release Date: February 20, 2009
4.9
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 34 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
13
Mixed:
5
Negative:
16
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
shanequaMay 12, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. DAYM NIGGUH DIS MOVIE IS DA SHIITt Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
SKMar 4, 2009
Terrible... This was actually 2 movies in 1 where neither had anything to do with each other. One being the obvious Madea comedy and the other an over the top drama. I was waiting the entire time for how these two plots would weave Terrible... This was actually 2 movies in 1 where neither had anything to do with each other. One being the obvious Madea comedy and the other an over the top drama. I was waiting the entire time for how these two plots would weave intricately together and show how the two lives would affect each other. Instead they just ended up at the same jail and had a couple minor scenes together. In fact, the whole idea of "Madea goes to jail" is misleading. She was probably in jail for about 20 minutes of the movie and half the time was spent in a cliche montage as the days of a calendar get counted off. For as little as the jail had to do with anything, it might as well have been called, "Madea drives a car" or "Madea gets angry". Sadly "Ernest goes to jail" had more of a plot and purpose than this movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
ChadS.Feb 20, 2009
Accidents will happen. With veteran actress Kathy Bates on board, this filmmaker's approach to hodgepodge plotting and abrupt tonal shifts resulted in a moderately entertaining film that stood a fighting chance of reaching an audience Accidents will happen. With veteran actress Kathy Bates on board, this filmmaker's approach to hodgepodge plotting and abrupt tonal shifts resulted in a moderately entertaining film that stood a fighting chance of reaching an audience beyond its fervent base. In retrospect, "The Family That Preys" was an accident; a guilty pleasure for people who had previously thought they were immune to overwrought melodrama. This one, however, is for Madea cultists; this one is for the base. Non-fans won't change their minds about the homegrown auteur's most polarizing character, who serves no other purpose, it seems, but to reassess such Eddie Murphy lowlights as "Norbit", and "The Nutty Professor 2: The Klumps". To an outsider, the man occupying those frumpy frocks appears to have no comic chops whatsoever. He transforms a segment of American moviegoers into French cineastes. In "Madea Goes to Jail", as the title makes explicit, God's favorite drag queen is back, along with the ham-fisted Christian moralizing that draws a straight line between the believers and the haters. "Madea Goes to Jail" is so unspeakably awful, to quote Elvis Costello circa "Armed Forces": "I just don't know where to begin." For starters, that cute little Rudy Huxtable from "The Cosby Show", plays a fifty-dollar hooker(Keisha Knight-Pulliam) with a grudge against her childhood friend, who let some fraternity boys gang-rape her at college(the movie is like a cross between Richard Linklater's "Tape" and the Duke men's lacrosse scandal). It's a toss-up as to what's worse: Josh's monotonous arguments with Linda(Ion Overman) over the whiny prostitute, or his teary-eyed breakdown on a park bench. And of course, when Candace goes to jail, she just happens to share the same cell as her street-walking friend. How absurdly convenient; it's like summer camp. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
TheateraNerdJul 9, 2012
The critics have done it AGAIN! They have underated another GREAT Perry film! This movie's too good to get such a low score. People who rated this movie low are just JEALOUS just like spike lee is because Tyler Perry makes GREAT films.The critics have done it AGAIN! They have underated another GREAT Perry film! This movie's too good to get such a low score. People who rated this movie low are just JEALOUS just like spike lee is because Tyler Perry makes GREAT films. REMEMBER.....jealousy is a sin!!!!..... Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
JayHJun 13, 2009
Tyler Perry at his worst. The production values are below par, even the make-up isn't good. Over acted, extremely predictable and the Madea character isn't funny, she's obnoxious. Poor structure, badly written. Awful.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
0
kevingMar 23, 2009
The previews were misleading. This was a movie for Tyler Perry to get on his soap box. This is a movie about black peoples problems.And how unfair Society is.NOT FUNNY and BAD ACTING. Perry's A family that prey's together is a The previews were misleading. This was a movie for Tyler Perry to get on his soap box. This is a movie about black peoples problems.And how unfair Society is.NOT FUNNY and BAD ACTING. Perry's A family that prey's together is a excellent movie though. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
BHJul 23, 2009
I'm not sure why Madea's name is in the title of this movie. I believe it was done as a marketing scheme because chances are that no one would have given this video a second glance given the real story. Movie fans will likely be I'm not sure why Madea's name is in the title of this movie. I believe it was done as a marketing scheme because chances are that no one would have given this video a second glance given the real story. Movie fans will likely be very wary of the next Madea movie after feeling like they've been cheated and tricked by this one. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
CrazyBlackManMay 12, 2011
this movie is SOOOOO GOOD I LAUGHED EVEN WHEN IT WANT SUPPOSED TO BE FUNNY OMG I ALMOST DIED PF LAUGHTER WATCHING THIS MOVIE BUY IT I WOULD PAY 2000 DOLLARS TO SEE THIS AGAIN I LUV THIS MOVIE
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
meelan.Jul 18, 2009
This movie was classic tyler perry, it was comedy and drama, very good. Madea should have stayed in jail longer though...lol she is the best!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
Captain_KirkAug 19, 2012
The fact that this was marketed as a Madea movie just blows my mind. The majority of the film is focused around a hooker and a man trying to help her, while we get just bits and pieces of scenes with Madea. The majority of the jokes failed toThe fact that this was marketed as a Madea movie just blows my mind. The majority of the film is focused around a hooker and a man trying to help her, while we get just bits and pieces of scenes with Madea. The majority of the jokes failed to make me even smile while I got insanely bored with the serious side of the film when we're supposed to be seeing Madea, given the title of the movie. The film suffers from identity crisis and fails at both drama and comedy. I would have given it a 4, but I'd be happier to see the negative user rating bar increase a little more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
PrinceIkeApr 30, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Jesus Christ this movie is ****
i cant believe a human made this
its been like 20 movies Tyler, you cant base a movie off of just being black
Its uninspired,its pointless and theres only more to come.
Perry has yet to emerge from his own **** and see a color besides black,.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
choomtabi31Feb 18, 2016
You gotta' love Tyler Perry, the guy is a GENIUS! Great film!

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-29-Tyler-Perrys-Madea-Goes-to-Jail-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews