Universal Pictures | Release Date: October 6, 2000
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 389 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
355
Mixed:
27
Negative:
7
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
JuanoloApr 1, 2012
First off, I would give this a 9.25 out of 10. It's really funny. Acting is good. Score all right, and a good story. All thought the rest of series have been not great, , this one was really great. Overall, this is a great comedy. If you likeFirst off, I would give this a 9.25 out of 10. It's really funny. Acting is good. Score all right, and a good story. All thought the rest of series have been not great, , this one was really great. Overall, this is a great comedy. If you like a great comedy, then this is for you. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
9
mds03Mar 15, 2013
An amazingly fresh and original comedy that is flat at hilarious. Robert De Niro is perfect for his part like everybody else but he had the best performance in this movie. I would recommend this to anyone that likes to laugh really hard andAn amazingly fresh and original comedy that is flat at hilarious. Robert De Niro is perfect for his part like everybody else but he had the best performance in this movie. I would recommend this to anyone that likes to laugh really hard and really loud. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
BrownleeStephFeb 1, 2016
Meet the Parents is a great comedy for anyone to watch. its very family friendly, perfect amount of humor, and somewhat reminds me of what will happen when I bring home my fiancee for the first time. This movie will definitely make you wantMeet the Parents is a great comedy for anyone to watch. its very family friendly, perfect amount of humor, and somewhat reminds me of what will happen when I bring home my fiancee for the first time. This movie will definitely make you want to watch the second movie and the acting is pretty great. Since this was the first movie in the series, this particular one is the best one. If you want a good laugh, this is the movie for you. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellNov 18, 2011
This is one of Ben Stiller's best movies. It remains consistently funny throughout and there are great performances from all of the actors. It is a lot of fun when everything goes wrong.
10 of 12 users found this helpful102
All this user's reviews
8
csw12Sep 1, 2012
An extremely funny film. Robert De Niro is flat out brilliant and works perfectly in this film by keeping to his gangster style.From cat piss on the ashes to robert de niro asking ben stiller if he could milk him cause he had nipples, thisAn extremely funny film. Robert De Niro is flat out brilliant and works perfectly in this film by keeping to his gangster style.From cat piss on the ashes to robert de niro asking ben stiller if he could milk him cause he had nipples, this movie has new ways to entertain. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
grandpajoe6191Oct 4, 2011
"Meet the Parents" is a appropriately lengthened family movie with decent acting. It's a very obvious comedy-family formula Hollywood loves to use, but surprisingly this movie's one of its kind.
8 of 15 users found this helpful87
All this user's reviews
0
TheParentFeb 17, 2006
This movie was terrible. Anyone who thinks the definition of comedy is to have the one likeable and the only fleshed out character of the film to be bullied for two straight hours by one dimensional dickheads, should not have any creative This movie was terrible. Anyone who thinks the definition of comedy is to have the one likeable and the only fleshed out character of the film to be bullied for two straight hours by one dimensional dickheads, should not have any creative control over a movie. It was a terrible watch. After seeing one character whom the movie depicts as totally normal and perfect for a girl get undeservedly trashed for a whole film, youd expect some kind of retribution which the film doesnt even attempt to offer. Oh yeah, and the girl for whom he suffers all this humiliation for is depicted as selfish, absent, cold, uncaring and vacuous. A movie which shouldnt have been made. With the cutting edge comedians now working TV, this kind of comedy was done to death 60 years ago. And much better ... Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
8
asylumspadezNov 26, 2011
A rather good comedy, Can be a little boring at times but it was enjoyable. De Nero played his role perfectly and the chemistry he had with stiller shows on screen. Well worth watching.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
9
BenBJan 16, 2007
Come, on movie raters - 6.6? That's the average? This movie is undeniably funny, and even kid of sweet in parts. HIlaroious entertainment and great family fare - so who are these knuckleheads that keep giving it 0s or 1s? Come on, guys, Come, on movie raters - 6.6? That's the average? This movie is undeniably funny, and even kid of sweet in parts. HIlaroious entertainment and great family fare - so who are these knuckleheads that keep giving it 0s or 1s? Come on, guys, this movie is a scream! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
6
Trev29Feb 15, 2013
An overall decent movie, even though I can really not stand some of the actors. Best parts of the movie obviously involve DeNiro, whose non-verbal performance and facial expressions make the movie worth watching.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
9
ElliottWNov 29, 2008
Ignore all those snobby critics! This film made me laugh, and thats the whole point of watching a comedy.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
KarthXLRNov 30, 2010
Very overrated movie, but that's not to say it's bad in the least. It made me laugh here and there, and gave me chuckles for most of the movie. I usually don't laugh at these movies because I feel pretty bad for the character, which is why IVery overrated movie, but that's not to say it's bad in the least. It made me laugh here and there, and gave me chuckles for most of the movie. I usually don't laugh at these movies because I feel pretty bad for the character, which is why I think it's important to make the character a bit unsympathetic, that way feelings don't get in the way of comedy. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
imthenoobMar 30, 2013
Stiller does a good job but it's De Niro that really steals the show in this movie. It's funny from start to finish and a pretty enjoyable comedy to watch.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
6
beingryanjudeAug 27, 2014
As per the title, it's all about family. We've all been here. Meet the Parents is meant to be relatable and we love it that way. It's really, really funny.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
KaptainHutchinoDec 12, 2013
Meet the Parents is consistently funny (just the fact that the main character is named 'Gaylord Focker' had me in stitches), and it reveals a hilarious chemistry between DeNiro and Stiller. It's a classic battle with the soon to be in-laws.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
SamApr 23, 2005
A very funny movie. From cat piss on the ashes to robert de niro asking ben stiller if he could milk him cause he had nipples (don't ask) this movie has new ways to entertain. In my opinion, not the best film in the entire world unlike A very funny movie. From cat piss on the ashes to robert de niro asking ben stiller if he could milk him cause he had nipples (don't ask) this movie has new ways to entertain. In my opinion, not the best film in the entire world unlike T, and not as unique as other in-law films, but then again it's both an in-law film and it isn't, but in its own unique way it is, so a great film and the parents should watch this one before meeting your daughters 32 (give or take a few) year old boyfriend. You;ll find out ways to make sure he isn't interested in her breasts nothing more, making this a bit of a documentary. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ShelleyN.Jul 20, 2006
It was a good comedy and family movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
aadityamudharApr 19, 2016
"Meet the Parents" is a appropriately lengthened family movie with decent acting. It's a very obvious comedy-family formula Hollywood loves to use, but surprisingly this movie's one of its kind.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeApr 4, 2016
May seem to be funny at some points, but it's a flat-out. What doesn't stop this movie from getting to the negatives is how the story usually just keeps moving on and on without caring about any of its flaws.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews