My Way

My Way Image
Metascore
30

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After emerging as bitter rivals and enemies as young marathon runners, Korean native Kim Jun-shik and Japanese aristocrat Tatsuo Hasegawa both find themselves in the Japanese army, fighting the Chinese and Soviets in a bloody battle. Jun-shik is there under duress, while Tatsuo is a powerfulAfter emerging as bitter rivals and enemies as young marathon runners, Korean native Kim Jun-shik and Japanese aristocrat Tatsuo Hasegawa both find themselves in the Japanese army, fighting the Chinese and Soviets in a bloody battle. Jun-shik is there under duress, while Tatsuo is a powerful colonel. After both are taken prisoner by the Soviets, their mutual hatred and mistrust boils over into a violence that is only stopped by the continuing horror of the war. Forced to fight for the Soviets, the two eventually rely on each other for survival, making it to Germany, where they are in turn separated and forced to fight for the Nazis. They meet again at Normandy Beach, both unlikely survivors, bonded together by history as they struggle to survive one more terrible battle as the Allies arrive on D-Day. (CJ Entertainment) Expand

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 12
  2. Negative: 6 out of 12
  1. 50
    Adolescent boys will savour My Way's bombast and solemnity. Cringing adult audiences will more likely beat a retreat before final call.
  2. Reviewed by: V.A. Musetto
    Apr 20, 2012
    50
    My Way is not, as the title might suggest, a Frank Sinatra biopic. No, it's an eye-popping, empty-headed World War II epic made in South Korea.
  3. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    May 2, 2012
    50
    The most expensive South Korean film ever made is also one of the most realistic (read: gory) depictions of the horrors of war, specifically World War II, global cinema has ever produced.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Apr 19, 2012
    30
    The nonstop adversity lacks any real sense of danger. Or, for that matter, emotional punch. Why these two long-distance runners keep each other alive should be of front-and-center concern. Instead, My Way is mostly an endurance test.
  5. Reviewed by: G. Allen Johnson
    Apr 20, 2012
    25
    Kang is so over the top and jumbled in his storytelling, this could be his Michael Cimino ("Heaven's Gate") moment.
  6. Reviewed by: Calum Marsh
    Apr 20, 2012
    25
    Many films are saved in the editing room, but how many are ruined there?
  7. Reviewed by: Jordan Mintzer
    Apr 15, 2012
    10
    So bloated that it's forever on the verge of bursting – a sentiment reflected by the film's overindulgence in ear-splitting pyrotechnics.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Jul 17, 2012
    9
    Maybe it's just because I've been dying to see a new and decent World War II movie, but I really enjoyed My Way and it is easily one of theMaybe it's just because I've been dying to see a new and decent World War II movie, but I really enjoyed My Way and it is easily one of the best war movies I've seen in the past two years. If you can handle reading subtitles and the occasional melodrama present in East Asian films, you'll be in for a great experience. The battle scenes and CGI were amazing and even the story held together well for being as seemingly far-fetched as it was. The only reason I didn't give My Way a 10 is because the story was too rushed. The producers should really have made this into a trilogy or at least a mini-series. Other than that, if you liked Tai Guk Gi and are sick of the crap Hollywood has been unloading on us for the past four years then pick this one up; you won't regret it. Collapse

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (1/23): This Week's New Movies & Trailers

    Film Friday (1/23): This Week's New Movies & Trailers Image
    Published: January 23, 2015
    Find a guide to this weekend's new theatrical releases and watch all of the week's new movie trailers, including new looks at She's Funny That Way, The Gunman, It Follows, and more.
  2. TV Critics Are Getting Fed Up With Homeland. Are You Still On Board?

    TV Critics Are Getting Fed Up With Homeland. Are You Still On Board? Image
    Published: October 21, 2013
    In the span of two years, Showtime's "Homeland" has transitioned from one of TV's best dramas to one of its most disappointing, according to many critics. Find out why they feel that way, and whether last night's episode changed things for the better.
  3. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2012

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2012 Image
    Published: December 20, 2012
    Find out which iOS titles finished the year as 2012's best in our annual look at the top games for Apple mobile devices.
  4. Six Picks for the Week of March 14-20

    Six Picks for the Week of March 14-20 Image
    Published: March 13, 2011
    This week, Pee-wee Herman plays Broadway (by way of HBO), while Simon Pegg and Nick Frost encounter an alien sounding just like Seth Rogen. Find out what else the next few days have in store in our latest installment of 6 Picks.