Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 472 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is a romantic comedy set in Paris about a family that goes there because of business, and two young people who are engaged to be married in the fall have experiences there that change their lives. It's about a young man's great love for a city, Paris and the illusion people have that aThis is a romantic comedy set in Paris about a family that goes there because of business, and two young people who are engaged to be married in the fall have experiences there that change their lives. It's about a young man's great love for a city, Paris and the illusion people have that a life different from theirs would be much better. (Sony Classic Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 40
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 40
  3. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 8, 2011
    100
    Allen eventually gets to the heart of this matter: the allure and danger of nostalgia.
  2. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    May 19, 2011
    90
    The best Allen movie in 10 years, or maybe even close to 20 - is all about that idea: Reckoning with the past as a real place, but also worrying about the limits of nostalgia.
  3. Reviewed by: Carrie Rickey
    Jun 2, 2011
    88
    Midnight in Paris is not a perfect movie - as in "Julie & Julia" one senses its creator's impatience to leave the bleached-out present for the colorful past. But it is warm and effortless, qualities that make it embraceable.
  4. Reviewed by: Karina Longworth
    May 17, 2011
    80
    The latest in a long line of actors playing a "Woody Allen type" in a Woody Allen film, Wilson bends his own recognizably nasal Texan drawl into an exaggerated pattern of staccatos and glissandos that's obviously modeled on the writer/director's near-musical verbal cadences.
  5. 75
    Certainly, his (Allen) work here feels effortless, and that feather-light touch gives the picture its charm – modest but real.
  6. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    May 27, 2011
    75
    Sheer pleasure to watch, full of rich visuals and felicitous comic turns.
  7. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Jun 11, 2011
    63
    A hymn to that beautiful city, is among his least consequential efforts. It's attractive and easy to slip into, but he didn't put enough thought into the design, and it soon falls apart.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 127
  1. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    It may not boast the depth of his classic films, but the sweetly sentimental Midnight in Paris is funny and charming enough to satisfy thisIt may not boast the depth of his classic films, but the sweetly sentimental Midnight in Paris is funny and charming enough to satisfy this Woody Allen fan. Expand
  2. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Midnight in Paris is the best movie of the year so far and one of Woody Allenâ Expand
  3. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    I watched the movie (no prior synopsis) for two reasons: Paris, which I love, having been there several times and Kathy Bates. I didn't knowI watched the movie (no prior synopsis) for two reasons: Paris, which I love, having been there several times and Kathy Bates. I didn't know it was an Allen film until the opening credits. Once knowing the latter, I knew what I was in store for. An Allen-penned central character is in a constant state of flux, often bemused and wondering "Why is this happening to me and why don't others around me understand me? How the Owen's and McAdam's characters even got together, much less engaged, is beyond me. Truly oil and water. He, the hopeless romantic, who falls in love with Paris and the aesthetics of the 1920's and she, the Type-A, in-your-face, critical Material Girl who thinks the world revolves around her and doesn't understand her man or much cares. A common Allen theme is to have a self-absorbed, bragging show-off, in this case, Paul. No one around him except Gil Pender, sees this and Gil wastes no time in dive bombing him to no avail. Was Earnest Hemingway really like this in true life or just a caricature. It's as if he is saying, "I am a Man and I do great things and if you don't do great things also, you are not a Man". Gil IS Woody Allen only younger, taller and better looking. Before you accuse me of being Anti-Semitic, celluloid history bears me out. I call it the "We Jews have been persecuted for 2000 years" syndrome. Be it Woody Allen, Carl Reiner, Mel Brooks, the Seinfeld Gang, etc, it seems to be all about complaining (Oh woe is me) and over analyzing others around them. Gil never truly asserts himself in the movie, but seems to always be holding on to a life preserver just to keep his head above water. Back to the movie...the cinematography of Paris was beautiful as were the costumes, set design, music and lighting in the 1920's sequences. I was dismayed to see the fine actress Kathy Bates relegated to a 10 line cameo role as was Adrian Brody. Well known actors (Oscar or not) seem to love being in a Woody Allen film, even in a diminished sub role. Of course, filming in Paris and the large salary for little work doesn't hurt either. The beautiful Marion Cotillard was a delight as the equally romantic, soul-searching Adriana. I kept wondering what the purpose was to throw in more and more literary or painting giants in each 1920's trip. Only 3 in the 1890's sequence, but that's because it was just one scene. In the end, our hero finds his soul mate, Gabrielle. A woman of heart and soul that compliments Gil. You might think, given my critique, that I did not enjoy the film. I did enjoy the movie, although I would've enjoyed it more if Gil stood up to Inez or even slapped her (just kidding, but hey, she would've deserved it, right?). If you are an incurable romantic and/or Francophile, like myself, you will enjoy this movie. Expand
  4. Oct 24, 2011
    8
    It is a very engaging, highly beautiful film. Just as Gil (Wilson) is mesmerised with the beauty of Paris, so is Allen in his portrayal of theIt is a very engaging, highly beautiful film. Just as Gil (Wilson) is mesmerised with the beauty of Paris, so is Allen in his portrayal of the French capital. With beautiful shots of Paris, with some great cinematography, Allen manages to illustrate why Gil loves Paris so much. Asides that, technically, the film is rather well done, with some great production design. The acting is also very good, with a surprisingly precise Owen Wilson, usually engaging Cotillard, and surprisingly entertaining Kathy Bates. The film, in many ways, is a critique of nostalgia and the power it has over people. Allen makes that rather clear, and it is always entertaining to see how this film has been looked at (and criticised) by both critics and fans as "not quite as good" as Woody's films at his peak... Could have been an intentional commentary of the director - or maybe I'm reading too much into it. Nonetheless, highly entertaining and charming film, definitely worth seeing! Expand
  5. Apr 1, 2012
    8
    It is refreshing to be able to watch something that feels fresh, a story that has not been told before. Midnight in Paris is based on greatIt is refreshing to be able to watch something that feels fresh, a story that has not been told before. Midnight in Paris is based on great script and is brilliantly edited and directed. If the casting was different this could have been a masterpiece. Expand
  6. Aug 9, 2011
    7
    A film that sadly doesn't live up to it's hype. Sure, seeing Woody Allen go back to his roots with Owen Wilson that can become a spot onA film that sadly doesn't live up to it's hype. Sure, seeing Woody Allen go back to his roots with Owen Wilson that can become a spot on copycat of Allen himself at times is great. However, Wilson's charm isn't enough to film the multiple gaps in realism that a film of this fantasy and magnitude needs. Simply, Midnight In Paris tries to be an artsy magical fantasy for adults but falls apart because of the carelessness of the script. Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2011
    0
    This is the worst movie I've ever seen. It's another boring indie flick for hipsters about spoiled rich people who are stupid andThis is the worst movie I've ever seen. It's another boring indie flick for hipsters about spoiled rich people who are stupid and hallucinating. The obscure references alienate normal people. Critics are truly stupid nowadays. Don't read or believe any positive reviews about this movie. They are shills. Expand

See all 127 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2011

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2011 Image
    Published: January 5, 2012
    Get our final rankings for the past year's best- and worst-reviewed films and see how 2011 compared to previous years.
  2. Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far

    Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far Image
    Published: September 7, 2011
    The summer movie season has officially come to a close, which means that it's time once again to take a look at the quality and financial performance of the films released during the past few months (and the year to date).