Magnolia Films | Release Date: November 11, 2011
6.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 424 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
275
Mixed:
57
Negative:
92
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
3
DelixuMay 19, 2012
It's... weird. Melancholia is not nearly as powerful as Lars von Trier's previous film, Antichrist. It will not feel like a punch in the stomach, it will feel like nothing. Lars von Trier seems to try too hard on Melancholia, and the resultIt's... weird. Melancholia is not nearly as powerful as Lars von Trier's previous film, Antichrist. It will not feel like a punch in the stomach, it will feel like nothing. Lars von Trier seems to try too hard on Melancholia, and the result is a film that will please the eye - the scenery is beautiful, and the acting is fairly composed - but will leave no lasting legacy. Two days after watching Melancholia, you will wonder whether or not you had seen it. Kristen Dunst and Keifer Sutherland are the two highlights of the film, not because of their interpretations of shallowly-constructed characters, but because their on-screen feeling. They look wonderful. Melancholia does not. Collapse
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
rkeincOct 8, 2012
This movie was so bad it made me register at metacritic.com to give my 2 cents. First of all the review by metacritic.com professionals led me to believe this was a great, not good, movie. Furthermore, the cast is amazing. With that said IThis movie was so bad it made me register at metacritic.com to give my 2 cents. First of all the review by metacritic.com professionals led me to believe this was a great, not good, movie. Furthermore, the cast is amazing. With that said I began to watch the movie. I watch a lot of movies and couldn't believe how bad this was. I struggled through 2 hours and 15 minutes hoping I would find a ray of something world noting of value about it. There was none. How the critics couldn't condemn this movie as worthless, let alone great, is beyond me. If you don't want to waist 2 hours and 15 minutes of your life don't bother watching this bomb! Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
0
HiMomDec 15, 2012
I have never before fast forwarded through the beginning of a movie, but five minutes of still images set to symphony music is just too much. I'm writing this in the hopes of saving others from this terrible movie. It is unbearably slow, hasI have never before fast forwarded through the beginning of a movie, but five minutes of still images set to symphony music is just too much. I'm writing this in the hopes of saving others from this terrible movie. It is unbearably slow, has nausea inducing handheld camera work, and a cast of unlikable characters. In the end we amused ourselves by making up lines for the characters while they stared at each other in gloomy silence. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
3
NedRyerson1Mar 3, 2012
Melancholia tells two slightly related stories, which mix drama, surrealism and sci-fi, the problem is that the only interesting part is the ending. It is a shame that such an original idea goes to the garbage, because of erraticMelancholia tells two slightly related stories, which mix drama, surrealism and sci-fi, the problem is that the only interesting part is the ending. It is a shame that such an original idea goes to the garbage, because of erratic performances, repetitive soundtrack, ill-defined script and overthink direction.
The division of the plot is based on the different points of view towards a specific situation of the two protagonists. The first part is about the wedding of Justine; here the human relationships are like a pendulum, in other words they are going nowhere. This fragment not even serves for establish the personality of Justine, because in the next part are fewer thing that are understandable. So in conclusion: if Lars Von Trier cut down this part it would not matter.
The second half is about Claire, which is a more believable character, because is the only one that really seams human; but again the plot falls into a circle.
This is the first film in years that I wanted to advance some parts because I was falling asleep. Dark, slow, depressing and extremely boring, Melancholia fails in almost everything.
Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
0
WraithswordDec 27, 2012
Self-indulgent drivel... This bloated piece of excrement features depressing characters wandering around an estate while the world comes to an end. They blather at each other for what seems like forever until, blessedly, the gloom ends in aSelf-indulgent drivel... This bloated piece of excrement features depressing characters wandering around an estate while the world comes to an end. They blather at each other for what seems like forever until, blessedly, the gloom ends in a searing blast. Supposedly, this is a study in melancholy. After two and a half hours of this morose mess of a film, I could imagine audience members offing themselves. The only lingering question in my mind, as the credits rolled, was why the writer of this protracted march into the grave didn't just lock himself up in the garage with his car running and explore despair all by himself. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
0
JohnRoviNov 29, 2011
A contemptibly catastrophic collection of the most vapid, self-absorbed tiny people parade across this lifeless, empty, stupid and exceedingly long, painful movie. I forbid anyone who reads this to see this film. And I am a great appreciatorA contemptibly catastrophic collection of the most vapid, self-absorbed tiny people parade across this lifeless, empty, stupid and exceedingly long, painful movie. I forbid anyone who reads this to see this film. And I am a great appreciator of art film. This mindless and heartless movie gives art film a bad name. Expand
8 of 17 users found this helpful89
All this user's reviews
0
JayManNov 14, 2011
Unbearably tedious, pretentious crap. You may 'enjoy' it, or relate to it if you suffer from depression, but otherwise steer well clear. This is 2 hours of sheer nothingness.
12 of 28 users found this helpful1216
All this user's reviews
0
mariopingJan 14, 2012
Give me a break! This film actually scores well with the critics? The movie is self indulgent trash. I personally just can't stand movies that are so weird that it leads to some critics thinking, "I got to love it to prove how good I am as aGive me a break! This film actually scores well with the critics? The movie is self indulgent trash. I personally just can't stand movies that are so weird that it leads to some critics thinking, "I got to love it to prove how good I am as a critic." When it's bad, it's bad. Seriously, there are people out there who want to see this film again after the first viewing? Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
1
KJJJun 13, 2012
What were the critics thinking? This is a cut rate, poorly made imitation of Ingmar Bergman - felt like Von Trier ripped out the script of a film like The Silence, and rewrote it, down to the idea of two people reflecting differentWhat were the critics thinking? This is a cut rate, poorly made imitation of Ingmar Bergman - felt like Von Trier ripped out the script of a film like The Silence, and rewrote it, down to the idea of two people reflecting different personality parts of one person. Been there, done that. And the script is dishonest - I don't care how well Dunst acted, her character at the end of the movie is completely untrue to everything that goes before. I appreciate and have watched many off-beat films - this is not a good one. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
0
1DTWChloeApr 29, 2012
This is the worst sh*t I have ever freaking seen . The beginning of the movie was so boring, it made me want to punch myself in the face. I would not recommend seeing this crap because you will just be wasting your time.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
0
eladthegreatNov 12, 2011
Please please please do not believe these people that there is anything to this movie. Something being stylistic does not make it good or deep. Something with depraved sexuality and the end of the world does not make it interesting.Please please please do not believe these people that there is anything to this movie. Something being stylistic does not make it good or deep. Something with depraved sexuality and the end of the world does not make it interesting. Something that is an art house movie does not make it a worthwhile movie. This movie is an empty hollow shell. Behind the classical music and the stylistic shots is absolutely nothing. Don't waste your time. Expand
8 of 19 users found this helpful811
All this user's reviews
2
RobinsNestApr 22, 2012
I was so looking forward to this as I like Ms Dunst and the summary sounded so unusual. But I was so disappointed. The lead character does a whole bunch of wacky things and appears to be suffering a mental disease. The rest are allI was so looking forward to this as I like Ms Dunst and the summary sounded so unusual. But I was so disappointed. The lead character does a whole bunch of wacky things and appears to be suffering a mental disease. The rest are all caricatures, are not important to her (or me) in any way. The impending doom (planet) should have had much more of a presence to these people. But only near the end is it's mighty foreboding and ultimate impact felt. The entire wedding scene plays as I would expect, well, at a wedding, with back biting petty people. But wait you say, the director has made these characters real. Maybe so, but I did not want to see them; nothing to like in any; no communication (them to me). Just a waste of a great idea and good actors. It was almost a failure. Though as I write this i can't remember why I didn't give it an F (0). And man is it long!! Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
2
listenerNov 11, 2011
Just another self-indulgent nihilistic trash from seriously disturbed mind who likes to think about himself as the world's greatest film director-and unfortunately some people believe he really is.
11 of 28 users found this helpful1117
All this user's reviews
0
hellyNov 20, 2011
Pseudo-intellectual movie that just doesn't quite make it. The only thing real about the whole thing is her depression. If you think you're going to get accurate info about how that planet is supposed to be hiding behind the sun, yeah, well,Pseudo-intellectual movie that just doesn't quite make it. The only thing real about the whole thing is her depression. If you think you're going to get accurate info about how that planet is supposed to be hiding behind the sun, yeah, well, no. But that wouldn't be an issue if the movie would have been halfway decent. It's just long and boring without giving you the satisfaction of having any substance. Expand
6 of 16 users found this helpful610
All this user's reviews
0
montecristo1976Dec 28, 2011
What a pretentious, long, boring and empty movie. Another "style over substance" film. I found the Kirstin Dunst character very annoying, and the plot was disjointed and incoherent. By the time I was halfway into the movie, I was actuallyWhat a pretentious, long, boring and empty movie. Another "style over substance" film. I found the Kirstin Dunst character very annoying, and the plot was disjointed and incoherent. By the time I was halfway into the movie, I was actually hoping the fictional planet would wipe out all of the characters involved.
This movie is LONG AND DRAGGY. I actually walked out, and I almost never do that for a movie I paid money to see.
Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
0
splagelouf4Apr 1, 2013
I created an account on metacritic solely to warn you all of how utterly unbearable this film is. Why all these accredited actors chose to indulge the danish nutbar in his latest extravaganza is beyond me. nauseating camera angles,I created an account on metacritic solely to warn you all of how utterly unbearable this film is. Why all these accredited actors chose to indulge the danish nutbar in his latest extravaganza is beyond me. nauseating camera angles, nonsensical lines and pretentious but awful humor all amount to an underwhelming finale. I have never seen a more overrated film in my life and this has shaken my faith in aggregate sites like metacritic. save yourself the two hours. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
0
MovieMan12Jun 13, 2013
You have to be out of your mind for liking this dreadful dense bore. So depressing but for no valid reason. My eyes were hurting just starring at this pile of junk.
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
0
aj4xNov 14, 2011
Probably one of the worst movies I've seen in my life. What exactly is the point of it and what exactly does it show? I might as well watch paint dry.
7 of 20 users found this helpful713
All this user's reviews
0
killingspreeNov 20, 2011
This is the **** movie I've ever seen. It's another boring indie flick about spoiled rich people who are stupid and depressed. Critics are truly stupid nowadays. Don't read or believe any positive reviews about this movie. They are shills.
5 of 15 users found this helpful510
All this user's reviews
2
FinnaticJan 7, 2012
No. No. No. Critical acclaim-itis has struck again. This movie tanked with me from nearly the moment that I rented it on pay per view. I thought the premise was Another Earth-ish enough to justify a watch, but I was sincerely wrong. ThisNo. No. No. Critical acclaim-itis has struck again. This movie tanked with me from nearly the moment that I rented it on pay per view. I thought the premise was Another Earth-ish enough to justify a watch, but I was sincerely wrong. This movie is a hot mess. Even the end will never be as powerful as what has been committed to film previously. See Last Night, a 1998 film about the apocalypse, instead. It's a far better movie.

I gave this film a 2 simply because I felt like the subject was a worthy one, even if the execution was sorely lacking.
Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
0
bjnotnjNov 13, 2011
Bland characters, no personality, and PAINFULLY slow and dull. Stylistically, this was beatuiful, but the story moved slower than a snail, it was stagnant. While I loved Take Shelter and it's barely moving pace, in this film it was simplyBland characters, no personality, and PAINFULLY slow and dull. Stylistically, this was beatuiful, but the story moved slower than a snail, it was stagnant. While I loved Take Shelter and it's barely moving pace, in this film it was simply unbearable. I found it difficult to relate to any of the characters, especially the two leads, Kirsten Dunst and Charlette Gainsbourg, both of whom ranged from annoying to just wishing they would go away. The story itself could have been so much more, if not for the sleep enducing dialogue and lack of speed in which anything at all happened. The highlight was certainly within the last minute where it was clearly, the end...of everything...no more...these bland and irritating characters will be gone forever. Expand
4 of 13 users found this helpful49
All this user's reviews
3
lancekozMay 9, 2012
I love slow, artsy films... this is not it. There are some wonderful effects hinting at surreality here, but they are only a side note in a cranky little domestic drama with thin writing. Not really a script, more like a mediocre, tiringI love slow, artsy films... this is not it. There are some wonderful effects hinting at surreality here, but they are only a side note in a cranky little domestic drama with thin writing. Not really a script, more like a mediocre, tiring dream. It just goes mostly nowhere in a tedious fashion. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews