Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: November 14, 2003
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 236 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
156
Mixed:
17
Negative:
63
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
HotelCentralJun 23, 2017
The film is two hours and 18 minutes long and most of that is spent on cinematography. We see the ship, the sails, the ocean, the spray. We see cannon fire and belching flames and the air full of smoke. In between battles with the sea, andThe film is two hours and 18 minutes long and most of that is spent on cinematography. We see the ship, the sails, the ocean, the spray. We see cannon fire and belching flames and the air full of smoke. In between battles with the sea, and the other ship our "heroes" are dueling, we are treated to lengthy scenes in the captain's quarters of the officers having dinner, singing bawdy sailor songs, and the like. One might ask what any of this has to do with the story and the answer is that this film does not have enough story to justify a running time of 90 minutes, much less two hours and 18 minutes.

One prime example is our ship's doctor. He's an amateur naturalist. He gets into a great big argument with our captain because he wants to take a stroll across a Galapagos island to take notes on the local flora and fauna. Never mind that our captain is in hot pursuit of an enemy vessel. I mean, no captain in any navy in history would entertain this discussion for longer than it might take to thrown the doctor into the ocean. It's absurd and a waste of screen time.

Ultimately, I would not recommend this film. I would recommend the "Hornblower" series of British films which were clearly produced by people who understand something about dramatic structure, not to mention characterization.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
mouseypoo13Jun 11, 2017
This movie was boring, slow and only half of the actors were any good.
I expected Gladiator on a ship, and got utter crap. the doctor was an interesting character, however as a whole the acting was mediocre. The movie was slow until the very
This movie was boring, slow and only half of the actors were any good.
I expected Gladiator on a ship, and got utter crap. the doctor was an interesting character, however as a whole the acting was mediocre. The movie was slow until the very end where it picked up for a minute... and died, ending on a bloody cliffhanger.
Read the Book.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FireOccatorSep 24, 2016
Everything about this movie is perfect. It's authentic and entertaining. It delivers the tactical naval warfare feel.

I really wish there were more movies like this, but for now this one is one of a kind.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JdankensJul 2, 2016
Only men will like this movie, because it has virtues women will never understand. Simpletons that want an action-adventure movie should look elsewhere.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
victarApr 29, 2016
Most. Boring. Movie. Ever. Not one single memorable acting performance. I'd rather read the index of an economics textbook for 2 hours and 18 minutes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
EpicLadySpongeMar 17, 2016
If critics love this, so should users... but due to too many negatives, I guess that score could need a little raising by a bot who can raise up the positive ratings.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
trooperdeniedFeb 26, 2016
Brilliant movie. Pulls off the great chemistry between Jack and Maturin that the books emphasized so much. And the immersion is so amazingly done, a fantastic portrayal of the the period it's set in. Can't praise it enough.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuJun 17, 2014
Master and Commander is a lovingly made historical seafaring yarn. The movie contains very strong performances from both Russell Crowe and Paul Bettany. And the ship-to-ship battle scenes are frankly gob-smacking! This is a movie thatMaster and Commander is a lovingly made historical seafaring yarn. The movie contains very strong performances from both Russell Crowe and Paul Bettany. And the ship-to-ship battle scenes are frankly gob-smacking! This is a movie that completely takes you away to another time and place. Excellent stuff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleJun 9, 2014
"Master and Commander" is a beautifully filmed historical drama that is certainly not great, but is pretty good all the same. Truly every shot in this film seems picturesque and is brilliantly crafted. In addition, Russell Crowe and Paul"Master and Commander" is a beautifully filmed historical drama that is certainly not great, but is pretty good all the same. Truly every shot in this film seems picturesque and is brilliantly crafted. In addition, Russell Crowe and Paul Bettany are phenomenal in their roles. The direction overall is also really well done, for example the action sequences are very well done. There are some small complaints I have with the action sequences though, but I will return to those. The sets are costumes are also beautifully put together. Overall, this film has a lot going for it. Now, none of those truly make it a great film, however. For the negatives, the action sequences, while brilliant, can be a bit confusing at times. They are so action-packed and intense, it can be hard to identify who is who due to the frenetic pace during the sequences. The dialogue, while fine, can be hard to hear sometimes. I had the volume at a perfect level for everything, but then somebody would mumble their dialogue, so I wound up missing small bits and pieces, which is annoying. I should not have to have subtitles on to hear some pieces of dialogue. Finally, the film has some unnecessary parts that did not really further anything. Without them, the final product would be a lot tighter and sharper, rather than spending time showing things that do not really further the plot at all. Overall, "Master and Commander" is a good film that I want to like more and rate higher, but sadly cannot. However, it undoubtedly deserves the praise it has received. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
