Margaret

Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Sheri Linden
    Sep 28, 2011
    60
    Fine performances and bristling language compel in this overlong, often off-putting but well-observed New York story.
  2. 50
    Kenneth Lonergan's new film, Margaret, finally released six years after it was shot, now seems destined to become part of film history as one of the more stunning examples of a filmmaker's sophomore slump.
  3. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Oct 6, 2011
    50
    What an interesting failure Margaret is.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Sep 30, 2011
    50
    I wish I could say it's a resurrected classic but, alas, it's mostly a mess – a 2-1/2-hour mess no less.
  5. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Sep 29, 2011
    50
    To watch the long, painful last hour of this movie is to watch all of his good ideas and smart impulses collapse into a heap of half-written, awkwardly acted, increasingly frantic scenes.
  6. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Sep 29, 2011
    50
    Lonergan has created a forceful yet extremely fitful film that teases with moments of brilliance only to frustrate in the end. Margaret is an unrealized dream, one you wish he'd gotten as right as his 2000 debut, "You Can Count on Me."
  7. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Sep 28, 2011
    50
    This unwieldy drama of conscience in the wake of tragedy is hyperarticulate but rarely eloquent, full of wrenchingly acted scenes that lack credible motivation or devolve into shrill hectoring.
  8. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Sep 28, 2011
    50
    A 2½-hour art film that is something of a well-intentioned mess.
  9. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Mar 30, 2012
    40
    As well-shot and well-acted as it is, one can't help feeling there's a good movie in there somewhere. Unfortunately, it's buried beneath such an avalanche of extraneousness and artistic posing.
  10. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Oct 5, 2011
    40
    Margaret definitely has many elements for a successful drama. It's unfortunate that no one was able to shape them into a functional movie.
  11. 40
    This is the first bad movie that has ever made me call for a sequel - to get it all right.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Feb 25, 2012
    10
    Although the film is long, it is not too long. I would be ready to see it again a week after my first viewing. The characters and situationsAlthough the film is long, it is not too long. I would be ready to see it again a week after my first viewing. The characters and situations are true to life, that is, painful and messy. The ellipsis at the end of many scenes, in which the scene seems to be cut short, was puzzling at first but contributed to the emotional power of the movie. The actors who played Margaret, her mother, and the dead woman's friend were terrific. I could really relate to everything in this film even though I have never been in any similar situation. Full Review »
  2. Mar 16, 2016
    0
    horrible. excruciatingly bad. the reviewers are liars or there's something really wrong with people. don't waste your time with this POS. whyhorrible. excruciatingly bad. the reviewers are liars or there's something really wrong with people. don't waste your time with this POS. why did they even put matt damon or any other actors in this for like 5 minutes of screen time? Full Review »
  3. Mar 7, 2015
    7
    Well rounded cast and drama, thought it was a little long and drawn out, but well acted and scripted. Basically the main character isWell rounded cast and drama, thought it was a little long and drawn out, but well acted and scripted. Basically the main character is affected by an accident with a bus that she saw, and actually had a part in causing. The movie loosely looks at someone caught in the right and wrong of things and also how tragic events can lead into something more serious and conflicting. Matt Damon, Matthew Broderick, and Mark Ruffalo in my opinion weren't utilized as well as they should have been given their talent. Still Anna Paquin carries the main role decently and I find myself getting irritated with the mess she creates for herself. Overall a middle of the road movie which if you can sit through has a decent ride. Full Review »