Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: December 25, 2008
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 163 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
102
Mixed:
35
Negative:
26
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MegWhiteleyApr 9, 2012
A really incredible and emotive movie. I´m feeling sorprised becuase much movies about animals, have a great story, and this is an amazing example, the cast have a great performance and the most amazing is Marley, one of myA really incredible and emotive movie. I´m feeling sorprised becuase much movies about animals, have a great story, and this is an amazing example, the cast have a great performance and the most amazing is Marley, one of my favorite films ever. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
MarkMusicMar 25, 2013
This means something I didnt even give my favorite movie a 10, first time. This is a lighthearted comedy/drama. Makes me cry every time at the end and Im 16. To me its more of a drama then comedy but either way very good movie. Great actingThis means something I didnt even give my favorite movie a 10, first time. This is a lighthearted comedy/drama. Makes me cry every time at the end and Im 16. To me its more of a drama then comedy but either way very good movie. Great acting (humans and dog), great chemistry (mainly family-dog. then Family-family.) I brought the DVD in 2009 and I lost it in 2010. Im still desperatly looking for this. Probably the best film ever literally. Better then my fav movie not more entertaining but still better. Watch with family, alone, anytime, anywhere Its that good. But if your kids dont like sad endings cut it when the dog starts to act lazy. If they can handle it watch sad still very good though. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
DustinN.Apr 7, 2009
I think this is a good movie with a good cast of characters and a cute dog.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ShawnG.May 15, 2009
My wife laughed at me because I cried at the end. I may be 38 years old but I'm human. While growing up, I made three trips to the Vet to put our dogs to sleep. They were sad trips filled with tears and deep seated emotions. This is My wife laughed at me because I cried at the end. I may be 38 years old but I'm human. While growing up, I made three trips to the Vet to put our dogs to sleep. They were sad trips filled with tears and deep seated emotions. This is life and the movie depicts just that. Dogs are often our best friends. To quote one scene in the movie: at the finish of Owen's surprise b-day party he says to Jennifer, "Who were all those people? I don't have any friends!?" It was Marley who was his friend in the movie. Dogs really are our best friends. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DominicS.Dec 30, 2008
A warm, and all around great family film. But just to warn dog lovers, the ending will definatly make you cry. I would still recommend it though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CaitlinK.Jan 10, 2009
Sad, but SOOOOO good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ZachNewberryJan 12, 2009
I know an 8 isn't a ten, but I try to rate movies reallistically and therefore I don't believe I've ever given out a ten. That being said, an 8 is extremely high in my book. I took my girlfriend to see Marley & Me opening I know an 8 isn't a ten, but I try to rate movies reallistically and therefore I don't believe I've ever given out a ten. That being said, an 8 is extremely high in my book. I took my girlfriend to see Marley & Me opening night. In short, this movie blew me away. Humor, drama, love, loss, it's life. The story and characters are all perfectly believable and pull you in very well from the start [***SPOILER WARNING***] which I believe is why Marley's death in the end left everyone in the packed theater, including myself, in tears. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RichardR.Jan 2, 2009
The movie was a subject everyone can relate to. It was the tear jerker of 2008. Excellent !
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlC.Jan 4, 2009
I thought it was a good and solid film. When it was sappy, it had funny bits. I loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CeliaB.Jan 4, 2009
Wasn't amazing. But still really worth it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
dggggW.Jan 4, 2009
This was an amazing movie, sure it was dreary. But no, it still made me cry and laugh. This is like that Curious Case movie, life is full of surprises, and in a dog's life, things happen in it to cause some sort of situation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesBMay 4, 2009
Yes, the film was advertised as a comedy and it should have been rated PG-13. However, the movie was deeper than any "pet" movie that I've ever seen. In actuality, the "real" story was about a man growing up from young adulthood into Yes, the film was advertised as a comedy and it should have been rated PG-13. However, the movie was deeper than any "pet" movie that I've ever seen. In actuality, the "real" story was about a man growing up from young adulthood into the next phase of his life. Of course, to get to that next phase of your life, decisions have to made about where you live and work and even what friends you keep (as in the best friend in the movie). The death of his beloved dog coincided with his life's journey into middle adulthood. I can relate. I had my lab for 12 years. She was with me as I finished college, got my graduate degree, got married, and had three kids. My lab died shortly after my third child was born - just like in the movie. If you look at it from my point of view, it would be a great film to show developmental psychology students. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnS.Dec 28, 2008
If you've been there...you would understand just how close to reality this movie was. I've been there! It truely moved me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlliL.Jan 1, 2009
I love this movie! it was so good. - it was funny and sad and i think everyone should watch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CAE.Jan 4, 2009
A must-see family film. Very moving and helps to put life, and those things that are REALLY important, into perspective.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JasminJan 8, 2009
I thought the movie was funny, but realistic. It portrays the couple as a "real" couple with worries and stress like everyone else. The relationship they have with their animal is heartwarming. If you are an animal lover or had a childhood I thought the movie was funny, but realistic. It portrays the couple as a "real" couple with worries and stress like everyone else. The relationship they have with their animal is heartwarming. If you are an animal lover or had a childhood experience with a family dog this movie is the one for you. I absolutely loved it. There wasn't a dry eye in the entire theater. From youngster of 10 to adult in their 50's and 60's were teary. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnBJan 9, 2009
"The more people I meet every day the more I like my dog" Those who did not like this movie / book clearly are not dog people and frankly probably a*holes. If you are not a dog person you should not be seeing a movie about the connection a "The more people I meet every day the more I like my dog" Those who did not like this movie / book clearly are not dog people and frankly probably a*holes. If you are not a dog person you should not be seeing a movie about the connection a man has with his dog. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SaraMJan 9, 2009
This was the sweetest movie ever! EXtremly well balanced with humor, sadness and it was one of owen wilson best movies! SPOILER: youll probably cry at the end!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GracielaRFeb 6, 2009
I really like this movie, is sweet and funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnHApr 10, 2009
This is a very cute film. Funny and sad. However, this film should have definitely be rated PG-13. I do not know what the rating people were thinking. Were they drunk? I think so? Moving on, I thought the acting was good. The film had 22 This is a very cute film. Funny and sad. However, this film should have definitely be rated PG-13. I do not know what the rating people were thinking. Were they drunk? I think so? Moving on, I thought the acting was good. The film had 22 different dogs that played the part of Marley, and each one of them were cute and funny. I think a few more of Marley's stunts that were in the book could have been included, but this was still a good film. And remember, this was a good movie, but do not take any kids in there under the age of 12 or 13, if you get my drift. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MandySApr 4, 2009
The movie was really hard for me to watch it very easily could have been my dog and me in that movie, and a year and a half ago I had to make a similar decison when he got cancer and coudn't move or breath very well, that movie brought The movie was really hard for me to watch it very easily could have been my dog and me in that movie, and a year and a half ago I had to make a similar decison when he got cancer and coudn't move or breath very well, that movie brought it all back like it was yesterday I don't think I will watch this movie again not because it was bad but it was too hard to make it through the first time, when they gave my dog "the death shot" he wasn't on a table he was laying in my arms I will never forget that moment as long as I live to date its still the worse experiance I've ever endured losing him my best friend, loyal companion and loving guardian all in one moment. I am glad he wrote the book and did the movie its good to know that other people love their dogs as much as I did, however I was not prepared for the movie ending and I won't be watching it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
nillApr 7, 2009
Very good, the end mad me cry. I would watch it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jaimMay 15, 2009
Very funny. bad language. but interesting. and has a high chance of making you cry.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrandonDMay 16, 2009
I thought this was a good movie. Of course people who didn't like it are probably heartless people who don't care about dogs. If you have a dog, I think you will like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LeslieW.Dec 25, 2008
This movie made me cry the hardest I have ever cried during a movie. Having read the book, the last scene was portrayed so wonderfully by the whole family, it made me reminisce of my family going through the same movie. The book was better, This movie made me cry the hardest I have ever cried during a movie. Having read the book, the last scene was portrayed so wonderfully by the whole family, it made me reminisce of my family going through the same movie. The book was better, but the movie was also very good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ClaytonD.Dec 25, 2008
Not a bad movie about dogs and marriage and family. Hit home since I have had many canines in my 22 1/2 year old marriage..... Well done but no real surprises.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JASIVDec 28, 2008
Excellent, but the end is brutal.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlessandraSDec 30, 2008
I believe this movie is misunderstood- it is not a romantic comedy. I would also say that it is not suitable for kids under 12. For what it is, Marley and Me is a very touching film about life's trials and tribulations, and the love I believe this movie is misunderstood- it is not a romantic comedy. I would also say that it is not suitable for kids under 12. For what it is, Marley and Me is a very touching film about life's trials and tribulations, and the love between a dog and a family, although the expression of that love is often suppressed in front of a dog who is out of control. Some really amazing acting by Wilson and Aniston for a couple of scenes. I cried- alot, but hey I cry at many movies. Worthwhile if you want to watch a touching story. Also, very moving if you have a dog. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MartyP.Jan 18, 2009
Entertaining, especially if you are a dog lover!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JayH.Mar 26, 2009
Well written, good casting. A sweet film, funny and touching. Not one you will easily forget. It does seem to wander away from it's focus about halfway, but it gets back on track. Well done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamJApr 18, 2009
Brilliant film! Marley and me is a very funny film, which might make you cry.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ThomasZApr 26, 2009
This was a nice, moving story. Although, the adds for the movie make it look like a movie that it isn't. it was heartbreaking. I cried. I would not recommend this movie to young children. Don't let the PG rating trick you. This was a nice, moving story. Although, the adds for the movie make it look like a movie that it isn't. it was heartbreaking. I cried. I would not recommend this movie to young children. Don't let the PG rating trick you. It's well written, and it's good, but just devastating, it should be PG-13 and it tricks you. Although, an 8. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadS.Dec 25, 2008
Move over, Marley: You have company. The newspaper industry sleeps with the fishes, too. But in "Marley and Me", the newspaper industry thrives still, an indication that this doggy snuff film is a period piece about the relatively recent Move over, Marley: You have company. The newspaper industry sleeps with the fishes, too. But in "Marley and Me", the newspaper industry thrives still, an indication that this doggy snuff film is a period piece about the relatively recent past. There's nary a typewriter in sight; this isn't the era of Howard Hawks' "His Girl Friday", after all, but the computers don't run Windows, which might as well be the dark ages, technology-wise. A journalist actually had the luxury to mull over the pros and cons of being a reporter, or a columnist. The Internet was still in its infancy, a mere "truck". While the "truck" blossomed into "a series of tubes", Josh Grogan(Owen Wilson) got a dog, got a career, and got a family. A film about a dog is a recipe for schmaltz, but "Marley and Me" avoids devolving into a cute animal horror show by balancing the good times with the bad times. In one pointed scene, the Labrador Retriever's unruly nature, once seemingly comedic when the dog was a proxy, becomes a point of contention, after Marley is downgraded to pet status, following the birth of the Grogan children. Another factor that calibrates "Marley and Me" against gratuitous dog-related humor and pathos is the character of Josh's friend, a womanizing reporter whom the columnist envies because he's free. Josh has not one, but two dogs, shadowing his life. In the film's other key scene, after Josh's family photo is handed back to him, the dog tells the dog-owner that he did good, that nothing has changed. When the old friends part, the married man looks back at the single man with longing. "Marley and Me" succeeds becuse the dog isn't always the focal point of the story; the film depicts the tension between the road Josh took, and the road not taken, which it then tries to negotiate when the columnist convinces his editor and himself that he's no reporter. While "Marley and Me" inevitably dramatizes one death, it subtly alludes to another death in the soundtrack's inclusion of a Nirvana cover("Lithium" by Bruce Lash). Like how grunge killed the "hair bands" back in the early-nineties, the computer sitting harmlessly on Josh's desk would someday in the very near future, kill journalism as the characters in the film knew it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AngelaG.Dec 26, 2008
Surprisingly true to life and heart felt. Much more than just a "dog movie".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NicDec 26, 2008
