Metascore
18

Overwhelming dislike - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 289 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 23
  2. Negative: 18 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Jan 26, 2013
    88
    Movie 43 is a near masterpiece of tastelessness. The anthology of 12 short, interconnected skits elevates the art form of gross-out comedy to a new height.
  2. Reviewed by: Gabe Toro
    Jan 25, 2013
    50
    An oddity recommended for only the most fervent, undemanding comedy junkies.
  3. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Jan 26, 2013
    40
    It's the kind of thing you feel you should laugh at through a phlegmy, hacking cough-and it does get laughs, if inconsistently, predictable given the circumstances of production.
  4. Reviewed by: Josh Winning
    Jan 25, 2013
    20
    Quite why A-listers Kate Winslet, Hugh Jackman and Emma Stone (among others) aligned themselves with this excruciatingly moronic compilation of shorts is anybody's guess.
  5. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Jan 25, 2013
    20
    As sick-making sketch comedies go, this stupefyingly bad one-somehow rife with A-list talent-must rank near the very bottom.
  6. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Jan 25, 2013
    0
    Despite the dizzying array of talent involved both in front of and behind the camera, this godawful exercise is so painfully unfunny, so screamingly bad that it immediately qualifies as one of the worst films of all time.
  7. Reviewed by: Laremy Legel
    Feb 26, 2013
    0
    An epically miserable viewing experience, go ahead and skip this one unless you’re seeking to answer the riddle of what happens when people don’t try at their jobs.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 98
  2. Negative: 62 out of 98
  1. Feb 16, 2013
    10
    Movie 43... what can I say? I have NO IDEA why this is getting such bad reviews. Obviously the reviewers didn't see who stars in it. Em, Wolverine?? He's in the Oscars for next week. Kate Winslet. She's in loads of good movies. Uma Thurman anyone?? She Killed Bill. TWICE!! Anyway, not only are all these amazing stars in it, they also have a good laugh at themselves. I don't see any reviewers doing that. It might be about poos, wees and spunk but who doesn't love that?? The mind boggles. See this amazing movie. See it twice. No, see it 43 times!! I can't wait to see it. Collapse
  2. Jan 28, 2013
    8
    I give this an 8 not because this movie is one of the best movies of the year, but because this movie is something you would have never seen in your life unless you watch it. Yes, it slaps you in the face, as offensive as it is. It challenges your thoughts and opinions on different aspects of society. Of course it's mostly far fetched and exaggerated, but it is what it is. To most people it's just going to waste their time, but for those of you looking for something way beyond "normal", watch Movie 43, it will demonstrate the limitless capacity of human ideas. Expand
  3. Jun 26, 2013
    6
    Oh, yes, this is a horrible spectacle and movie. Tasteless to the max and random.

    BUT I actually enjoyed it The fact many actors that
    didn't seem desperate for a cast made me think that they saw something interesting in it, and wanted to go all out and nuts !

    I did laugh a lot, I was schocked, but never did I want to leave the place like others did !

    It's a case of "This movie is sooooo bad, I loved it
    Expand
  4. Jul 30, 2013
    2
    I love most of the cast, and that's what made it even worse. Reduced their reputation to dust.

    Not worth your money. And if you plan on
    streaming it online, then your time is worth more than that. Its not a case of 'Its so bad its funny', you just cringe throughout. Expand
  5. Jul 7, 2013
    1
    this movie is maybe the movie the most horrible i saw of my life .
    it's true there is lot of actors but the carrying is so accursed that the
    film quickly becomes a flop
    a movie to avoid
    Expand
  6. Feb 10, 2013
    0
    It's supposed to be a comedy, but it will make you angry. It shouldn't be compared to SNL, it shouldn't be compared to nothing. It makes you wonder how people can put such a piece of garbage into theaters. Expand
  7. Jan 27, 2013
    0
    Yet again - America, that great land of comedy (not), tries to be funny but in the end only lands up being spectacularly stupid - as usual. Scrotums growing out of peoples neck? If that is the level that passes off as high comedy these days then perhaps Hollywood should close its doors to comedies all together since they don't have the wit of the French nor the dryness of the Brits and pushing this kind of crap out into international territories only end's up reinforcing the sterotype that the Americans are only good for guns and morons. Expand

See all 98 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.