Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 117 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: A wicked enchantress schemes and scrambles for control of a spirited orphan’s throne and the attention of a charming prince. When Snow White’s beauty wins the heart of the prince that she desperately pursues, the Queen banishes her to the forest, where a ravening man-eating beast hungrily awaits. Rescued by a band of diminutive highway robbers, Snow White grows into an indomitable young woman determined to take back her realm from the treacherous Queen. With the support of her subjects, she roars into action in an epic battle that blends spectacle, magic and contemporary humor in Singh’s signature, jaw-dropping visual style. (Relativity Media) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 34
  2. Negative: 6 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Mar 29, 2012
    85
    Mirror Mirror has a great deal of energy and wit and color, so much that it sometimes threatens to go right over the top. Somehow, though, it always stops short of being just too much.
  2. Reviewed by: Linda Holmes
    Mar 30, 2012
    70
    The performance that lingers after the film like a fizzy champagne buzz is Hammer's. He remains at all times deeply and persuasively sexy, but he also commits utterly to sequences that require a level of silliness that not all traditionally gorgeous young actors can give themselves over to so completely.
  3. Reviewed by: Sheri Linden
    Mar 29, 2012
    60
    The finery and regalia of their contributions are integral to Singh's vision, giving this mostly conventional princess story its fair share of romantic froth and more than a little moxie.
  4. Reviewed by: R. Kurt Osenlund
    Mar 29, 2012
    50
    For all its pomp and fabulosity, Mirror Mirror is actually Tarsem Singh's most minimalistic effort, a dialed-down game board of elaborate pieces that's akin to the human chess set captained by Julia Robert's evil Queen Clementianna.
  5. Reviewed by: Sandie Angulo Chen
    Mar 29, 2012
    50
    As Snow White, actress Lily Collins is a washout.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Apr 2, 2012
    40
    It's evasive and feeble; Julia Roberts is not a properly funny or satisfying villain, and yet neither is she the interestingly flawed, even sympathetic figure she might have been if the film had kept the all-important question she asks the mirror.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Mar 30, 2012
    0
    There is one big winner in this mess, though. Congratulations, 1961's "Snow White and the Three Stooges": You're now the second-worst movie on the subject.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 52
  2. Negative: 12 out of 52
  1. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    This movie was a lot of fun. I've been seeing a lot of reviews call it weak and for children. I don't agree at all. I think the people saying those things are those who have lost their innocence and imagination. I read a review where someone said, "This movie is a delight and it doesn't need to be anything else." I completely agree. I actually found myself laughing a lot during the film. Tarsem's vision is gorgeous, as it always is. Great job, once again sir. Expand
  2. Jun 16, 2012
    8
    mirror mirror on the wall who.........has the hairiest eyebrows of them all. sorry i just had to. anyway, i put off seeing this movie for a couple of weeks based on all the negative reviews that i heard of it. but i had a bunch of free time so i decided to watch it and man was i glad i did. this is a really fun movie, from start to (close to the) finish. the acting was great, even from the supporting. the writing and directing was great. the only thing that i had a problem with was the forest scenes. they just looked so artificial that i sometimes took me out of the movie. and knowing that it was a Tarsem movie made it even worse. also the musicale number was just so out of place (and so was the music that went with it), but those are negligible. you know when they say "a movie for the whole family", and it turns out just to be a bunch of bs. well this is the kind of movie that they are talking about, i really do think that everyone would enjoy this movie. Collapse
  3. Mar 16, 2013
    7
    Probably about as mainstream as Tarsem gets, this adaptation plays the fairytale setting pretty straight, with excellent art direction and unique visual style (to be expected). Mirror Mirror has what Snow White and the Huntsman doesn't; craft, imagination and levity. Expand
  4. Mar 31, 2012
    5
    Like his previous films The Cell and last year's Immortals, Tarsem once again shows a fascination with lavish costume and set design inMirror Mirror, steeped in symbolism. Tarsem reveals a talent for rapid fire dialog and flowing conversational rhythms from his actors. The dialog, witty, modern, and biting, is the film's strong suit. Furthermore, the plot of Mirror Mirror is lean, organic. Every scene has a purpose, not a moment is wasted. One scene triggers another, like falling dominoes in a series of causes and effects, actions and reactions. However, Mirror Mirror's chief problem is--who is it supposed to be for? The story itself is a fairy tail--presumably aimed at children--but Tarsem is as fetishistic as ever in Mirror Mirror, and the film runs deep with female libido. Ultimately, Mirror Mirror defies being either recommended or condemned, but is rather the kind of film that boils down to personal taste. Some adults may find it too simplistic and cartoony, particularly in the bland depiction of Snow White herself, yet others may appreciate it as a kinky, biting satire of fairy tales and fantasy films that subverts traditional gender roles. It's weird, it's whimsical, and it's definitely not for everyone, but it has a unique sense of itself that could earn it cult status. Full review on my blog. Expand
  5. Oct 8, 2013
    5
    "Mirror, Mirror" does not bring fresh air to the movies. I feel that this movie is very good for its target, tween girls. "Mirror, Mirror" has a lot of color, magic and it is full of good intentions. Julia Roberts plays well the role of the evil Queen. Lily Collins is a correct Snow White and Armie Hammer also. "Mirror, Mirror" reminds me of "Ella Enchanted" and "Get a Clue", movies to watch and tea time forgettable. Expand
  6. Aug 10, 2012
    4
    this is not a good movie, because the history is not the real thruth and also when i watch i asked to myself: Who is the Hustman?, but there is something good in this film, is the actors they are very good Expand
  7. Apr 6, 2012
    0
    Not sure why this film starts off trying to be clever and unconventional. By the end, it manages to completely embalm itself in trite, insulting nonsense and cliche. Better to suffer a bout of constipation than sit through this stinker. Expand

See all 52 User Reviews

Trailers