Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 110 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Oct 31, 2013
    100
    Van Dormael has crafted a saga that, even at two-plus hours, is endlessly, enormously watchable.
  2. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Oct 31, 2013
    83
    van Dormael’s vivid visual sense and genuine curiosity about the nature of love and life, time and death, make it well worth surrendering to his imagination for a while.
  3. Reviewed by: Deborah Young
    Nov 1, 2013
    80
    Van Dormael's intriguing script is more than matched in his flamboyant direction of this 2-hour-plus tale, heroically edited by Matyas Veress and Susan Shipton into a fluid, generally understandable narrative.
  4. Reviewed by: Boyd van Hoeij
    Sep 13, 2013
    60
    Though a lot of it is well written and directed and, quite often, funny or poignant, the individual scenes rarely become part of a larger whole.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike D'Angelo
    Oct 1, 2013
    60
    In the end, Mr. Nobody’s title is simply too apt.
  6. 50
    An ambitious, if uneven, experimental sci-fi romance that is less a thought-provoker than a dazzling juggling act.
  7. Reviewed by: Kevin Jagernauth
    Sep 13, 2013
    25
    Mr. Nobody is simply a failure.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    A beautiful history combined with a marvelous cinematography and a really interesting point of view: The circumstances of life, parallelA beautiful history combined with a marvelous cinematography and a really interesting point of view: The circumstances of life, parallel universes... The difference that different choices make in our lives. Worth watching. Expand
  2. Jun 14, 2014
    10
    This movie is not for every mood, but this is the best movie I have ever seen that fits a relaxed, but perceptive philosophical state in whichThis movie is not for every mood, but this is the best movie I have ever seen that fits a relaxed, but perceptive philosophical state in which one can focus more on things like love and interconnection in general rather than action (quick moving plots, suspense, violence and ostentatious sex).

    Now I like your action movies as much as the next guy and love things like the Riddick movies and "adult" fare when my mind and mood matches those things. Nobody would not be a good pick, unless you have introverted friends or something, for watching socially- you need to watch it closely not be chatting, to catch how it all fits together, the little visual details, the slight changes from scene to scene etc. You also won't enjoy Nobody if you're using some sort of "action" oriented mood modifier like alcohol or cocaine. I first watched this on psychedelics and it fits that state of mind *perfectly*, however!

    No movie is perfect for every state of mind, natural or extranaturall, so Nobody gets a 10/10 from me due to the fact that, for me, it is perfect for a state of mind. Other movies might be enjoyable, or even excellent for their respective moods, but it's very rare that I find something that at any point I can think it "perfect". I was thinking about it for weeks and had some related dreams! Just watched it sober and it still stands up.

    You'll be most likely to agree with my opinion if you're someone that really likes to think about life and the big questions who likes to look at things from many angles. Nobody is a great meditation on meaning, love, and our collective existential ignorance. This is the first time I've taken the time to write a review of a movie anywhere on the net, so that says something as I've watched a lot of movies in a lot of different states of mind. Had to "correct" the critics with, to be nice, very "different" taste.
    Expand
  3. Apr 6, 2014
    10
    Must see movie. One of the most interesting and stimulating movies I have seen in a very long time. Jared Leto is amazing. I was thinkingMust see movie. One of the most interesting and stimulating movies I have seen in a very long time. Jared Leto is amazing. I was thinking about the movie a week later. Extremely thought provoking. Expand
  4. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    Mr Nobody is, for the record, my favourite film. Its a spiritual and philosophical journey of Nemo Nobody, a man who narrates his story to aMr Nobody is, for the record, my favourite film. Its a spiritual and philosophical journey of Nemo Nobody, a man who narrates his story to a journalist in the 22nd century as he approaches the final stage of life. His story concerns multiple lives based on the choices he makes throughout his life. It's an interesting concept, and it works extremely well; its beautifully filmed, has impressive performances (particularly from Jared Leto, who plays Nemo aged 35 and 118) and a delicate score by the director's late brother, the story whilst complex is both fascinating and thought-provoking. This is film-making at its finest. MASTERPIECE. Expand
  5. Aug 15, 2014
    9
    Despite the time lapse photography this was a success. Mr. Nobody creates a depth of curiosity in this genuine sci-fi drama that expressesDespite the time lapse photography this was a success. Mr. Nobody creates a depth of curiosity in this genuine sci-fi drama that expresses life and love in multiple aspects. Expand
  6. Mar 7, 2014
    9
    Very good movie with interesting (if somewhat baffling at some points) plot. Really great directing, photography and acting (pretty good SFXVery good movie with interesting (if somewhat baffling at some points) plot. Really great directing, photography and acting (pretty good SFX too). Highly recommended !! Expand
  7. Jul 27, 2014
    2
    some very good cinematography paired with lazy writing with very little coherence, wrapping itself with arthouse editing and psuedo sciencesome very good cinematography paired with lazy writing with very little coherence, wrapping itself with arthouse editing and psuedo science philosophy; an extremely pretentious film. its a shame that that such good visuals are paired with bad writing.

    Casting Leto a poor choice with such disjointed plots. He doesn’t have the charisma to pull you through this kind of story. If we compare this to films in a similar vein, The Fountain, Run Lola Run, or butterfly effect; its apparent how inferior it is. As Leto progresses the movie, his stoicis and aloofness just turns you off to giving a **** about what’s happening to him. Have you seen a less convincing father? Compared to the frenetic, emotional performance of Lola, her desperation sucks you through the movie. Its important to for the protagonist to draw the audience in to maintain tension and drama.

    While this movie tries to pass itself off as something it’s not; interjecting itself with bill nye presentations throughout; it ironically is less logical and thought provoking than the “B” movie butterfly effect. Just one expample is the characters name Nemo Nobody, which the movie continuously hits your over the head with. They could’ve explained one time that Nemo means nobody. There’s reason why in 20,000 leagues, the name Nemo is used instead of “Nobody”. Nobody as a name is hokey and totally unconvincing.
    Expand

See all 23 User Reviews

Trailers