User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 80 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 80
  2. Negative: 11 out of 80
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    My favorite movie. It's got a great mystery storyline, mixed in with some comedy and good acting. Suspenseful. Funny. Awesome! I recommend this movie to everyone who enjoys good, fun movies, rather than "artsy" (boring/stupid) films
  2. MikeH.
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    Literally my favourite movie ever. i saw mindhunters on tv and then went and bought it on dvd as well and watched it another couple times. i loved every bit of it every single time i watched it. it was violent, scary,funny, and even smart, everything you could want in a movie. film critics are a bunch of idiots.
  3. Jono
    Apr 1, 2006
    1
    Stupid and moronic even if flashy and expensive looking. How can so much money be poared into something so blatently dumb? How many extra dollars would it take to develop a plot with even an atom of credibility.
  4. Frank
    May 20, 2007
    10
    One of my favourite films, it has really good plot and setting, fast action and of course, a lot of twists. Everything that good thriller should have, but better.
  5. DevinB.
    Jun 9, 2005
    0
    Bottom-of-the-barrel scraping, cliche-ridden, incoherent garbage on every level. SImply put, this is cinema for the complacent, the inept, and the unintelligent, crafted by human beings of a similar caliber.
  6. yoshikam.
    Nov 29, 2005
    10
    I absolutely loved it.
  7. AntiNickname
    May 17, 2005
    7
    Sure, this movie isn't brilliant, or even fantastic, but I found it to be compelling and enjoyable. There were some things that could have been better, but I was definitely surprised by the first death, and I was intrigued to see how the rest of the mystery unfolded. The concept itself is pretty clever, I think, and I feel it was fairly well-executed. I had a good time with this movie.
  8. Bob
    May 21, 2005
    0
    Mind Numbingly Bad.
  9. ChadS.
    May 21, 2005
    5
    "You know, Renny, I think my character should eat cake in this scene." Maybe Van Kilmer wanted to eat cake and talk in "Spartan" but found David Mamet a little intimidating. I like the cake bit. I also like how Harlin plays auteur by referencing "Deep Blue Sea" with the early departure of its, arguably, biggest star, ala Samuel L. Jackson. "Mindreaders" is pretty moronic: I mean, "You know, Renny, I think my character should eat cake in this scene." Maybe Van Kilmer wanted to eat cake and talk in "Spartan" but found David Mamet a little intimidating. I like the cake bit. I also like how Harlin plays auteur by referencing "Deep Blue Sea" with the early departure of its, arguably, biggest star, ala Samuel L. Jackson. "Mindreaders" is pretty moronic: I mean, wouldn't a profiler know to use his/her best poker face in the company of other profilers? But "Mindreaders" seems to be aware of how stupid it is when the one who is done in by acid displays the intelligence of a rat who takes to the piece of cheese. "Mindreaders" is a pretty entertaining exercise in audience contempt. Collapse
  10. DavidW.
    Aug 28, 2006
    8
    Really not sure where all the extreme negative comments are coming from. Thrillers are my favorite genre - I watch a ton of them. And this one had me entertained throughout. Yes, they end up alone on a island, which has been done before. It's a writing device people - one that is allowed to be used more than once in the history of film. I found the writing original and compelling, Really not sure where all the extreme negative comments are coming from. Thrillers are my favorite genre - I watch a ton of them. And this one had me entertained throughout. Yes, they end up alone on a island, which has been done before. It's a writing device people - one that is allowed to be used more than once in the history of film. I found the writing original and compelling, even if it wasn't always perfect. The production values were good, and the score was well done. Expand
  11. SusanM.
    May 24, 2005
    0
    Utter crap. And LL doesn't take his shirt off even once.
  12. PichatuC.
    Dec 21, 2008
    10
    I think this film is just great.. it's full of surprises. It keeps you in the suspense. This movie will keep you guessing who is the murderer but then it will prove you wrong. so guess again and again... until you are sure who did it. I really like this film
  13. May 25, 2015
    7
    The cast of Mind Hunters is as weird and diverse as any movie can get, but what turned me on to this film was the fact that it was Directed by Renny Harlin. Harlin is a legend in the world of action films, responsible for such films as Die Hard 2, 12 Rounds, & The Long Kiss Goodnight. He usually doesn't waste his time on direct-to-video films, and prefers to feature his own people, but theThe cast of Mind Hunters is as weird and diverse as any movie can get, but what turned me on to this film was the fact that it was Directed by Renny Harlin. Harlin is a legend in the world of action films, responsible for such films as Die Hard 2, 12 Rounds, & The Long Kiss Goodnight. He usually doesn't waste his time on direct-to-video films, and prefers to feature his own people, but the story here was so good, that he must of made an exception. Mind Hunters follows seven FBI agents who are training to be profilers, under the watch of the toughest trainer there ever was, Jake Harris (Val Kilmer). For their final test, the group goes to a small island the navy uses for training, and must work together in order to catch a serial killer that doesn't exist or do they? Once they begin their investigation, the group quickly come to realize that the scene is booby trapped and they are cut off from the outside world, trapped on an island with a killer. While having a unique location and a terrific director, what I really enjoyed about this film was how it was more than just some slasher film. This group isn't just a bunch of frat girls running from a guy in a hockey mask, they are trained, intelligent, FBI agents, trying to figure out which one of them is responsible for setting the rest up. This film features all the fighting, gun battles, and chases that you get in a typical action thriller, but there is also a methodical obsession among the group to find the one that betrayed them, and for that this film is unique. Kathryn Morris stars and has more than enough experience playing a detective, after sever years on Cold Case. Likewise LL Cool J has played a cop on numerous occasions, most recently on NCIS: Los Angles. Going into the film, I wasn't all that crazy about this cast, but once I got into it, I realized that they were brought together, because all of these guys have plays cops, FBI agents, or some kind of law enforcer in the past. That mix of unique personalities and experience help this film, because what the cast lacks in talent, they make up for with experience. Mind Hunters isn't something you've never seen before, but it brings together several different common themes in a new way and it will keep you on the edge of your seat. Expand
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 30
  2. Negative: 15 out of 30
  1. 50
    Here's a film that exhibits all kinds of joy in uncoiling a story with no ending, or an ending that's so arbitrary you get the feeling that the filmmakers just threw names in a hat to see who their killer would be.
  2. Director Renny Harlin's take on Agatha Christie's versatile "Ten Little Indians" is total B-movie swagger in all its unsubtle glory.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Koehler
    40
    Ridiculous would-be thriller.