User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 329 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 329
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ArielG.
    Feb 2, 2006
    7
    One thing I feared before seeing the movie, is that they would turn the Palestinians into cliche terrorists. But this didn't happen, thankfully. It was quite even-handed in its approach. It frowned on terror and violence, from both sides, and it also explores their root causes. Eric Bana was cast well as the Mossad agent. The movie would've received a higher rating if it One thing I feared before seeing the movie, is that they would turn the Palestinians into cliche terrorists. But this didn't happen, thankfully. It was quite even-handed in its approach. It frowned on terror and violence, from both sides, and it also explores their root causes. Eric Bana was cast well as the Mossad agent. The movie would've received a higher rating if it wasn't so long. At close to 3 hours, the movie was overdrawn and was filled with scenes that were unessential to the story. This resulted in a severe loss of momentum in many places. They should've cut these scenes from the main movie and added them in later for the Director's Cut. But do see this movie if you are into history and current events and/or want to see a well-directed and well-acted movie. Expand
  2. Jan 9, 2012
    7
    Far too long imo. Really dragged on the film as long as they could and it would have been a little bit better if it were shorter. The acting was ok at first but it gets better when you get further into it. The action is good as well. idk though, The film just didnt sit well with me for some reason. It was a decent film that never really clicked with me. However the ending was excellent.
  3. Jan 2, 2013
    7
    It's a solid movie. Good acting, Action is fine, and it is a bit suspensful at times. However, It never really breaks into that next level of greatest. It's a good movie but not that good.
  4. Jun 7, 2013
    7
    Following the murder of eleven Israeli athletes during the Munich Olympics of 1972 a small task force is assigned by Israel's secret service to locate and eliminate all those responsible.

    Being inspired by real events Munich was always going to be a controversial movie but, while it contains tense scenes throughout, it thankfully avoids choosing sides or sensationalizing events. This is
    Following the murder of eleven Israeli athletes during the Munich Olympics of 1972 a small task force is assigned by Israel's secret service to locate and eliminate all those responsible.

    Being inspired by real events Munich was always going to be a controversial movie but, while it contains tense scenes throughout, it thankfully avoids choosing sides or sensationalizing events. This is more than just a simple case of good guys vs. bad guys and everyones actions can be called into question at some point.

    Every member of the cast really excels at depicting the conflicting emotions and pressures that these sorts of events inflict upon people ensuring that the characters come across as wholly believable meaning that, despite some pacing problems Munich makes for a fairly intriguing watch throughout.
    Expand
  5. Sep 28, 2013
    7
    Munich is an arresting drama thriller about terrorism and the people who do it. The performances on offer here are excellent and the action suitably macabre. The film is a little too long but overall, Munich is excellent stuff.
  6. Jun 20, 2014
    9
    Far more than just a "decent" movie, Steven Spielberg's examination of Israel's plot to avenge the death of 11 of their athletes caused by Palestinian terrorists in "Munich" is a truly fantastic thriller stuffed with relentless plans and explosions that would surely leave you breathless after full-time watch while, at the same time, successfully managing to leave space for humanity as theFar more than just a "decent" movie, Steven Spielberg's examination of Israel's plot to avenge the death of 11 of their athletes caused by Palestinian terrorists in "Munich" is a truly fantastic thriller stuffed with relentless plans and explosions that would surely leave you breathless after full-time watch while, at the same time, successfully managing to leave space for humanity as the undercover agents begin to question the righteousness of what they are doing. Expand
  7. May 10, 2012
    1
    "Inspired by true events..." No kidding. Even if you know nothing about the historical facts in the movie, the slant is painfully obvious. The "good guys" are jovial, articulate and thoughtful - everyone "on the other side" talks heatedly and is armed. The tragedy of Munich and the subsequent events, did not need Steven Spielberg to turn it into this painfully biased tripe. If you"Inspired by true events..." No kidding. Even if you know nothing about the historical facts in the movie, the slant is painfully obvious. The "good guys" are jovial, articulate and thoughtful - everyone "on the other side" talks heatedly and is armed. The tragedy of Munich and the subsequent events, did not need Steven Spielberg to turn it into this painfully biased tripe. If you didn't feel him "playing" you while watching (sappy clues throughout the movie), well that's where he earned the 1 that I give this movie. Expand
  8. ColmB
    Jun 14, 2009
    4
    Too long, shot in constant darkness and not something I'd recommend.
  9. Squall
    Dec 15, 2005
    0
    Steven Speilberg has finally lost his mind. He now equates the sons and daughters of Isreal equal to, if not less, than the Muslim terrorists who commit all sorts of attrocities on civilization. Just wonder if Spielberg would turn the other cheek if someone he loved was brutally murdered? Somehow I just don't think so. It's sad to see a once great director become a shill for Steven Speilberg has finally lost his mind. He now equates the sons and daughters of Isreal equal to, if not less, than the Muslim terrorists who commit all sorts of attrocities on civilization. Just wonder if Spielberg would turn the other cheek if someone he loved was brutally murdered? Somehow I just don't think so. It's sad to see a once great director become a shill for Hollywood's left wing political movement. Barbara Streisand now has a partner in turning the keys of America over to our enemies. Great job Steve as you should feel very proud of yourself? Let's see? War of The Worlds was a total joke and now this? This is typical Michael Moore trailer trash. Not worthy of your time or money. Expand
  10. Howard
    Jan 6, 2006
    1
    It's time for Mr. Spielberg after WOW and this effort to retire and go into politics. His ideaology is expressed and not the view of the real world. For example, terrorists do not value human life, ours or theirs and thus they are terrorists. An eye for an eye is written in the Bible. If someone who does not value life at all does a heinour crime to my family I am getting revenge. It's time for Mr. Spielberg after WOW and this effort to retire and go into politics. His ideaology is expressed and not the view of the real world. For example, terrorists do not value human life, ours or theirs and thus they are terrorists. An eye for an eye is written in the Bible. If someone who does not value life at all does a heinour crime to my family I am getting revenge. Not breaking bread with the terrorist. Spielberg belives in turning the other cheek and resolving issues through peaceful negotiation. Message to Speilberg. You can't negotiate with terrorists. When will all of you liberals understand this? Expand
  11. MarkB.
    Jan 24, 2006
    8
    Four years ago, not long after it all happened, who would've guessed that the American filmmaker most obsessed--haunted, maybe--by the implications and aftermath of September 11, 2001 would be, not Oliver Stone or even Michael Moore, but...the Indiana Jones guy?!!? Four out of five of Steven Spielberg's post-9/11 films (the candy-coated, nostalgic Kennedy-era fluffball Catch Me Four years ago, not long after it all happened, who would've guessed that the American filmmaker most obsessed--haunted, maybe--by the implications and aftermath of September 11, 2001 would be, not Oliver Stone or even Michael Moore, but...the Indiana Jones guy?!!? Four out of five of Steven Spielberg's post-9/11 films (the candy-coated, nostalgic Kennedy-era fluffball Catch Me If You Can being the lone exception) have dealt, implicitly or fairly obviously, with many of America's questions, debates, doubts and fears resulting from that date and continuing through today: the instant SF classic Minority Report examines the most ominous implications of the USA Patriot Act; the sweet, Capraesque fable The terminal, significantly set in an airport, shows people of all nationalities putting aside their fears and misgivings in order to help one another...and this year's earlier War of the Worlds is The Terminal's dark twin, a sour, cynical nightmare in which we trample one another, steal each other's cars, etc., in order to escape the terror from without. Now comes Munich, Spielberg's meticulous, metaphorical examination of the ethics of a nation responding to what any sane person regardless of national origin would identify as an inhuman terrorist attack: where does self-defense end and revenge begin, are they sometimes one and the same, and, most significantly, what permanent effects does meeting-fire-with-fire have on those wielding the flamethrowers? Even though Spielberg and his writers, Tony Kushner and Eric Roth, are depicting a horrific real-life event and its aftermath, I believe that they're asking universal questions that apply to thousands of other historic confrontations. That's why the intense criticism Spielberg has received from certain parts of the Jewish community--some of whom may just as soon have him give back all the awards he won for Schindler's List--are irrelevant. I can certainly understand the feelings of anger and betrayal on many of their parts regarding the movie's humanizing of the Palestinian killers and their accomplices (expressed here at its peak by the tremendously touching final act performed by an otherwise particularly despicable individual when the protagonists retaliate)...but making you movie's villains three-dimensional and even giving them some positive and sympathetic qualities is as old as drama itself; if Munich's enemies were to apply the proper emotional and esthetic distance, they'd see that to excoriate Munich on these grounds is to condemn Alfred Hitchcock for giving us Norman Bates. And in a pivotal scene, in which Israelis and Palestinians discuss the homeland that each side sees as a sacred birthright, we not only see two sides irrevocably separated from one another by an issue that should at least philosophically be common ground, but also Spielberg's pet theme of "going home" in its most poignant expression. Munich isn't perfect; it's a bit overlong, with more false endings than Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King, and while Eric Bana as the team leader communicates his character's psychological turmoil superbly, Daniel Craig (Layer Cake) isn't exactly bolstering my confidence in him as 007 Number 6. (And the much-debated sequence near the end in which violence and marital sex bleed into one another had the misfortune to come out just a couple months afer A History of Violence, which used a similar juxtaposition to much more devastating effect.) But Spielberg deserves an enormous amount of credit for asking a number of extremely tough questions and freely admitting he has no answers save maybe the Biblical admonition that there will always be wars and rumors of wars. Whatever your political and religious affiliations and personal sympathies lie, it's hard to deny the power with which Spielberg conveys the very apolitical truism that "an eye for an eye and a tooth for a tooth leaves everybody blind and toothless". And no, I don't believe the right wing press's short-sighted nonconclusion that Spielberg would just have the victims of terrorism just lie down, take it and die. Spielberg (who also gave us Saving Private Ryan, remember?) recognizes the necessity of taking decisive action, but is after an even more basic and fundamental human truth: that no matter how justified or even necessary the taking of vengeance is, inevitably it takes its toll on both the person performing the act and the nation ordering it. That's the powerful message Spielberg delivers in Munich, and I think it's about time that those who are taking the film so personally quit heaping abuse on the messenger. Expand
  12. SatsS.
    Mar 27, 2008
    8
    I really liked the movie, now i have a projects to do on the film techniques used in this movie, can anybody help me out?
  13. Alex
    Dec 16, 2005
    10
    Family Entertainment at its finest! The show won me over when Bana's character and his band of assassins took off into the air on their bikes! Pure movie magic at its finest!
  14. AndreA.
    Dec 19, 2005
    10
    Excellent. People who have strong biases either way will not enjoy this movie because it does not have enough red meat for either side (Palestine vs. Israel). But that's the point. There was a movie a long time ago called WarGames. The computer became self-aware and it looked for a moment like it would launch missles and blow up the whole world. With suitable wisdom, it concluded Excellent. People who have strong biases either way will not enjoy this movie because it does not have enough red meat for either side (Palestine vs. Israel). But that's the point. There was a movie a long time ago called WarGames. The computer became self-aware and it looked for a moment like it would launch missles and blow up the whole world. With suitable wisdom, it concluded that the only way to win was not to play. When you see this movie, you'll see the parallel I'm drawing. Expand
  15. RadioLady
    Dec 20, 2005
    4
    [***SPOILERS***] Disappointing story which "re-imagines" 1972 history. The movie is long and poorly plotted. It was hard to follow due to jumping around from one country to another. They had to concoct odd ways of killing these people, not simply SHOOTING THEM. And then we find out some were NOT EVEN THE TRUE PLO MURDERERS themselves, but other people the Israel group deemed were also bad[***SPOILERS***] Disappointing story which "re-imagines" 1972 history. The movie is long and poorly plotted. It was hard to follow due to jumping around from one country to another. They had to concoct odd ways of killing these people, not simply SHOOTING THEM. And then we find out some were NOT EVEN THE TRUE PLO MURDERERS themselves, but other people the Israel group deemed were also bad people. (Really? Why show us eleven pictures and then move to others seemingly not directly involved?) Motivations were blunted and there was so much that was make-believe that it ended up seeming like farce. (People pointing guns at the enemy, while all holed up at a "safe house," one Israeli bombmaker doing things with toys.) I dunno. I'm a big Spielberg fan, but this was not his finest work, and I surely don't see the film as the best of 2005. Postscript: This film opens on 12/23/05 here in Portland, Oregon. All I could think of was it's a kind of a weird pre-Chanukah gift. It does not make me, an American Jew, feel better about the state of Israel and the way it may have acted either now or in the past. 4/10 Collapse
  16. abhim.
    Dec 22, 2005
    10
    Best movie of the year.
  17. LarryH.
    Dec 22, 2005
    10
    This is one of Spielberg's very best films. It is strong, haunting, and impeccably made. There's not a lot of validity in some of the criticisms.
  18. tinah.
    Dec 22, 2005
    2
    It was like a really expensive James Bond movie or a Middle_eastern 10 Little INdians. I did not feel involved with the characters. If the writer had involved me more in the event at Munich initially, I might have felt more involved with the hunting down of the kilers. As it was I didn't even know who they were. It was just one uninteresting killing after another.
  19. jwh
    Dec 22, 2005
    10
    In response to RadioLady, and especially Squall, it would help if you actually *knew* your history instead of just echoing your "feelings" (which MUST be what's moral and true... right?!?!?) . Israel DID target people who had no direct connection to the attacks b/c they had a hard time locating the terrorists. Does this mean thinkiing people (thinking, Squall, thinking) condemn In response to RadioLady, and especially Squall, it would help if you actually *knew* your history instead of just echoing your "feelings" (which MUST be what's moral and true... right?!?!?) . Israel DID target people who had no direct connection to the attacks b/c they had a hard time locating the terrorists. Does this mean thinkiing people (thinking, Squall, thinking) condemn Israel or think they were as "low" as Black September - no way. Spielberg does the (gasp) unthinkable and actually adds some moral complexity instead of the good/evil extremes that people want to believe (I mean, c'mon America would only torture bad guys, and the bad guys, well, they really *torture*) who follow the Bush-Cheney crowd like lemmings off the moral relativism cliff while claiming moral superiority. Far from being a Hollywood Shill, Spielberg treats a historic event with complexity, care and shades of grey. Expand
  20. JonathanF.
    Dec 23, 2005
    4
    "No doubt what happened at Munich was a black eye for humanity..but so was the way Spielberg "dialed in" this one. And I'm a big fan..trust me on that. What a poor script and weak presentation. The scenes were ridiculous, the acting was not at all believable and the storyline seems like it was thrown together just to get the thing finished. I couldn't wait for it to be over. And "No doubt what happened at Munich was a black eye for humanity..but so was the way Spielberg "dialed in" this one. And I'm a big fan..trust me on that. What a poor script and weak presentation. The scenes were ridiculous, the acting was not at all believable and the storyline seems like it was thrown together just to get the thing finished. I couldn't wait for it to be over. And just my luck, it was close to 3hrs long. I can't believe Spielberg signed off on this one. I would have loved to have been a fly on the wall when the studio screened this one..He's lucky that for one, he is Spielberg and secondly, most reviewers/reviews get lost in the emotional aspects of what happened at the Munich Olympics. No doubt a sad and mournful tale. However, that aside, this movie is just terribly done..bottom line!" Expand
  21. DanB.
    Dec 24, 2005
    5
    It's pretty silly, as any sort of commentary. It's like what Syriana would have been if it wasn't smart and didn't do its research. The acting is great (but Bana seems to always be good no matter what he's in?), and as a film it's not bad. But it's just a bunch of make believe. Which would be ok except that its purporting to be *real*, but all it's It's pretty silly, as any sort of commentary. It's like what Syriana would have been if it wasn't smart and didn't do its research. The acting is great (but Bana seems to always be good no matter what he's in?), and as a film it's not bad. But it's just a bunch of make believe. Which would be ok except that its purporting to be *real*, but all it's got is a bunch of Hollywood pathos. I mean come on--the scene near the end with the main character doing his wife, intercut with memories of the murder in Munich? Gag me. I don't think it portrays either the Israelis or the Arabs particularly well. Expand
  22. NealB.
    Dec 24, 2005
    10
    Leaves you thinking. What is the benefit of these revenge kilings? Did it prevent - or perpetuate - future violence? In the context of 9/11, how does this fit? Is right and wrong, good and evil always a matter of perspective, or is there such a thing as moral / ethical clarity? A movie absolutely worth seeing.
  23. Tonydannie
    Dec 25, 2005
    10
    Usually, I have alot to say about a movie That I really Liked. And believe me. I liked this movie alot. But I honestly cannot express how much. After seeing this film, it took me a while to shake it off. It stayed with me for a long time! And it has been over 24 hours now. Go see this film! Another Cinematic achievment By the Master. Steven Spielberg.
  24. CesarN.
    Dec 25, 2005
    10
    Best film of 2005, an emotional experience you will never forget.
  25. S.Gold
    Dec 25, 2005
    9
    To disagree with a truthfulness of a story is okay (even if it's true) but to stop it from enjoying the film is retarded, so don't listen to those people. It may seem preachy to goyim, but to anyone who actually understands the issue at hand should be proud of the middle ground that this film impressively takes. It works on so many levels including an action film. Great acting, To disagree with a truthfulness of a story is okay (even if it's true) but to stop it from enjoying the film is retarded, so don't listen to those people. It may seem preachy to goyim, but to anyone who actually understands the issue at hand should be proud of the middle ground that this film impressively takes. It works on so many levels including an action film. Great acting, directing, script and not overlong even though it's close to 3 hours. Expand
  26. Thewiseking
    Dec 25, 2005
    7
    Obvious, overwrought monologues damn near killed this film. The story should just have been told, without the upper west side liberal american jewish guilt layered all over it. Trust me. Mossad agents whose families went up in smoke in Europe just one generation before, were not very likely to be engaging in lumpy theatrical monologues of self doubt when bumping off palestinian terrorists.
  27. ZakT.
    Dec 26, 2005
    9
    There are several great performances in the film, particularly from Bana and Kassovitz, and I was impressed at Spielberg's intention to humanize both sides of the conflict, when it would have been easy to demonize the hunted arabs. The pacing was excellent and only one bad scene in the whole movie.
  28. patrick
    Dec 26, 2005
    8
    This is probably my favorite Spielberg movie. I've never been a big fan of his, but he really did almost everything right in this movie. I was very impressed with the character and plot development. Definitely a must see.
  29. BrettR.
    Dec 26, 2005
    10
    The best movie of the year. It assumes the audience is intelligent, which is rare in Hollywood, and there is a fantastic showing by Eric Bana. I was very impressed with the entire picture.
  30. Jan
    Dec 26, 2005
    10
    At last, we see a film from an awesome Director who is bold enough to see the human sides of those who kill and those who are killed, and who dares to prompt up moral questions to why decent people should support extended vengeful killings. This film is filled with unforgettable moments to intrigue the viewers. A truly complex movie with phenomenal direction, and stunning performances At last, we see a film from an awesome Director who is bold enough to see the human sides of those who kill and those who are killed, and who dares to prompt up moral questions to why decent people should support extended vengeful killings. This film is filled with unforgettable moments to intrigue the viewers. A truly complex movie with phenomenal direction, and stunning performances from the overall cast Expand
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    100
    A superbly taut and well-made thriller that jumps from Geneva to Rome, from Paris to Beirut, from Athens to Brooklyn, each lethal assignment staged with a mastery Hitchcock might envy.
  2. 88
    Bana is magnificent in the role.
  3. A mesmerizing, richly nuanced inquiry into Israel's revenge of the Munich massacre of its athletes.