Universal Pictures | Release Date: October 12, 2001
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 463 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
316
Mixed:
27
Negative:
120
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
MovieGuysJul 2, 2014
So far in my life, I've reviewed almost every movie that I've seen. however, I cannot possibly review "Mulholland Drive" for the simple fact that it is not a movie. It is a collection of incoherent, unrelated scenes that director David LynchSo far in my life, I've reviewed almost every movie that I've seen. however, I cannot possibly review "Mulholland Drive" for the simple fact that it is not a movie. It is a collection of incoherent, unrelated scenes that director David Lynch (I'm not sure if that's the right word for him) has sloppily pasted together like a 3rd grade science project into this muddled, 2 1/2 hour mess. That's all I have to say. I can't recommend it or not recommend it, simply because it just isn't really what it says it is. Anyone who can come up with an explanation for what I just witnessed must have a great imagination. Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
3
BradySmithSep 21, 2014
I hated this movie. Now before everyone sends me off to the gallows I'd like to make a few things clear. I'm a very introspective filmgoer. My favorite movie's Inception. I also liked 12 Monkeys and with some effort was able to adequatelyI hated this movie. Now before everyone sends me off to the gallows I'd like to make a few things clear. I'm a very introspective filmgoer. My favorite movie's Inception. I also liked 12 Monkeys and with some effort was able to adequately follow it. Oh, I almost forgot how much I like The Usual Suspects. My point is I like densely plotted movies. I like thick atmosphere, and I enjoy cerebral concepts. Muholland Dr. though is in my opinion just pointless crap. The acting is for some reason purposefully unconvincing. I don't care if Lynch was making a statement about the insincerity of Hollywood, it just doesn't work. It also makes no sense. I'll admit that I fast forwarded a little once I got about an hour or so in, but I just couldn't take it. I couldn't grasp what was going on about 90% of the time. It tries so hard to be confusing and surreal that it becomes almost gag inducing. If it's all supposed to be a dream with no logic or rules to follow than at least make it interesting! This is in my opinion extremely pretentious trash. Sometimes it's moody and it's well shot, but it's not worth it. Will I ever see it again and change my opinions? I don't know, but rest assured that it won't be any time soon. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
0
dierregiNov 9, 2014
When I first watched the movie in 2001 I was still hoping Lynch had actually something to say, despite the disappointment with Wild at heart. I was surprised by the high rating and good reviews this movie got, but finally when I watched theWhen I first watched the movie in 2001 I was still hoping Lynch had actually something to say, despite the disappointment with Wild at heart. I was surprised by the high rating and good reviews this movie got, but finally when I watched the movie again tonight on TV I got the point: hot, young, naked actresses and plenty of lesbian sex. Watts and Harring starring as the mysterious Rita and Betty go all the way, titillating the viewers with their antics.

It is pointless to summarize the plot, since the movie switches into a different one two thirds into the story. Anybody can interpret the complete lack of logic in whichever way they want and then "accuse" whoever does not "get" it of being dumb. The point is, there is nothing to "get", apart from Lynch frustration, unleashed on paying audience, a plot that does not make any sense and a couple of good actresses, only one of them actually making a career out of this crappy movie.
Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
0
AndrewCNov 27, 2006
I'm sorry, but this is possibly the largest piece of celluloid turd I've ever seen. I loved Blue Velvet, Twin Peaks, Eraserhead, Wild at Heart, Dune, The Straight Story, but I thought this was so disjointed and screwed-up for the I'm sorry, but this is possibly the largest piece of celluloid turd I've ever seen. I loved Blue Velvet, Twin Peaks, Eraserhead, Wild at Heart, Dune, The Straight Story, but I thought this was so disjointed and screwed-up for the sake of it. Don't bother wasting 2 hours. Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful
1
TedK.Jun 20, 2008
Nonsensical, boring garbage. A lot of the critics and users are suffering from emperor's new clothes syndrome and will belittle those of us who know BS when we see it. Zero out of ten if it weren't for the titillating lesbian scenes.
2 of 8 users found this helpful
0
NVFeb 19, 2008
This is the worst movie I've ever seen bar none. There is no plot; the film jumps all over, making absolutely no sense whatsoever. It's like watching what might go on inside your head while you're on an acid trip. Mulholland This is the worst movie I've ever seen bar none. There is no plot; the film jumps all over, making absolutely no sense whatsoever. It's like watching what might go on inside your head while you're on an acid trip. Mulholland Drive, you owe me 2.5 hours of my life back! Expand
2 of 10 users found this helpful
0
YerczeysOct 8, 2016
I watched this movie on a recommendation from a friend and I have almost never been so dissatisfied. I didn't know who David Lynch was prior to this experience but after this blunder alone I'll be avoiding his work like it's selling me onI watched this movie on a recommendation from a friend and I have almost never been so dissatisfied. I didn't know who David Lynch was prior to this experience but after this blunder alone I'll be avoiding his work like it's selling me on Scientology. The closest I can come to describing this movie is a cinematic Jackson Pollock painting. Perhaps I'm just simple (It's possible) but at no point did this show have anything that felt like a coherent story to me. I've never had to watch any movie more than once to "get it" and at the end of this viewing I felt both baffled and irritable. I walked away from it with the sensation that what I was told was a masterpiece was nothing more than a pretentious mess. There may be a real story hidden in there but if your audience has to venture online to figure out what's going on then you've failed as a director. Well, failed in the eyes of a layman such as myself. If you liked the movie, I'm happy you enjoyed it, but personally I thought it was crap. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
1
supa_man94Apr 15, 2013
This movie is just a load of complete nonsense. There are 3 or 4 plots intertwined which seem to have absolutely no relation with each other until the very underwhelming "twist" at the end, which ultimately left me with a a frustrated feelingThis movie is just a load of complete nonsense. There are 3 or 4 plots intertwined which seem to have absolutely no relation with each other until the very underwhelming "twist" at the end, which ultimately left me with a a frustrated feeling because I felt that none of my questions were really truly answered. Another thing that left me frustrated was the fact that the movie barely gave the audience enough to deduce what was going on, it was as if the writers wanted us to just guess what happened in more than half the movie. On the good side, at least the acting was decent.

At the end of the day, you just feel like you wasted 2 hours of your life watching a movie that just tries too hard and over-complicates everything. Thanks David Lynch, but no thanks, I'll stick with "Memento".
Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
1
NiaN.Nov 18, 2008
This movie really pumps up my adrenalin sometimes.. but it get more complicated to understand what the story about...I have watched for 2 hours and more but I don't get until the end.. waste my time download it.
1 of 7 users found this helpful
1
nickMay 9, 2009
Complete waste of time! One of the most confusing 2+ hours of my life, i hated almost every minute of it, except the love scene with naomi watts.
1 of 7 users found this helpful
2
MartinKDec 8, 2005
I watched this movie three times, in hopes to understand it. The third time i was convinced that there there is indeed no meaning, and that simply put: jack lynch is insane. First we get bombarded with the "im so indie" scene changes, then I watched this movie three times, in hopes to understand it. The third time i was convinced that there there is indeed no meaning, and that simply put: jack lynch is insane. First we get bombarded with the "im so indie" scene changes, then some dudes are at denny's and this dude with eyebrows fatter than eugene levy is talking about his cracked out dream and then you realize, "holy shit, thats the cheese's assistant from Old School", so these guys touch each other for a while and then snufalufagus comes out from nowhere and dude has a heart attack, and then what looks liek johnny knoxville with a massive forehead goes insane and plays with paint, then the cowboy comes out of left field and starts jerking off prophetic metaphors into mr. knoxvilles face, and then an amnesiatic lesbian starts fiddling the canadian lesbian (which is the only reason this film recieves a 2 and not a 0....not because they were amnesiatic and canadian, but because they are lesbians). This movie is the reason fat computer nerds clog up the donut and coffee shops 24 hours a day. Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful
2
michaelj32Mar 31, 2012
I do not understand this movie. Why did that one woman start speaking spanish? Why were not the plot points wrapped up? The worst movie in the world? It does not make any sense.
It has got interesting scenes , that are kind of like art, and
I do not understand this movie. Why did that one woman start speaking spanish? Why were not the plot points wrapped up? The worst movie in the world? It does not make any sense.
It has got interesting scenes , that are kind of like art, and some weird characters and stuff, but it is like someone randomly edited 3 movies into one movie, and there is no connection to the various parts. Does not seem like an actual feature film at all, more like some film student mistake rolled into one big ball, with a few good scenes thrown in.
Expand
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
3
seancriswellOct 11, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So many issues with this movie. First off the fact that the critics love this blows my mind if for no other reason than there is not a soul in this film that can act. This is the by far the worst acting I have ever seen in a critically acclaimed movie by a big time director. Second if anyone understood this movie upon first viewing I would be shocked. I love a movie that is ambiguous and twists and turns but never before in a viewing experience have I had to look up what a movie means without having an idea in my head of what I thought was going on. After I read some synopsis of the movie and discovered that more than likely most of the movie was a dream: 1. This never occurred to me once during my viewing. 2. It did not surprise me. 3. I did not care one bit. The only reason I give this movie more than a zero rating is because it did engage me enough that I was intrigued to see if the plot was leading somewhere. I guess it did, but certainly nowhere I cared to go. A must miss. Expand
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews