User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 743 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 743
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 18, 2012
    3
    to be honest it was NOT that good, i found it rather dull and i dont know... boring?!
    okay let me sum it up for all you guys:
    its simply an uneventful over rated movie...take my advice and dont watch it XS
  2. Feb 2, 2012
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I realize that this is first and foremost an action picture, but some of this action was just too over the top. And no human being could take the physical stress and beating that Tom Cruise supposedly did and get up to take more. It made me wince -- not in sympathy but in total disbelief.
    Also, that plot twist at the end.was so ludicrous I wanted my money back from this movie and the previous one.
    The only reason I didn't give the movie a worse rating was that the co-stars did a good job of acting. Tom was his usual wooden self -- although he looks like he is shrinking.
    Expand
  3. Jan 7, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "I think Ghost Protocol is the best Mission Impossible of the lot." That quote there proves it: It's a film for Mission Impossible fans. That doesn't mean its a good film. The whole move was pretty absurd, and took itself way too seriously. The one man army ruled the day, and of course we just had to have a cat fight thrown in there somehow. Do they know we aren't in the Cold-War anymore? All the cliches are there: ritzy party scene with sexual seduction, the playboy, car chases, Russian antagonist (at the start at least), urban black man doing the fist bump (this scene proves just how "cool" Ethan Hunt is) and absurd gadgets. It seems James Bond learned to grow up with "Casino Royale" and "Solace". One of the trailers before the film was for a new "GI JOE," the target audience must have been teenage boys then. Expand
  4. Jan 2, 2012
    1
    Absolutly terrible. Unoriginal plot, the movie seemed like something i''ve seen hundreds of times before but i really havn't. Tom Cruise is a Wanna be James Bond, and some super cheesy humor killed any intensity there might have been in the scene. Special effects was the only thing going for this movie and if your going to the movies for that, then go on, but if your looking for a realAbsolutly terrible. Unoriginal plot, the movie seemed like something i''ve seen hundreds of times before but i really havn't. Tom Cruise is a Wanna be James Bond, and some super cheesy humor killed any intensity there might have been in the scene. Special effects was the only thing going for this movie and if your going to the movies for that, then go on, but if your looking for a real story, some good acting, good dialogue or intense thriller id recommend you not going to waste your 13 dollars on this lame movie, im still beating myself up for wasting my money on it. It's a shame that this movie is getting a 7.8, what has happened to peoples taste in movies? I want everyone who gave this movie a positive review, to rewatch it and check out a real action movie like Die hard or an older James Bond, then tell me what you think. Expand
  5. Dec 23, 2011
    2
    The positive reviews for this film, by both the public and the critics, have made me wonder if I am living in an alternate universe. Perhaps people who go to Mission Impossible films are self selecting, and don't want anything different. But what about the critics? At any rate, I went with my two sons who are in their twenties and after the film ended we paused and then universallyThe positive reviews for this film, by both the public and the critics, have made me wonder if I am living in an alternate universe. Perhaps people who go to Mission Impossible films are self selecting, and don't want anything different. But what about the critics? At any rate, I went with my two sons who are in their twenties and after the film ended we paused and then universally acclaimed that the film was absolutely pathetic. Wooden comic book writing, absurd situations (one must suspend disbelief, i know, but the Tom Cruise character cannot run down or later win a fight with a 60 year old physicist? Really?) and just overall the type of film I might have liked when I was 10 (or not). Trust me - go see Dragon Tatoo if you want to be entertained. Or stay home. Expand
  6. Dec 21, 2011
    1
    Marvel at Tom Cruise's ability to fill endless scenes with running (but never catching). Gasp in awe at the way he can fall thirty feet onto his face and not even bruise. Squeal with delight as 30 minutes of plot magically becomes two hours. This was an Apple commercial with James Bond dreams...but I suppose that means it was exactly the same as the rest of the series.
  7. Feb 8, 2012
    2
    I finally saw this movie for this simple fact that critics and users alike had nothing but positive things to say. I should have gone with my gut, and passed on this movie. Mission Impossible is god-awful. I didn't expect anything from the story, and the fact that everything in the story was confusing and ridiculously stupid wasn't that big of a deal for me. I could handle that, butI finally saw this movie for this simple fact that critics and users alike had nothing but positive things to say. I should have gone with my gut, and passed on this movie. Mission Impossible is god-awful. I didn't expect anything from the story, and the fact that everything in the story was confusing and ridiculously stupid wasn't that big of a deal for me. I could handle that, but what I'm shocked at his how dull every action scene is in this movie. Great CGI or effects don't make up for the fact that none of these action scenes were so boring. There was little to no thrill in all of them. The closest I came to being thrilled was the scene where Tom Cruise scales the outside of the massive skyscraper (cliche anyway). I have never been more confused by the praise for a movie as I was for this piece of crap. I didn't care at all about any of the paper mache characters, or the plot, and the action was so overrated. For me, watching this movie was damn near impossible. Expand
  8. Apr 30, 2013
    0
    I agree 100% with weisberger. I honestly don't see how anyone likes this movie. The plot is incredibly shallow and generic, Explains pretty much nothing, and the dialogue is awful. The action scenes are poorly done and are so incredibly unrealistic that it leaves you dumb-founded. I really don't see how anyone could give this movie a position review let alone critical acclaim.
  9. Apr 15, 2012
    1
    I have that feeling that I've seen this movie a million times before. It's pure crap, and it's boring as hell. It's impossible for me to like this film. Just skip it.
  10. Jun 8, 2012
    3
    This movie has so much mad technology and crazy stuff going on, and tom cruise is such a super action man, with enough world weariness to be convincing, and some other bloke in it is kick ass, etc, etc, how come I can't remember any of the dialogue and only vaguely a couple of action sequences? It's so overproduced it is basically forgettable, and as such.... well, it is just not really atThis movie has so much mad technology and crazy stuff going on, and tom cruise is such a super action man, with enough world weariness to be convincing, and some other bloke in it is kick ass, etc, etc, how come I can't remember any of the dialogue and only vaguely a couple of action sequences? It's so overproduced it is basically forgettable, and as such.... well, it is just not really at all involving. if you've got a tv the size of your wall you'll like a couple of scenes, otherwise you'll get much more fun out of a video game for an hour or so.. Expand
  11. Aug 7, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is one of the most overrated movies ever made. The fourth Mission Impossible continues the trend of the film series showing disrespect and drifting away from its source material both totally and thematically in favour of meaningless action sequences which make more sense. Speaking of action, let me start off by saying that I found these "amazing" action scenes pretty underwhelming. After every car chase, fist fight or gun fight it all left me thinking "that's it?". The gadgets thus time were more ridiculous than ever, it made Die Another Day look real. As for the story its the same old meaningless generic nuclear war **** turning USA and Russia on each other, only this time it's poorly done. it starts off with a Kremlin bombing which has no sort of impact on the world. The world is on the brink of World War 3 and nbdy anywhere gives a damn. There's no sort of political crisis going on following the bombing. In Dubai nobody cared, in India they were partying all the way. The Sum Of All Fears played its WW3 story much better and that movie was a dud. The characters, including Jeremy Renner were very boring and wooden. Ethan Hunt continues to be the most overrated spy in the world, he's got nothing on James Bond or Jason Bourne. The villain was idiotically generic, his motives are incoherent and dumb, and he was underdeveloped. Like I previously said, this is generic **** The movie felt more like a commercial for the new BMW than it did an actual movie. Overall rating 3/10. Expand
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    Aug 2, 2015
    91
    I think Mission: Impossible - Ghost Protocol is the most consistently entertaining, most laser-focused entry in the series so far, and while I would argue that it is very much a sequel to the third film and not just a disconnected piece of a flexible franchise, it is also a great rollicking self-contained spy movie adventure on a grand scale, and it's preposterous fun.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd Gilchrist
    Aug 2, 2015
    75
    Ghost Protocol is a fun but mostly empty adventure story that operates with the rote predictability of a middling ‘90s James Bond movie rather than a benchmark-setting actioner or even seasonal “event movie.”
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Huddleston
    Aug 2, 2015
    60
    Ghost Protocol plays it strictly by the book: the characters are bland, the plot is over-familiar and the action sequences are resolutely old school. But animator Bird relishes the chance to play with real people.