New Line Cinema | Release Date: June 26, 2009
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 96 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
57
Mixed:
22
Negative:
17
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
JonnyFendiJan 20, 2011
Thiz is a wake-up call movie! It is a tearing-down movie. Oh, it made us realize how precious every moment in our life. How lucky we would be, rather than complaining tiny meaningless things. It well directed by Nick Cassavetes. CassavetesThiz is a wake-up call movie! It is a tearing-down movie. Oh, it made us realize how precious every moment in our life. How lucky we would be, rather than complaining tiny meaningless things. It well directed by Nick Cassavetes. Cassavetes was a second class Actor that became more talented in directing movies. He is the man behind THE NOTEBOOK (2004). His deep comprehension about human heart is really useful on thiz movie. The story is about Kate (Sofia Vassilieva) that sick from leukemia since baby. Her dependence from her other sister, Anna (Abigail Breslin) was transpiring for years bcoz of their medical-match. The illness became a major burden and also a hidden-blessing in the same time to unite the family stronger than ever. All Casts properly fill their shoes. I always said to myself since LITTLE MISS SUNSHINE (2006) that Abigail Breslin was a great young Actress. With the age like that, we could see the quality of young Jodie Foster was reborn like on her first appearance in TAXI DRIVER (1976). Cameron Diaz not just good-looking but always made an impressive performance when she involved in indie or small movie like thiz, last time I remembered thiz quality on BEING JOHN MALKOVICH (1999). Diaz successfully brought a firm mother character. The father also played convincingly by Jason Patric. The scene-stealer performance made by Thomas Dekker as Kate boyfriend. The narration, muted dialogue, slow motion scene, the score and soundtracks really blend us into our deepest sympathy. There are so many touching-heart scenes in thiz movie. The one is that really tearing me down is the scene of the last wish of Kate. She simply wants go to the beach, her dad granted her wish. Her mom and dad argue hard to let her doing it considering her critical health. But later her mom coming to join anyway. Her mom hugs her dad, Kate claps her hands. The scene describes beautifully when Kate enjoys her last moment with her family on the evening wave in the beach with background song FEELS LIKE HOME by Edwina Hayes. It is simple and powerful scene. It really stabs and takes out all of emotions from our heart.

Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
SmileylivvieApr 13, 2012
A very moving, touching and emotional story about a girl with life-threatening illness (cancer) A young girl was born, named Kate, whom one day when she was roughly six years old, was told she had early stages of cancer, and the film goes onA very moving, touching and emotional story about a girl with life-threatening illness (cancer) A young girl was born, named Kate, whom one day when she was roughly six years old, was told she had early stages of cancer, and the film goes on about how she went through her life with her illness. This made me cry but smile in some scenes, and would definitely be for teenagers. 10/10, a fantastic but emotional film :) Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
wishmasterSep 25, 2011
saddest movie that made me mourn! damn! awful movie, but some scenes were ok. Sofia Vassilieva is looked excellent, I loved her in general is not for whiners movie because it will dry.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
thirstycobraJul 18, 2011
This was the funniest movie I've ever seen, the cancer part was hilarious. The way they depicted both the sisters as being bad is silly to me, it brought a light chuckle. When the one that didn't have cancer died I was surprised because theThis was the funniest movie I've ever seen, the cancer part was hilarious. The way they depicted both the sisters as being bad is silly to me, it brought a light chuckle. When the one that didn't have cancer died I was surprised because the girl with cancer should always die first. It's natural selection... Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
TalizessMar 10, 2012
Incredible how a movie can make you feel true emotions ! Great performance of the actors. Saw it yesterday and it reached diirectly my Top 100 Hall of Fame.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscJan 11, 2015