pkgadersonsNov 10, 2013
One of Russel Crowe┬┤s best
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
HucksterFeb 13, 2013
Really outstanding with great authenticity. The attention to detail is brilliant as is the acting. At times you experience the great discomfort of seafaring but always with a confidence that you are in safe hands, even during huge seas.Really outstanding with great authenticity. The attention to detail is brilliant as is the acting. At times you experience the great discomfort of seafaring but always with a confidence that you are in safe hands, even during huge seas. Very watchable and most enjoyable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FreetochoosFeb 11, 2013
With realistic sets, brilliant costumes, and great acting, Master and Commander is not only entertaining but also historically accurate. With a full scale replica of a frigate, and Oscar winning sound design, it is the first film that anyWith realistic sets, brilliant costumes, and great acting, Master and Commander is not only entertaining but also historically accurate. With a full scale replica of a frigate, and Oscar winning sound design, it is the first film that any boat lover, history scholar,or just adventure seeker should see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JPWenzelJul 8, 2012
the movie had glorious directing, the actors were great and the action was amazing. But even better was how real the movie felt to me while watching it. the end was the only disappointing part of the movie even if it had to be longer itthe movie had glorious directing, the actors were great and the action was amazing. But even better was how real the movie felt to me while watching it. the end was the only disappointing part of the movie even if it had to be longer it should have continued. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
EbannawJul 1, 2012
The type of people below who say this movie is boring and uninteresting are the same type of people who can not appreciate art. They cite things such as boredom, because they are not intelligent enough to watch the little details that wentThe type of people below who say this movie is boring and uninteresting are the same type of people who can not appreciate art. They cite things such as boredom, because they are not intelligent enough to watch the little details that went into making a film of this caliber. This is an excellent film by Peter Weir with an extremely interesting premise and great historical authenticity for a film. It's a very historical movie based in the Napoleonic Wars. So if you're not into history you may not like it so much...but to call it boring, uninteresting, and ill-written is an utter disgrace. It's okay to call something that is **** exactly that. But just because your mind is tuned to follow more formulaic and "explosive" movies with complete bull**** does not give you the right to call a finely tuned, acted, written, scored, and directed piece of art such a moniker. Shame on all of those who have done such a thing here, may you forever rot in the sullen lethargy that is your narrow intellect. tl;dr-- Screw you if you don't like this **** **** movie. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
CooterPatooterMar 3, 2012
This film masquerades as a high-adventure war picture, but is actually at its heart, a simple and perfectly-told story of friendship and camaraderie. The pursuit of the French vessel, magnificent as it is, is just the backdrop to thisThis film masquerades as a high-adventure war picture, but is actually at its heart, a simple and perfectly-told story of friendship and camaraderie. The pursuit of the French vessel, magnificent as it is, is just the backdrop to this elegant, emotionally stirring and intellectually powerful narrative. Easily one of my top ten favorite films of all time. All of the haters can go watch something that appeals more to their intellectual level, like Transformers 2. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
MichaelnjDec 18, 2011
First time i've ever experienced disappointment in the judgement of users, what on earth is wrong with you people. This movie is wonderful. It is a beautiful insight in the life on vessels of war during early 17th century. It's aestheticFirst time i've ever experienced disappointment in the judgement of users, what on earth is wrong with you people. This movie is wonderful. It is a beautiful insight in the life on vessels of war during early 17th century. It's aesthetic atmosphere, approach and authentic reality is clearly way above the understanding of most mc-users. But i know it's wonderful and inspiring. And the only god damn **** reason people vote 0 is to have an impact. This movie doesn't deserve 0 rating. My god are people damn idiotic and narrow, i can't believe it Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LivingonairOct 22, 2011
I was really surprised by the low user score that this movie received. This is one of my favorite movies because it does such a great job of making you feel like you are witnessing what it was really like being on a war ship in the earlyI was really surprised by the low user score that this movie received. This is one of my favorite movies because it does such a great job of making you feel like you are witnessing what it was really like being on a war ship in the early 1800's. Through this movie, you are able to participate in an incredible sea adventure as an observer without risking life and limb. I have heard others state how they find this movie incredibly boring, but that just goes to show how people perceive things differently. Sometimes you have to have a little patience to see the genius and depth that lay beneath the surface of what may otherwise seem ordinary from a distance. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Dobber684Sep 6, 2010
For all those who gave this film a negative review and for those people wondering about watching it I say this: If you think that more explosions = more fun and you think that Transformers (Good film) and Transformers 2 (Horrible film) areFor all those who gave this film a negative review and for those people wondering about watching it I say this: If you think that more explosions = more fun and you think that Transformers (Good film) and Transformers 2 (Horrible film) are the height of movie making then DO NOT watch this film. It is NOT a traditional action movie. It is for people who appreciate the art of storytelling and of watching a wonderful script from a classic book series woven into an artfully built crescendo. A story where the characters are not simply 1 dimensional but are given time on screen to build depth so that you truly feel for them when both wonderful and tragic things occur. Some people call this boring. THEY ARE WRONG. They simply have the attention span of a moth. This is a rich & rewarding movie experience for those with patience and a true appreciation for the craft of epic moviemaking. Expand
10 of 11 users found this helpful101
All this user's reviews
10
CK.Jan 26, 2009
Whoever found this movie boring and/or bad seriously needs to reconsider their thoughts; If you believe this is an action film, it's really not. It's just nothing short of fantastic. And the soundtrack? Absolutely gorgeous.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RickyB.Jul 23, 2008
If you believe this is an action film then you are missing the point. this movie is the study of a man. a man who must balance duty and desire with humanity and relationships. Delve into Cap'n Jack ane you will see that this is almost a If you believe this is an action film then you are missing the point. this movie is the study of a man. a man who must balance duty and desire with humanity and relationships. Delve into Cap'n Jack ane you will see that this is almost a chick flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrianSMay 20, 2008
People expecting Pirates of the Carribean will be disappointed. M&C is an enthralling, highly realistic depiction of the times and the people, the tactics, and the lives of sailors aboard an 1800s warship. The people saying the movie is People expecting Pirates of the Carribean will be disappointed. M&C is an enthralling, highly realistic depiction of the times and the people, the tactics, and the lives of sailors aboard an 1800s warship. The people saying the movie is "boring" need to come to grips with the fact that they will only ever like American action movies and leave more rewarding movies to people with the patience to appreciate genuine adventure and realism. I wonder if they also thought Das Boot was boring, as this was basically "Das Boot with sails" and I could hardly come up with a better compliment than that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JackV.Oct 3, 2007
I have to agree with L.A. Weekly's and Jeremy E.'s comment about "Boredom". I have usually liked all the movies I've seen on at least one aspect, except for two movies, with this being one of them. This was one of the most I have to agree with L.A. Weekly's and Jeremy E.'s comment about "Boredom". I have usually liked all the movies I've seen on at least one aspect, except for two movies, with this being one of them. This was one of the most boring movies I have ever seen. Unfortunately, I think the majority of the movie critics got it wrong this time. I'm confused as to why it was rated 100 so many times. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
10
H.S.Sep 18, 2006
Perfect Movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GregS.Jul 23, 2006
Excellent acting, cinematography, and superb atmosphere. Does an excellent job of putting you right on the ship and surrounding you with the sights and sounds of a sea battle. This is not an action movie for those with short attention spans, Excellent acting, cinematography, and superb atmosphere. Does an excellent job of putting you right on the ship and surrounding you with the sights and sounds of a sea battle. This is not an action movie for those with short attention spans, it is an adventure movie in the true meaning of the word. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeT.Jul 23, 2006
Very good and intelligent movie, but not for those with 21st century attention spans that need something new blowing up every scene. Its commendable that this movie did not feel the need to resort to senseless violence throughout in order to Very good and intelligent movie, but not for those with 21st century attention spans that need something new blowing up every scene. Its commendable that this movie did not feel the need to resort to senseless violence throughout in order to please its viewers. Its just as historically accurate as the books, and just as a note to all the people that seem to be complaining about how "theres no way they'd carry an extra mast," if you knew anything about history you'd know that they DID carry extra masts and timber, and that it was kept below deck so that it would not be damaged. Think people. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JeremyE.Apr 18, 2006
wow! History, Sailing, Pointless Fights, and, best of all Boredom! this film has it all. enough to make me fall asleep.
0 of 5 users found this helpful
7
HBApr 16, 2006
Good movie, if you like sailing and history. There is not much happening for the city-dweller.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamMar 19, 2006
Not only did I call it one of 2003's top 5 best, I'm calling one of the best movies that has ever been created.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PeterB.Feb 23, 2006
I have now seen this movie 3 times, and I still have not lost interest in it. The movie is on the corny side, however it maintained its dignity, and remained believable. Alot of action and good old fasioned maritime gore. Great sound track!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TroyS.Jan 16, 2006
Excellent film. Well acted and the art direction is top notch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GlennA.Sep 4, 2005
Loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TammyD.Feb 13, 2004
If only a U-2 boat had magically appeared and sunk this disaster? What it doesn't make sense? It is as real as carrying timber to replace the masts after they have been destroyed by an enemy who blasted the ship with cannon fire but If only a U-2 boat had magically appeared and sunk this disaster? What it doesn't make sense? It is as real as carrying timber to replace the masts after they have been destroyed by an enemy who blasted the ship with cannon fire but somehow didn't sink the ship or harm one hair on that precious replacement timber? Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
SidneyF.Feb 3, 2004
Max we're nuts? Take a look at the Metacritic scores and then take a good look in the mirror... As a historian of this period perhaps you would care to enlighten us how Russell conveniently had all the lumber he needed on his ship to Max we're nuts? Take a look at the Metacritic scores and then take a good look in the mirror... As a historian of this period perhaps you would care to enlighten us how Russell conveniently had all the lumber he needed on his ship to effect a complete makeover. Better yet, please advise how the far superior vessel snuck up on poor old Russell blasted his ship to kingdom com but somehow managed not to damage to the necessary SPARE timber required to make those repairs. This movie had more holes than swiss cheese. There was no character development at all. It meandered along as slow as a bead of sweat dripping from one's brow. Absolutely dreadful. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
8
RichardG.Jan 25, 2004
There is a difference between "action" and "adventure", and I for one don't recall this movie being hyped as an action flick. But, it is an adventure in the classic sense of the word, and certainly by the 18th century standards it seeks There is a difference between "action" and "adventure", and I for one don't recall this movie being hyped as an action flick. But, it is an adventure in the classic sense of the word, and certainly by the 18th century standards it seeks to illustrate. The movie is true to the books, which have a rather deliberate pace and are intended to give us sense of how life was during that period. O'Brian's work never has appealed to everyone and this movie does not either. Perhaps the producers miscalculated the commercial potential of the O'Brian series, but that does not make this a bad movie.... Furthermore, this movie has nothing to do with pirates, Disney, or the Carribean, so comparisons to that movie (which I also enjoyed, but for different reasons) are senseless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TerryB.Dec 8, 2003
This was as about as exciting as watching the splinters explode in the flick. The screenplay was terrible, the acting was disappointing, and there was no feeling for any of the characters. If you must see this sh.t take NoDose before you This was as about as exciting as watching the splinters explode in the flick. The screenplay was terrible, the acting was disappointing, and there was no feeling for any of the characters. If you must see this sh.t take NoDose before you enter to see this NONaction boring film. Complete unadulterated crap. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful