Mr. Nobody

Mr. Nobody Image
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 186 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Oct 31, 2013
    100
    Van Dormael has crafted a saga that, even at two-plus hours, is endlessly, enormously watchable.
  2. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Oct 31, 2013
    83
    van Dormael’s vivid visual sense and genuine curiosity about the nature of love and life, time and death, make it well worth surrendering to his imagination for a while.
  3. Reviewed by: Deborah Young
    Nov 1, 2013
    80
    Van Dormael's intriguing script is more than matched in his flamboyant direction of this 2-hour-plus tale, heroically edited by Matyas Veress and Susan Shipton into a fluid, generally understandable narrative.
  4. Reviewed by: Boyd van Hoeij
    Sep 13, 2013
    60
    Though a lot of it is well written and directed and, quite often, funny or poignant, the individual scenes rarely become part of a larger whole.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike D'Angelo
    Oct 1, 2013
    60
    In the end, Mr. Nobody’s title is simply too apt.
  6. 50
    An ambitious, if uneven, experimental sci-fi romance that is less a thought-provoker than a dazzling juggling act.
  7. Reviewed by: Kevin Jagernauth
    Sep 13, 2013
    25
    Mr. Nobody is simply a failure.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31
  1. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    A beautiful history combined with a marvelous cinematography and a really interesting point of view: The circumstances of life, parallelA beautiful history combined with a marvelous cinematography and a really interesting point of view: The circumstances of life, parallel universes... The difference that different choices make in our lives. Worth watching. Expand
  2. Jul 17, 2016
    10
    This is the best film i have ever seen since Brazil, from the beginning it projected me in its unknown, fascinating universe with a neverThis is the best film i have ever seen since Brazil, from the beginning it projected me in its unknown, fascinating universe with a never ending high pitched chills train. If you think is important ask yourself "Why am i here?" or you think everything is connected, you definitely need to see this.10/10 Expand
  3. Apr 6, 2014
    10
    Must see movie. One of the most interesting and stimulating movies I have seen in a very long time. Jared Leto is amazing. I was thinkingMust see movie. One of the most interesting and stimulating movies I have seen in a very long time. Jared Leto is amazing. I was thinking about the movie a week later. Extremely thought provoking. Expand
  4. Jun 14, 2014
    10
    This movie is not for every mood, but this is the best movie I have ever seen that fits a relaxed, but perceptive philosophical state in whichThis movie is not for every mood, but this is the best movie I have ever seen that fits a relaxed, but perceptive philosophical state in which one can focus more on things like love and interconnection in general rather than action (quick moving plots, suspense, violence and ostentatious sex).

    Now I like your action movies as much as the next guy and love things like the Riddick movies and "adult" fare when my mind and mood matches those things. Nobody would not be a good pick, unless you have introverted friends or something, for watching socially- you need to watch it closely not be chatting, to catch how it all fits together, the little visual details, the slight changes from scene to scene etc. You also won't enjoy Nobody if you're using some sort of "action" oriented mood modifier like alcohol or cocaine. I first watched this on psychedelics and it fits that state of mind *perfectly*, however!

    No movie is perfect for every state of mind, natural or extranaturall, so Nobody gets a 10/10 from me due to the fact that, for me, it is perfect for a state of mind. Other movies might be enjoyable, or even excellent for their respective moods, but it's very rare that I find something that at any point I can think it "perfect". I was thinking about it for weeks and had some related dreams! Just watched it sober and it still stands up.

    You'll be most likely to agree with my opinion if you're someone that really likes to think about life and the big questions who likes to look at things from many angles. Nobody is a great meditation on meaning, love, and our collective existential ignorance. This is the first time I've taken the time to write a review of a movie anywhere on the net, so that says something as I've watched a lot of movies in a lot of different states of mind. Had to "correct" the critics with, to be nice, very "different" taste.
    Expand
  5. Apr 15, 2014
    9
    This one is absolutely crazy. Throughout, I could feel my brain exploding as I tried to grasp what was going on. However, once I had an ideaThis one is absolutely crazy. Throughout, I could feel my brain exploding as I tried to grasp what was going on. However, once I had an idea (and that idea was later confirmed), everything made a little more sense, but even then, the ending is still completely open to interepretation. In many ways, that is what makes this film so successful. It is confusing as all get out, then it shows a little "hint" and then as that sinks in, you realize that that may not be the answer we were looking for. Ultimately, it is a film of decisions and how those decisions will change the course that our lives take. From a technical standpoint, the cinematography is great and Jaco Van Dormael is able to really create some interesting things with this film without question and really helps you to feel sympathy and happiness and then symapthy and then happiness over-and-over throughout the film.. On top of that, Jared Leto is great as always in the lead role.

    In terms of negatives, the confusion is one of them. I love the confusion, but at times, it goes too far and you are left sitting there thinking "really?". On top of that, there are a few inconsistencies I noticed that disrupted the film slightly for me or left me more confused about the inclusion of a specific scene if it was not going to have an impact on other things. Other than that, I really enjoyed this film and it certainly makes you use your head.
    Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers. Best movie i have seen in a while, i don't understand how some critics can give it 25 score and score twilight higher, that just show how incompetent some critics are. This movie was brilliant, it makes you wonder about life and what we could have done with different choices in our life, it really made me cry at one point. I guess you have to be in some state of mind to really appreciate this movie, for me it was beautiful. Collapse
  7. Sep 22, 2015
    1
    My God what an awful confusing mess this movie is. The positive reviewers had to be on very strong drugs to like this thing. Two hours andMy God what an awful confusing mess this movie is. The positive reviewers had to be on very strong drugs to like this thing. Two hours and eighteen minutes I can not get back, avoid at all costs! Expand

See all 31 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: August 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  2. Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 19, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Denis Villeneuve's buzzy sci-fi film Arrival, plus Terrence Malick’s Voyage of Time, Andrea Arnold's American Honey, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 17, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Kubo and the Two Strings, Ben-Hur, War Dogs, Morris From America, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking

    Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking Image
    Published: August 16, 2016
    We rank 22 leading action movie stars by their average Metascores.