Cute, but a little slow at parts. Some very suggestive parts. I don't thin it should have only been a PG. there where some parts I wouln't want my young children to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Dec 27, 2008
I give it an 8 out of 10 for movies in its class. I was not expecting its relative quality; the movie is well paced, has good dialogue, and is as entertaining as it could be by explaining a simple but important family premise. Intelligent, I give it an 8 out of 10 for movies in its class. I was not expecting its relative quality; the movie is well paced, has good dialogue, and is as entertaining as it could be by explaining a simple but important family premise. Intelligent, kind human beings will appreciate Marley & Me for its strong foundation referencing the concrete "till death" partnership between canines and humans. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
cmDec 29, 2008
They could have focused more on the dog since it's about Marley and Me (together) they dashed by the scene of all the things he's ever done with the dog for his column but then they focus on his career. They should have changed They could have focused more on the dog since it's about Marley and Me (together) they dashed by the scene of all the things he's ever done with the dog for his column but then they focus on his career. They should have changed that around. It's a very fun fillm though and both Jennifer Aniston and Owen Wilson did a wonderful acting job, very heart wrenching especially if you are an animal lover, you will get it and you will be sad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
juliankleissJan 8, 2011
This is not "just a dog movie"! Sure, one of the main characters is a dog, but there is so much more to it. Among other topics, this film - with its incredibly charming characters and an amazingly amusing script - is about the difficultiesThis is not "just a dog movie"! Sure, one of the main characters is a dog, but there is so much more to it. Among other topics, this film - with its incredibly charming characters and an amazingly amusing script - is about the difficulties of having a family, and the joys of being a family. Furthermore, it suggests that sometimes doing what you can do best is better than what you think you want or have to do. The movie encourages you not to stick to a plan, but to let you surprise yourself. Beautiful and emotional third act, and a great ending monologue making out a case for a dog being the best friend one can have. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jstrickler872Jun 16, 2011
Such a touching story about a couple who gets a puppy, which turns out to be their worst nightmare. Despite the fact that the dog terrorizes everything in their house, the family grows a beautiful bonding with the dog. Has such a sad ending,Such a touching story about a couple who gets a puppy, which turns out to be their worst nightmare. Despite the fact that the dog terrorizes everything in their house, the family grows a beautiful bonding with the dog. Has such a sad ending, that would lead most dog lovers into tears. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
HalfwelshmanAug 28, 2012
Marley & Me is a lovely, inoffensive little film. The basic premise is pretty generic: a typical romantic comedy plot about a married couple who are considering settling down and having a family, but are reluctant to sacrifice theirMarley & Me is a lovely, inoffensive little film. The basic premise is pretty generic: a typical romantic comedy plot about a married couple who are considering settling down and having a family, but are reluctant to sacrifice their successful careers in journalism, so instead they get a dog. That dog is an energetic golden retriever that they name Marley, who turns out to be quite a handful, and that's where the fun begins. We get great performances from Owen Wilson, and particularly Jennifer Aniston, who gives the best in her career - natural, empathetic and with real emotional depth. They make an incredibly likable couple, and their relationship develops believably as their characters approach middle age. Alan Arkin also has a brilliant comic turn as the hilariously deadpan newspaper editor who employs Wilson's John Grogan. The film's story is surprisingly involving, Marley misbehaving and causing chaos is very funny, and there are a good number of affecting emotional beats. It's all grossly sentimental of course, which will put some people off, and it's rather long and a bit slow at some points, but if you're a dog-lover, and if your heart is, well, actually a heart, then you really can't help but be moved by the final act of the film. Marley & Me doesn't break any new ground at all, but it really doesn't need to - it's warm cuddly and comforting, like your favourite canine friend, and sometimes that's all you want from a film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
oxanaAug 25, 2014
"A dog has no use for fancy cars... or big homes or designer clothes A waterlogged stick will do just fine. A dog doesn't care if you're rich or poor... clever or dull, smart or dumb. Give 'em your heart and he'll give you his. How many"A dog has no use for fancy cars... or big homes or designer clothes A waterlogged stick will do just fine. A dog doesn't care if you're rich or poor... clever or dull, smart or dumb. Give 'em your heart and he'll give you his. How many people can you say that about? How many people can make you feel rare and pure and special? How many people can make you feel... extraordinary?"

This wasn't on my watch list, but for some reason I wanted to check it out. As sometimes happens, that leads a person to see one of the biggest favorites of their whole life.

Marley & Me made me feel, made me laugh, and made me cry. I can't stress the last part enough; for anyone who loves dogs - and has owned at least one in their life - I'm sure this will be a bittersweet, lovely, sad movie to watch.

A story of John (Owen Wilson) and Jenny (Jennifer Aniston) starts pretty normally. They are both in the news reporter business, Jenny a bit more famous than her husband. To halt the biological clock for a moment, John is given advice by his friend Sebastian (Eric Dane) to get her a pet.

So, along comes Marley, the worst dog in the world, who is also the most loveable creature you can imagine - if you can get over all the mayhem he causes.

The story follows this family through the journey of their life: new jobs and kids, the good times, the bad times, and eventually the evil trick the nature provides us: old age.

I am not a fan of Owen Wilson or Jennifer Aniston, but they do a remarkably good job here. The other actor performances are top notch as well.

The camera work, the scenery, the music - it all fits in all the right places. The story keeps going, always evolving like the life has a tendency to do if you let it, and in the end there is such a beautiful, simple story to be shared of love between man and the man's best friend, Marley.

Definitely watch this, and if you love your dog, keep tissues within reach!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RikiegeJan 12, 2013
A movie that will make you mourn much.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
cameronmorewoodNov 15, 2012
It may only appeal to dog-lovers, but it may not. Marley & Me is incredibly and surprisingly genuine. It's also heartwarming and tragic, aspects of our life we don't always realize are present and recurring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
mds03Mar 3, 2013
Very funny, sad, and relate-able movie. You really do get attached to the characters. Especially Marley. As you could probably guess, the ending is very sad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FreedomFightersNov 14, 2016
Be prepared to make a beeline for the tissues after watching this film. You've been warned. Beyond being a tearjerker, "Marley & Me" is a pretty solid film. It's decently acted, solidly written and has a decent mix of humor and heart. WhileBe prepared to make a beeline for the tissues after watching this film. You've been warned. Beyond being a tearjerker, "Marley & Me" is a pretty solid film. It's decently acted, solidly written and has a decent mix of humor and heart. While it does play as entirely predictable (just one look at the film's poster tells you exactly what you're getting into here), the story itself is told in a solid, entertaining way. It won't win any awards, but "Marley & Me" is a solid, emotional film that pet owners (like myself) should find enjoyable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
homer4presidentMar 28, 2015
Strong entertaining performances from the cast (including the dogs) and an emotional touch turn it's typical comedic premise into a touching memorable drama. Marley and Me isn't one of those charming yet depressing films in which theStrong entertaining performances from the cast (including the dogs) and an emotional touch turn it's typical comedic premise into a touching memorable drama. Marley and Me isn't one of those charming yet depressing films in which the message's conveyed stay with you forever. It's one of those ones where your sad in the cinema and then the next day forget all about it. A lot of pet dog movies are like this one, but this one is faithful to a true story and will always stand as a quality family film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
teddylukeMay 26, 2015
A very good film I thought this movie would be really cliché but no it is very original and amazing. The ending of this movie is one of the best ending and most saddest ending ever in film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeFeb 19, 2016
Marley & Me is a puppy-loving experience. What you enjoyed in recent puppy films, you'll pretty much enjoy Marley & Me as just a puppy-loving experience for you and your puppy (or dog).
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Rosie123Aug 5, 2016
When I need a good cry, a dog movie usually does it for me and "Marley & Me" is no exception. I had thought about taking my 8 and 5 year old nieces to see it but after seeing it, I'm glad I didn't. One of the final scenes was absolutelyWhen I need a good cry, a dog movie usually does it for me and "Marley & Me" is no exception. I had thought about taking my 8 and 5 year old nieces to see it but after seeing it, I'm glad I didn't. One of the final scenes was absolutely heartbreaking--too intense for some little kids. I have been in that place--an exam room with a very sick pet and having to choose; do I put my own needs ahead of my beloved pet's quality of life and continue to let the suffer or do I love them enough to let them go? Watched the film with my husband who is a combat hardened retired 1st Sgt. from the Army. We both did what Oprah calls, "the ugly cry". Went through an entire box of Kleenex between the two of us. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
reviewfrom19842Sep 3, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A very good movie. The scene were the dog dies is the saddest death scene I have ever seen. It's a fun and sad movie I'm glad I saw it. I'm not a fun of Owen Wilson acting but other then that the movie is pretty good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews