Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: November 14, 2003
6.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 510 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
313
Mixed:
36
Negative:
161
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
JasonT.May 31, 2004
I really thought I was going to like this movie. Unfortunately, the story never had me. I'm going to watch it again to see exactly why.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
Mr.RightMay 5, 2004
It sucked, sucked, SUCKED! Oh, and did I mention it sucked? A film this drawn out and boring should have had, at the very least, an ending worth waiting for. This film did not. If the story wasn't tedious (and at times, contrived) It sucked, sucked, SUCKED! Oh, and did I mention it sucked? A film this drawn out and boring should have had, at the very least, an ending worth waiting for. This film did not. If the story wasn't tedious (and at times, contrived) enough, it had to be coupled with acting that looked tired. (But I can't blame the actors too much. I think I would have slipped into a coma if I had to read more than a few lines of the screenplay they were given.) The only reason I gave this film a rating of 1 and not 0, is because I seem to recall that a supporting actor - a kid, actually - did a decent bit of acting in this film. To anyone seriously considering renting this film: go buy some paint and paint the ceiling. Then sit down and watch the paint dry. Maybe the time you spend watching your paint dry won't be any less boring than watching this film, but the ending will be far more rewarding and your money better spent. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MelC.May 9, 2004
WORST MOVIE EVAH. It sucked. Beyond sucked. OK, they are attacked by the big scary ship. They are almost blown to bits. They escape into the fog. Thru "a masterful bit of sailing, thar, matey" they end up on the TAIL of the big scary ship! WORST MOVIE EVAH. It sucked. Beyond sucked. OK, they are attacked by the big scary ship. They are almost blown to bits. They escape into the fog. Thru "a masterful bit of sailing, thar, matey" they end up on the TAIL of the big scary ship! BRILL-YAHNT! uhh.. why didn't the big scary ship just turn around and blow them up? TERRIBLE acting only added to an EXTREMELY dull time. "lesser of two weevils?" Oh, freakin' puh-leaze. Anyone that said this plotless, useless hunk of crap was a film, let alone a good film, needs to have their freakin' head examined. SUCKED. BEYOND SUCKED. Wow, Worst. Movie. EVAH. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JenniferJun 4, 2004
This movie was simply comatose. The acting was dreadful. The directing even worse. And the screenplay was simply laughable. This movie just dragged on and on. If the ship had been sunk in the first five minutes it would have saved many of us This movie was simply comatose. The acting was dreadful. The directing even worse. And the screenplay was simply laughable. This movie just dragged on and on. If the ship had been sunk in the first five minutes it would have saved many of us the water torture pain it inflicted. Avoid. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
JeremyE.Apr 18, 2006
wow! History, Sailing, Pointless Fights, and, best of all Boredom! this film has it all. enough to make me fall asleep.
0 of 5 users found this helpful
2
JackV.Oct 3, 2007
I have to agree with L.A. Weekly's and Jeremy E.'s comment about "Boredom". I have usually liked all the movies I've seen on at least one aspect, except for two movies, with this being one of them. This was one of the most I have to agree with L.A. Weekly's and Jeremy E.'s comment about "Boredom". I have usually liked all the movies I've seen on at least one aspect, except for two movies, with this being one of them. This was one of the most boring movies I have ever seen. Unfortunately, I think the majority of the movie critics got it wrong this time. I'm confused as to why it was rated 100 so many times. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
0
FrankF.Feb 11, 2004
Craperoo from start to finish. I left shaking my head in disbelief.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
VeronicaT.Feb 11, 2004
Put me in the camp that found this totally boring and without purpose. The acting was second rate and the screenplay abominable. If you liked it that's great, but most of us found it a waste of time and money. Avoid at all costs. If you Put me in the camp that found this totally boring and without purpose. The acting was second rate and the screenplay abominable. If you liked it that's great, but most of us found it a waste of time and money. Avoid at all costs. If you gave me a free DVD I would toss it in the river. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
ElizaFeb 12, 2004
This is a dull and wearisome boat movie. It just had no purpose or direction. The film is poorly made: it crawls at the pace of a drunken snail and the lackluster acting makes this snoozer even more interminable.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
EddieFeb 12, 2004
I think I want to puke. How can this movie be nominated for anything? It was so slooooooooow that I wanted it to sink so I could leave. After an hour I did just that as I couldn't take any more. This is a horrible film, that isn't I think I want to puke. How can this movie be nominated for anything? It was so slooooooooow that I wanted it to sink so I could leave. After an hour I did just that as I couldn't take any more. This is a horrible film, that isn't even sea worthy, let alone worthy of any OSCARS. Hated it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RachelJ.Feb 23, 2004
Master and Commander is absolutely the most lethargic movie I have ever seen. It is inconceivable that a Pirate movie could have so little character development and be as slow moving as this one is. It is not worthy of any awards and Master and Commander is absolutely the most lethargic movie I have ever seen. It is inconceivable that a Pirate movie could have so little character development and be as slow moving as this one is. It is not worthy of any awards and completely dumbfounds me as to how it received 10 Oscar nominations. There is nothing here for the audience to connect with. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JohnFeb 26, 2004
A rubber duckie in a bath tub is more fascinating than this lame script. I wish the boat had been capsized at the beginning to spare me the agony of watching this snail meander along. Just awful.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
TyS.Apr 27, 2004
Yes it had presence on the screen but was essentially a long winded affair with a very so so ending.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
pkgadersonsNov 10, 2013
One of Russel Crowe┬┤s best
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
JackAFeb 2, 2004
Simply....AMAZING! The best film of 2003!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KazuW.Feb 8, 2004
Amazing film. It's an intimate character drama surrounded by a beautiful production. The themes of friendship, honor and duty point out how life was less complicated back then and it's very well acted by the large ensemble cast. I Amazing film. It's an intimate character drama surrounded by a beautiful production. The themes of friendship, honor and duty point out how life was less complicated back then and it's very well acted by the large ensemble cast. I loved it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KathieH.Feb 8, 2004
This movie is elegant, authentic, exciting, and well-acted. Any fan of Patrick O'Brian's novels cannot help but marvel at Russell Crowe's performance. He is Captain Jack. Paul Bettany is Stephen Maturin. Seeing some of my This movie is elegant, authentic, exciting, and well-acted. Any fan of Patrick O'Brian's novels cannot help but marvel at Russell Crowe's performance. He is Captain Jack. Paul Bettany is Stephen Maturin. Seeing some of my favorite characters on the big screen played by some of my favorite actors was a dream come true. I was enthralled from start to finish. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BabetteP.Feb 9, 2004
This is an terrific adventure drama! Perfect cast (of course Russell Crowe and Paul Bettany - and all the others!) You feel like being a member of that crew on board - It's just great!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MaxwellS.May 9, 2004
Surprisingly good. The acting was some of the best of the year (behind films like 21 Grams and Mystic River). I loved how the film jumped right into the story and made it work (a very tough thing to do). Another triumph was the story being Surprisingly good. The acting was some of the best of the year (behind films like 21 Grams and Mystic River). I loved how the film jumped right into the story and made it work (a very tough thing to do). Another triumph was the story being about the relationship between friends and not the hatred between enemies (as the enemy wasn't really seen until dead). If the film was this great, I can't imagine how great the books must be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterC.Jan 4, 2004
I simply cannot put the beauty of this film into words. This is truly one of the great films of 2003. Russell Crowe, Peter Weir and his crew, I salute you! Well done gentlemen...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisL.Jan 4, 2004
Who on earth would even think of comparing Pirates of the Caribbean to Master and Commander? Pirates is a childish film made by a children's studio. It is pure garbage. Who cares if it made more money? The Phantom Menace is one of the Who on earth would even think of comparing Pirates of the Caribbean to Master and Commander? Pirates is a childish film made by a children's studio. It is pure garbage. Who cares if it made more money? The Phantom Menace is one of the worst films I have ever seen and it made $1 billion. Look at Master and Commanders reviews compared to Pirates of the Caribbean. There is no contest. Master and Commander is a work of cinematic art. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanT.Jan 8, 2004
I definitely agree with the person who thought this was a work of art. Who cares if people at some theater walked out? These days, the average movie-goers seem to have the attention span of a donkey. It is truly sad that this film won't I definitely agree with the person who thought this was a work of art. Who cares if people at some theater walked out? These days, the average movie-goers seem to have the attention span of a donkey. It is truly sad that this film won't do better at the box office than it is doing. People would rather spend money on trash like Charlie's Angels 2 or 2 Crap 2 Furious. They're probably the same people who would walk out on a great film like this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaxP.Feb 2, 2004
Some of you people must be crazy or something. This movie is FANTASTIC. One of the most beautifully shot films of all time. I know a ton about the history of this time period and this film is as authentic as it gets. Master and Commander Some of you people must be crazy or something. This movie is FANTASTIC. One of the most beautifully shot films of all time. I know a ton about the history of this time period and this film is as authentic as it gets. Master and Commander deserves every single of the 10 Oscar nominations that it got. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JakeS.Feb 7, 2004
Russell Crowe in a big-budget epic. Yawn.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnnP.Feb 9, 2004
I'm an avid O'Brian fan. I thought the movie did a masterful job of capturing the essence of his novels. Life aboard a frigate, difficult relationships arising from long periods away from home in close quarters. Battle scenes well I'm an avid O'Brian fan. I thought the movie did a masterful job of capturing the essence of his novels. Life aboard a frigate, difficult relationships arising from long periods away from home in close quarters. Battle scenes well done. Crowe a perfect Aubrey. Bettany an excellent Maturin though not physically what O'Brian had intended, his relationship with Aubrey felt very real. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TinaB.Feb 9, 2004
A brilliant, well-acted, intelligent movie that doesn't miss but is for someone that wants a lovely film to savor; not have slammed at them or have the frenetic pace of an MTV music video. The action isn't always in battle scenes, A brilliant, well-acted, intelligent movie that doesn't miss but is for someone that wants a lovely film to savor; not have slammed at them or have the frenetic pace of an MTV music video. The action isn't always in battle scenes, but in the human drama itself, which is brought so beautifully about in not only the relations of the men on this small vessel, but the platonic friendship of the characters wonderfully played by Russell Crowe and Paul Bettany. The performances were worthy of Oscar nominations but were passed upon. Crowe IS Jack Aubrey in every way, but so subtle -- the acting comes incredibly easy to him. All in all, a great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeBeFeb 9, 2004
This Film is fantastic. A wonderful adventure and so authentic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarileeR.Feb 9, 2004
I'm still wondering how a movie can get all the nominations Master and Commander did and not one for the lead actors. Mind-boggling.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErinI.Feb 9, 2004
Master and Commander .... Magnificent .... Sensitive ..... Brilliant in its' subtlety ..... Superbly cast .... Artfully directed .... Bravo!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarolA.Feb 9, 2004
This film will become a classic for all the "right" reasons. I've seen it almost a dozen times and each time come away with something new. I continue to be impressed with the skill of Crowe, Bettany and the entire cast. I can't This film will become a classic for all the "right" reasons. I've seen it almost a dozen times and each time come away with something new. I continue to be impressed with the skill of Crowe, Bettany and the entire cast. I can't wait for the DVD in April. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KathyC.Feb 9, 2004
Weir has done a magical job in adapting Patrick O'Brian's work for the screen. The casting is perfect, from Russell Crowe as Aubrey and Paul Bettany as Maturin, down to the secondary characters. The cinematography is ravishing and Weir has done a magical job in adapting Patrick O'Brian's work for the screen. The casting is perfect, from Russell Crowe as Aubrey and Paul Bettany as Maturin, down to the secondary characters. The cinematography is ravishing and the details of shipboard life during the Napoleonic Wars is accurate without overwhelming the story itself. A phenomenal accomplishment in all ways. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianaM.Apr 30, 2004
When i first saw the movie, like 10 minutes into it, i was completely bored. I was about to fall asleep. But i kept watching. I began to see the plot getting more and more suspensful every minute. Sure, there where quiet times, but the led When i first saw the movie, like 10 minutes into it, i was completely bored. I was about to fall asleep. But i kept watching. I began to see the plot getting more and more suspensful every minute. Sure, there where quiet times, but the led to even more action. The movie shows courage, honor, and determination, things that we should all have in life but many dont. As if the movie wasn't good enough they had a lot of HOT actors. Max Pirkis, the captains son and Max Benitz, Mr. Callaway. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GlennA.Sep 4, 2005
Loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
H.S.Sep 18, 2006
Perfect Movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrianSMay 20, 2008
People expecting Pirates of the Carribean will be disappointed. M&C is an enthralling, highly realistic depiction of the times and the people, the tactics, and the lives of sailors aboard an 1800s warship. The people saying the movie is People expecting Pirates of the Carribean will be disappointed. M&C is an enthralling, highly realistic depiction of the times and the people, the tactics, and the lives of sailors aboard an 1800s warship. The people saying the movie is "boring" need to come to grips with the fact that they will only ever like American action movies and leave more rewarding movies to people with the patience to appreciate genuine adventure and realism. I wonder if they also thought Das Boot was boring, as this was basically "Das Boot with sails" and I could hardly come up with a better compliment than that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinC.Nov 14, 2003
Stunning on every level. In a year of non stop disappointments finally a film that delievers. Living proof that a hollywood blockbuster can be sweeping and exciting, while not appealing to the lowest common denominator that presuposses a Stunning on every level. In a year of non stop disappointments finally a film that delievers. Living proof that a hollywood blockbuster can be sweeping and exciting, while not appealing to the lowest common denominator that presuposses a certain degree intellegence from the audience. Perhaps an early pick for film of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveO.Nov 15, 2003
Stunningly beautiful. A true work of art.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
WACKOJAKONov 17, 2003
Ideed, some of the most skilled filmmaking you'll see this year, but in the end it's rather redundant and ponderously trivial. I can see why this sort of film would appeal to frumpy, middle-aged critics, or fans of the books, but Ideed, some of the most skilled filmmaking you'll see this year, but in the end it's rather redundant and ponderously trivial. I can see why this sort of film would appeal to frumpy, middle-aged critics, or fans of the books, but for the rest of us...well, suffice it to say that at parts it almost put me to sleep. Except when I was being grossed out by exact depictions of 19th century surgical procedures. Exactly how many crude operations must viewers be forced to watch? And the action ain't all that either...at least nothing we haven't already seen in the entertaining Pirates of the Caribean or the trully masterful Lord of the Rings series. Only the wonderful acting saves this pointless film from sinking to oblivion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GaborS.Nov 20, 2003
Unbelievable movie, with great actors. I think they should have added more great speeches into the movie, but it is still amazing. Music is excellent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JeffS.Nov 27, 2003
Nice visuals, good acting, but dramatically flat. The characters hold little interest, as does the very thin storyline. Prepare to glance at your watch several times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonnyCDec 6, 2003
Simply stunning. Believe the hype. 10/10, 4 stars, A+
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChimpJan 10, 2004
The second best movie of the year, behind LOTR. Russel Crowe once again proves to be a true genius at acting, and the movie has a great supporting cast, especially Paul Bettany. Perfectly directed, i felt as if i was a sailor on board the The second best movie of the year, behind LOTR. Russel Crowe once again proves to be a true genius at acting, and the movie has a great supporting cast, especially Paul Bettany. Perfectly directed, i felt as if i was a sailor on board the ship. It added a nice contrast too, because the super-climactic and exciting ending battle was just two ships at the far, far, far side of the world, but yet they were fighting with everything they had. I have enjoyed the past 3 major movies Russel Crowe made immensely, especially Gladiator(no this isnt better than that, but close). I cant wait until his next movie. Mr. Crowe, I salute you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarolL.Jan 22, 2004
No one has mentioned the wonderful music score which was a big part of making this movie an awesme adventure film. Russell Crowe was apt cast as the Master and Commander.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JeffP.Jan 30, 2004
M&C is the type of film I respect, but didn't enjoy. It seems that the majority of people who liked the film had also read the books. Because I have yet to tackle the series, I agree their was not enough character developement. M&C is the type of film I respect, but didn't enjoy. It seems that the majority of people who liked the film had also read the books. Because I have yet to tackle the series, I agree their was not enough character developement. Concerning Oscar, I agree with most of the noms except Best Picture. Sadly, because of the recent negative feedback from the audiance, M&C may miss out on getting credit for it's visual FX, which would be a well deserved win. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JenniferC.Jan 4, 2004
Loved it from start to finish! Great film all around!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BenA.Feb 18, 2004
This movie is pretty solid. Nothing, I'd say, is done poorly. In fact, most everything is done extraordinarily well. It just doesn't come together into a masterpiece, but it falls a few feet short. It is a decent movie, had it been This movie is pretty solid. Nothing, I'd say, is done poorly. In fact, most everything is done extraordinarily well. It just doesn't come together into a masterpiece, but it falls a few feet short. It is a decent movie, had it been released earlier, I would have welcomed this movie with open arms, but in the crowded competitive end of the year movies, this one just isn't the best. I suggest you see it at a second run theater in March when all the movies out in theaters suck. FOR SURE see it in theaters, though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlanL.Feb 5, 2004
Filmmaking at its finest. Great film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SarahDFeb 5, 2004
One of the best sea epics ever made. Great film from start to finish.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndrewG.Feb 5, 2004
I am so glad they re-released this film. I missed it the first time it was out and now I had the pleasure of seeing it. All I can say is that this film deserves all the praise its getting from the critics, fans and Academy Awards.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LorraineS.Feb 8, 2004
Magnificent, pure, viewing experience. Without a doubt one of the best directed movie with a great performance by Russell Crowe. It is flat amazing that he has not received a nomination for Best Actor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephanieFeb 8, 2004
This movie certainly didn't try to be a " Gladiator " on water ... The purpose of Peter Weir was to describe the life of sailors on a ship of the Royal Navy and he masterfully made it . Viewers which found it too slow were mistaken by a This movie certainly didn't try to be a " Gladiator " on water ... The purpose of Peter Weir was to describe the life of sailors on a ship of the Royal Navy and he masterfully made it . Viewers which found it too slow were mistaken by a movie trailer which promised a lot of actions . Patrick 'o' Brian would be proud of this adaptation , with wonderful landscapes ( The Galapagos ) , thoughtful script by John Collee and some actors at their best of their talent ( Russell Crowe , Paul Bettany , and a very moving newcomer , Max Pirkis ) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristineN.Feb 8, 2004
Awesome! The Best this year!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DeenaN.Feb 8, 2004
Wonderful and engaging! One of the best this year! Russell Crowe is amazing as Jack Aubrey!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisN.Feb 8, 2004
Wonderful. Peter Weir has brought O'Brian's vision to the screen. Russell Crowe is awesome as Captain Aubrey!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RhodaM.Feb 8, 2004
Exceptional film, Russell Crowe and Paul Betany were outstanding. Peter Weir did a great job, and the cineamotography was beautiful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AnnaS.Feb 8, 2004
Beautifully made and acted adventure with an intelligent script and incredible cinematography. An absorbing and exciting delight!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanW.Feb 8, 2004
Tremendous adventure with great character development and superb acting all around, especially wonderful Russell Crowe as Captain Jack Aubrey, if ever he was born to play a role, this one is it. This role should of garnered Crowe his 4th Tremendous adventure with great character development and superb acting all around, especially wonderful Russell Crowe as Captain Jack Aubrey, if ever he was born to play a role, this one is it. This role should of garnered Crowe his 4th Oscar Nomination, shame on the academy for bypassing him this year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarianneFeb 8, 2004
Like meeting old friends. Very close to the books, I loved it from the first scene to the last.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhyllisJ.Feb 8, 2004
Great seafaring epic!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaryB.Feb 8, 2004
This film has everything - Good Story (from Patrick O'Brian) Great Acting - Russell Crowe- Beautiful & authentic Scenary, Galopogos Islands ,Ocean battle, Music etc.etc.etc.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
XSueMontgomeryFeb 8, 2004
Russell Crowe takes command of this film from the beginning! There would not be a best pic ture nom or best director without Russell Crowe!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ConnieK.Feb 8, 2004
After having read all 20 volumes of O'Brian's saga, I was interested in Weir's interpretation. No movie replicates a book (much less 20 volumes), but having seen M & C, I am at peace with the thoroughness and sensitivity with After having read all 20 volumes of O'Brian's saga, I was interested in Weir's interpretation. No movie replicates a book (much less 20 volumes), but having seen M & C, I am at peace with the thoroughness and sensitivity with which Weir accepted this challenge. Crowe and Bettany nailed the subtleties of the relationship, so I"ll forgo physical comparisons. These two men truly invaded the spirits of their characters and became them. The visual effects were breathtaking (especially since they were not CGI), and would love to see it in IMAX, but only if a dryer would be available to deal with the virtual drenching we would experience. Hollyweird has lost all integrity and credibility IMHO, so I won't go further than to say, thank whatever spirits guide the souls who take chances and believe in the intelligence of their audiences to make such powerful yet subtle movies......huzzah to Peter Weir, Russell Crowe, Paul Bettany, as well as all the other lads, not to mention the producers and companies who were willing to take the leap of faith with them. We who are your kindred souls salute you and beg for more! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
VickiW.Feb 8, 2004
This film made me feel I was actually experiencing a whole other world aboard that ship. I was drawn into the characters, the relationships, and the story. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie and will add it to my collection of classics!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EviFeb 8, 2004
Definitely a human tale trying to fit so much into a 2+ hr movie. The acting was superb. Russell & Paul Bettany were snubbed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AudreyL.Feb 9, 2004
This almost perfect movie will be enjoyed by fans of Russell Crowe, Patrick O'Brian and the growing number of Paul Bettany fans. The entire cast is outstanding and every shot is stunning. The music used, both classical, traditional and This almost perfect movie will be enjoyed by fans of Russell Crowe, Patrick O'Brian and the growing number of Paul Bettany fans. The entire cast is outstanding and every shot is stunning. The music used, both classical, traditional and original is perfect with the action. Many people worked to make this beautiful story of adventure and friendship that will be enjoyed by discerning fans. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KarenQ.Feb 9, 2004
This movie is a superb collaboration from the director, Peter Wier to all the actors involved. It truly gives an authentic picture of what life was like on a British naval war ship. Russell Crowe carries the film by becoming the epitome of This movie is a superb collaboration from the director, Peter Wier to all the actors involved. It truly gives an authentic picture of what life was like on a British naval war ship. Russell Crowe carries the film by becoming the epitome of Jack Aubrey. I have read all 20 of O'Brien's books and Crowe is Aubrey. With every look and expression and subtle nuance, Crowe is an amazing actor and worthy of high praise for this movie. Paul Betttany as well deserves praise for his portrayal of Stephen Maturin. I love this movie and have seen it five times already. I can't say enough about how much I enjoy it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JJCFeb 9, 2004
The ONLY problem with M&C was the way it was marketed. The comments on this site support that opinion. The only person in my entire family who didn't enjoy M&C had Chainsaw Massacre on her "must see" list. LOL! Master and Commander is The ONLY problem with M&C was the way it was marketed. The comments on this site support that opinion. The only person in my entire family who didn't enjoy M&C had Chainsaw Massacre on her "must see" list. LOL! Master and Commander is an art film at its' very finest. Fox Marketing misled through comments such as "Gladiator on the high seas.." Those of you who rated it low .. Not your fault .... You were not the correct target audience! The target audience saw it for what it was ... a masterpiece! JJ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DreamaA.Feb 9, 2004
I saw this movie four times with four differant people,no one was disappointed.I loved this movie,i felt as if I were living it,not just watching it.Russell Crowe never fails to deliver the goods and I for one will be first in line when it I saw this movie four times with four differant people,no one was disappointed.I loved this movie,i felt as if I were living it,not just watching it.Russell Crowe never fails to deliver the goods and I for one will be first in line when it comes out on video. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrigitteG.Feb 9, 2004
Perfect movie ? Directing ? reality Visual Effects ? Produktionsdesign ?costume design ? cinematography ?a wonderful music and a beautiful Mr. Crowe and Max Pirkins.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LorenA.May 10, 2004
Why didn't the Acheron just turn around?!? Yah-HA, HA, HA! Why didn't it just TURN AROUND???? Hee, hee, hee! Because it's a sailing ship, you moron! It has no engine! Once it is downwind of you, it can't catch you! Oh, Why didn't the Acheron just turn around?!? Yah-HA, HA, HA! Why didn't it just TURN AROUND???? Hee, hee, hee! Because it's a sailing ship, you moron! It has no engine! Once it is downwind of you, it can't catch you! Oh, PUH-leeez! Why didn't it just turn around???? Ha, ha, ha, ha. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
HBApr 16, 2006
Good movie, if you like sailing and history. There is not much happening for the city-dweller.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RickyB.Jul 23, 2008
If you believe this is an action film then you are missing the point. this movie is the study of a man. a man who must balance duty and desire with humanity and relationships. Delve into Cap'n Jack ane you will see that this is almost a If you believe this is an action film then you are missing the point. this movie is the study of a man. a man who must balance duty and desire with humanity and relationships. Delve into Cap'n Jack ane you will see that this is almost a chick flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
S.M.Nov 14, 2003
As intelligent and captivating as the books. Weir and Crowe nail this spot on and give us the seat right next to them. You are there every moment of the film - right on board ship with the other 197 souls.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeA.Nov 14, 2003
Magnificient!!! Crowe is a shoe-in for his 4th Oscar nom...as well as Weir, and Best Picture. Truly a masterpiece. I'm amazed at those who cannot see the same thing I do about this classic film!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulaW.Nov 14, 2003
Master and Commander is pitch-perfect in every way: rich in historical detail without flaunting it, powerful and grimly realistic in the battle scenes, beautifully acted and filmed from the serenity of the Galapagos Islands to the hellish Master and Commander is pitch-perfect in every way: rich in historical detail without flaunting it, powerful and grimly realistic in the battle scenes, beautifully acted and filmed from the serenity of the Galapagos Islands to the hellish quarterdeck of a warship under fire. The script is like a symphony in the way it captures the ebb and flow of life on a ship. The delay from the original June release date, which had Fox so worried, was worth it to get the animation exactly right. This is a very strong contender for best picture of 2003. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NiceiceD.Nov 15, 2003
The first half of the film is fairly mediocre, but the second half is glorious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MarkNov 15, 2003
The Stephen Hunter review is dead-on. Everything seems to be so important that you start to wonder if anything really is. I eventually was bored to death. This is an Oscar-machine, that's it. And I wish it the worst of luck - well, this The Stephen Hunter review is dead-on. Everything seems to be so important that you start to wonder if anything really is. I eventually was bored to death. This is an Oscar-machine, that's it. And I wish it the worst of luck - well, this and Mystic River. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesC.Nov 19, 2003
I loved it Except the end where it leaves it open for a sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LindaR.Nov 27, 2003
This was a great movie. I can't see how anyone can give it less than a seven! The action was superb, and it wasn't short on plot at all. This is the first good movie that came out this year since since Pirates of the Caribbean!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
GaborA.Dec 1, 2003
Besides accuratly portraying sea life there is little here. People say that the movie had no potential to begin with. I mean its constrained to a group of guys on a boat. At first i had a similar opintion, but then why was Jaws so good? Most Besides accuratly portraying sea life there is little here. People say that the movie had no potential to begin with. I mean its constrained to a group of guys on a boat. At first i had a similar opintion, but then why was Jaws so good? Most Peter Weir films dont have parts that you can pinpoint and say that that was well done. However, walking out of Dead Poets Society i had issues to think about if not the movie itself. Walking out of MandC the only thing i was left to think about was the movie itsef, and anyone comes quickly to the conclusion that it was not well done. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JoshuaL.Dec 1, 2003
Michael, I have an open mind but I'm sorry to say I disagree with your assessment. I found this to be a very dull movie with excessive violence that served no purpose. The characters were underdeveloped and thus I was without feeling Michael, I have an open mind but I'm sorry to say I disagree with your assessment. I found this to be a very dull movie with excessive violence that served no purpose. The characters were underdeveloped and thus I was without feeling for their plight. Long on wind but not much on substance. Very disappointing to say the least. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DairyH.Dec 12, 2003
AWESOME, ENTERTAINING, SPELLBINDING - these are words that could NOT be used to describe this film. Who cares about historical accuracy when you are bored to tears? And even if you could stay awake during the hour long filler in between, the AWESOME, ENTERTAINING, SPELLBINDING - these are words that could NOT be used to describe this film. Who cares about historical accuracy when you are bored to tears? And even if you could stay awake during the hour long filler in between, the battle scenes were not that great since there was little about the characters to make you care whether they died and zero tension to make you realize the danger. Pirates of the Carribbean may have been silly and annoying in parts but at least it kept me awake. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanS.Dec 13, 2003
Incredible. Crowe proves once again that he is the quintessential actor of our time. Almost upstaging him, however, is Paul Bettany, creating a layered and strong supporting character. The music is phenomenal, the story even better. This is Incredible. Crowe proves once again that he is the quintessential actor of our time. Almost upstaging him, however, is Paul Bettany, creating a layered and strong supporting character. The music is phenomenal, the story even better. This is the movie to beat this fall. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ConnnieR.Dec 10, 2003
Terribly slow depressing boring ACTION ADVENTURE film. That in itself is an oxymoron as I could not wait to leave. People were actually walking out of the theater as it was that bad. Not worthy of your time nor money. Avoid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MatinS.Dec 17, 2003
A movie that builds to nothing. Really, it was a waste of money, energy, and TIME. Seriously stupid. What happened to the Gladiator character?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AlbertP.Dec 4, 2003
I liked the cinematography but nothing else. Boring, no performances worth remembering, and I had absolutely no empathy for the crew or the time. Much ado about nothing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KebB.Dec 4, 2003
What planet are these readers/users living on!! This is a thinking person's action flick. With so many mindless movies out there this one stands out even more. Compares favorably with my all-time favorite movie (also a Weir flick) "Witness".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnJ.Dec 6, 2003
Beautiful film. Well worth the money!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BudB.Dec 6, 2003
Really wanted to like this movie, but was completely bored. This will not and should not receive a Best picture nomination.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DudleyR.Dec 6, 2003
Sucked big time. What a waste of time and money. Booooooring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ClarkeR.Dec 6, 2003
So far, my favorite film of the year, and probably my favorite war film of all time. Succeeds on all levels: cinematography, sound design, soundtrack, flawed yet heroic characters brilliantly portrayed, gripping action, and a subtle, So far, my favorite film of the year, and probably my favorite war film of all time. Succeeds on all levels: cinematography, sound design, soundtrack, flawed yet heroic characters brilliantly portrayed, gripping action, and a subtle, non-hollywood plot arc that a brain-dead generation raised on television may find boring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CheetahFiftyeightDec 7, 2003
A beautiful film -- the cinematography, costumes, acting were outstanding. I think many reviewers gave poor grades because they thought they were going to see a simple-minded action flick. This was a study in leadership and Russel Crowe is A beautiful film -- the cinematography, costumes, acting were outstanding. I think many reviewers gave poor grades because they thought they were going to see a simple-minded action flick. This was a study in leadership and Russel Crowe is probably the only actor today who could pull this off so brilliantly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TracieJan 1, 2004
MooCow if you thought that Pirates was a disaster all I can say is look at the receipts for Pirates vs. this crap? This may be one of the worst movies ever made. Perhaps, you are one of those pseudo intellectuals that enjoys watching paint MooCow if you thought that Pirates was a disaster all I can say is look at the receipts for Pirates vs. this crap? This may be one of the worst movies ever made. Perhaps, you are one of those pseudo intellectuals that enjoys watching paint dry? Please spare us the crap about this lethargic piece of garbage in that not one character had any soul. A waste of time and money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanC.Jan 15, 2004
I'm suprised to see how many detractors this film has. I'd give it a 9.5, but there isn't one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RachelW.Jan 17, 2004
Possibly one of the most overrated films ever made. It was terrible except for the scenery. If I need scenery I can find it elsewhere at much less the cost. National Geographic is more exciting than this horrible excuse for a movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NSquairJan 23, 2004
In looking over the reviews, the movie seems to score either very high or very low--there are no 5 or 6 scores. I have read most of the books from the series that the movie was based on and I loved the way the characters were developed on In looking over the reviews, the movie seems to score either very high or very low--there are no 5 or 6 scores. I have read most of the books from the series that the movie was based on and I loved the way the characters were developed on screen and action that is described in the books is made violently real. I also enjoyed Pirates of the Carribean, but let's face it, folks, that was a complete cartoon--a fun one, but not serious movie-making at all. Master and Commander is a grown-ups' movie, and I suspect that many of those who were disappointed just didn't get the quieter, more subtle moments of the film. It isn't perfect, and it isn't completely faithful to the books in actual incident, but the character development was quite true to Patrick O'Brian's conception. Crowe is physically perfect as Jack Aubrey. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JackJan 27, 2004
Action, Adventure? This dud of a movie had neither. It was a terrible boring disjointed flick that should have sunk with the opening scene. How anyone can find any redeeming value in this dreck is beyond me? Perhaps, the book(s) were good Action, Adventure? This dud of a movie had neither. It was a terrible boring disjointed flick that should have sunk with the opening scene. How anyone can find any redeeming value in this dreck is beyond me? Perhaps, the book(s) were good but not this film as it was sadly lacking in conviction and character development. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
HoraceJ.Jan 28, 2004
This was one bloody mess of a movie. It was awful. The less said the better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LarryD.Jan 31, 2004
I just came back from watching this dreck and believe me that isn't a strong enough word. Master is one of the slowest films I have ever seen in which there isn't any character development, and even worse, the viewer doesn't I just came back from watching this dreck and believe me that isn't a strong enough word. Master is one of the slowest films I have ever seen in which there isn't any character development, and even worse, the viewer doesn't care about the characters. Other than the scenery, which I gave one point for, the movie is devoid of any redeeming qualities. Since Kevin piqued my interest to go see it, I would suggest that Kevin present himself for psychoanalysis because this was a film only a turtle or a moron could love. Avoid at all costs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElizabethF.Jan 9, 2004
2003 Best Film. Spellbinding. Russell Crowe is the perfect Lucky Jack Aubrey. Commanding, funny and brillant when called upon to make hard choices. Life on this boat became a part of the viewer. Peter Wier brought the Patrick O'Brian 2003 Best Film. Spellbinding. Russell Crowe is the perfect Lucky Jack Aubrey. Commanding, funny and brillant when called upon to make hard choices. Life on this boat became a part of the viewer. Peter Wier brought the Patrick O'Brian books to the screen in the most compelling way possible. Should give Russell Crowe his second OSCAR and one for the movie and Wier. Loyalty and honor were admired traits. Great movie that deserves a 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful