User Score
3.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 293 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 293

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 26, 2013
    0
    Misleading trailer. I watched it primarily to see Stephen Merchant acting but I also thought it had some kind of story. There was a stupid back story with no real plot. The movie is basically a compilation of stupid, unfunny clips. Movie 43 is possibly the worst movie I've ever seen. If you enjoy stupid movies like Epic Movie for example, this is for you. If not, don't waste your money!
  2. Jan 27, 2013
    4
    I know what you're thinking when you look at the bad reviews. "All funny movies get bad reviews, even if they are hilarious". This movie was honestly a disappointment. It's definitely is NOT worth you're money to see it in theaters, unless you have nothing else better to do. Don't get me wrong, it had its laugh-out-loud moments here and there, but nothing of what I expected. A lot of it was just stupid, and not in that stupid-funny way either. It was more stupid and dumb than funny. If you're up for it, go ahead and see it in theaters, but be prepared to feel like your money was wasted. Expand
  3. Jan 27, 2013
    2
    I enjoy sketch comedies. I really do. WKUK is one of my favorites shows of the past decade. So, I went into Movie 43 with higher than average expectations; that was a bad idea. The huge cast list of A-listers is probably the only reason the movie will sell well. In WKUK, the humor is at times low-brow, but also had a consistently dark and sophisticated undertone, and was actually funny. Here, the only humor derives from the idea that big names like these would involve themselves in garbage like this. WKUK did better most to all of the premises to the sketches in this movie, and they do it with a cast of nobodies. I laughed initially at the Hugh Jackman scene (already done better by WKUK, also with the period scene and basically every other scene in the movie), but that initial punchline was supposed to keep me laughing for 10 minutes? Really? That's the problem: any hint of a punchline is either surrounded by truly awful and unfunny 7th grade humor, or is extrapolated to the point of taking back the laugh you may have had at the beginning of the scene. Save your money, watch a season of WKUK and actually laugh. Expand
  4. Jan 25, 2013
    0
    It challenges for the worst thing I have ever seen.
    I love potty, cheesy humor but this was well beyond being even remotely entertaining. my particular show had about 4-5 people walk out before the half point, I wish I had as well as it became painful to sit thru. it is only sporadically funny with 98% of the rest being so unbelievably stupid to watch, it ruins that 2% of the humor that
    did work. Some will come away offended by some of its nature, I think most will see it as one of the worst movies they have ever sat thru. I can not for the life of me understand how they got the stars they did to act in this. the principle was great, get great mainstream actors to go completely off the reservation in a crude cheesy way but they just go way too far in this one and most of the humor attempts just don't work. like I said, people left, and for those who stayed, didn't hear much more then a rare chuckle or two. Expand
  5. Jan 27, 2013
    0
    DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!! seriously it was probably the worst movie me and my gf have ever seen. we were going to walk out a few times but stayed in hopes it might possible get better. it didn't. we both love stupid comedies but this didn't even qualify for that it was just stupid. neither of us can figure out for the life of us how the director managed to get all the actors that were in this movie. there was a few academy award winners and other that are considered really good actors. pretty much 90% of the actors in the movie are all BIG names. how the heck did the director convince them to do this BS movie???

    it had a few funny parts but very few and far between.

    honestly i would have felt ripped off if i had only spent $2 to see this movie. i feel REALLY ripped off that i spent full price.

    TLDR version.

    DO NOT go and see this movie. don't even rent it one of if not the worst movie ive ever seen.
    Expand
  6. Jan 26, 2013
    0
    One of the worst movies I've ever seen.

    It's a movie full of shorts and maybe one was actually funny. I can't believe so many big name actors agreed to be in this garbage.

    Keep in mind, this 0 is coming from a person who watches pretty much any and everything in theaters, but never have I thought so long about the money I wasted on this crap.
  7. Jan 27, 2013
    0
    I hope that Scary Movie 5 is paying attention right now because what are they thinking? A spoof movie filled with A-list actors and a slew of directors like my idol, James Gunn? Are they serious? I think Hollywood needs to put an end to the crappy spoof genre. Valentine's Day and New Year's Eve have some great cast (don't listen to the haters), but as a fan of the Scary Movie series this whole Movie 43 is not just beyond bad, it's one of the worst movies of the year. I saw the trailer and it was terrible, it just lasted for a half an hour. Hollywood loves crap! Fans can skip the movie and watch the Super Bowl. Expand
  8. Jan 26, 2013
    0
    DO NOT, UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES, WATCH THIS PILE OF HORSES**T!
  9. Feb 3, 2013
    3
    This is definitely an interesting take on a film with all of the different "stories" throughout the film and with such a great cast the film really had potential; I was really looking forward to being more surprised. Unfortunately the film really tried to be funny but it was wasted on fart humor and low brow silliness. I'll be the first to admit I love random hilarity but this film just didn't deliver. You could tell the cast really tried but i'd say in this case the writers may as well have dunked the script in the toilet because that's exactly the type of "humor" this movie portrays. Potty humor and disappointment. Expand
  10. Jan 27, 2013
    0
    Yet again - America, that great land of comedy (not), tries to be funny but in the end only lands up being spectacularly stupid - as usual. Scrotums growing out of peoples neck? If that is the level that passes off as high comedy these days then perhaps Hollywood should close its doors to comedies all together since they don't have the wit of the French nor the dryness of the Brits and pushing this kind of crap out into international territories only end's up reinforcing the sterotype that the Americans are only good for guns and morons. Expand
  11. Oct 22, 2013
    0
    Is Movie 43 the worst film ever made? Probably, I know it's definitely the worst film I've ever seen so I wouldn't be surprised. Honestly, I couldn't even make it past the 1-hour mark before I had to stop watching, and I rarely get so tired of a movie that I have to stop. The movie essentially centers around Dennis Quaid's character trying to get his movie purchased from a studio, by any means necessary. Well this "movie" is less of a movie and more of a bunch of skits, horrible skits, that feature endless stupidity and minimal, if any, laughter. Honestly, I feel like they should've paid me to watch this movie and I watched it for free. I truly feel sorry for anyone who watched this in theaters. They should steal awards from any actor who appeared in this film. Just pathetic. Expand
  12. Feb 10, 2013
    1
    The truth of the matter is, many artists and performers have indeed sold their souls to the devil in order to achieve greatness Movie 43 is what happens when the devil eventually collects.
  13. Feb 4, 2013
    2
    Wow. Just wow. This movie was horrible. I feel sick to my stomach even giving this movie a 2 out of 10, because I know that anyone in their right mind should never be forced to see this movie unless it is through some form of torture. I would give it a 0, but I would be lying if I said I didn't laugh at least twice during the movie. That is it. I laughed twice. This movie is garbage, stay far away. Expand
  14. Jul 4, 2013
    0
    Movie 43 is more than stupid, it is moronic silly and dumb with no story but lots of wasted talents, it is disgusting and distasteful. Not one segment is remarkable or even enjoyable, they are all yuk, low and dirty with uninteresting stories that don't lead to anything nor are connected to each other.
  15. Jan 31, 2014
    1
    I am infertile because of this film. I'm ashamed to see people like Emma Stone, Kate Winslet and Hugh Jackman in this film. I made it about an hour and fifteen minutes into this film before finally surrendering. Upset because of this film.
  16. Jan 22, 2014
    1
    The concept behind Movie 43, in which a crazy screenwriter pitches terrible movie ideas at an increasingly confused and agitated movie producer, is potentially a good one. Unfortunately the execution is almost universally awful.

    Virtually every one of the fifteen or so short segments relies on gross out humour and, on top of being unfunny, a few are just horrible to watch. Even
    seemingly promising concepts, such as superhero speed dating go by without raising so much as a smile. The only question left to ask is how the hell did it attract such a stellar cast?

    If you want a better example of the same concept seek out a movie called 'The Independent' starring Jerry Stiller, it’s far from perfect but much better than this load disgusting rubbish.
    Collapse
  17. Feb 14, 2013
    0
    I literally can't express to you how misleading this movie was. I have to give credit to the trailer creators because they are the only reason this film made any money. Go watch the trailer of the movie and then you have watched the best parts of the movie. It doesn't get any better it just drops off a cliff. I am a huge fan for immature, boundary pushing comedy but this just takes it too far. I'll spare you the details just promise the planet that you will avoid this movie at all costs! Expand
  18. Apr 17, 2013
    3
    Watch the trailer. Those are all the funny parts in the movie.
    The plot is not existent, just like the jokes.

    Seriously, worst 9 bucks I have ever spent. NEVER again...
  19. Dec 30, 2013
    2
    I'm ashamed to admit I chuckled a few times, but largely, I just laughed at the fact that this was made. Someone out there thought this was a good idea and managed to get A-List actors involved. While it is horrible, it should be seen by anyone in the mood to watch something awful.
  20. Jan 26, 2013
    0
    I don't feel like I watch the movie so much as I was assaulted by it. If I could find a way to have the police bring a film up on charges of battery I would. Alas, if Andy Warhol can call a painting of a soup can art, then yes Hollywood can call this a work of cinema. This film walks the excruciatingly thin line between gibberish and coherent communication. Honestly, if all of those A-List performers simply got naked and make barking sounds for two hours, that would have been more artful than this pile of nothing. Sadly, though, I am not a studio executive or film director, so I will sit here $10 poorer for having been victim to this criminal enterprise. Expand
  21. Aug 13, 2013
    3
    I laughed more in the 2 minute trailer for Kick-Ass 2 than I did in 90 minutes of Movie 43. Every joke is about poo, wee, farts, sex, vomit, periods and even more farts. Thank god Christopher Mintz Plasse and Chloe Moretz were in their to provide about 3 laughs.
  22. Feb 10, 2013
    3
    I didn't love it, but I laughed a lot, so I guess the movie served it's purpose. The opening sketch with Kate Winslet and Hugh Jackman was the best one in my opinion and set the tone for what to expect beautifully. It was a joy to watch some of the high calibre actors to use their talent for this
  23. Feb 13, 2013
    2
    Just bad! With such amazing actors you would expect so much more. The film is pretty much a long sketch show but the plot for the reasoning of the sketches is badly thought out, stupid and badly acted. Each sketch has promising concepts and starts out relatively funny but then degenerates into unnecessary grossness which ultimately is unfunny. Granted there are some funny moments but would not recommend especially if you cringe easily or are squeamish. Expand
  24. Feb 17, 2013
    0
    Don't even bother to watch Movie 43. It's the most stupidest comedy ever made in 2013's history. If you want to watch a boring, stupid net comedy movie you can watch sketches on youtube! But this film carries you in to waste you money on something you can watch free on youtube! The only "meh" sketch was at the end but this film is overall stupid. Avoid this movie while you still can. 0/10
  25. Aug 31, 2013
    0
    So bad I thought I might have endless nightmares of this pitiful pointless movie. Am I allowed to call it a movie because it was more like a toilet bowl. These actors should be flushed.
  26. Jul 13, 2013
    0
    This is a horribly made, stupid, uneven and beyond a WTF-fest. Every joke is completely immature and inane, completely relying on "offensive" jokes. It's one of the stupidest movies I've ever seen but I giggled once (I'll get into that later) but I felt like my IQ dropped 100 points afterwards. It's not necessarily due to the raunchy humor, (though that was a factor) but mostly how the entire film was witless and relied on childish jokes involving feces, bodily fluids, language and mild bestiality and incest. Some sketches were just horrendous and some were just awful. (Which one is worse? Exactly.) These are all DISGUSTING, crude, and void of any wit at all. I can laugh at crude; 21 Jump Street, Ted, and This is the End made me cry with laughter, but these are the worst things I have ever had to endure.

    The one with Anna Faris and Chris Pratt was unbearably awful and made me want to shoot myself in the face; it's just one "joke" about how gross they can make dialogue about coprophilia, all while seemingly trying to harm the audience's intelligence. The iBabe sketch was really bad given how terminally stupid it was, as was the Beezel sketch given its terminal velocity of terribleness. I was disappointed by the Homeschooled sketch because the idea is actually very funny: two parents harassing their home schooled child in order to give him a true high school experience. However, that went past when it was funny and just became uncomfortable given the jokes about child abuse and mother-son and father-son incest. It truly could have been hilarious, but it just made me want to leave due to how mean-spirited and void of wit it was.

    Because this is a series of sketches, the characters aren't actual characters, just actors due to the non-existent plot and non-existent character development. The cast is good, so you're watching screen saying, "That's not a character, but it's just Emma Stone, who I really like." Right after that, you become overrun with an unspeakable amount of pity and depression in regards to how all of these amazing actors and actresses are in this: the worst movie of all time. (Keep in mind that I've seen Jack and Jill and Piranha 3DD.) Speaking of Emma Stone, her sketch was the only one that had me giggle. Her banter with Kieran Culkin and their love-hate relationship and jokes actually made me chortle once, and I'll admit that. (Their arguing, "chicken-egg" debate, the Golden Girls, etc.) The Batman and Robin sketch also had *some* potential elements of funniness, such as a joke about Superman's hair and comic book references, but it was wasted away. The timing is bad and the shots in the film feel like a first take, as if they didn't even try. All mentioned moments, also, add up to about 20 seconds total. That's 0.35% of the entire "film".

    Ultimately, the most depressing part of it all is that the cast is actually in this crap. They don't seem to be trying and it's documented by one of the directors/producers that no one actually wanted to be in this; it's evident due to the horrid delivery of "funny" lines. The entire cast is wasted and nowhere in the 94 minutes of trash did they ever take advantage of their incredible, funny and talented actors. This is the stupidest film of all time but I somehow giggled once. Is it a good movie? No. Never. Not at all in the slightest. In fact, it's the worst movie of all time. It has EVERYTHING wrong with Hollywood and the world in one atrocity. A-listers to cynically attract audiences (victims, really), a pile of trash that has absolutely no work put into it, no art whatsoever, a "comedy" with no laughs, and it somehow managed to make 94 minutes feel like four hours.

    After you cringe two or three times due to the humor (which is all driven by making people go "ew", nothing else), you really do get bored. It's so repetitive, and I can't believe that not a single sketch was good. This could have been really good, considering the talent involved, but once they decided to make it all obscene, they should have stopped. There's no way to win. You infuriate and insult 99.99% of the audience and once they become accustomed to the beyond lowbrow "humor" that it's going for, you become numbed to it and begin to cry inside. It's lose-lose-lose. It's expected for an anthology to not be 100% great, but the ratio of miss-to-hit here is simply astounding.

    Sitting through it made me a stronger person, and one of the worst parts of it was that it was so incredibly boring. This is the biggest disgrace to cinema ever, something that I love near and dear, something that is truly my passion. I used to like a ton of these actors, but I won't be able to forget their involvement in this catastrophe. At least Elizabeth Banks' sketch is halfway through the credits so most people won't see it. Also, they cut out the sketch where Anton Yelchin played a necrophiliac that would rape female bodies at the morgue at which he worked.

    If I were to ever commit suicide, r
    Expand
  27. Aug 13, 2013
    4
    Just because it has a lot of famous stars it doesn't mean that it is a good film.
    I admit: some scenes were nice and I laughed, but most of them were so stupid that i was embarrassed for the actors/actresses who played in.
    I can't say that it's so bad that it deserves 0 as scores because the idea was nice but just that.
    It seems to be written by a 16 years old guy.
    Probably they
    thought that just for the stars, they would have gain a lot of money... If they just worked more on it (and not just putting some trashy jokes in it) it would be the funniest movie of the year! Expand
  28. Aug 29, 2013
    0
    Just pure This movie has none redeemable quality to it: the actors are really bad (and I love almost all of them in other movies) and the story is god-awful and non-existent. I know this movie was made to make a horrible movie, they admit it in the movie itself. They just succeded too much.
  29. Jan 2, 2014
    2
    I didn't originally know this was a movie told through sketches, but now that I do, I also know this movie is terrible. There are one or two funny sketches but the rest of the movie is a huge waste of time and an embarrassment.
  30. Jan 16, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really don't know what's more disturbing, the amount of good actors, and major stars, that agreed to star on this abomination of a movie, or what this movie considers funny, which is just gross, and I don't even want to describe it for your sake. Expand
  31. Feb 1, 2014
    1
    I am so suprised by how a movie with so many of my favorite actors could be so bad. I went into it knowing all the bad reviews and everyone hating it and it was still below my expectations! The only skit i liked in the entire movie was the Emma Stone and Kieran Culkin bit. The superhero one also had its moments but still not good.
  32. Aug 21, 2014
    3
    This is perhaps one of the dumbest movies I've ever seen but it is so dumb and stupid that it winds up being entertaining. There are those bad movies like After Earth where I am sitting there bored out of my mind, and then there are the ones where I am pretty engaged for the most part and this film was the latter. This is one of those films that is so bad it is entertaining. Some of the dumb sh*t in this movie is stupid and made me roll my eyes in digust but some of it made me laugh my head off. I feel bad for the celebrities in this film because some of the stuff they do is degrading and embarrasing but thankfully most of them have had better movies since this. Lastly, why was the Beezel skit in there it was dumb and pointless filler to get the film to the 1 hour and 30 minute mark. Now I am worried about. The Guardians of the Galaxy because that movie and the skit are done by the same guy. If you watch this movie you'll get some laughs but they wont' be for the right reasons. This is the worst films of 2013, at least based on what I've seen, but at least it left me laughing. Expand
  33. Jun 4, 2013
    0
    "Movie 43 is an utter terrible disgrace and lame excuse to call itself a "feature film" this film is so awful you should pay not to see it. All the acting talents are simply wasted on a film that should not have even made it to theaters in the first place." F
  34. Feb 10, 2013
    0
    I think this film succeeds in what it wants to be, which is awful. It's an ugly satire of the movie industry, and it's really not that far off. For the audience, who has been abused like this countless times, it's a hard rub. The irony isn't meant for the audience, it's meant to mock Hollywood studio execs and the crap they shovel out. The audience still gets the raw deal. Instead of watching ill-conceived crap, we are watching intentionally conceived crap. I understand the intent of this movie, but it sorta backfired by abusing it's audience and instead of sending an FU to Hollywood comes off as an FU to the viewer. Expand
  35. Jun 24, 2013
    0
    After watching this, I had no idea what I just watched. The comedy in this "movie" was on par with the comedy as seen in "Meet The Spartans", "Epic Movie", and "Date Movie". It was chalked with d*ck and butt jokes, NONE of which landed. My brain wanted to tell me to like this movie because it had big stars in it, but the writing, direction, and everything else was just God awful. This movie was COMPLETE crap. Expand
  36. Jun 4, 2013
    1
    It would be safe to assume that at least a third of segments in a compilation piece are usually good but Movie 43 defies expectations by providing one dull sequence after another with no stops and absolutely no laughs, its a shameless piece of garbage. Movie 43 isn't really about anything, its loads of little vignettes of comedy scenarios which get pushed to the absolute limits until they aren't funny at all. The film has a huge named cast and each segment has at least one huge name in it but it doesn't matter, it's just now A list actors working with dire material that there is no possible way to improve so they are just high paid actors annoying you by merely being in it. You don't care that its not their fault, you just hate watching this flaccid picture, this completely tone deaf, offensive, insulting and dull film. Movie 43 is directed by multiple people with real credits in actually good film but the direction in this film is awful, in every clip, its so badly constructed and framed that something must have gone wrong in the cinematography department. It's a film that despite its acting pedigree feels cheap, everything about it is cheap and the end result is one of disappointment and outright hatred thanks to some god awful comedy. Expand
  37. Feb 2, 2014
    4
    The movie is not as bad, as the critics are making it out to be. Its a serious a short comedy bits, and made into one movie. some of the stuff is funny!
  38. May 9, 2013
    2
    Honestly, I did not care for the movie at all. Only good skit, that was actually funny and worth watching, was the Home-School one. Aside from that, I wouldn't even bother with it.
  39. Aug 3, 2013
    0
    Movie 43 manages to wrangle up some of the biggest names in Hollywood, while also managing to be one of the worst most profoundly idiotic disgusting "movies" to come along. A disgrace to the film making industry. It isn't even stupid funny.
  40. Aug 5, 2013
    0
    A total embarrassment of filmmaking. No sane person can actually find this funny or in the slightest enjoyable. No words can describe how pitiful this is. Pathetic.
  41. Mar 8, 2014
    1
    Oh my God, so many talented cast members decided to waste their time in this sort of **** This is perhaps one of the dullest comedy film I have ever seen. To be honest, I enjoyed the trailer more than the actual movie itself.
  42. Aug 2, 2014
    1
    Now I heard that this was a vulgar movie with lots of dick jokes and such, and many people didn't like it, but I still thought "Hey, I'm no aesthete, I can laugh at stupid jokes given they're well-made and don't cross the line". Well, I wish I didn't do that.
    This "movie" is outright **** terrible, it's a piece of **** **** garbage that should not have ever been made. The level of "jokes"
    here is so **** low I barely smiled for a single time and sometimes I actually had to fast-forward this bull **** because it was unbearable to watch (say, in the Chris Pratt part).
    This "film" barely has any plot, and is just a number of small skits, ALL of which are beyond **** stupid and unfunny. I mean it, not any single **** part of this was better than the other. What eludes me is three things. First, where did they find the imbecile piece of **** directors to film these clips? (Every clip is directed by a different person). Second, who in the hell's **** was so utterly **** moronic as to produce a script for this? I mean, there had to be some script, right? Lastly, how on Earth did all the good actors agree to star in this bull **** I mean, a role in Movie 43 should be like a **** black spot for any actor. Maybe they were drugged or something.
    Right, so I'm sorry about all the profanity (it'll be censored anyway), but I was so mad about this I couldn't help but write a negative review. I'd give it a **** zero, but I believe that a 10-point rating system shouldn't have the option to rate things below 1. This **** may very well be the worst movie ever made.
    Expand
  43. Feb 24, 2013
    0
    Retarded comedy for retarded people...Good humor requires intelligence, the people who made this movie, and those who liked it have none.
  44. Aug 3, 2013
    1
    With a cast of over thirty talented actors, you'd think Movie 43 would have some ground to stand on. It doesn't. It crashes and burns, in about that order. It's also one of the worst moveis of 2013.
  45. Jun 21, 2013
    1
    If you think Hugh Jackman sporting a pair of testicles dangling from his chin is funny, I've got some great news for you. The marketing team must have had a hell of a time trying to sell "Movie 43" to the general public because it's a comedy that really isn't about anything. It's a series of skits strung together by a barely cohesive narrative. Of course, there have been many skit films before "Movie 43," but this is the first film to be backed by a major studio and to have a litany of A-list actors, actresses, and filmmakers involved.

    The film is centers on an unkempt "screenwriter" (played by Dennis Quaid), who is trying to pitch his movie to a Hollywood executive (played by Greg Kinnear). Much like the rest of the movie, their situation begins to spiral into absurdity, and in between we are treated to a series of mock ads and strange scenarios that increasingly build on their gags until they just eventually sort of end.

    "Movie 43" fares best in its first half, as the film's opening half hour boasts a number of amusing shorts including a bit of silliness featuring Naomi Watts and Liev Schreiber as parents who take the home-schooling concept to very dark places. However, the film begins to lose steam somewhere around the midway point, inundated with sketches that are completely pointless and desperately unfunny. The second half of the film is loaded with skits that are either disastrously overlong or problematic; quickly losing any appeal that might be left.

    If the sketches have any unifying style, it's that they go for shock value over genuine laughs most of the time. "Movie 43" is best suited for in the home-entertainment market, where these short story dilemmas can be hashed out between bong rips and consuming large amounts of alcohol.
    Expand
  46. Mar 17, 2013
    4
    Movie 43 had a few laughs here and there. Consequently this movie was just an overexposure of extremely disgusting skits. I expected more but what is their to expect in a movie that gives skit by skit like this.
  47. Apr 28, 2013
    2
    It is very crude, and wastes a lot of talents, I have never seen a movie with such a big cast such as Movie 43, it has some laughs, but overall it is very crude, offensive and not for kids to watch at all.
  48. Mar 1, 2013
    2
    Movie 43 is a prime example of a movie that could have been pretty good, but missed that opportunity with plenty of unfunny and just stupid sketches. 2/10- Disaster-piece
  49. Apr 3, 2013
    4
    movie 43 nos ofrece un banquete de celebridades haciendo bobadas graciosas pero lo que termina acabando con esta película es que no ay una razón justificable para verla amenos de que te hallan plantado en una cita y necesitas entretenerte
  50. Mar 3, 2013
    0
    Not the worst movie ever, see Freddy Got Fingered. However, not worth a single rating point. Absolutely horrible. If you pay to see this, even a penny, you will want your money back.
  51. Feb 10, 2013
    0
    It's supposed to be a comedy, but it will make you angry. It shouldn't be compared to SNL, it shouldn't be compared to nothing. It makes you wonder how people can put such a piece of garbage into theaters.
  52. Apr 11, 2013
    0
    A movie so banal in it's writing, you would've thought the script was written by a group of 16 year old kids who still laugh at piss, puke, fart, crap and sex jokes. A 90 minute endless barrage of "aristocrat jokes" that play off as lame as the last. I wasn't offended, so much as I was insulted. Insulted to think that the Farelly brothers continue to "push the envelope" thinking their audience is said 16 year old kid who still laughs when people fart. There is a way to do low brow, and this isn't that way. "Edgy" is not created by doing something so off the wall and offensive, it's gotta be funny. Edgy is doing something different, so unique and "thought provoking", it's funny. If this movie was trying to be Patton Oswalt, it took a terrible left turn and ended up being a mix between Carrot Top and Dane Cook; telling a 90 minute long Aristocrat joke. *0 out of 5 stars* Expand
  53. Feb 16, 2013
    2
    I had zero hopes for this movie before viewing, based on the editor’s opening email to me, “Review Movie 43 apparently one of the worst films of all time. Go on, I dare you.” A dare is a dare of course! Even with my low hopes, my first text when I left the movie was “Well mum, I think I should quit uni and go into script writing if Movie 43 can get made!”. Three people also walked out of the movie in the first 15 minutes. Movie 43 is a series of 13 short comedy skits framed around a washed up script-writer as he pitches his idea of a movie. Movie 43 is hated by nearly every film critic out there, rightly so, however if you are not easily offended, there are a few laughs. The opening scene of Davis (Hugh Jackman) and Beth (Kate Winslet) on a blind date is enough to satisfy anyone that they could be at a decent movie. When Davis removes his scarf though, to reveal testicles hanging from his chin, you do start to wonder where this movie is going! As it turns out, the movie is mostly downhill. As usual, Anna Faris and Emma Stone were very entertaining in their respective scenes, and an advertisement on how we shouldn’t abuse our day to day machines because it hurts the little children working inside them was funny, but still did not set the bar very high for an ensemble comedy. If there were not so many Hollywood stars, it is doubtful if it Movie 43 would have got general release, but the cast do give it some hope. So long as you are not easily offended, and can enjoy a movie that has no direct point or storyline, then this movie does have a few outrageously disturbing moments you have to see to believe, including discovering what the iBABE is! It does not deserve to be a box office hit though, so illegally stream it or wait until the $1 DVD rentals are out. Expand
  54. Jun 4, 2013
    0
    Why would these stars do this filth? This film is trashy, unfunny, and if it wasn't for Texas Chainsaw this would be the worst film of 2013. None of the skits are funny and this film should never be seen.
  55. Jul 30, 2013
    2
    I love most of the cast, and that's what made it even worse. Reduced their reputation to dust.

    Not worth your money. And if you plan on streaming it online, then your time is worth more than that. Its not a case of 'Its so bad its funny', you just cringe throughout.
  56. Jul 3, 2013
    1
    Its not good. This cinematic mosh pit of unfunny sketch humor that is built into a movie was a waste of money. The only reason I didn't give it a "0" rating is because there were a few parts where I did laugh, but other than that, its not good, at all. I only hope that all the stars in this movie aren't badly affected by this piece of s**t. Do better movies guys!
  57. Jun 25, 2013
    0
    Movie 43 manages to be funny, but it fails, it doesn't know what it is about, it has no sense or any story, it is a waste of talents, it is silly, outrages and disgusting, nothing is good about it, it is over the top dirtiness and silliness, won't forget that one for a long time.
  58. Jul 7, 2013
    1
    this movie is maybe the movie the most horrible i saw of my life .
    it's true there is lot of actors but the carrying is so accursed that the film quickly becomes a flop
    a movie to avoid
  59. Jul 3, 2013
    0
    Movie 43 may be the worst movie this year. It's a comedy that is not funny. Nobody in this movie stands out, it's just a bunch of sketches that don't even relate to one another. That is lazy, if you want to watch comedy sketches, go to YouTube. There was absolutely nothing good in this film. Don't watch it.
  60. Feb 17, 2014
    0
    Unfunny garbage made by overrated overpaid hacks, for mouthbreating idiots with a sophomoric and pedestrian sense of humor. Nonstop dick/poop jokes for the masses. Offensive simply for the sake of offensive and appealing only to people who constantly congratulate themselves on not being PC. Unfortunately none of it is actually funny.
    A literal copy-paste of Kentucky Fried Movie, claiming
    to be original, and failing to be either.

    The only reason this movie even touched a screen, is due entirely to the bewildering star power of the cast.
    Expand
  61. Aug 11, 2013
    4
    I mean its just plain bad, but I got a few laughs out of its over the top ridiculous scenarios. I can't say much good about it though, its so bad...so bad...
  62. Aug 5, 2013
    0
    The worst movie ever I have ever seen. All stories were totally awkward. i watched the movie because of Hugh Jackman and Kate Winslet but that part was terrible
  63. Nov 2, 2013
    4
    I was laughing the whole time. It was good to see well known actors letting them selves show there funny side. most of them would never star in a comedy. good movie for laughs not for serious viewing. If your seriously reviewing this move of award winning roles then your nuts
  64. chw
    Aug 22, 2014
    4
    Not comedic at all. I didn't laugh at all. I didn't chuckle at all. All I did was watch in stupidity for picking Movie 43 as the movie for me to watch.
  65. Mar 27, 2014
    0
    i don't know how to write 150 character for this movie . the movie is really a waste of natural resources and time . actually this movie is "One of the worst movies I've ever seen" or even created
  66. Apr 24, 2014
    3
    The very high quality cast makes this movie watchable. It is atrocious and full of cheap jokes that are beyond common sense of humor. It has it's funny moments and the 20min long credits show how **** up this actually was. I don't know what the producers thought when they wrote the script, I mean Hugh Jackman with a scrotum neck, really?
    Do I recommend watching this movie? No, unless
    you're high as a kite or as drunk as Charlie Sheen.

    Source: I'm totally **** up.
    Expand
  67. May 4, 2014
    0
    A couple of unfunny directors who have made a lot of awful comedy films come together to make one super-unfunny comedy film. That pretty much covers it.
  68. May 16, 2014
    0
    AWFUL FILM!!!!!! the performances in this movie were totally awful!!! WORST FILM OF 2013!!!! KEEP UR MONEY FOR A BETTER FILM THAN THIS ****

    VERY DISAPPOINTING!!!!! :(
  69. Jul 13, 2014
    2
    This movie wont make you laugh. It will make you cry.There's maybe 5 minutes worth of good stuff in the whole thing. I may never understand why there were so many big name stars in it.
  70. Jul 16, 2014
    2
    Pure rubbish which somehow managed to attract some of the world's biggest actors. It is just a series of unfunny segments; one after another of illogical sense of humour.
  71. Aug 23, 2014
    0
    What the **** **** is this? Oh my God, this is certainly the worst movie I've ever seen. This movie looks like a joke, but that dull unsightly boring joke that drunk idiots tell on bars. This movie is so **** that I think I am traumatized.
Metascore
18

Overwhelming dislike - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 23
  2. Negative: 18 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    Dec 24, 2013
    20
    After watching Peter Farrelly’s Movie 43, I was immediately overcome with a sudden rush of emotion: not amusement, anger or even mild irritation, but a profound and faintly tragic sense of pity.
  2. Reviewed by: Laremy Legel
    Feb 26, 2013
    0
    An epically miserable viewing experience, go ahead and skip this one unless you’re seeking to answer the riddle of what happens when people don’t try at their jobs.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Feb 3, 2013
    40
    Movie 43 is sketchy, in every sense. It's a collection of short comedy films in the manner of the 70s cult classic "Kentucky Fried Movie," each with a separate director, in which many very famous actors have been persuaded to take part.