User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 60
  2. Negative: 5 out of 60

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. BJH.
    Jun 5, 2001
    Gloriously funny, superb, darkly entertaining, Rodger Rabbit meets adult video action, Beetlejuice on viagra!
  2. ChrissyB.
    Jul 1, 2002
    I don't care what anyone else says.. I liked this movie! I loved the crazy characters- costume designs were kool! My kinda movie ;)
  3. ColeL.
    Nov 22, 2001
    A numb, unfunny excuse for bad directing and a jumpy script. This film was not taken seriously when made.
  4. TomlL.
    Aug 3, 2002
    I could absolutely not follow such a sketchy and jumpy script. This could have been a good dark comedy, but once again director Henry Selick tries too hard with his animation and warped mind.
  5. [Anonymous]
    Mar 8, 2001
    This movie had a story for 4 year olds which made it boring for people older, but the jokes were for teenages which made it boring for everyone else. This is the worst movie I've seen in a long time.
  6. Bexley
    Jun 7, 2001
    Loved the dark animation and Fraser's performance. The storyline was lacking in places and some characters were just too bizarre. But the sheer inventiveness and polished appearance saves the day.
  7. AmyK.
    Jul 31, 2002
    This movie was so funny! Brendon is so good looking! MonkeyBone is adorable! I just wish i could find MonkeyBone icons for AIM.
  8. DesireeB.
    Jul 11, 2001
    This movie is amazing stop-action animation. It also has wonderful cameos from people like Steven King, and it is mad funny. The love story part makes it a nine instead of a ten, but the DVD makes up for it with extra scenes and features.

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 28
  2. Negative: 12 out of 28
  1. 30
    The result is a script so needlessly complicated that it defies comprehension.
  2. Reviewed by: Cody Clark
    A movie interesting enough in its conception to appeal to adults winds up being best suited to preadolescent sensibilities.
  3. There's unwieldy mess -- but there's also unruly brilliance to this dark and funny story about the havoc that ensues when a man's uncensored Freudian id is allowed the run of the place.