Sony Pictures Entertainment (SPE) | Release Date: July 21, 2006
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 261 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
218
Mixed:
31
Negative:
12
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
grandpajoe6191Oct 17, 2011
It's a average blockbuster adventure animation you'll love to see with your kids in a sunny day. Robert Zemeckis does a fine job overall for "Monster House", but I expect more from him.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
4
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
Monster House leaves no scares.
A very average script filled with udder nonsense. The movie feels long and pointless all winding down to a ludicrous ending that really leaves the film nothing to work with.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
5
cbbyOct 28, 2006
Great graphics. Not the best or funniest animated movie. The last part was a bit exaggerative but the rest was fairly good.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
EconomistBRApr 7, 2007
I didn't enjoy this movie, the plot was nasty, unlike Shrek for example Monster House is not a family movie it's a small kids and babies movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
GingerBoxJul 21, 2006
The language was not appropriate for young children. It was scary and not suitable for any child under 10. A huge disappointment!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
LuisG.Jul 23, 2006
pace yourself when seeing the film ....for one their is pleanty visual galore and some pretty funny scenes but the film fails to continue with that childhood charm that engages you in the first 20 minutes of the film its lost or held back ipace yourself when seeing the film ....for one their is pleanty visual galore and some pretty funny scenes but the film fails to continue with that childhood charm that engages you in the first 20 minutes of the film its lost or held back i wont spoil the film but really it should of been thought out alot more that what turned out...another thing the house is the lead and then we end up seein not more than what is featured in the previews ...i wanted to see more ....it will be fun for kids under 7 a lil scary for those but def. not the film the ads promise a dissapointment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MarilynAug 8, 2006
Cute movie, but it didn't live up to my expectations. The kids love it and it would be a great Halloween movie for them.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
PaulF.Aug 18, 2006
There was really nothing terribly wrong with this movie but at the same time it really didn't move me. At times it seemed to touch on a deeper message but almost came across as prejudice in a way. Some movies for some reason have soul There was really nothing terribly wrong with this movie but at the same time it really didn't move me. At times it seemed to touch on a deeper message but almost came across as prejudice in a way. Some movies for some reason have soul others do not no matter how good the Special effects and acting may be. Maybe if I was a preteen, having not experienced so much life this movie would be all the more entertaining. So I guess my advise would be is you are an adult with semi-refined tastes, having seen a lot of movies, don't see this one unless you have little choice. This was the case with myself as the movie was a kind of a pre-meet for a potential dating situation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MarkC.Sep 5, 2006
I saw this moive 3 weeks ago and u know what it isnt as good as it looks to me the previews of the moive made it look much better than it actullay is.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MichaelAOct 24, 2006
Wacky and funny, but some parts can be quite dull and confusing. The characters were ok. I liked the gamer guy and the cop played by Nick Cannon. One last question: WHAT"S UP WITH THE CRAZY, FAT CIRCUS LADY?!!! Anger issues
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
skiercjdDec 8, 2006
This was a very good movie - except for the one and only fatal flaw I'll mention later. It strikes a nice balance between faux-realism (Sky Captain) and talking whatevers (every other CG movie). The visual styling acheived through This was a very good movie - except for the one and only fatal flaw I'll mention later. It strikes a nice balance between faux-realism (Sky Captain) and talking whatevers (every other CG movie). The visual styling acheived through performance capture is a very creative, unique, if not over-the-top approach - and actually done well. It certainly adds a layer of organic quality to the acting that most other CGI films miss. Nevertheless, it doesn't skimp on top-tier animation. Like most, it does a nice job retaining the beleivable faux-filmed shot effect, but differentiates again by doing so with zero motion blur. A rare but cool effect. The only problem is that it reveals the limitations of standard 24-30FPS frame rates. That'll probably be coincidentally addressed as soon as HD replaces most DVD players. The characters were expectedly a bit stereotypical, but seemed offset by the convincing dialogue exchanges. They actually made the idea of PG-rated horror targeting kids work without feeling too sappy and calculated for adults, for the most part. While capturing the aspects of live action horror better than expected, it certainly wasn't too scary, crude, or gruesome for children. That wouldn't be true had the same scenes been shot with a real-life quality. Its not as family oriented as anything done by Disney/Pixar, but that's all they do albiet well - why should EVERY CG movie be THE SAME sappy family adventure with these calculated infallible performances that avoid ever sounding like a conversation any real person over 8 could ever relate to? I'm not saying Disney's are bad, on the contrary, but enough critcism that others don't immitate them. I'm still waiting for more PG-13 and (oh my) an R-rated CG movie that follows more along the lines of the anti-family-appeal types such as Antz or Shark Tale. The only thing that made this a 6 out of 10 vs. a 9 out of 10 - warning: [***SPOILERS***]: the ending. At the point where I knew the credits were about to roll, I was sure that nobody that was shown getting killed had any chance of coming back. They were all throwaway characters that deserved it. It was clear the ending would have no stupid epilogue or open ending, so it had NO reason to give any explanation as to what happened to the deceased and how that would affect their community - let people think a little bit. The ending, of course, was cheery in regard to main and uninvolved characters surviving. If any that didn't deserve it in context had died, it would've been quite innappropiate for children. Actually the ending I almost got made far more sense than most live action films that go the other way and overemphasize this unnecessarily grim or unbelievably stupid ending as if trying to pull one over people. I was so glad it didn't do the cheesy, predictable thing that only a true bubble-gum-pop kid-flick that barely cost a few million bucks to make would have any right to do... until it did! Until this, I'd though this movie was above and beyond that worthless tripe. All the characters that died in the movies time frame was resurrected without having learned a single thing. The first was a VERY convincingly portrayed stereotypical drunk stoner drop-out, that has to exist and get killed in every real horror film unless developed any further than that (in which case they still tend to get slashed). So what kind of message is this conveying? I'm confused. They took as much liberty as PG-rating could've possibly allowed by having the clearly underaged "bones" hammered while making abusive sexual passes. Add an F-word to that scene and the MPAA would've been questioning if that scene deserved an R-rating. This complete inconsistency really undermined the entire premise that the house was ever something to fear, and that the movie wasn't a total waste of time. If you can pretend this wasn't part of the movie, its still good. Take my advice and hit the stop button as soon as you hear the credit roll coming. Your kids will thank you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
teddylukeApr 11, 2015
monster house is an ok movie. it's charters are ok the story is wired but ok. yeah everything about this movie is just ok. if you have young kids maybe do not let them see but if you kid wants to see this movie then just let them see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
reviewfrom19842Oct 27, 2016
A decent kids horror movie with likeable cast good story and acting...................................................................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews