Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: October 5, 1990
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 147 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
130
Mixed:
14
Negative:
3
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
txrangersfan72Jul 31, 2011
A near-perfect film complete with rich dialogue, perfect directing and cinematography and acting that is expected in a Coen brothers movie. It's hard to watch Hollywood blockbusters dumbed down for the masses when one knows movies likeA near-perfect film complete with rich dialogue, perfect directing and cinematography and acting that is expected in a Coen brothers movie. It's hard to watch Hollywood blockbusters dumbed down for the masses when one knows movies like Miller's Crossing have been made and flawlessly convey a story to the viewer in as rich a way as a novel is to a reader. It defines the art of cinema. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
sergebarberJan 20, 2012
Top-notch homage to noir crime flicks of '40s-'50s balancing with uncanny accuracy on the verge of piety and parody. Definitely one of the most brilliant and maybe the greatest of all.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
Dhacker615Dec 29, 2013
This is my personal favorite of the early Cohen brothers films.

It is a gangster film and works as an example of the genre, albeit with slightly more cartoonish violence than you oils expect. However, the movie has deeper concerns on its
This is my personal favorite of the early Cohen brothers films.

It is a gangster film and works as an example of the genre, albeit with slightly more cartoonish violence than you oils expect. However, the movie has deeper concerns on its mind. Those deeper theme reward repeat viewings.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJul 4, 2013
The Coen Brothers elegantly and masterfully direct this film and this is a perfect example of why they are great directors. The film is slow at times and slightly confusing, but really comes together at the end. The actors were allThe Coen Brothers elegantly and masterfully direct this film and this is a perfect example of why they are great directors. The film is slow at times and slightly confusing, but really comes together at the end. The actors were all phenomenal, only knock is again, the plot seemed random at times, though as I said, it comes together. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Bigboy1138Sep 13, 2010
The film maintains an elegant quality that comes to so natural to the seasoned directors, the actors are also held to that same position. The thick plot is lovingly sprinkled with twists and turns that will keep you watching, interesting, andThe film maintains an elegant quality that comes to so natural to the seasoned directors, the actors are also held to that same position. The thick plot is lovingly sprinkled with twists and turns that will keep you watching, interesting, and thinking. When the day is over, this is classic gangster movie material, the Coen Brother's are at the top of their craft. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
5
ryancarroll88Aug 26, 2010
To put it simply, the plot us a muddled mess (though this is a typical staple of the gangster genre, it's especially bad here - every newspaper headline brings another headscratch). The Coen Brothers' eccentric styles don't sit well with theTo put it simply, the plot us a muddled mess (though this is a typical staple of the gangster genre, it's especially bad here - every newspaper headline brings another headscratch). The Coen Brothers' eccentric styles don't sit well with the setting and even with the great acting, the characters are impossible to care about. The movie has enough charisma and humor to prop it up, but it just doesn't stand on its own. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
3
GregoryO.Sep 22, 2006
As a long time fan of film-noir, I wanted to enjoy this film but could not get past Gabriel Byrne's unbearable attempt at an American accent. Jon Voight's accent in Anaconda is more realistic than this. Most of what is said by As a long time fan of film-noir, I wanted to enjoy this film but could not get past Gabriel Byrne's unbearable attempt at an American accent. Jon Voight's accent in Anaconda is more realistic than this. Most of what is said by every character is hard to understand even with the closed captioning on. The three stars go to Albert Finney's performance. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
5
ERG1008Aug 23, 2010
Gangsters, right-hand man falls out with boss, sees the bosses woman, in with the Police, works for other mobs, guns, drive-bys & that.
It has the quirkyness of the Coen brothers later work but I didn't think it had any charm. Albert Finney &
Gangsters, right-hand man falls out with boss, sees the bosses woman, in with the Police, works for other mobs, guns, drive-bys & that.
It has the quirkyness of the Coen brothers later work but I didn't think it had any charm. Albert Finney & John Turturro are excellent but I really don't get on with Gabriel Byrne at all. I just find him very bland & seems to play himself all the time.
Overall a pretty average but nicely shot gangster film.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
MovieGuysNov 5, 2014
Miller's Crossing is a step back for the Coen brothers. It is more boring and talky than any of their other films, and by the time the credits roll around you'll feel like you've been watching it for days.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
FredM.Jan 7, 2007
The ice falls in to the glass, you are offered a friendly libation and you immediately get a lesson in ethics and character. Enjoy the perilous ride of who can you trust in a world run by gangsters, a whodunit murder mystery that can mean The ice falls in to the glass, you are offered a friendly libation and you immediately get a lesson in ethics and character. Enjoy the perilous ride of who can you trust in a world run by gangsters, a whodunit murder mystery that can mean you die if you don't get it right and the courage or wisdom to speak an honest thought to men who will kill you. Miller's Crossing matches Shakespeare for plotting, dialogue, psycho-logic even philosophic insight; Beethoven for pacing and nuance=if you could translate visuals to music. Period piece accuracy seems a joy. Delight in the myth and when listening to Danny boy don't count rounds that spew from a 50 shot capacity Thompson machine gun. I've seen it 4 times and am eager to see it many more. It will make you think about your"hat". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DavidH.Jul 7, 2007
Smoothly and skillfully paced while demonstrating impressive cinematography and sequencing. The Coen brothers do style like nobody else. But I know this is going to sound like a platitude, but there is very little underneath all of it. For a Smoothly and skillfully paced while demonstrating impressive cinematography and sequencing. The Coen brothers do style like nobody else. But I know this is going to sound like a platitude, but there is very little underneath all of it. For a thriller, Miller's Crossing achieves very little suspense for the audience and although Albert Finney, Jon Polito and John Turturro are game, Gabriel Byrne's mock New York accent is as glaringly awkward as the screenplay implausibilities are glaringly obvious. Why in God's name would Casper's henchman the Dane allow Tom to go out into the woods alone to shoot Bernie when the whole point of accompanying him to Miller's crossing was ascertain where Tom's loyalities laid? A disappointment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisP.Jul 2, 2008
This film is one of the Coen brothers best. The film captures the 20's with captivating language and stylized set design. It takes us on a journey with Tom(Byrne), a cryptic man who has issues with boozing and gambling. His world is This film is one of the Coen brothers best. The film captures the 20's with captivating language and stylized set design. It takes us on a journey with Tom(Byrne), a cryptic man who has issues with boozing and gambling. His world is turned upside down and his loyalties to his boss(Finney) and lady are in conflict. Superb performances from the entire cast. The role of Tom seems to be written for Byrne and John Turturro puts on another stellar performance in another Coen brother film. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JayH.Sep 10, 2009
I guess I am missing something here. It is a skillfully made film, the cinematography is remarkable and the score is excellent. It has great style and atmosphere. But it's about a bunch of low life jerks killing each other. I could not I guess I am missing something here. It is a skillfully made film, the cinematography is remarkable and the score is excellent. It has great style and atmosphere. But it's about a bunch of low life jerks killing each other. I could not get into any of the characters, in spite of a great cast. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonathanD.Apr 29, 2006
the best Coen Bros. film, just edging out Blood Simple. but Vince H is unfortunately incorrect - it was actually Barton Fink that did the Cannes double in 91.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JHJul 18, 2007
Great movie. Music, acting and language is superb. You will not find anything like it anywhere.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndewP.Jul 8, 2009
Miller's Crossing is an excellent movie, it carries well developed characters and puts them into messy situations. There is noting negative I can say except for the film get boring at times, but that is a petty complaint compared to all Miller's Crossing is an excellent movie, it carries well developed characters and puts them into messy situations. There is noting negative I can say except for the film get boring at times, but that is a petty complaint compared to all the delightfully dark content in the film. A must see for any Coen brothers or Movie fan out there! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NerijusD.Jan 16, 2010
A very good film indeed, but more realism would've been appreciated.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DirkD.Dec 10, 2009
Wow, this is an excellent example of an almost perfect movie. Camera work, story, music, acting, scenery and the dialogues were executed brilliant! A must-see and a modern masterpiece!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillSMar 25, 2009
This movie is an entertaining beauty with real depth. As close to perfect as film gets. Acting, direction, cinematography, screenplay, and sound are all superb. Second and third viewings are even better than the first. A masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
nutterjrNov 29, 2010
Yet another stylistically perfect film by the Coen brothers, with intriguing characters played by a brilliant cast. But the story line is not equally compelling making this an unevenly balanced result: beautiful to watch yet uninspiring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
wololoooMar 28, 2012
Miller's Crossing is a loving tribute to the classic gangster films of old. There's a lot of excellent acting, with on real weak point in the cast. The Coen brothers always do an near-perfect job at casting their films, and Miller's CrossingMiller's Crossing is a loving tribute to the classic gangster films of old. There's a lot of excellent acting, with on real weak point in the cast. The Coen brothers always do an near-perfect job at casting their films, and Miller's Crossing is no exception. The storyline can be somewhat hard to follow at times, with a twisted maze of double-crossing that will surely confuse the most attentive of viewers. Not a masterpiece, but a really exhibits the Coen brothers' potential. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
seancriswellFeb 3, 2013
Usually I am not a fan of modern movies acting like old time movies, but of course the Cohen brothers made it work for me. This is not my favorite film of theirs but it none the less has many of the elements of their movies that I enjoy. TheUsually I am not a fan of modern movies acting like old time movies, but of course the Cohen brothers made it work for me. This is not my favorite film of theirs but it none the less has many of the elements of their movies that I enjoy. The dialogue is great and the characters are interesting enough to give us reason to care about them. The plot line keeps you guessing because we are only given a little bit of information at a time. After all is said and done the narrative is actually rather simple and straight forward. It's the way that the Cohen brothers get you there that make it a good time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LisuebieMar 12, 2013
I liked it a great deal. The characters seemed more realistic to me than in most movies (I find the Coen brothers to have a sharp eye and a willingness to portray our less savory proclivities honestly). It is a movie to savour and think about.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
CalibMcBoltsMay 30, 2016
Let's start with the positives, the way Miller's Crossing is made is flawless, the cinematography is seamless, the performances are stellar, the costume design and art direction is pitch perfect, the movie is very well made.
But this slick
Let's start with the positives, the way Miller's Crossing is made is flawless, the cinematography is seamless, the performances are stellar, the costume design and art direction is pitch perfect, the movie is very well made.
But this slick and sharp movie does not have an narrative magnet to interest us and get us through the movie, i just watched it and i couldn't describe what the movie's actually about, things happened, people got killed, the end. Nothing much really happens where we as audience members care much about the storyline. A handful of characters are instantly, slowly or barely introduced throughout the movie, at least a dozen that have some role, but not a single one you care about nor do you understand completely what they are doing and why they are there. (With an exception to Bernie beautifully portrayed by John Turturro)

All in all Miller's Crossing is a well-made film, but the narrative is far from compelling to pull is through this movie experience and it never fully convinces in terms of either period or plot, but it sure has its moments, and when they land, they flourish
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
alejandro970Dec 31, 2016
Mafioso movie by the Coen Brothers with style of their own, nearby to Coppola and Scorsese; accurate doses of dark humor (check the sequence of machine gun), remarkable roles and infallible score of Carter Burwell.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
daviddelnorte23Jul 6, 2017
'Muerte entre las flores' es para mí, como película completa, la mejor que he visto hasta hoy de los hermanos Coen. ¿Porqué? por el gran guión que tiene lleno de giros y sorpresas continuamente, está escrita a la perfección tanto la trama'Muerte entre las flores' es para mí, como película completa, la mejor que he visto hasta hoy de los hermanos Coen. ¿Porqué? por el gran guión que tiene lleno de giros y sorpresas continuamente, está escrita a la perfección tanto la trama como los personajes, sus ideales, filosofías y lealtades. Todo esto lo encuadran en mi ambientación favorita que es el cine de ganster de la era de la prohibición en los años 20'. La mejor definición para esta película sería: cine de ganster clásico al estilo de los Coen. Es una película que engloba todo lo que son estos cineastas. Aunque mi favorita sigue siendo 'No es país para viejos' esta es su mejor obra. Una película de la que no se habla nunca cuando se hace referencia a películas de mafia. Me encanta, un 9. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews