New Line Cinema | Release Date: May 13, 2005
5.7
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 71 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
37
Mixed:
10
Negative:
24
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
AngelicaG.Apr 2, 2008
It couldn't have been any better...now the real question is...is there going to be a part 2 to this movie?
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
RikiegeJan 24, 2013
An entertaining film but with some dull moments.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
Trev29Apr 3, 2012
Jennifer Lopez is a total loser. Does she really think she can act???? Fonda was quite funny even with the stupid jokes she was given. Maybe if someone actually wrote the script with a little brain power it could have been better.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
TonyB.Aug 30, 2005
That this has been one of 2005's biggest commercial successes is a shame. So much of the money used to buy tickets for it could have been spent on dozens of superior films. Paying under $4.00 to see it on video, and there were two of That this has been one of 2005's biggest commercial successes is a shame. So much of the money used to buy tickets for it could have been spent on dozens of superior films. Paying under $4.00 to see it on video, and there were two of us, was bad enough, but the #16.00 it would have cost us in a theater would have been criminal. This was a film that wanted to be a number of things and so wound up being none of them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BarbM.Sep 9, 2005
Loved it. Don't look for perfection. Just a fun movie, that doesn't get too absurd. Almost tho!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CrowRobotOct 7, 2005
Gosh, this was a really bad movie. This is a new low for J-Lo, and that's saying something. The gags run from mildly annoying to downright life-threatening. Notice 'funny' was no where in there. The plot is especially thin and Gosh, this was a really bad movie. This is a new low for J-Lo, and that's saying something. The gags run from mildly annoying to downright life-threatening. Notice 'funny' was no where in there. The plot is especially thin and uninvolving, even for this kind of movie. I found my attention wandering while I watched it, which I don't think has ever happened to me before while I watched a movie. Wanda Sykes puts in a pitiable performance as the comic relief. Her Greyhound commercials were funnier. Every actor and actress in this has done much better work. Avoid this film at all costs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SusanM.Sep 6, 2005
Great acting by Fonda, Lopez and the very hot Michael Vartan but that doesn't stop the story from totally sucking!!! I thought it was poorly written and strung together, a total cheesy let down and not at all heartwarming.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
GregSep 7, 2005
This movie was sort of fun, but I say that reservedly. It was okay but was not up to the potential of Ms. Fonda nor Ms. Lopez. I watched this movie to completion but could not recommend it to my co-workers on Monday morning.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CheriffL.Sep 8, 2005
Pros: Hilarious, not very mean spirited, great acting. Cons: predictbale, too many "romantic-comedy" cliches. Overview: a great movie, not worthy for any awards, but its a fun watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GlennM.Oct 24, 2005
An absolute atrocity, this is the worst I have ever seen by a long shot, who could possibly say Jane Fonda was good, the most annoying acting Ive ever seen. Wow I am still stunned it was pitiful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
jaxthemovieguyJan 28, 2012
Monster In Law stars Jennifer Lopez as Charlie, a dog-loving artist looking for the right guy. She finds it with Kevin, played by Michael Vartan, and they soon get engaged. Their life seems to be perfect- that is, until Kevin's overprotectiveMonster In Law stars Jennifer Lopez as Charlie, a dog-loving artist looking for the right guy. She finds it with Kevin, played by Michael Vartan, and they soon get engaged. Their life seems to be perfect- that is, until Kevin's overprotective famous mom (Jane Fonda) gets in the way. Monster In Law is a pleasant surprise for a romantic comedy, though it's far from perfect. Jennifer Lopez is likable, but her performance hardly required anything at all. The main thing that keeps the film interesting is Fonda and Wanda Sykes, her wacky assistant. Their chemistry is the main thing that keeps this film afloat, and I wouldn't be surprised to see a spin off. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
lukechristianscFeb 16, 2015
No offense but Lopez is a sexy singer but she no clue how to act. This movie is an insane comedy but i do often find this movie charming and hilarious, Jane Fonda plays the famous **** mom who doesn't like Charlie marrying her son KevinNo offense but Lopez is a sexy singer but she no clue how to act. This movie is an insane comedy but i do often find this movie charming and hilarious, Jane Fonda plays the famous **** mom who doesn't like Charlie marrying her son Kevin (Michael Vartan), Lopez tries really hard the more hard she tries the more she fails. Her acting skills are okay she just picks the dumb roles. Grade B- Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews