Magic in the Moonlight

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 89 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 89
  2. Negative: 9 out of 89

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Aug 19, 2014
    5
    recommend it is the look: Darius Khondji's beautiful cinematography, the lovely locations and the rich costumes. Colin Firth plays a misanthrope magician who travels to the south of France to debunk a supposed medium (Emma Stone). Firth blusters his way thru the endless arrogant rants, but the dialogue lacks any life and his changes of heart seem unmotivated and sudden. Allen moves itrecommend it is the look: Darius Khondji's beautiful cinematography, the lovely locations and the rich costumes. Colin Firth plays a misanthrope magician who travels to the south of France to debunk a supposed medium (Emma Stone). Firth blusters his way thru the endless arrogant rants, but the dialogue lacks any life and his changes of heart seem unmotivated and sudden. Allen moves it along with a bouncy pace, but its lack of interesting characters or snappy script make it bubbly but dull. Expand
  2. Aug 22, 2014
    8
    I very much enjoyed this movie. It has the quality of a play with nicely drawn characters and an entertaining story. The acting is excellent and the cinematography is beautiful. Allen seems to be studying various personality types (narcissism in this case) with his recent films, providing insight and wisdom. The only significant fault in my mind is that Stone and Furth, while great inI very much enjoyed this movie. It has the quality of a play with nicely drawn characters and an entertaining story. The acting is excellent and the cinematography is beautiful. Allen seems to be studying various personality types (narcissism in this case) with his recent films, providing insight and wisdom. The only significant fault in my mind is that Stone and Furth, while great in their roles, seem a little mismatched age-wise. Expand
  3. Sep 6, 2014
    9
    Magic in the Moonlight addresses the question--what is the meaning of life--by exploring the tension between mysticism and rationalism. And it finds a way of honoring both (in a backhanded kind of way) while essentially concluding that life probably has no inherent meaning (but it might because we can't know for sure), while acknowledging that accepting that is so devastating as to makeMagic in the Moonlight addresses the question--what is the meaning of life--by exploring the tension between mysticism and rationalism. And it finds a way of honoring both (in a backhanded kind of way) while essentially concluding that life probably has no inherent meaning (but it might because we can't know for sure), while acknowledging that accepting that is so devastating as to make life unbearable for most folks (which is ultimately a pretty stupid thing to do), so it is up to us to make meaning for ourselves and that's possible in a number of ways. Dunno about Woody Allen's personal morality (and I had some misgivings about seeing the film because of that), but it was an entertaining and compelling rumination on life. In short, if you like movies that make you think about big existential questions (and you're bright enough to infer the deeper meaning), I think you'll enjoy the film. If you're a surface watcher and are more interested in the romantic tension between Firth's character and Stone's character, you'll probably be disappointed. Expand
  4. Dec 2, 2014
    7
    Once again, a beautifully enchanting tale of life and romance from Woody Allen. Perhaps what is most magical about this one is the band of so-called magicians and frauds--they're quite fun.
  5. Jan 5, 2015
    5
    Highly watchable performances from MacCormack and Firth in a script Woody Allen probably wrote in an afternoon. Easily Allen's laziest work in years, yet annoyingly still watchable. What should be perfect fodder for Allen to cast his cynical eye over, the film feels like a missed opportunity.
  6. Jul 28, 2014
    10
    "Magic in the Moonlight" is a classic Woody Allen picture. Filled with charm, sophistication, and wit that is unmatched in cinema today. The film was shot beautifully by cinematographer Darius Khondji and evokes the nostalgia of summer holiday in the most lavish of locales. It fits in with Allen's summer European sojourns and it is just as fun as his previous hits, "Midnight in Paris" and"Magic in the Moonlight" is a classic Woody Allen picture. Filled with charm, sophistication, and wit that is unmatched in cinema today. The film was shot beautifully by cinematographer Darius Khondji and evokes the nostalgia of summer holiday in the most lavish of locales. It fits in with Allen's summer European sojourns and it is just as fun as his previous hits, "Midnight in Paris" and "Vicky Cristina Barcelona." This can be judged as a romantic comedy as well as a philosophical existential riff in a way that only Woody Allen can pull off. I loved it and you will too! Expand
  7. Aug 24, 2014
    3
    Woody Allen loves to make movies even when he has nothing to say. This film is a romantic comedy without romance or comedy. Colin Firth can do no wrong as an actor, but the script keeps him from doing anything right. Emma Stone looks washed out. Eileen Atkins' crisp delivery can't quite redeem soggy lines. It is painful to see a director and actors you admire working at such a low,Woody Allen loves to make movies even when he has nothing to say. This film is a romantic comedy without romance or comedy. Colin Firth can do no wrong as an actor, but the script keeps him from doing anything right. Emma Stone looks washed out. Eileen Atkins' crisp delivery can't quite redeem soggy lines. It is painful to see a director and actors you admire working at such a low, tired level of inspiration. Mr. Allen maybe it's time to return to Manhattan. Mr. Firth, if movie scripts are barren, do a play. Expand
  8. Aug 17, 2014
    0
    I'm astonished that this film received even one positive review from anyone. If you enjoy hearing a perpetually grumpy Colin Firth expounding tediously for nearly two hours about the relative merits of rationalism vs. romanticism while Emma Stone looks on doe-eyed, this is your film. As for me, I found this to be without a doubt the worst Woody Allen film I've ever seen. It's maddeninglyI'm astonished that this film received even one positive review from anyone. If you enjoy hearing a perpetually grumpy Colin Firth expounding tediously for nearly two hours about the relative merits of rationalism vs. romanticism while Emma Stone looks on doe-eyed, this is your film. As for me, I found this to be without a doubt the worst Woody Allen film I've ever seen. It's maddeningly slow-paced, trivial, predictable, derivative and dumbass to its core. There's no humor; no interesting ideas are explored; there's nothing emotionally touching; and there isn't even any clever plotting. I didn't laugh once, and normally I love Woody Allen's humor. I don't know what has happened to him but perhaps he should retire now. Expand
  9. Aug 18, 2014
    4
    The ending came way too soon. Where was the rest of the movie??? Why have all those wonderful actors and not use them. Maybe it's time for Woody Allen to retire.
  10. Sep 20, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great movie - really enjoyed it. Even the ending is realistic, when you realize that otherwise she had to live a lie. Magnificent production values. Woody Allen not being his self-indulgent self, except for his usual knee-jerk atheism. "Manhattan" with a large dose of common sense and no Bella Abzug. Expand
  11. Jul 25, 2014
    9
    "Magic in the Moonlight" stars Colin Firth and Emma Stone in this film written and directed by Woody Allen. There are those who will avoid a film by the writer-director because of circumstances which occurred in his private life and there are others who will go to any film bearing his credits as dutiful and loyal fans regardless of his personal choices or the quality of the work.. This"Magic in the Moonlight" stars Colin Firth and Emma Stone in this film written and directed by Woody Allen. There are those who will avoid a film by the writer-director because of circumstances which occurred in his private life and there are others who will go to any film bearing his credits as dutiful and loyal fans regardless of his personal choices or the quality of the work.. This film transcends the nay sayers and the hoorayers and can be judged on its own merits for by so doing, the viewer will experience a beautifully written and well directed work of theatrical art. Mr. Firth is fine in the role of the arch magician out to prove or disprove the abilities of Ms. Stone’s character as alleged seer and psychic. The movie sails along at an easy pace as it relates the story in a well edited and interesting manner. Add to this a soundtrack of great songs of the early 20th Century and you end up with a positive audio and visual theatrical experience. Kudos to Mr. Allen who has once more brought his "magic" into the theater. I give the film a well deserved 8.5. Bottom line: this is a good film to see and one that I think most people will enjoy.. Expand
  12. Jul 26, 2014
    6
    A modestly amusing though not especially stellar offering from Woody Allen that could have benefited from better lead performances and, surprisingly, sharper writing (particularly in the last half hour). A fine supporting cast and terrific period piece production values help to shore up some of these other shortcomings, making for a mildly entertaining, though not especially memorable,A modestly amusing though not especially stellar offering from Woody Allen that could have benefited from better lead performances and, surprisingly, sharper writing (particularly in the last half hour). A fine supporting cast and terrific period piece production values help to shore up some of these other shortcomings, making for a mildly entertaining, though not especially memorable, time at the movies. Expand
  13. Jul 26, 2014
    10
    "Magic in the Moonlight" is pure Woody Allen magic. It ponders the part of life we cannot explain in a very unique and entertaining way. It is cleverly written, beautifully shot, and wonderfully acted. An intelligent entertainment experience without special effects and gimmicks. An imaginative story masterfully told that transports you to the South of France in the late 1920's. Absolutely"Magic in the Moonlight" is pure Woody Allen magic. It ponders the part of life we cannot explain in a very unique and entertaining way. It is cleverly written, beautifully shot, and wonderfully acted. An intelligent entertainment experience without special effects and gimmicks. An imaginative story masterfully told that transports you to the South of France in the late 1920's. Absolutely worth seeing. Expand
  14. Aug 12, 2014
    10
    This movie is absolutely fantastic! I find it unbelievable that it has such a low Metacritic rating. My wife and I went to see it despite the poor reviews. We loved ever minute of it. It's beautifully shot, funny, thought provoking, romantic, and truly clever. The performances were terrific which carried the story so well. The costumes and the locations amazing together. I thinkThis movie is absolutely fantastic! I find it unbelievable that it has such a low Metacritic rating. My wife and I went to see it despite the poor reviews. We loved ever minute of it. It's beautifully shot, funny, thought provoking, romantic, and truly clever. The performances were terrific which carried the story so well. The costumes and the locations amazing together. I think this is one of Woody Allen's top pictures. For those critics who marked this film negatively, you pretty much have identified yourself as someone who should go back to teaching gym. Expand
  15. Aug 17, 2014
    10
    Magic In The Moonlight is one of Woody Allens better recent films; quite

