Universal Pictures | Release Date: December 23, 2005
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 456 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
365
Mixed:
53
Negative:
38
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
TrailesqueNov 29, 2016
A very powerful film. It starts out like a pro-Israel spy/terrorist thriller but by the end becomes a LeCarre-like examination of the ambiguities and struggles of covert warfare.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleJun 26, 2016
A surprisingly compassionate look at the Israeli-Palestinian conflict in the aftermath of the Munich massacre, Munich is an expertly crafted historical drama-thriller from Steven Spielberg. The film really provides moments of sheer thrills atA surprisingly compassionate look at the Israeli-Palestinian conflict in the aftermath of the Munich massacre, Munich is an expertly crafted historical drama-thriller from Steven Spielberg. The film really provides moments of sheer thrills at times and is always endlessly watchable. However, similar to his later historical works, Munich suffers from being overlong, emotionally distant, and from occasionally poor pacing. Munich, in spite of its sheer entertainment value at times, can slow down to a drag and be a tough watch. When it is humming, it is a brilliant work, but when it slows down, it is merely a dull look at the situation. Fortunately, these moments are infrequent, but noticeable enough over the course of the nearly three hour film to detract from the overall product. That said, the film is well crafted with good acting from Eric Bana and, obviously, Spielberg knows what he is doing in the director's chair. Overall, Munich could be better, but as it stands, it is a good film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AkshayJoshiJun 14, 2016
Great Film, I like Spielberg for variety of subjects in his films, this one is his on of the best, nicely composed and edited film. In some scenes you think you watching A Quentin's film, action sequences are done nicely. Screenplay is mostGreat Film, I like Spielberg for variety of subjects in his films, this one is his on of the best, nicely composed and edited film. In some scenes you think you watching A Quentin's film, action sequences are done nicely. Screenplay is most powerful part of this film! 8/10 to this film from me, a must watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
th4nat4t002May 29, 2016
The assassinations in this movie actually happened and arent fictional. I have to write this, because several ratings on this side call it an left wing atrocity to equate israel agents with palestinan terrorists. As if the stupidity ofThe assassinations in this movie actually happened and arent fictional. I have to write this, because several ratings on this side call it an left wing atrocity to equate israel agents with palestinan terrorists. As if the stupidity of american culture is not proved enough by just produce this movie, no there also must be people who describe happened murders as pure fiction.
These murderings are real. What keeps me baffled is the heroism, which the movie uses to describe the israel assassins. i see no difference between terrorists and terrorists who kill terrorists or whole countries for financial goals.
This thriller is entertaining on the surface but the message beneath the movie "eye for an eye and blood for blood" frightens me. Maybe its the biggest difference between european and american grasp of justice. and maybe the european insight is so much differed, because its not like america rabbled up to total stupidity.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
beingryanjudeSep 3, 2014
The events surrounding the 1972 Olympics in Munich, Germany are terrifying real-life acts of terrorism--prime for a cinematic take. Unfortunately, Spielberg loses focus somewhere along the way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
PvtJacksonJun 20, 2014
Far more than just a "decent" movie, Steven Spielberg's examination of Israel's plot to avenge the death of 11 of their athletes caused by Palestinian terrorists in "Munich" is a truly fantastic thriller stuffed with relentless plans andFar more than just a "decent" movie, Steven Spielberg's examination of Israel's plot to avenge the death of 11 of their athletes caused by Palestinian terrorists in "Munich" is a truly fantastic thriller stuffed with relentless plans and explosions that would surely leave you breathless after full-time watch while, at the same time, successfully managing to leave space for humanity as the undercover agents begin to question the righteousness of what they are doing. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
TokyochuchuSep 28, 2013
Munich is an arresting drama thriller about terrorism and the people who do it. The performances on offer here are excellent and the action suitably macabre. The film is a little too long but overall, Munich is excellent stuff.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
drlowdonJun 7, 2013
Following the murder of eleven Israeli athletes during the Munich Olympics of 1972 a small task force is assigned by Israel's secret service to locate and eliminate all those responsible.

Being inspired by real events Munich was always
Following the murder of eleven Israeli athletes during the Munich Olympics of 1972 a small task force is assigned by Israel's secret service to locate and eliminate all those responsible.

Being inspired by real events Munich was always going to be a controversial movie but, while it contains tense scenes throughout, it thankfully avoids choosing sides or sensationalizing events. This is more than just a simple case of good guys vs. bad guys and everyones actions can be called into question at some point.

Every member of the cast really excels at depicting the conflicting emotions and pressures that these sorts of events inflict upon people ensuring that the characters come across as wholly believable meaning that, despite some pacing problems Munich makes for a fairly intriguing watch throughout.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
imthenoobJan 2, 2013
It's a solid movie. Good acting, Action is fine, and it is a bit suspensful at times. However, It never really breaks into that next level of greatest. It's a good movie but not that good.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
thorshammerMay 10, 2012
"Inspired by true events..." No kidding. Even if you know nothing about the historical facts in the movie, the slant is painfully obvious. The "good guys" are jovial, articulate and thoughtful - everyone "on the other side" talks heatedly"Inspired by true events..." No kidding. Even if you know nothing about the historical facts in the movie, the slant is painfully obvious. The "good guys" are jovial, articulate and thoughtful - everyone "on the other side" talks heatedly and is armed. The tragedy of Munich and the subsequent events, did not need Steven Spielberg to turn it into this painfully biased tripe. If you didn't feel him "playing" you while watching (sappy clues throughout the movie), well that's where he earned the 1 that I give this movie. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
spadenxJan 9, 2012
Far too long imo. Really dragged on the film as long as they could and it would have been a little bit better if it were shorter. The acting was ok at first but it gets better when you get further into it. The action is good as well. idkFar too long imo. Really dragged on the film as long as they could and it would have been a little bit better if it were shorter. The acting was ok at first but it gets better when you get further into it. The action is good as well. idk though, The film just didnt sit well with me for some reason. It was a decent film that never really clicked with me. However the ending was excellent. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
UncleChuDec 10, 2010
A decent watch, tracking the descent into madness an undercover agent goes through as he works for the benefit of his state. Bana's performance is excellent, as is the rest of the cast. It certainly went on for too long, which is strangeA decent watch, tracking the descent into madness an undercover agent goes through as he works for the benefit of his state. Bana's performance is excellent, as is the rest of the cast. It certainly went on for too long, which is strange considering there are explosions and murder. Compare it to the Insider which goes on just as long but remains very gripping solely through character interactions. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
ColmBJun 14, 2009
Too long, shot in constant darkness and not something I'd recommend.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
SatsS.Mar 27, 2008
I really liked the movie, now i have a projects to do on the film techniques used in this movie, can anybody help me out?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
T.M.Mar 16, 2007
I recall that this film was nominated for best picture in the 2006 Oscar season. It was only nominated only because Spielberg can do no wrong in Hollywood, because this film is NOT best picture material at all. Repetitive, manipulative, I recall that this film was nominated for best picture in the 2006 Oscar season. It was only nominated only because Spielberg can do no wrong in Hollywood, because this film is NOT best picture material at all. Repetitive, manipulative, overlong, hard to follow, muddled, unpleasant, sickening, and just not good at all. BTW, Lance (the person who loved the death scene of the female assassin), you are a real sicko. That was probably the most tasteless scene in a movie full of tasteless scenes. Did you revel in the image of her descrated body after the older guy pulled off the cover Eric Bana's character had draped over her? You have truly become desensitized by movies like this, if that's the case. Spielberg has lost it with this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanP.Mar 7, 2007
I'm very surprised this film didn't even make it to the 80s, especially with all the 100s it got from critics. But just consider this: it's very rare for Beraldinelli, Ebert, EW, and Empire to ALL give the same film a perfect I'm very surprised this film didn't even make it to the 80s, especially with all the 100s it got from critics. But just consider this: it's very rare for Beraldinelli, Ebert, EW, and Empire to ALL give the same film a perfect score (it's hard for Beraldinelli and Empire to give a 100, period). Just this fact alone managed to make me ignore the rest of the critics who brought the film down to 74, and I watched it in the theaters anyway (something i usually only reserve for 75+ films). And yes, I agreed with all those 100s. It's one of Spielberg's best films, and that's saying a lot. You just need to be patient with it, not like, say, Jurassic Park. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrabaraM.Jan 17, 2007
Thought provoking. Attempts to show that there is more than one side to the Palestinian-Israeli conflict. For every Israeli explanation for the current violence there is an equally convincing Palestiniian explanation. What's fascinating Thought provoking. Attempts to show that there is more than one side to the Palestinian-Israeli conflict. For every Israeli explanation for the current violence there is an equally convincing Palestiniian explanation. What's fascinating is that the explanations are the same. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
LanceSep 4, 2006
This is not a film about Munich, its a film about Sept 11 and how should a civalised society response to terrorist attacks. Unforunently it spends too much time on school boy moralising over the rights or wrongs of assinations and yet misses This is not a film about Munich, its a film about Sept 11 and how should a civalised society response to terrorist attacks. Unforunently it spends too much time on school boy moralising over the rights or wrongs of assinations and yet misses a key moral point of the whole Munich story. The Isreali assasins killed an innocent man after mistaking him for a terrorist. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaoloA.Aug 4, 2006
This is like broke back mountain a really really good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JSJul 24, 2006
Some of the reviews here are rather ridiculous. I guess many were expecting a Schwartznegger or Stallone style action flick. This is a TRUE STORY; thats why its not always action-packed, and the ending might not have the standard closure Some of the reviews here are rather ridiculous. I guess many were expecting a Schwartznegger or Stallone style action flick. This is a TRUE STORY; thats why its not always action-packed, and the ending might not have the standard closure that most moviegoers are used to. Yes, Spielberg could have embellished the action and changed the story to better please the teenage crowd, as well as hire big name actors like Tom Cruise to play the lead. But he didn't do any of these things, which makes the story seem much more authentic. And speaking of authentic, the detail is incredible; hairstyles, shirts, even furniture look genuine 1972 without going overboard. The film also doesn't patronize, sympathize too much with terrorists, or insult our intelligence. It simply tells the story, and lets us make up our own minds on what is justice here. The only quibble I have is that the movie seems slightly darkly lit, even when the actors are walking out in the broad daylight. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DaveA.Jul 2, 2006
Goddard once said that "cinema is truth 24 frames a second." If that is true, then speilberg's cinema is the antithesis of that quote. Spilberg's films are lies 24 frmaes a second, every cut is the truth.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PatC.Jun 30, 2006
Lackluster portrayal of Israeli espionage in action. Documentary one moment, editorializing the next, it never finds its flow.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
G.SaundersMay 30, 2006
Pedantic. A modest 90 minute tale crammed in to 160 minutes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AntonR.May 29, 2006
Good but not great. Had this been cut down to a taut two hours, it really could've worked. But as it stands now, it feels slow and badly paced, like a rough assemblage waiting for a skilled editor's hands. The ending is a Good but not great. Had this been cut down to a taut two hours, it really could've worked. But as it stands now, it feels slow and badly paced, like a rough assemblage waiting for a skilled editor's hands. The ending is a disappointment; it reaches no sense of closure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[anonymous]May 27, 2006
What starts out as a revenge epic becomes a thrilling exploration of the psyche of assasins/terrorists and what it does to everybody. A bold departure from typical fast-paced action flicks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WillieG.May 22, 2006
This film was executed rather well. This is precisely the sort of serious subject matter Spielberg should stick with at this point in his career. In other words, he needs to direct more flicks like Munich, not schlock like The Terminal. This film was executed rather well. This is precisely the sort of serious subject matter Spielberg should stick with at this point in his career. In other words, he needs to direct more flicks like Munich, not schlock like The Terminal. I'll also say that in this day and age, it's encouraging to see islamic terrorists get what they deserve. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DamianP.May 12, 2006
Well made, but fairly boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
The_Elusive_PossomApr 27, 2006
A bit heavy-going, but Eric Bana's fit. So this gets a 7. You can check my working if you like.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MikeB.Mar 19, 2006
Impeccable looking movie, sags a bit in the second half as we examine and reexamine the angst of violence. Most important, the director's striving for "balance" between Israel and Palestine is emotional camouflage. His true bias is Impeccable looking movie, sags a bit in the second half as we examine and reexamine the angst of violence. Most important, the director's striving for "balance" between Israel and Palestine is emotional camouflage. His true bias is distinctly American. Spielberg preaches "peace" in this film. No doubt he's sincere. As it happens, though, Israel can only be maintained by struggle. Realistically, how else can a few million people expect to hold out among more than a billion Muslims? Spielberg is not a Jew in any absolute sense. In the end his lead character in the movie abandons the land given by God to his ancestors and the director clearly approves. Why be a fanatic, he suggests, when you can retreat to Manhattan and live comfortably. The Jews are at bottom a religion, that's why they've endured as a distinct entity. By comparison, Zionism is very young but the two impulses tend to bond strongly in their commitment to Israel. Religious Jews believe that they are a covenant people with a unique relationship to the Creator. If that's true, Islam will erode and crumble before Jewry, whatever the odds look like now. In the Jewish view (and Christian), there is no God but God and Mohammed is not His prophet. His religion is built on sand, it will fall sooner or later, as the Lord decrees That statement would earn me a death sentence in many Islamic countries. I wonder if this website's editor will permit it to pass. Religious and Zionist Jews do not expect the defense of Israel to be easy. Any more than defending freedom will be easy. Quitters are easy to understand but not so easy to admire. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadS.Mar 10, 2006
When "Munich" finally shows us how the remaining hostages were killed at the airport, the filmmaker crosscuts this tragedy with Avner having relations with his wife. He doesn't seem to be making love to her. There's no eye-to-eye When "Munich" finally shows us how the remaining hostages were killed at the airport, the filmmaker crosscuts this tragedy with Avner having relations with his wife. He doesn't seem to be making love to her. There's no eye-to-eye contact. His mind is elsewhere; presumably, on the violent end those Israeli athletes met at the airport. The filmmaker teases us with increments of the whole story throughout its two hour-plus running time, and the last installment is the payoff. In my estimation, however, Avner's mind would be on his comrades, who under his command, die in retaliation against the Palestinian terrorists, and not what we are shown. But this is a minor quibble. "Munich" is astonishing the way it gives us nourishing popcorn. The violence, at times, plays like a homage to Martin Scorsese's love of bloodshedding. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful