User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 116 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 116

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 5, 2012
    9
    My Week with Marilyn has a performance that is so perfect you fall in love, and then get completely heart broken in the end because you know what happens to her eventually. It is funny, and beautiful. I give this movie 91%.
  2. Feb 23, 2012
    9
    A solid 4.5/5 stars. Michelle Williams did a wonderful job at capturing the mannerisms of Marilyn, while still adding her own flair to her acting. My favorite part of the film was definitely the songs though. The song list included"Marilyn's Theme," "It's a Wrap, I Found a Dream" and "That Old Black Magic." They were all great throwbacks to the 40s and 50s!A solid 4.5/5 stars. Michelle Williams did a wonderful job at capturing the mannerisms of Marilyn, while still adding her own flair to her acting. My favorite part of the film was definitely the songs though. The song list included"Marilyn's Theme," "It's a Wrap, I Found a Dream" and "That Old Black Magic." They were all great throwbacks to the 40s and 50s! http://thecelebritycafe.com/reviews/my-week-marilyn-soundtrack-02-13-2012 Expand
  3. Jan 29, 2012
    9
    Charming and delightful. Michelle Williams is a scene-stealer. The range of emotion she conveys as Marilyn is remarkable. All of the actors did a fine job, spare one. I can't for the life of me understand how and why Kenneth Branagh got nominated for an Academy Award. His portrayal of Laurence Olivier was abrasive to me. Like a pumice stone. It ruined the tone of the film slightly. ButCharming and delightful. Michelle Williams is a scene-stealer. The range of emotion she conveys as Marilyn is remarkable. All of the actors did a fine job, spare one. I can't for the life of me understand how and why Kenneth Branagh got nominated for an Academy Award. His portrayal of Laurence Olivier was abrasive to me. Like a pumice stone. It ruined the tone of the film slightly. But other than that, the movie was great. Expand
  4. Jan 22, 2012
    9
    It will be a race to the Oscars this year as Michelle Williams' portrayal of Marilyn Monroe is neck-and-neck with Meryl Streep's portrayal of Margaret Thatcher. What makes both of their performances amazing is that they don't just LOOK like the people whom they are portraying, but they capture the absolute essence, making the viewer believe wholeheartedly that they ARE the person, notIt will be a race to the Oscars this year as Michelle Williams' portrayal of Marilyn Monroe is neck-and-neck with Meryl Streep's portrayal of Margaret Thatcher. What makes both of their performances amazing is that they don't just LOOK like the people whom they are portraying, but they capture the absolute essence, making the viewer believe wholeheartedly that they ARE the person, not just acting the part. Williams doesn't just doll herself up to look like Marilyn. That alone was quite a feat since Michelle Williams is structurally unlike Marilyn. I was very impressed with the makeup and wardrobe. However, what sets her apart as an extraordinary portrayal of Marilyn is how stunning, and I'm truly understating it, of a job Williams does evoking the tortured soul of this woman. I've read a lot about Marilyn over the years and knew about much of the history discussed in this movie, but I've never had a sense of how she was able to be this darling on the screen and for the public while also being so troubled in the background. I absolutely loved watching how Kenneth Branagh's Sir Laurence Olivier struggled with realizing her brilliance, yet making sure he wasn't captured in the web she clearly likes to weave around those who fall prey to her. For a woman who proclaimed to not be loved by her parents or by her many husbands, thus dramatizing and victimizing herself, she creates an air of powerlessness, but those closest to her, especially the men who fall helplessly in love with her, she has all the power in the world. While Marilyn's story has always been told from a sad perspective, the reality shown here, and what seems very natural considering her past and condition, is that Marilyn didn't understand what real love was. No father. An insane mother. A very false sense of love and admiration from Hollywood and her fans. Husbands that wanted her because she was Marilyn. And, in this story, Milton and Colin, two in this movie of probably countless men who succumbed to her charms and story, wanting to care for, love and help her, which she allows, until she doesn't need them anymore. The trail behind her of broken hearts, to which she gives very little thought. The performances by all are amazing in this movie. In the end, Michelle Williams may have the edge over Meryl in the Oscar race simply because the strength of the story and supporting performances are far greater. Expand
  5. Jan 14, 2012
    10
    www.unsungfilms.com
    by Georgia Xanthopoulou
    First thingâ
  6. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    What made Marilyn Monroe a great star was her magic dust, like Tinkerbell's, that she would suddenly turn on in the middle of an otherwise awkward performance. Her seduction of the camera, and therefore the audience, is so subtle, complex and mystical as to defy effective description. This film, to its great credit, shows Marilyn's brokenness and then her genius, beautifully. I was soWhat made Marilyn Monroe a great star was her magic dust, like Tinkerbell's, that she would suddenly turn on in the middle of an otherwise awkward performance. Her seduction of the camera, and therefore the audience, is so subtle, complex and mystical as to defy effective description. This film, to its great credit, shows Marilyn's brokenness and then her genius, beautifully. I was so resistant to accepting Michelle Williams' performance, but she won me over, massively, in the end, as the film ripens and goes deep, with profound close ups, showing Marilyn as she may have been, must have been, at times, in private, at times deep as the Marianas Trench, at times effervescent and alive as the eternal girl looking for love that Marilyn always was. That Ms. Williams and the director could find and reproduce Marilyn's genius is a stunning cap to an otherwise enjoyable film, and worth every second. I may go back to sit it again... to be with timeless Marilyn, and a great new talent in Ms. Williams. Expand
  7. Dec 27, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Absolutely charming! I personally don't know much about Marilyn Monroe except that she is an icon and she sang that Happy Birthday song to the President. The film was fascinating to me to learn about her a little bit. I do wonder if the real Monroe was really like the Monroe in the movie. For example, was she really that bad in memorising lines? Was she really that bad in being on time? etc etc... Regardless, the movie kept my attention throughout. Michelle Williams did an excellent job in convincing me that she was Marilyn Monroe. She should be singled out during the Oscar time. This film succeeds big time in giving us a rare and fascinating glimpse into the private live of Marilyn Monroe. Expand
  8. Dec 27, 2011
    9
    A delicious entertainment from a old fashioned lightweight script that is illuminated by a "once in a lifetime" performance by Michelle Williams. She is the soul of the brittle beauty and like no other performance or impersonation of Marilyn touches your heart. It may help if you are a film fan and have seen "The Princess and The Showgirl" Eddie Redmayne captures the essence of the sweetA delicious entertainment from a old fashioned lightweight script that is illuminated by a "once in a lifetime" performance by Michelle Williams. She is the soul of the brittle beauty and like no other performance or impersonation of Marilyn touches your heart. It may help if you are a film fan and have seen "The Princess and The Showgirl" Eddie Redmayne captures the essence of the sweet innocent youth wonderfully. Powerful and funny recreation of Olivier by Branagh, supported by a terrific Judy Dentch and a host of British luminaries. Expand
  9. Dec 24, 2011
    9
    I am overtly amazed by how great this film turned out to be. I thought it would be good, but it surpassed my expectations. Michelle Williams was truly great in portraying Monroe, leaving me mesmerized and guessing at the same time. Branagh was pretty humorous and demanding and was followed by a somewhat also charming and warming supporting cast, as seen in Redmayne. Wouldn't beI am overtly amazed by how great this film turned out to be. I thought it would be good, but it surpassed my expectations. Michelle Williams was truly great in portraying Monroe, leaving me mesmerized and guessing at the same time. Branagh was pretty humorous and demanding and was followed by a somewhat also charming and warming supporting cast, as seen in Redmayne. Wouldn't be suprised if Williams walks with the Oscar this year, most deservingly. Expand
  10. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    Michelle Williams (Blue Valentine) plays the infinite Marily Munroe, along side Eddie Redmayne (Elizabeth: The Golden Age) as Colin Clark a young film student who documents Sir Laurence Olivier's production starring Marilyn. While documenting the film he forms a close bond with Marilyn learning all about her inner securities and fears about becoming a successful actress. This film is heartMichelle Williams (Blue Valentine) plays the infinite Marily Munroe, along side Eddie Redmayne (Elizabeth: The Golden Age) as Colin Clark a young film student who documents Sir Laurence Olivier's production starring Marilyn. While documenting the film he forms a close bond with Marilyn learning all about her inner securities and fears about becoming a successful actress. This film is heart warming and moving as we see what really happens behind closed doors with one of the most names in history. A definite must-see film starring other famous names such as; Judi Dench and Kenneth Branagh. Expand
  11. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    Michelle Williams as Marilyn Monroe is a wonder !
  12. Dec 2, 2011
    10
    I don't know why the critics are so hard on this one. Michelle Williams is amazing. I hope she gets nominated for an Oscar. The score is also great. Go see it and take a date!
  13. Nov 29, 2011
    10
    "My Week With Marilyn" is based on the true story of Colin Clark, a young 23 year old, who diaried and recounted his work as a "gofer"in the making of the 50's film "The Prince and the Showgirl" which originally starred Marilyn Monroe and Sir Laurence Olivier. This movie stars Michelle Williams (as Marilyn Monroe), Kenneth Branagh (as Sir Laurence), Eddie Redmayne (as Colin Clark) and"My Week With Marilyn" is based on the true story of Colin Clark, a young 23 year old, who diaried and recounted his work as a "gofer"in the making of the 50's film "The Prince and the Showgirl" which originally starred Marilyn Monroe and Sir Laurence Olivier. This movie stars Michelle Williams (as Marilyn Monroe), Kenneth Branagh (as Sir Laurence), Eddie Redmayne (as Colin Clark) and other cast members including Julia Ormond, Judi Dench and Emma Watson (HarryPotter). Written by Adrian Hodges and directed by Simon Curtis the film is slow moving and oftentimes trite in its dialogue as it seeks to penetrate the life and psyche of Ms. Monroe. This complicated icon is portrayed by Michelle Williams in an uncanny and extraordinary manner that, regardless of the merits (or demerits) of the film, will certainly earn her Oscar consideration in 2012. Ms. Williams becomes Ms. Monroe and gives the performance of her career as she captures her character's nuances and likenesses to such an extent that even Meryl Streep would be forced to sit up and give a nod of approval. The film, under normal circumstances, deserves only a 7 rating ut because of Ms. Williams' performance, I give it an 8. Movie-history buffs and all who enjoy seeing an actress come of age will like the film.



    -----Original Message-----
    From: Tlmgjrpr
    Expand
  14. Nov 27, 2011
    9
    This true story is told by a young assistant director (Eddie Redmayne), who had a brief familiarity with Marilyn Monroe (Michelle Williams) during her troubled filming of "The Prince and the Showgirl" in England. His innocence becomes her solace against the pressures of her co-star Laurence Olivier (Kenneth Branagh) and her difficult life in general. This is a quality production allThis true story is told by a young assistant director (Eddie Redmayne), who had a brief familiarity with Marilyn Monroe (Michelle Williams) during her troubled filming of "The Prince and the Showgirl" in England. His innocence becomes her solace against the pressures of her co-star Laurence Olivier (Kenneth Branagh) and her difficult life in general. This is a quality production all around: the script is engaging, the look is attractive and the performances are compelling. A well-crafted and sweet film. Expand
  15. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    Excellent. The editing is wonderful, it gets you into the story before the characters take over. Michelle Williams nails the performance, just when you start to see the actress you slip right back into seeing Marilyn. The layers she has to play is amazing, not like the superficial cartoon that Kate Blanchett did of Katherine Hepburn (Aaarruggh). I was caught up in the movie for the fullExcellent. The editing is wonderful, it gets you into the story before the characters take over. Michelle Williams nails the performance, just when you start to see the actress you slip right back into seeing Marilyn. The layers she has to play is amazing, not like the superficial cartoon that Kate Blanchett did of Katherine Hepburn (Aaarruggh). I was caught up in the movie for the full time (also not something I can say for the poorly edited Hugo). If you want to be taken to another time and place and believe it, this is the one. You also get the added benefit of understanding how this characters interacted without the "vengence" factor when characters get angry at one another in films today. The foreshadowing is subtle but clear yet you don't have clue how people will react. Expand
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Dec 26, 2011
    83
    This is a slight movie, but it's Williams' all the way (possibly to an Oscar nod) while the rest of the cast supports her well.
  2. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Nov 30, 2011
    75
    The acting is superb, the settings are beautifully recreated, the dialogue crackles with occasional wit, but where's the juice? Although lovely to gaze upon, the whole thing feels a bit precious and porcelain, more teapot than sexpot.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Nov 28, 2011
    30
    When bad movies happen to good people, the first place to look for an explanation is the basic idea. That certainly applies to My Week With Marilyn, a dubious idea done in by Adrian Hodges's shallow script and Simon Curtis's clumsy direction.