    complex, Worth seeing for the photography alone. Colin Firth and Emma Stone add something incredibly nice to this. There are all sorts of subtleties and textures in this film, so it's Not a standard " Rom-Com" but more like a Whit Stillman ( Metropolitan, Barcelona) type film. As good or better than "
    Magic In The Moonlight is one of Woody Allens better recent films; quite

    complex,
    Worth seeing for the photography alone. Colin Firth and Emma Stone
    add something incredibly nice to this.
    There are all sorts of subtleties and textures in this film, so it's
    Not a standard " Rom-Com" but more like a Whit Stillman ( Metropolitan,

    Barcelona) type film.

    As good or better than " Midnight In Paris."
    Expand
  16. Aug 17, 2014
    3
    I found this film weak and, for Allen, uncharacteristically predictable. Colin Firth (a great actor) is miscast; he does not play a misanthropic, cynical atheist convincingly. That he would inexplicably fall for a woman less than half his age--a point slurred over throughout the film--who had deliberately hoodwinked him is unbelievable, as is the gratuitous and entirely predictableI found this film weak and, for Allen, uncharacteristically predictable. Colin Firth (a great actor) is miscast; he does not play a misanthropic, cynical atheist convincingly. That he would inexplicably fall for a woman less than half his age--a point slurred over throughout the film--who had deliberately hoodwinked him is unbelievable, as is the gratuitous and entirely predictable ending. There is none of the sophisticated moral nuance in "Crimes and Misdemeanors", and the mature approach to September/May romances in "Husbands and Wives" is lamentably missing. All in all, a disappointment. Expand
  17. Sep 7, 2014
    8
    While it is perfectly sweet, charming, and quirky like most other Allen movies, Magic in the Moonlight has a certain vibe to it so that some of the scenes and dialogue seem forced, and most if the movie is easily forgettable. However, Firth and Stone have scenes that strike just the right note, and the movie is elevated every time they get a chance to exchange words. They have greatWhile it is perfectly sweet, charming, and quirky like most other Allen movies, Magic in the Moonlight has a certain vibe to it so that some of the scenes and dialogue seem forced, and most if the movie is easily forgettable. However, Firth and Stone have scenes that strike just the right note, and the movie is elevated every time they get a chance to exchange words. They have great chemistry, (which isn't as disgusting as you might think, considering their age difference). Overall, this is a lean-back kind movie that does offer some commentary on life that can be easily-lapped-up by the audience. It doesn't require you to think much; if I had to pick, I'd say this fits into Woody's category of "hit", rather than "miss". Expand
  18. Sep 12, 2014
    7
    Great writing and chemistry between the protagonists. Colin Firth charm and presence is powerful enough to make us a believe that a woman almost 30 years younger may find herself attracted to him. That women is played by the beautiful Emma Stone which once again displays immense talent as the psychic whom Firth's character, a world class magician and skeptic, is trying to prove aGreat writing and chemistry between the protagonists. Colin Firth charm and presence is powerful enough to make us a believe that a woman almost 30 years younger may find herself attracted to him. That women is played by the beautiful Emma Stone which once again displays immense talent as the psychic whom Firth's character, a world class magician and skeptic, is trying to prove a charlatan. As she reveals more and more secrets about his life - things she could never have known - he begins to question whether there is more to it in life than meets the eye.

    A heartwarming flick that unfortunately tries too hard to fit into the romantic comedy mold and ends up inheriting from all the cliches associated with it. The third act feels artificial, which prevents the movie from being truly great.

    7/10
    Expand
  19. Sep 28, 2014
    8
    I don't know about the other reviews but I loved this movie! It's not Allen's best, sure, but it's still a charming tale of Firth's cold, miserable Hobbesian rationalist confronted not merely with the logic-defying mysteries of Stone's character alone, but more importantly, the perennial battle of love as a rational, cold game of calculation vs a more abstract and unknown spiritualI don't know about the other reviews but I loved this movie! It's not Allen's best, sure, but it's still a charming tale of Firth's cold, miserable Hobbesian rationalist confronted not merely with the logic-defying mysteries of Stone's character alone, but more importantly, the perennial battle of love as a rational, cold game of calculation vs a more abstract and unknown spiritual doctrine. Firth's acting was always on point, although I have to agree that the final 20 minutes or so of the film seem to halt abruptly in terms of pace and wit, and whilst it isn't quite a car crash, it isn't as consistently engaging and entertaining as the rest of the film.

    My advice, don't go into this film expecting the best Woody Allen film ever, this is an enjoyable character study of Firth's character, and whether the caustic and cynical nature of modern day life can continue to embrace the illogical passion and mysteries of romanticized love.
    Expand
  20. Sep 30, 2014
    8
    Magic in the Moonlight boasts a great story, beautiful scenery and first class acting from Mr. Firth and Ms. Stone. Although I am not an expert in Woody Allen filmography, I really did enjoy this movie immensely and would recommend it to anyone looking for a smart romantic comedy. My only quibble is with the ending, which seemed rushed.
  21. Oct 3, 2014
    3
    After the high of 'Blue Jasmine' with its engaging story, funny lines and sublime leading lady,' Magic in the Moonlight' is an almost inevitable disappointment from the inconsistent Woody Allen. Desperately lacking laughs this tale of Colin Firth's determination to unmask fraudulent medium Emma Stone comes over as a mere trifle. The story is needlessly protracted for an Allen film andAfter the high of 'Blue Jasmine' with its engaging story, funny lines and sublime leading lady,' Magic in the Moonlight' is an almost inevitable disappointment from the inconsistent Woody Allen. Desperately lacking laughs this tale of Colin Firth's determination to unmask fraudulent medium Emma Stone comes over as a mere trifle. The story is needlessly protracted for an Allen film and would have been overlong at 80 minutes let alone 97!
    Colin Firth makes little impression and most of the rest of a potentially good cast are wasted on the below par material. Eileen Atkins probably comes of best, but Emma Stone is likeable even as she starts to drown due to a poverty of ideas. In fact, only the costume design is noteworthy here capturing perfectly the 1920's setting.
    Ultimately, 'Magic in the Moonlight' becomes boredom in the cinema as the already thin storyline starts to evaporate. By the end it has all but disappeared, following, it would seem, the example of one of Firth's own conjuring tricks.
    Expand
  22. Nov 13, 2014
    7
    This is Woody-lite. That isn't a bad thing. Every now and then Woody makes a light, non-serious movie that is simply fun to watch. I have loved most of them. I enjoyed all the performances and the wonderful cinematography. My biggest complaint was the ending, or more specifically the conclusion about whether the Medium (played by Emma Stone) was real or not. It could have been evenThis is Woody-lite. That isn't a bad thing. Every now and then Woody makes a light, non-serious movie that is simply fun to watch. I have loved most of them. I enjoyed all the performances and the wonderful cinematography. My biggest complaint was the ending, or more specifically the conclusion about whether the Medium (played by Emma Stone) was real or not. It could have been even more magical as the title implies. Expand
  23. Dec 2, 2014
    9
    My female friend wanted to watch this. I had reservations given all the accusations against Woody Allen in the last year. But this is a wonderful movie. Colin Firth is perfect. I found Emma over-acted, hence 9/10.

    The music, the plot, Colin Firth, the setting, the costumes, the cars. It's great.
  24. Dec 28, 2014
    5
    Magic in the Moonlight provides some decent performances from Firth and Stone along with a wonderful art direction but even those positive traits can't help a mediocre cheesy film.
  25. Dec 28, 2014
    7
    Magic in the Moonlight is another solid movie from Woody Allen. It is well paced with interesting characters. At the center of the movie is Colin Firth who gives a great performance.
  26. Lyn
    Jan 3, 2015
    7
    Fluffy, but amusing from beginning to end. Colin Firth's character has an entertaining combination of self-awareness and pomposity. Nothing against Emma Stone, but I would like to have seen an older actress as the possibly fraudulent spiritualist -- though still adorable, Firth is well past his Mr. Darcy days, and Stone by contrast looks about 14.
  27. Jan 16, 2015
    6
    Watchable but not spectacular.

    Fans of Woody Allen will find a lot to like about this picture but it is as predictable and unconvincing as the magic act presented in the opening scene.
  28. Jan 24, 2015
    5
    Woody Allen has nothing to say for real in this movie. A good cast, with Colin Firth, and Emma Stone leading, tries to raise the level up, but can't really succeed. Obviously the beautiful south coast of France and the rich costumes help forgetting the absence of a real meaning for a while, but do not really compensate. This Romantic Comedy can help you forget about the sad reality for anWoody Allen has nothing to say for real in this movie. A good cast, with Colin Firth, and Emma Stone leading, tries to raise the level up, but can't really succeed. Obviously the beautiful south coast of France and the rich costumes help forgetting the absence of a real meaning for a while, but do not really compensate. This Romantic Comedy can help you forget about the sad reality for an hour and a half, but nothing more than that. Expand
  29. Mar 10, 2015
    7
    Sophie: "More Mystery, More Magic".

    The story is about a spiritual medium may or may not be conning wealthy families and a Englishman, and magician, will stop at nothing to uncover the truth - though he doesn't realize just how it will affect both his personal and professional life. To me Woody Allen is 50/50, sometimes he can direct and write great movies with a lot of details into,
    Sophie: "More Mystery, More Magic".

    The story is about a spiritual medium may or may not be conning wealthy families and a Englishman, and magician, will stop at nothing to uncover the truth - though he doesn't realize just how it will affect both his personal and professional life.

    To me Woody Allen is 50/50, sometimes he can direct and write great movies with a lot of details into, but at times he can direct and write not so good films, not terrible, just a bit weak. Magic in the Moonlight can be reviewed in many different ways for some people. The movie can suck the auditions in by it's story,writing and the films atmosphere, or people are not looking for good story or good writing, just something to entertain them, well this has some of the good, and some of the bad.

    Colin Firth and Emma Stone both of give it their all and in this movie it's shows, because both of them were really good in this movie. The sets looked good, the writing at times can really clever and really fresh. The movie looks really good and the cinematography is stunning to watch.

    The character's in the movie are cardboard cut out of Woody's other films and the story itself isn't all that interesting. Woody Allen really likes recycling character's and locations, because most of his films he uses the same character's and as I said locations for his movies like: Colin Firths character in the movie is rude, selfish and hard to live with, just like Cate Blanchett character in Blue Jasmine, or what about the city of pairs, that's been use a lot in his other films.

    Overall Magic in the Moonlight can be slow with it's dragging plot and uninteresting character's, but the film dose have great shot and fantastic acting from Colin Firth and Emma Stone.
    Expand
  30. Apr 20, 2015
    6
    A 6.5 out of 10 for me. As always, Allen displays his unmistakable style beautifully. The film looks gorgeous and there´s chemistry between the two main actors, new to Allen´s universe: Emma Stone and Colin Firth. Especially Emma shines and glows throughout the film, which is probably the reason why she will repeat with Allen for his next film. However, the story does not tell much. It´s aA 6.5 out of 10 for me. As always, Allen displays his unmistakable style beautifully. The film looks gorgeous and there´s chemistry between the two main actors, new to Allen´s universe: Emma Stone and Colin Firth. Especially Emma shines and glows throughout the film, which is probably the reason why she will repeat with Allen for his next film. However, the story does not tell much. It´s a light film and very well done. Nothing else. Expand
  31. Apr 22, 2015
    5
    Once in a while we can watch a wondrous crafted Woody Allen movie, and his latest 'Magic in the moonlight' we have two adoring actors Colin Firth and Emma Stone, have some well chemistry, but hasn't Allen do the same location for his films? But that doesn't matter. The music is so original and invigorating, the script very well written, the imagery is beautiful and the actors areOnce in a while we can watch a wondrous crafted Woody Allen movie, and his latest 'Magic in the moonlight' we have two adoring actors Colin Firth and Emma Stone, have some well chemistry, but hasn't Allen do the same location for his films? But that doesn't matter. The music is so original and invigorating, the script very well written, the imagery is beautiful and the actors are elegant as well. But hey we knew this would be coming it is to predictable! Grade A- Expand
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 40
  2. Negative: 5 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Ian Nathan
    Sep 15, 2014
    60
    Weightless, but not without its enchantments, this is Woody Allen coasting. But where better to coast than the loveliest coast of all?
  2. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Aug 13, 2014
    58
    It feels like a rush job, needing another draft or two for cohesion's sake, or for Allen to decide what sort of story he's telling.
  3. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Aug 7, 2014
    58
    Stage magicians often depend on sleight of hand to succeed at their art, but Woody Allen's new movie, Magic in the Moonlight, is just plain slight.