My Dog Skip

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. ChristinaL
    Oct 2, 2006
    10
    I liked the movie a lot it got to me.
  2. AndrewG.
    Apr 13, 2002
    10
    I'm not usually like this but I'm realy sad after i saw this movie because i felt sorry for skip when willie left because he got really lonely.
  3. HenryD.
    Sep 12, 2002
    10
    Hardly a kids' flick. Non-lovers of dogs won't get it. Young adults won't understand the nostalgia. Moose & Enzo are great.
  4. DannyW.
    Oct 16, 2003
    10
    I laughed, I cried, I loved it!
  5. YoonC.
    Sep 23, 2003
    9
    A finely realized, sensitive, and thoughtful movie about growing up. Its sentimentality is sweet without being saccharine, its childhood nostalgia is gold-tinged without sappiness. It has wonderful performances by kids and adults alike and that dog deserved the oscar for best performance by a canine. A convincing re-creation of a bygone era as well.
  6. GeneM.
    Dec 15, 2001
    10
    I never thought a simple movie about a boy and his dog could have such an emotional impact on me. It moved me to tears, even more than "Saving Private Ryan."
  7. GregD.
    Mar 13, 2005
    10
    Great family movie!
  8. Mar 28, 2015
    7
    My Dog Skip is a very good family drama. The film is quite simple, but manages to be very good. The cast do a fine job here, and lead actor Frankie Muniz is very good compared to his other film roles. This is a well acted film, one that is sure to appeal to the entire family. This film has charm, a well written story and a good dose of comedy into its drama, which makes it a memorableMy Dog Skip is a very good family drama. The film is quite simple, but manages to be very good. The cast do a fine job here, and lead actor Frankie Muniz is very good compared to his other film roles. This is a well acted film, one that is sure to appeal to the entire family. This film has charm, a well written story and a good dose of comedy into its drama, which makes it a memorable film. The film is nothing new, but it works well enough to be fun, dramatic, sad and entertaining. Expand
  9. Apr 7, 2016
    7
    My Dog Skip won't be enjoyable for those dog haters (Ok, how many people in the exact dang world hates dogs? In my guess, 0 because I never met one), but it will be enjoyable for dog lovers all the way!
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 67
    Atmospheric and genial, and you've got to love the spectacle of a dog driving a car or parading around town like the unofficial mayor.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Koehler
    60
    Superior family entertainment.