Screenwriter/Director Nick Cassavetes tries so hard to make Jodi Picoult's tragic,romantic,cancer story into a movie were people fans of romance can be filled with tears he does it very well. Abigail Breslin plays Anna a wonderful caringScreenwriter/Director Nick Cassavetes tries so hard to make Jodi Picoult's tragic,romantic,cancer story into a movie were people fans of romance can be filled with tears he does it very well. Abigail Breslin plays Anna a wonderful caring girl who does not want to give her sister kate a kidney, Breslin is charming i do not find her love able but she is sweet in (Signs and Little Miss Sunshine) and that's what she does in My Sister's keeper. Cameron Diaz play selfish,stupid **** mom who forces Anna to give a kidney to her sister and i found Diaz's character over ratted and plain out Not good also i can't believe that Jason Patric's character is agreeing with the mother. This is the best romance movie that Cassavetes ever done since That "okay" Sparks' disaster The Notebook. From the director of the notebook makes a huge huge huge huge improvement. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
KristaP.Jul 22, 2009
My sister's keeper made me smile, made me cry, and somehow made me laugh. It was an amazing tale of a bond between sisters. Cameron Diaz did an outstanding job, but I have to say that Sophia Vassilieva couldn't have been any My sister's keeper made me smile, made me cry, and somehow made me laugh. It was an amazing tale of a bond between sisters. Cameron Diaz did an outstanding job, but I have to say that Sophia Vassilieva couldn't have been any better! Absolutely outstanding! Fabulous! Amazing! A 10! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
enriquepJul 9, 2009
Very good movie. It is moving and well done. I think it's the best cameron diaz performance until now. The girl playing the sick kid is excellent!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SahilG.Nov 1, 2009
Speechless! Each and every character was amazingly written, with enough depth and great individuality. Makes it to the top on my list of films. BEST performance by Sofia Vassilieva, Cameron Diaz, Abigail Berslin, and all. We have to Speechless! Each and every character was amazingly written, with enough depth and great individuality. Makes it to the top on my list of films. BEST performance by Sofia Vassilieva, Cameron Diaz, Abigail Berslin, and all. We have to understand, that the screenplay and story was adapted for screen to appeal audiences, and if Nick didn't do this, the film would have turned out to be the visual version of the book, which would get boring and monotonous as we already knew what the BIG TWIST was and there was no point on repeating the same all over again, and if he did so, there would be no difference in the book and the film. All in all, Amazing job by each and every Cast and Crew member of "MY SISTER'S KEEPER" and thankyou for giving us a MATER PIECE. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HarveyL.Oct 10, 2009
I never cried so long watching a movie, it has a great plot and actors made amazingly his job. Special congrats to Cameron Diaz and Jason Patric.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TRJBNov 4, 2009
Really emotional film, something quite different.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CadyT.Oct 6, 2009
It one of the best movies ever made
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
johnmJun 28, 2009
SPECTACULAR!!! The best performance for Cameron Diaz.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
tylerdJun 30, 2009
I thought this movie was good in all the right spots. it was sad and even the end was sad. that's why i gave it a 9. i thought it was going to be a movie that lifted you at the end. but all's you see Abigale breslin looking I thought this movie was good in all the right spots. it was sad and even the end was sad. that's why i gave it a 9. i thought it was going to be a movie that lifted you at the end. but all's you see Abigale breslin looking depressed. all i was glad Cameron diazes character moved on it was still toooo depressing. good performances by everyone! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmandaV.Jul 1, 2009
Cassavetes has created yet another movie from an okay book. Although readers/fans of the book are angered by the changes made to the plot, Picoult signed away the rights to her story and Cassavetes changed what he did to make the movie more Cassavetes has created yet another movie from an okay book. Although readers/fans of the book are angered by the changes made to the plot, Picoult signed away the rights to her story and Cassavetes changed what he did to make the movie more MOVIE-audience appealing. I love the changes he made and i absolutely adore the movie. It's touching, dramatic, and hysterical. Despite what readers say, defiantly see the movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AliceBJul 30, 2009
I have already read the book before i saw it yesterday, and thought the film was amazing. Although quite different to the book, the actors were extremely convincing. Cameron Diaz was fantastic, and so was abigail breslin and sofia I have already read the book before i saw it yesterday, and thought the film was amazing. Although quite different to the book, the actors were extremely convincing. Cameron Diaz was fantastic, and so was abigail breslin and sofia vassilieva! I think in a way it is good to have a different ending to the book because you don't want to go see a film EXACTLY the same as the book, or it is boring. You must see this film, it had me laughing crying and smiling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilliamL.Sep 6, 2009
Truly touching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MananG.Nov 2, 2009
Movie with a touching theme, keeps the viewer engaged. The story might seem extended/pushed for effect in a few places, but all in all, a decent watch!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadSJun 27, 2009
"My Sister's Keeper" picks up where Xiaoshuai Wang's "Zuo you" left off. The little-seen 2007 Chinese import told the story of a divorced couple(both newly married) who goes into the bedroom to forge a creature of circumstances. "My Sister's Keeper" picks up where Xiaoshuai Wang's "Zuo you" left off. The little-seen 2007 Chinese import told the story of a divorced couple(both newly married) who goes into the bedroom to forge a creature of circumstances. Their daughter has a rare blood disease, and needs the umbilical cord blood of a sibling for survival. Was it adultery? "My Sister's Keeper" has a different ethical question: " Was it child abuse?" By harvesting the kidney of their test tube daughter to save Kate, Sara(Cameron Diaz) manipulates the family dynamics of offspring hierarchies in a way that would even give Jan Brady("Marsha! Marsha! Marsha!) pause. Frustratingly, the film doesn't really explore the emotional truth of the sick child's ancillary victims. Played by Sofia Vassilieva, the bald gosling possesses an intrepid smile that's capable of disarming the bull**** detectors of the most jaded, obdurate cinephiles. The manipulation works. Your water will work. She looks really, really sick. While "My Sister's Keeper" excels at tugging heartstrings, it does so somewhat dishonestly. Since the engineered child turns out to be complicit towards her mother's revitalization plans, the hard truths about how mothers and fathers parcel out love unequally to their children are never truly dealt with head on. The court may judge Sara in a cold objective light, but the family lets her off relatively easily for loving one daughter more than the other(not to mention the son, the middle child, the Eve Plumb). "My Sister's Keeper" lacks the emotional truth in a film like Robert Redford's "Ordinary People, in which Sara has a cinematic predecessor in Beth Jenkins, the stingy(with love) mother who doesn't love her surviving son(a boating accident), played by Timothy Hutton. Anna(Abigail Breslin) probably thinks that Sara wishes she had her sister's cancer, and she's probably right. "My Sister's Keeper" is one raw mother/daughter scene away from greatness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShanaK.Jul 22, 2009
I haven't read the book but I loved the movie. The acting was great, the characters had a lot of depth and were well developed. It's a move that definitely makes you think. A must see, just make sure to bring a box of kleenex.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GregWAug 11, 2009
Incredible capture of a real life scene. Very Well Done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NinaJ.Nov 28, 2009
While the ending was a little soft, My Sister's Keeper has strong characters and poses interesting questions.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarylnLJun 28, 2009
Much more dignified and less manipulative than I had expected.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnHJul 11, 2009
This is a very underated film. I loved it. It had great acting. However, if you are in a funny mood, do not see this. This is one of the saddest films I have ever seen. But see this movie, anyhow! Great performances from Cameron Diaz, Allec This is a very underated film. I loved it. It had great acting. However, if you are in a funny mood, do not see this. This is one of the saddest films I have ever seen. But see this movie, anyhow! Great performances from Cameron Diaz, Allec Baldwin, and everybody. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
avamiller21May 2, 2016
Strong performances, and a subtle script make director Cassavetes film one of the better tearjerkers of the year...

Check out the movie here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-17c3-My-Sisters-Keeper-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews