Moonrise Kingdom

Moonrise Kingdom Image
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 618 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: Set on an island off the coast of New England in the 1960s, the film follows a young boy and girl falling in love. When they are moved to run away together, various factions of the town mobilize to search for them and the town is turned upside down – which might not be such a bad thing.Set on an island off the coast of New England in the 1960s, the film follows a young boy and girl falling in love. When they are moved to run away together, various factions of the town mobilize to search for them and the town is turned upside down – which might not be such a bad thing. (Focus Features) Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 43
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 43
  3. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jun 22, 2012
    100
    A thoroughly endearing journey, and one of the most enjoyable and touching movies to land in theaters so far this year.
  2. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    May 31, 2012
    100
    Moonrise Kingdom is Anderson's seventh movie, and it's the first since "Rushmore" that works from the opening shot to the final image.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    May 24, 2012
    90
    Beguiling and endearing.
  4. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 27, 2012
    83
    These characters don't realize they're funny, and the actors are determined not to push it. Willis fares best, playing against in-control type; Murray fans expecting a comedy explosion won't find it here.
  5. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    May 24, 2012
    80
    Moonrise Kingdom is fun: a gorgeously shot, ingeniously crafted, über-Andersonian bonbon that, even in its most irritatingly whimsical moments, remains an effective deliverer of cinematic pleasure.
  6. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    May 17, 2012
    80
    Cheers for a Cannes director who has infused his technical mastery with radiant life. In the Museum of the World of Wes Anderson, the dolls are dancing.
  7. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    May 24, 2012
    25
    The result, in the case of Moonrise Kingdom, is what I call transcendentally brainless - an after school special aimed at asinine adolescents over the age of 40.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 144
  1. May 26, 2012
    10
    Wes Anderson's best movie in years - right up there with Royal Tenenbaums and Rushmore. (Fantastic Mr. Fox, Life Aquatic, and Darjeeling eachWes Anderson's best movie in years - right up there with Royal Tenenbaums and Rushmore. (Fantastic Mr. Fox, Life Aquatic, and Darjeeling each fell well short of my own expectations.) He nails the time period, the locations are perfect, the young actors are amazing (not over or underplaying anything) , the cadence is on the money, and the adults are much more genuine and sincere than they have been in other W.A. films. There is nary a dull moment in the film. Best of all, it brought back warm memories of my own time in the Khaki Scouts. It's my easiest recommendation in a while. Expand
  2. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    This movie is great, I went in not knowing anything about it, and was very glad I saw it. Its certainly different and very interesting.This movie is great, I went in not knowing anything about it, and was very glad I saw it. Its certainly different and very interesting. Recommend to anyone Expand
  3. Jun 19, 2012
    9
    Quirky, well acted, and amusing. Wes Anderson's films are not for the masses, as they are subtle and, quite frankly, more intelligent thanQuirky, well acted, and amusing. Wes Anderson's films are not for the masses, as they are subtle and, quite frankly, more intelligent than the fodder we are fed by corporate Hollywood. I imagine his movies don't cost that much to make, that the actors all work for much less because they like him, and that because of these financial assets, make enough money to let him make the next one. I have liked them all to one extent or another. That's how it is with his films. If you don't like the quirky pathos infused humor, you just won't like his movies. He has his own voice and clearly his own aesthetic vision. I loved it. Expand
  4. Jul 15, 2012
    8
    I went in jaded and was ready to hate the preciousness of it all, but this gem won me over. A summer treat from a man with a vision. YouI went in jaded and was ready to hate the preciousness of it all, but this gem won me over. A summer treat from a man with a vision. You pretty much know what you're going to get with Wes Anderson, but here it comes together with style and grace. Expand
  5. Jan 29, 2016
    8
    Moonrise Kingdom may be a light summer entrée, but it rewards us by serving up a rich romantic fantasy and isn't afraid to share its sweet,Moonrise Kingdom may be a light summer entrée, but it rewards us by serving up a rich romantic fantasy and isn't afraid to share its sweet, beating young heart.

    Watch this here http://www.watchfree.to/watch-29b96d-Moonrise-Kingdom-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
    Expand
  6. Nov 2, 2012
    5
    A great story but Wes Anderson's trademark tweeness and arty shannanigans just take me out of the moment. There's that air of unrealism thatA great story but Wes Anderson's trademark tweeness and arty shannanigans just take me out of the moment. There's that air of unrealism that typifies most of his films. Also a bit dissapointed to see great actors like Bill Murray being wasted in shallow roles. I switched this film off when the two kids started dancing on the beach. Was too cheesy and made me want to vomit. Expand
  7. Jul 2, 2012
    0
    This movie is really Anderson's best. Everyone in the theatre was laughing hysterically. MK is really movie of the yearThis movie is really Anderson's best. Everyone in the theatre was laughing hysterically. MK is really movie of the year material................................................................................................................................................................................................. Collapse

See all 144 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2012

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2012 Image
    Published: January 7, 2013
    Inside, you'll find our final rankings of the best and worst films of the past year, overall and by individual genre.
  2. 2012 Film Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Film Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 11, 2012
    Throughout December and January, we'll be aggregating dozens of year-end top ten lists from a variety of movie critics and publications. Find all of their lists here, as well as our composite standings for best movie of 2012.
  3. Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films

    Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films Image
    Published: April 25, 2012
    From tentpole films like "The Dark Knight Rises" and "Prometheus" to arthouse fare like "Moonrise Kingdom" and "To Rome with Love," the summer movie season promises something for every type of film fan. Take a look at everything the coming months have to offer.
  4. 2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films

    2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: January 12, 2012
    Another humdrum year for movies? Forget it; 2012 is shaping up to be the best year for film in over a decade. Inside, we run down 50 of the most promising movies due to arrive this year, and we guarantee that you'll find something to get excited about.