Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: June 29, 2012
6.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 251 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
133
Mixed:
65
Negative:
53
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
Lize40Jun 29, 2012
I wished I could have seen more of Matthew McConaughey! However, Channing Tatum was Great. I took my Male Friend with me. He and the other men (with their girlfriends and wives) enjoyed the movie as well. I don't think guys should beI wished I could have seen more of Matthew McConaughey! However, Channing Tatum was Great. I took my Male Friend with me. He and the other men (with their girlfriends and wives) enjoyed the movie as well. I don't think guys should be embarrassed if they do go to this movie. All the actors in this movie played their roles to the "T"! Excelleant Movie! Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
JordanspickJun 30, 2012
Amazing :) I had the best time yesterday with my sisters and mama.. The energy from the crowd. The movie was exactly what was promised and it was nice that finally the lady's had something good to watch and do while the men were at home..
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
10
kwbmusicmanJul 1, 2012
For once, Hollywood has turned the tables on the typical male-centric movie and given us a breath of fresh air. The actors were great in their respective roles, and Soderbergh's direction was superb as well. The best part, in my opinion, wasFor once, Hollywood has turned the tables on the typical male-centric movie and given us a breath of fresh air. The actors were great in their respective roles, and Soderbergh's direction was superb as well. The best part, in my opinion, was the very original writing - kudos to Reid Carolin. This film has a lot of heart, and it showed because everyone in the theater had a great time! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AYIMJul 2, 2012
Amazing! Channing Tatum was awesome and can dance his ass off! it is definitely worth the money and excitement and definitely a ladies night out! Ladies leave your man @ home..lol!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
scoobydoogurlJul 23, 2012
I went to see this with my daughter-in-law and another friend. It is definitely a girls' night out movie! We all enjoyed it. Channing T and Matthew M really made the movie for us. Definitely recommend getting together with friends and goingI went to see this with my daughter-in-law and another friend. It is definitely a girls' night out movie! We all enjoyed it. Channing T and Matthew M really made the movie for us. Definitely recommend getting together with friends and going to see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CharCriticJul 1, 2012
I thought that it was good, however it wasnt quite what I was expecting. This movie is sopose to be for the women! (And gay guys obviously) finally we have a movie showing off the men's sexual attributes and were sick of going to the moviesI thought that it was good, however it wasnt quite what I was expecting. This movie is sopose to be for the women! (And gay guys obviously) finally we have a movie showing off the men's sexual attributes and were sick of going to the movies and watching our bfs get all hot and bothered by the female nude scenes, what I didn't like was there were some lesbians and two different girls that showed their **** that was frustrating because that is not what us women came to this movie to see! We would like to see how hung Channing tatum is obviously, we don't want to see women's boobs, like really don't we have enough movies showing that? We want our movie showing what we want to see for once! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
gemini0577Jul 2, 2012
There is some disappointment circulating as viewers learn that Magic Mike is not exclusively focused on male strippers strutting their goods for all to see. There is an actual story woven into the scenes of quasi-erotic gyrations and dryThere is some disappointment circulating as viewers learn that Magic Mike is not exclusively focused on male strippers strutting their goods for all to see. There is an actual story woven into the scenes of quasi-erotic gyrations and dry humping. Yes, this exploitation flick has a heart at its center and the entire cast is up to the task of making it work. Channing Tatum and Alex Petyfer shine as the film's central protagonists, the development of the their friendship central to the flow of the movie. Things do take a decidedly melodramatic turn towards darker themes but in the end, this shift is important to delivering the viewer to the film's final moment, the only moment of the film that features a genuine portrayal of sweetness. The biggest flaw is the development of the potential love story which seems rushed and at times it seems forgotten in the loose plot. Still, the actors all pull together to deliver some memorable moments. The eye candy is plentiful and there is plenty of nudity to satisfy men and women alike. The editing seems a little choppy but it only adds to the gritty nature of this story. All in all, this is a solid summer film with equal amounts of drama and comedy and a healthy dose of celebrity skin. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
NMReynoldsJul 2, 2012
I felt the movie did what it was meant to do, and that's get the ladies laughing and having a great time. I laughed, then I hysterically laughed and of course there was moments when I wanted to jump through the screen and join the cast...butI felt the movie did what it was meant to do, and that's get the ladies laughing and having a great time. I laughed, then I hysterically laughed and of course there was moments when I wanted to jump through the screen and join the cast...but never once did the smile leave my face. Channing is charming, sexy and played the role with perfection - his personality shines through and allows women to actually relate to the movie and pretend they're there. The true plot and story line captures your heart, and then Channing and his sexy co stars take it to a whole new level. Well done! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
pleaseandthanksJul 15, 2012
Most fun film of the summer so far. Weird, dark, and not at all what you're expecting it to be, this movie stuck with me. Don't trust the trailer! This movie is all about stripping away your notions of sexiness and exposing (yes, I know) theMost fun film of the summer so far. Weird, dark, and not at all what you're expecting it to be, this movie stuck with me. Don't trust the trailer! This movie is all about stripping away your notions of sexiness and exposing (yes, I know) the world of male stripping as a neurotic little worm-hole. And yet to the director's credit the movie sails along and is almost always a blast! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
mostmoviessuckJun 29, 2012
I am a 32 y/o man & went w/ my GF. I thought the movie was original, funny, and worth seeing. I think a lot of guys will feel embarassed about telling their guy friends that they saw this movie or even enjoyed it. Horny women, partying,I am a 32 y/o man & went w/ my GF. I thought the movie was original, funny, and worth seeing. I think a lot of guys will feel embarassed about telling their guy friends that they saw this movie or even enjoyed it. Horny women, partying, drinking, drugs, sex: all the things I love in a movie. It was fun watching Channing Tatum and Matthew McConnahey* play a role that basically is their real life, women wanting to have sex with them 24/7. Expand
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
8
MarcDoyleJul 1, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very much a Soderbergh film, Magic Mike definitely entertains - and is a tour de force for McConnahey's acting and Tatum's dancing. I was a little disappointed that we didn't get a few more lines from Bomer. My single favorite aspect of the film is the chemistry between Mike and The Kid's sister. While the rest of the film is so seedy and in-your-face with its overt and aggressive sexuality, their relationship isn't consummated at all - instead, they come together in a very classy, traditional, romantic way, finally touching hands and sharing a kiss in the film's final frame. Nice. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
8
TVJerryJul 2, 2012
This semi-autobiographical story of Channing Tatum's own experiences as a male dancer casts him in the role of elder stripper, who introduces the newbie (Alex Pettyfer) into the biz. Of course, there is lots of buff male flesh, but nobody'sThis semi-autobiographical story of Channing Tatum's own experiences as a male dancer casts him in the role of elder stripper, who introduces the newbie (Alex Pettyfer) into the biz. Of course, there is lots of buff male flesh, but nobody's taking it seriously. Director Steven Soderbergh has crafted the trite story into a winning narrative, but it's Tatum who's in every sense the star: his stature as THE leading man of his generation continues to develop, thanks to his charismatic presence and comic charms (not to mention his physique and flashy dance moves). As the boss, Matthew McConaughey turns in a enjoyable over-the-top performance that reflects the rowdy fun attitude of this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
wvmoviefanJul 12, 2012
A very good film that deserves a wider audience than the mostly female audience it now attracts. The honesty of the script and the performances are what makes the film enjoyable. Pettyfer and Tatum are excellent; McConaughey is sleazyA very good film that deserves a wider audience than the mostly female audience it now attracts. The honesty of the script and the performances are what makes the film enjoyable. Pettyfer and Tatum are excellent; McConaughey is sleazy enough to add character to his role. The only major problem is the love connection -- you know from the moment she appears on screen that Mike and The Kid's sister will be an item. Sadly this predictable weight diminishes an otherwise excellent movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
VidsRuleJul 15, 2012
First, I'm a guy who went to this with my girlfriend. Second, there was only three guys in the theater, I never thought I would see this happen. Even with hardcore guy movies (say, Solaris or something) you still see tons of girls. Wierd.First, I'm a guy who went to this with my girlfriend. Second, there was only three guys in the theater, I never thought I would see this happen. Even with hardcore guy movies (say, Solaris or something) you still see tons of girls. Wierd. Anyways, here we go... if you remove the 20 minutes of guys dancing in leather underwear, you have a rockstar movie about a group of guys trying to make it big. Acting's great, and Matt M. is playing himself so over the top that it's actually totally hilarious and you have to hand it to him for being so rediculous. Super-hot girls, drugs, some violence- it's got everything a guy needs in a movie, and just grin and bear the few dance seens (which actually contain quite a bit of comedy in themselves). Think the movie 'Rockstar' on a smaller scale with dancing instead of rock concerts. Oh, but it's better than the movie Rockstar (Rockstar's not a bad movie though). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JoshSJul 19, 2012
The doorman must turn gay guys away from the club since none ever materialize inside. The film could have used more gay--for realism, to appeal more to gay men (I was the only one in my audience), and because, as I understand it, straightThe doorman must turn gay guys away from the club since none ever materialize inside. The film could have used more gay--for realism, to appeal more to gay men (I was the only one in my audience), and because, as I understand it, straight women find man-on-man hot. The "gayest" character is a bi female stripper we meet briefly and never see again. She's most likely thrown in because straight boyfriends find girl-on-girl hot. Every 20 minutes or so the script throws them a bone--some boobs here, an I-imagine-hot woman there--but it's easily ignorable. Anyway, aside from that odd and unnecessary omission, the movie was much better than I expected. The plot was decent--maybe a little slow and trite--the characters were somewhat interesting, and the guys were hot to really hot. I didn't find the dancing, especially Tatum's, particularly erotic, but it was well-choreographed and your mileage may vary. As for skin, there are numerous nice butt and torso shots; no full frontal unfortunately (and a lack of crotch closeups come to think of it) but it's not porn and not meant to be. It does what it's supposed to and does it well. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
sanctuaryreviewAug 6, 2012
Magic Mike should go down as having one of the most deceiving trailers of all time. The trailer makes the film seem like a quick cash grab, filled with meathead hunks taking their clothes off, to fill theater seats on opening night. WhileMagic Mike should go down as having one of the most deceiving trailers of all time. The trailer makes the film seem like a quick cash grab, filled with meathead hunks taking their clothes off, to fill theater seats on opening night. While the film does feature its fair share of stripped down men, it also has an incredible story and real emotional depth, something that might not be assumed from initial expectations.

Those familiar with Steven Soderbergh
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MegWhiteleyOct 23, 2012
Magic Mike, ok... the movie can be boring on some parts of the story, but have some funny moments. The performances are really good, and the screenplay is cool. Magic Mike is only for enjoy amazing (*.*) bodies, and cool music.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheDRauchDec 12, 2012
Soderbergh has crafted what I consider to be a possible future classic with
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
cjm868Apr 1, 2016
People have a tendency to simplify movies down to a sentence or a few words in an attempt to disparage them. For example, Brokeback Mountain is: "the gay cowboy movie," I'm sure most people have heard that said about that movie. Those of usPeople have a tendency to simplify movies down to a sentence or a few words in an attempt to disparage them. For example, Brokeback Mountain is: "the gay cowboy movie," I'm sure most people have heard that said about that movie. Those of us who have seen Brokeback Mountain know that it is so much more than a "gay cowboy movie."

Magic Mike has been simplified to "that male stripper movie." Now this movie is no Brokeback Mountain but it's so much more than what "male stripper movie" people would have you believe. It is an interesting character movie, and yes the main character happens to be a male stripper. The male stripper parts of the movie give us a rare insight into a profession that we don't often see in films. Also the dance scenes are very energetic and fun and provide a healthy dose of entertainment.

I don't like it but maybe it's a good thing that Magic Mike is known as "that male stripper movie," because when you watch it it really will defy your expectations.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
screenspotlightJul 14, 2012
Magic Mike is an excellent picture because it is more than showing Channing Tatum's ass to screaming morons at movie theaters across America. This film shows us insider details of male strippers which is a topic or career that rarely receivesMagic Mike is an excellent picture because it is more than showing Channing Tatum's ass to screaming morons at movie theaters across America. This film shows us insider details of male strippers which is a topic or career that rarely receives attention. Few of us will become doctors, and even fewer strippers, but that does not make us curious about how they live and what it would be like to be in their shoes. www.screenspotlight.com Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
lasttimeisawAug 6, 2012
Soderbergh
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
nutterjrAug 11, 2012
Even though towards the end it takes its self too serious and perhaps misses the spot, this could well be the feel good fim of the year: plenty of laughs, great choreographies and music and a number of memorable performances from Tatum andEven though towards the end it takes its self too serious and perhaps misses the spot, this could well be the feel good fim of the year: plenty of laughs, great choreographies and music and a number of memorable performances from Tatum and especially McConaughey. This is entertainment! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LaGuertaApr 18, 2013
Soderbergh does well to subvert expectation. After a while, however, the feeling of being pleasantly surprised wears off and the once rousing strip scenes begin to drag on. The film eventually loses its magic by relying on predictable andSoderbergh does well to subvert expectation. After a while, however, the feeling of being pleasantly surprised wears off and the once rousing strip scenes begin to drag on. The film eventually loses its magic by relying on predictable and uninspired storytelling Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
kaizidokillerApr 20, 2014
I'm a guy but I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. The performances were great, especially from Channing Tatum and Matthew McConaughey. The screenplay is surprisingly smart, it's essentially a male version of Showgirls but it's more tolerable andI'm a guy but I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. The performances were great, especially from Channing Tatum and Matthew McConaughey. The screenplay is surprisingly smart, it's essentially a male version of Showgirls but it's more tolerable and skillfully crafted. It's a thoroughly engaging party film (for those who just want the main attraction) as well as an intimate character study (for all movie lovers alike). I recommend this to every girl as well as every guy. Unlike most films, this film has substance beneath the erotic stripping and dancing from the handsome cast of male actors. It's not Soderbergh's best film but it's probably his most enjoyable and commercially successful. Steven Soderbergh directs this film with style and flair, it's not a disappointment! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeSep 1, 2014
Magic Mike is much, much, much more than an entertaining piece of eye candy. It's deep and human. Yes, it has it's traditional rom-com tendencies--but there are energies and real stories to be told.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleMar 5, 2016
Many people right off Magic Mike before they even watch the film and I am here to tell you that these people are wrong. A film about human beings who happen to be strippers (this does not define them in any sense), Magic Mike is a down toMany people right off Magic Mike before they even watch the film and I am here to tell you that these people are wrong. A film about human beings who happen to be strippers (this does not define them in any sense), Magic Mike is a down to earth and engrossing character study. Channing Tatum, Alex Pettfyer, and Matthew McConaughey, are all phenomenal here and McConaughey especially nails his role. The direction from Steven Soderbergh is very good and the film does a good job making the story be more about than the stripping. Rather, it is about these characters, their struggles, and the things they must overcome. Magic Mike, however, is held back by a few things. First, there is some filler here. Some scenes really added nothing, namely the scene where Adam (Pettfyer) fondles the breasts of another male stripper's wife. While she does have a nice set, admittedly, the scene adds absolutely nothing to the film. Cody Horn is also entirely unconvincing here and her character's role in the film really does very little. She is entirely useless for this film. However, aside from that, Magic Mike is a pretty good film. Both entertaining and an entertaining character study, do not judge a book by its cover here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SchroederRockFeb 7, 2017
A little bit of fun, a little bit engaging, a little bit beside myself. Magic Mike is based on Channing Tatum's earlier life as a male stripper. That is enough to merit a try, but there's a bit of magic on-screen that will entertain justA little bit of fun, a little bit engaging, a little bit beside myself. Magic Mike is based on Channing Tatum's earlier life as a male stripper. That is enough to merit a try, but there's a bit of magic on-screen that will entertain just about anyone giving it a go. If you are absolutely repulsed by the thought of dudes stripping down to their underoos and dancing about, then why would you even consider this movie? You wouldn't. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JW00042Aug 8, 2012
My wife took me to this movies as a trade off for Total Recall. I have enjoyed some of Soderbergs work and I am a fan of McConnahey's. Tatum was funny as hell in 21 jump street and is easy not to hate. Overall this movie is just "ehh".My wife took me to this movies as a trade off for Total Recall. I have enjoyed some of Soderbergs work and I am a fan of McConnahey's. Tatum was funny as hell in 21 jump street and is easy not to hate. Overall this movie is just "ehh". The story is Ok but I felt I knew what was going to happen in the rest of the movie after the first 15 mins. The characters are likable, but outside of McConnahey, forgettable. The love interest is beautiful and has a rare natural beauty about her, acting needs some work in the "dramatic" moments. This movies shows how disconnected reviewers are from the general public, they overhype this movies into something its not. Worth seeing as a rental. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Tara61Sep 23, 2012
I was surprised to see that Channing Tatum can actually carry the whole movie. Up till this I really didn't think that the guy can seriously act, however he made it credible. The movie itself is full of cliches and after 20 minutes or so, youI was surprised to see that Channing Tatum can actually carry the whole movie. Up till this I really didn't think that the guy can seriously act, however he made it credible. The movie itself is full of cliches and after 20 minutes or so, you will know up to the last scene how it will go. The ending is flat as again some 20 minutes before the end you are actually made aware how it will go. As most of the movies nowadays the guy just has to get the girl at the end. All in all, the movie makes sense if you watch it with a bunch of girlfriends before going out on a Friday night. And yes, it is 30 minutes too long. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
swan19Dec 28, 2012
a funny, yet kinda serious take on the life of male strippers, always classified in the lower strata, it is a reminder that some wish to achieve a higher level. However, this film lacked the sturdiness to make it truly outstanding
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews