Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: April 19, 2002
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 48 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
30
Mixed:
12
Negative:
6
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
GaborA.Apr 13, 2006
Let me start by saying that no script ever written could be made into an enjoyable movie done with the terrible, straight to TV directing of this film. It was laughable. On top of that the script was aweful. This is the worst type of Let me start by saying that no script ever written could be made into an enjoyable movie done with the terrible, straight to TV directing of this film. It was laughable. On top of that the script was aweful. This is the worst type of thriller, boring and dry and then still inconceivable and stupid. This film really ends up with no redeeming qualities because what would have been good acting is dissolved by the stupidity of the scenes in which they try to act. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
Lopez17Aug 11, 2010
In May of 1924, two young Jewish men named Nathan Leopold and Richard Loeb had planned to commit the perfect murder they had it all thought out in there heads taking seven months to put their devious little murder into motion. They pickedIn May of 1924, two young Jewish men named Nathan Leopold and Richard Loeb had planned to commit the perfect murder they had it all thought out in there heads taking seven months to put their devious little murder into motion. They picked there target a young Polish immigrant named Robert Franks; everyone called him Bobby, Franks was an extended relative and neighbor of Richard Loeb. The duo lured young Bobby Franks into the car where either Loeb or Leopold struck Franks with a Chisel and stuffed a sock into his mouth young Franks died soon after. They covered the body and drove to a remote location near Wolf Lake in Hammond Indiana; they removed Frankâ Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
JackD.Oct 10, 2002
The first half is very good, but then it all falls apart, and the end is both stupid and sadistic... too bad because Bullock is excellent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SonjaMaggýM.Jul 18, 2002
I really like Ryan Gosling!!!:)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JinC.Apr 22, 2002
I watched the previews for this movie and knew that i wanted to see it. Happily, i was not disapointed. At times, you can see the blatant seams of the screenwriting craft underneath the pretty facades but nevertheless, it does what it doesI watched the previews for this movie and knew that i wanted to see it. Happily, i was not disapointed. At times, you can see the blatant seams of the screenwriting craft underneath the pretty facades but nevertheless, it does what it does very well. The actors playing the two young murderers are amazing. Definitely an ed norton moment for the evil rich kid. Bullock is an agreeable presence as always and it was interesting to see her play butch. Chaplin was a good choice to play opposite her too. An odd reference to the empire strikes back stands out as an interesting moment in the film. It seems to rely on our familiarity with ESB in order to establish an expectation and then to surprise us later by reversing it. Odd.... couple of good twists at the end too. A very good, if morbid flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
raVenJul 19, 2003
Okay, as a whole it's pretty much a house of cards. But the two baddies--Gosling and Pitt--are REAL creeps! I guess coming in I figured Sandra's star power would make them seem foolish and unbelievable. But they do a good job Okay, as a whole it's pretty much a house of cards. But the two baddies--Gosling and Pitt--are REAL creeps! I guess coming in I figured Sandra's star power would make them seem foolish and unbelievable. But they do a good job shoving her around, which was what the roles needed. And Bullock, who I love, does a good job of looking shoved-around. I wouldn't touch either of these guys with a 39-foot pole. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CatrinJ.Aug 10, 2003
I thought that the movie was fantastic and Sandra Bullock proves once again that she is a great actress. She was brilliant in miss congeniality aswell, fantastically funny n very entertaining to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThiagoG.Sep 29, 2002
It's a great film and Bullock is the very best actress in the world!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MovieGuysSep 2, 2014
A somewhat acceptable ending saves Murder By Numbers from being a total mess. But, it is still cliché and derivative; it's poorly executed, poorly edited, poorly written, and poorly directed. The idea and story are okay, but the movie as aA somewhat acceptable ending saves Murder By Numbers from being a total mess. But, it is still cliché and derivative; it's poorly executed, poorly edited, poorly written, and poorly directed. The idea and story are okay, but the movie as a whole sinks. It starts to get a little better in the second half, but nothing can stop it from being typical genre fare. The whole thing just seems amateurish. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Meth-dudeApr 20, 2014
With a young Ryan Reynolds a bad plot and an absolutely bad acting you have Murder by numbers.This is a bad crime/action movie but you can watch it if you have nothing better to do.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews