User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 416 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 93 out of 416
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnY.
    Nov 30, 2003
    10
    A masterwork filled to the brim with impressive acting and raw emotion.
  2. JaneS.
    Nov 3, 2003
    9
    The cast did an exceptional job. it was very powerful and definitely one of the best films of the year. it was a movie we discussed afterwards because of the effect it had on us.
  3. LiorC.
    Nov 4, 2003
    10
    Oh! What a movie!
  4. LaurenD.
    Oct 15, 2003
    10
    I loved this film. The acting gave me chills while the twists kept me guessing and in suspense. The subtle foreshadowing and symbolism added an artistic feel to the film.
  5. EdwardL.
    Nov 7, 2003
    9
    Mystic River will receive a minimum of 5 Academy Award nominations. Clint Eastwood will win the Oscar!
  6. BrianG.
    Oct 18, 2003
    6
    Why does every movie that takes place in Boston always seem to have a really dark look? As far as the movie, Tim Robbins and Marcia Gay Harden are amazing and about the only reason I rate the movie this high. This is far from Sean Penn's best performance. Kevin Bacon is solid but not extraordinary. I think the movie's slooww pace is to allow us through it's characters to Why does every movie that takes place in Boston always seem to have a really dark look? As far as the movie, Tim Robbins and Marcia Gay Harden are amazing and about the only reason I rate the movie this high. This is far from Sean Penn's best performance. Kevin Bacon is solid but not extraordinary. I think the movie's slooww pace is to allow us through it's characters to smolder with pain and anguish. Instead, it almost put me to sleep. I also have issues with speech given by Laura Linney late in the movie to her husband. There is nothing previous in the movie that leads one to believe her. That being said, I think this movie proves Tim Robbins' ability as an actor, He moved me and I believed his fears and confusion. Harden establishes her brilliance as one of the best character actresses on film. Expand
  7. DanO.
    Oct 21, 2003
    6
    I have to agree with Brian G. The final speech by Laura Linney late in the movie ruined this movie for me. In general I liked the movie's complexity, but I did think they were trying too hard with the dialogue. That speech put me over the top. These people are all supposed to be working class Bostonians, not 1st year philosophy majors. There are some twists here, but I did see the I have to agree with Brian G. The final speech by Laura Linney late in the movie ruined this movie for me. In general I liked the movie's complexity, but I did think they were trying too hard with the dialogue. That speech put me over the top. These people are all supposed to be working class Bostonians, not 1st year philosophy majors. There are some twists here, but I did see the end coming early on. Eastwood should watch a film like "The Usual Suspects" if he wants to do this type of a movie. That is not to say this is a bad movie, but it does come across as trying to force a film noir atmosphere rather than letting it honestly happen. Expand
  8. BenA.
    Dec 1, 2003
    9
    Mystic River never let me down. I heard great things, and they were all true. I was not disappointed by any aspect of the story. I'm glad they spent the extra money to shoot it in Boston instead of Toronto. I really liked the neighborhood they shot it in, it gave it such a human feel to it.
  9. BenA.
    Dec 1, 2003
    9
    Mystic River never let me down. I heard great things, and they were all true. I was not disappointed by any aspect of the story. I'm glad they spent the extra money to shoot it in Boston instead of Toronto. I really liked the neighborhood they shot it in, it gave it such a human feel to it.
  10. TerryD.
    Dec 15, 2003
    10
    This movie has something a lot of movies these days don't - a style. And its Clint Eastwoods style, understated yet deliberate - just like his acting. And it has worked in his favor in this film to an extent that is really breath-taking. I came out of the movie drained because I was right there with these amazing actors in this intense story realized by a brilliant director. Film This movie has something a lot of movies these days don't - a style. And its Clint Eastwoods style, understated yet deliberate - just like his acting. And it has worked in his favor in this film to an extent that is really breath-taking. I came out of the movie drained because I was right there with these amazing actors in this intense story realized by a brilliant director. Film experiences don't get any better. Period. Expand
  11. RachelH.
    Dec 18, 2003
    9
    I can't imagine how a suspenseful engrossing film such as this one could be boring. The acting drew me in. And I love seeing Boston on screen.
  12. ScottE.
    Dec 19, 2003
    9
    Clint Eastwood has broken new ground with this movie. With his deft ability at pulling the heartstrings of moviegoers, he has solidify his legacy as not only a great actor, but also one of the best directors to emerge within the past decade. This taut adaption of a superb novel allows us to experience the powerful emotions and conflicts of the story's three main characters, portrayed Clint Eastwood has broken new ground with this movie. With his deft ability at pulling the heartstrings of moviegoers, he has solidify his legacy as not only a great actor, but also one of the best directors to emerge within the past decade. This taut adaption of a superb novel allows us to experience the powerful emotions and conflicts of the story's three main characters, portrayed by Sean Penn (ex-convict trying to lead a legit life), Tim Robbins (the tormented friend) and Kevin Bacon (the by-the-book cop and childhood friend of both main protagonists). Rather than keep Penn's volatile emotions on a short leash, Eastwood has opted to let Penn snarl and bark his way through this performance as the grieving father who demands justice at any cost. And while the audience knows that Robbins' character cannot be the missing link to this crime drama, we somehow connect with his inner turmoil. There are no cut-and-dry endings to this tortured tale. What remain from this viewing are only the few loose strings that leave you musing about this human drama and the impact that violence has on our inner-city cultures. This film is definitely a heavy adult drama, and it deserves all of the Oscar recognition that will rightfully obtain. Expand
  13. Alex
    Dec 19, 2003
    2
    There are worse films this year, but none more infuriating and overplayed. The story deteriorates into dreadfulness in the last half hour and suddenly explodes into a series of pathetically delivered monologues and Christ-like poses. Easily the most overrated film of the year; how it has managed to rack in such applause is shocking.
  14. Beth
    Oct 23, 2003
    2
    It's not the subject of the film that is so much tragic as the film itself. In one Razzie-worthy example, Laura Linney's monologue in the end was so hilariously bad, I laughed out loud in the theater, much to the anger of the others around me. I couldn't help it - few films have ever felt so calculated, so false, so unbelievably awful.
  15. MooCowMoo
    Dec 30, 2003
    8
    Superior small film from Clint Eastwood comes as a sort of anti-epic, cowpared to the scope of some of this year's entries(Master and Cowmander, Return of the King). Mystic River is a great film because it is good in all the elements that used to make up great moovies before we were clobbered over the head with lasers from a galaxy far, far away: writing, acting, and direction. The Superior small film from Clint Eastwood comes as a sort of anti-epic, cowpared to the scope of some of this year's entries(Master and Cowmander, Return of the King). Mystic River is a great film because it is good in all the elements that used to make up great moovies before we were clobbered over the head with lasers from a galaxy far, far away: writing, acting, and direction. The story is grounded in the real, projecting a verisimilitude of mood that is hard to shake. No fancy camera tricks, no cgi monsters, just a great story and solid performances by all(esp. by Sean Penn). Tough, gritty, and forboding, let's hope Mystic River get lots of Oscar attention. :=8) Expand
  16. PeytonW.
    Dec 6, 2003
    8
    An excellent movie, that only receives an 8 because of its unfortunately long ending, and some scenes that are repetitive or go on too long. Overall, fine acting and a good movie though.
  17. JJ
    Nov 18, 2004
    4
    Good acting by Sean Penn and Tim Robbins. Everything else sucks. The storyline leaves too many loose ends. K. Bacon seemed too weak and what contribution did the subplot of the wife calling him on the cell phone add to the movie. This movie certainly doesn't deserve all the kudos it gets.
  18. GarthB.
    Jan 24, 2004
    2
    Where to begin. For starters don't see this horrible film. I don't know what the critics were thinking! This film has more plot holes than swiss cheese. I can't say much about those without giving some of the plot away - but for example, a red haired boy grows up to have black hair and a black haired boy grows up to have reddish hair. Or how about the fact that perhaps the Where to begin. For starters don't see this horrible film. I don't know what the critics were thinking! This film has more plot holes than swiss cheese. I can't say much about those without giving some of the plot away - but for example, a red haired boy grows up to have black hair and a black haired boy grows up to have reddish hair. Or how about the fact that perhaps the actions of the so-called police in this movie are totally unbelievable. Or perhaps that the killer in the end has nothing to do with anything in the movie at all (the way it is told). There are others, take your pick - nuff said. Besides that, the story has been done enough before. The writing is dismal - and at times nonsensical. Clint Eastwood tries to push the symbolism WAY too far to the point that it makes little sense. There are technical flaws too - see if you can find em yourself (or save your money). Worst of all, the ending is weak. This film doesn't get a 0 because Tim Robbins and Sean Penn (though at times a bit too Pacino-ish) do good jobs. Expand
  19. KarlS.
    Feb 12, 2004
    2
    Overwrought, overwritten, overacted, overdirected. It's also pretentious and constantly blaring its inflated sense of importance to the viewer. In the end its pomposity just translates into random speeches and non sequiturs. The plot is one of the most predictable of the year, and yet also manages to have more holes than Swiss cheese. I left the theater with a headache.
  20. MaL.
    Feb 13, 2004
    10
    Pure genius. And the greatest acting in one film in the past decade!
  21. MariahJ.
    Feb 13, 2004
    4
    Tim Robbins turns in a good performance and Sean Penn falls overboard his hamming boat. The book was far better than this patchy, lifeless, self-important adaptation.
  22. Jon
    Feb 15, 2004
    4
    A depressing, disappointing mystery flick. It tries to be important by exploiting social issues such as child abuse, but the overacting made me cringe, and the inflated script (which was lifted striaght out of the book, and badly botched during the attempt) is simply overbearing.
  23. DeloresH.
    Feb 15, 2004
    10
    If there is any justice, this film should win Best Picture come Oscars. It wasn't the best film of the year, but it's the best from the nominated bunch. A lot better than that hyped up franchise with 11 nominations.
  24. GeorgeJ.
    Feb 17, 2004
    3
    Sean Penn scrunches up his face a lot. Female roles are one-dimensional and exist for nothing else than to prop others up. To see real acting, go see Lost in Translation.
  25. [Anonymous]
    Feb 22, 2004
    1
    This movie is NOT an accurate portrayal of Irish working-class Boston, and this is something critical to the story but that is totally overlooked by the reviewers. In its portrayal of working-class Irish Boston, it totally skims over the race issue, which was a HUGE factor in Irish-Catholic identity in the seventies and since. The author of the book is clearly a very biased writer who This movie is NOT an accurate portrayal of Irish working-class Boston, and this is something critical to the story but that is totally overlooked by the reviewers. In its portrayal of working-class Irish Boston, it totally skims over the race issue, which was a HUGE factor in Irish-Catholic identity in the seventies and since. The author of the book is clearly a very biased writer who glamorizes a culture believing itself racially superior to blacks, and ethnically superior to Italians, that is excused for the violence it produced during the Boston school desegregation crisis and against black and Italian Bostonians, in general. This was totally swept under the rug by the movie and the book and should be enough to discredit it. The know-it-all reviewers don't bother doing any research on the factual background of films. Shame on them. Expand
  26. EmineeeT.
    Feb 29, 2004
    1
    I expected a lot from this movie...and was very disappointed. The actors are first rate, but played horrible, emotion-less characters in this movie. The story line left large holes that were never answered. The movie lacked feeling, appeal, and flow. I do not recommend it. Sean Penn should not have won best actor...perhaps Bill Murray???
  27. RyanK.
    Mar 16, 2004
    10
    Best movie of the year. LOTR was good and visually stunning but when you have an endless budget and an entire country at your disposal of course that will be an impressive film. Sean Penn was absolutely brilliant. I thought that his performance was one of the most powerful I have ever seen. Tim Robbins might have even been better in this film. As far as Sean Penn winning best actor it was Best movie of the year. LOTR was good and visually stunning but when you have an endless budget and an entire country at your disposal of course that will be an impressive film. Sean Penn was absolutely brilliant. I thought that his performance was one of the most powerful I have ever seen. Tim Robbins might have even been better in this film. As far as Sean Penn winning best actor it was in the bag. The only other actor that came close this year was Bill Murray and lets face it. All he did was play Bill Murray in the movie. Its like giving Eminem and oscar for playing Eminem in 8 mile. Clint Eastwood's direction was great as well. This movie is on my top 5 of all time easily. Expand
  28. Michael
    Apr 13, 2004
    3
    Laura Linney's closing monologue should be nominated somewhere for the worst monologue ever delivered. So atrocious I laughed out loud in the theater!!!
  29. YoonMinC.
    May 25, 2004
    8
    Eastwood goes strangely mystic in the milieu of working class america. yet, noir was always a kind of pulpy peering into the irrational abyss, beyond the border where rules of conventionality broke down and an occultish set of rules took over. we feel as though drained of usual moral categories and expectations and infused with something alien.
  30. GregT.
    Jun 18, 2004
    8
    This movie was interesting and well acted. I figured out who the killer was half way through the movie but it was interesting nonetheless. I like Sean Penn, Tim Robbins and Kevin Bacon. They are all diligent actors.
  31. PauletteT.
    Jun 27, 2004
    9
    Loved it...rented the DVD... watched it twice...still thinking about it. The only problem with the movie is that it leaves you with many unanswered questions: 1) Was Annabeth as psycho as her father and brothers? Why did Jimmy marry the manipulative, jealous, psycho Annabeth in the first place? What was up with Sean's wife and the recurring issue of being mute or unable to Loved it...rented the DVD... watched it twice...still thinking about it. The only problem with the movie is that it leaves you with many unanswered questions: 1) Was Annabeth as psycho as her father and brothers? Why did Jimmy marry the manipulative, jealous, psycho Annabeth in the first place? What was up with Sean's wife and the recurring issue of being mute or unable to communicate ones feelings? What happens to Jimmy? What happens to Celeste? I could go on...but I still loved the movie and the all around great acting. Expand
  32. DavidC.
    Jul 11, 2004
    9
    I see why this movie has a user average of 5, but the bad ending is greatly overshadowed by the powerful performances of this movie. I loved it! It does leave you with many questions, but it's no reason to give it a low mark.
  33. PepperJ.
    Jul 18, 2004
    9
    One of the best movies I have ever seen. Great acting. Great story. Just great.
  34. LS
    Aug 21, 2004
    3
    The acting was alright at times, but this movie was HORRIBLE! The script was cliched and the movie tried to be deep and thematic with the whole "river" theme, when the river was barely shown or mentioned at all!
  35. TonyB.
    Oct 26, 2005
    10
    This was the best film of the year, one of those all too rare examples of a work that deserves all of the praise bestowed on it. What Clint Eastwood has done here is show once again that understatement will win out over extravagance any time. The film doesn't have a single false note. Brilliantly acted by an ensemble cast who have never given better performances, Mystic River has a This was the best film of the year, one of those all too rare examples of a work that deserves all of the praise bestowed on it. What Clint Eastwood has done here is show once again that understatement will win out over extravagance any time. The film doesn't have a single false note. Brilliantly acted by an ensemble cast who have never given better performances, Mystic River has a deliberate pace that perfectly complements its narrative structure and style. It has been superbly designed, photographed, scored and edited, the result being the full realization of a classical tragic tale. Expand
  36. JackT
    Jan 16, 2007
    10
    I found this film to be one of the most spiritually profound works to come out of the Hollywood studio system in quite some time. Eastwood sorts through the rubble of his characters' lives with an assurance and patience that's reminiscent of his better works. The film has its ciphers (namely Laura Linney's Lady Macbeth) and its fair share of summarizing speeches
  37. AMovieCritic
    Oct 26, 2009
    6
    I'm a bit surprised to see the praise this movie's gotten, to be honest. I remember being furious that Sean Penn beat out Bill Murray for the Oscar that year but after finally seeing the movie I can admit that he did a fantastic job certainly worthy of an Academy Award. But the movie itself I can't understand the praise for. There's plenty of gritty and realistic I'm a bit surprised to see the praise this movie's gotten, to be honest. I remember being furious that Sean Penn beat out Bill Murray for the Oscar that year but after finally seeing the movie I can admit that he did a fantastic job certainly worthy of an Academy Award. But the movie itself I can't understand the praise for. There's plenty of gritty and realistic dialogue here and all of it very well-acted but. Expand
  38. S.Finn
    Dec 12, 2003
    8
    Well made, great acting and a worthy topic.
  39. JoshB.
    Dec 22, 2003
    9
    Obviously the intelligence of a majority of the voters on this movie is not too high, for it to recieve an average rating of 6.7/10. If you want to see a more fair rating, then you should go to IMDB, and see how REAL movie fans have rated this amazing film. Clint Eastwood blows me away with his direction in this film. It is second this year to Peter Jackson's direction in "Return of Obviously the intelligence of a majority of the voters on this movie is not too high, for it to recieve an average rating of 6.7/10. If you want to see a more fair rating, then you should go to IMDB, and see how REAL movie fans have rated this amazing film. Clint Eastwood blows me away with his direction in this film. It is second this year to Peter Jackson's direction in "Return of the King". The acting is top-notch, with Sean Penn and Tim Robbins turning in powerful performances. Overall, this should be nominated for Best Picture at the Oscars this year, but lose out to the outstanding "Return of the King". Direction - 95/100, Writing - 85/100, Acting - 100/100, Overall - 90/100. Expand
  40. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    I have watched this film countless times and I still love it. It has a great story, great acting, and its just an overall great film that I love. This is a must see.
  41. Oct 29, 2010
    8
    Clint Eastwood promises a lot but does not deliver what he would have wanted to.Sean Penn & Tim Robbins steal the show by portraying their well written roles like only they can .Though the film does haunt you ,it leaves a lot of loose ends.That said, one cannot take any credit away from Eastwood who manages to deliver yet another rewarding experience though this is obviously not evenClint Eastwood promises a lot but does not deliver what he would have wanted to.Sean Penn & Tim Robbins steal the show by portraying their well written roles like only they can .Though the film does haunt you ,it leaves a lot of loose ends.That said, one cannot take any credit away from Eastwood who manages to deliver yet another rewarding experience though this is obviously not even anywhere near his best. Expand
  42. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    A mesmerizing experience as MR keeps you glued to your seat with a stimulating adventure, ideal character development, and epic performances. MUST WATCH!
  43. Apr 5, 2012
    9
    Absolutely fantastic! I don't understand why people find it bad! I don't often trust the 'Oscar winner' type of movies, but this movie deserved the award! The actors were all formidable! you couldn't ask for a better cast, because this film has a deluxe- cast! I think some people are usually biased thinking that a big Hollywood movie, is either 'bad' or 'overrated' and, quite frankly, thatAbsolutely fantastic! I don't understand why people find it bad! I don't often trust the 'Oscar winner' type of movies, but this movie deserved the award! The actors were all formidable! you couldn't ask for a better cast, because this film has a deluxe- cast! I think some people are usually biased thinking that a big Hollywood movie, is either 'bad' or 'overrated' and, quite frankly, that type of attitude doesn't help a person to appreciate a movie for what it is. I am sorry but I disagree...Hollywood has good and bad movies, same happens in Europe, Latin America, Asia, Africa, and my dear Australia! so just because this is a USA blockbuster it doesn't mean is a bad movie...and I am not American, but YEAH, I firmly believe this is an excellent movie! Expand
  44. Jan 1, 2013
    8
    Absolutely loved this movie. Well acted, Kept you interested from start to finish, and it was really good. I am suprised that users have rated it so low.
  45. Aug 25, 2014
    9
    Mystic River is haunting in absolutely every way. There isn't a human truth Clint Eastwood does not successfully touch on and move you with. It's thrilling... and certainly an ensemble to be remembered.
  46. Dec 23, 2013
    5
    Mystic river has plenty of good acting but nothing interesting to say. The movies pace is too slow and in the end I felt empty because the film itself is empty; it's devoid of ideas, meaning, and purpose.
  47. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    First off, this is a 9.5 out of 10. Acting is amazing. Mainly Sean Penn and Tim Robbins. Score is good. Story is great. Real thrilling story. I agree a lot with what spadenx, except the ending. It's all right but he kills an innocent man and they just like " oh well". That makes me aggravated. Still a great movie. Overall, this is a great thriller. It'll keep you on guessing. Highly recommended.
  48. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    Sean Penn, Tim Robbins and Kevin Bacon, great actors .
  49. Mar 19, 2014
    8
    This one is tragically beautiful. What this one did really well is instill the dark mood as loss in many different ways acts like a fog that covers the entire film. Overall, the story is really interesting. On the surface, it is simply a crime thriller where they try to find out who did it and what not, but it is also a representation of human suffering and tragedy. In many ways, it showsThis one is tragically beautiful. What this one did really well is instill the dark mood as loss in many different ways acts like a fog that covers the entire film. Overall, the story is really interesting. On the surface, it is simply a crime thriller where they try to find out who did it and what not, but it is also a representation of human suffering and tragedy. In many ways, it shows how these three troubled boys are not unscathed by the things that have happened to them and how all of them have suffered and will suffer profound losses that consume them entirely. I think the script by Brian Helgeland was fantastic and the direction from Clint Eastwood was really good as well. However, the real star is Sean Penn. I thought Tim Robbins and Kevin Bacon were pretty good in their roles here, but Sean Penn stole the entire show. His performance was absolutely marvelous and he really drew you into him, which makes his role in the film all the more believable. It is not surprise that he won for Best Actor.

    In terms of complaints, I see a lot of user reviews calling this one boring and slow, ham-handed, pretentious, and predictable. The only one I can sort of agree with is predictable, though I did not figure it out until the people in the film did (well, part of it, I figured out one part of it early on, but I think we were supposed to). Plus, I do not have a problem with predictability. In addition, this one was anything but boring. It is slow, yes, but it was a perfect showcase of acting and script-driven film. The intensity and sadness of this one were also top-notch and really helped quell any boredom that may set in. As for it being ham-handed or pretentious, no. I honestly do not understand that criticism at all. At no point did I ever find it to be either of those things. It tries to tackle bigger purposes, yes, but that does not mean it is pretentious, especially when it covers it well.
    Expand
  50. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    One of the most powerful American films of the decade, Mystic River is hypnotic and unforgettable.
  51. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Friggin' yes! A mid-tempo and ominous thrill ride, overcast from beginning to end by a shadow of dark things to come. Also, one of the best acting ensembles I've seen. Clint Eastwood is the man, and Mystic River is just another sparkling example.
  52. Jun 30, 2013
    7
    Mystic River is a very good film but is let down by a story-line that appears to be slightly all over the place and a couple of plot-holes (just my opinion). However, it is a solid, powerful movie and hats off to Clint Eastwood. The actors play their characters very well, especially Kevin Bacon, I really like his character. Definitely worthy of a Best Picture Nomination.
  53. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    It's funny, because a lot of times you'll hear people say "I didn't like that movie because I couldn't root for any of the characters." A lot of people feel that way about this film. All of the characters, in their own way, do bad things. Some are worse than others, yes, but there is no one who you want to "win," because this is a movie where no one wins. The ending is terribly sad, andIt's funny, because a lot of times you'll hear people say "I didn't like that movie because I couldn't root for any of the characters." A lot of people feel that way about this film. All of the characters, in their own way, do bad things. Some are worse than others, yes, but there is no one who you want to "win," because this is a movie where no one wins. The ending is terribly sad, and you walk out of the movie so shocked and dismayed at what happened, because even if you don't root for anyone, you still care so deeply about the characters. You still want the best for them, even if you can't root for them, if you can't stand beside them and say "I stand for the same ideals that this person stand for." You want to know who killed Katie, and you don't want it to be Dave, but do you root for Dave to win? Do you root against whoever you think killed Katie? No. This is an incredibly difficult film to watch, and it will not make you smile. It will make your heart sink, and your eyes tear up. It is so very powerful, and delivers such a strong message, it remains impossible not to watch. The acting is phenomenal, and while both Penn and Robbins won Oscars, the show is stolen by Robbins, who turns in one of the best supporting performances I've ever seen (on par with something out of the Godfather). From the opening scene, with those 3 boys playing hockey in the street, until the closing credits, it is relentless. But it is phenomenal. Expand
  54. Dec 2, 2013
    9
    Absolutely massive movie.With the right collaboration.The movie makes another space in the mind to think about misunderstanding. Awesome directing by Clint Eastwood.
  55. May 8, 2014
    8
    Eastwood's Mystic River haunts you for days, it just breaks your heart in half. Sean Penn, Tim Robbins and Kevin Bacon put on career-best performances.
  56. Apr 21, 2015
    8
    Mystic River is an excellent movie based on the novel of the same name. The film is anchored by a strong cast containing some of the best actors of he past 20 years. Sean Penn delivers one of his strongest performances and wins his first Oscar. Really the early 2000'sare the years where Sean Penn could do no wrong. Tim Robbins also shines as a mysterious character who was also worthy of anMystic River is an excellent movie based on the novel of the same name. The film is anchored by a strong cast containing some of the best actors of he past 20 years. Sean Penn delivers one of his strongest performances and wins his first Oscar. Really the early 2000'sare the years where Sean Penn could do no wrong. Tim Robbins also shines as a mysterious character who was also worthy of an Oscar for best supporting actor. It was the first time since 1959 that the winners of Best Actor and Supporting Actor were in the same film. The cast is rounded out by Kevin Bacon, Laurence Fishburne and Marcia Gay Harden. Mystic River is a dark story and a dark film but it could not be displayed any other way. Clint Eastwood who was on the top of his game in the directors chair at this point in his career as well shows that he is a jack of trades in film. Expand
  57. Jan 14, 2015
    10
    Mystic River is a great movie. It's that simple. Great directing by Clint Eastwood, wonderful acting, and overall a fulfilling and haunting story that leaves an impression on you forever.
  58. Feb 18, 2015
    0
    changeling is far better.........,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,..........................................................,,,,,.no moral at all
  59. Apr 17, 2015
    8
    Impressive! I love Sean Penn, he's one of the most incredible actors and directors in hollywood. This movie is like a virus. You have to see it over and over again. Brilliant!
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    75
    This is at bottom a pulp thriller that strains -- sometimes pretentiously, at other times with gutter magnificence -- to reach the level of basic human truths.
  2. 100
    To see strong acting like this is exhilarating. In a time of flashy directors who slice and dice their films in a dizzy editing rhythm, it is important to remember that films can look and listen and attentively sympathize with their characters. Directors grow great by subtracting, not adding, and Eastwood does nothing for show, everything for effect.
  3. Mystic River is classic Eastwood, classic noir. If there is still some doubt about whether this one-time macho star is actually a world-class moviemaker, Mystic River should end the argument for good. One of the best American movies of the year, crisply well-crafted and beautifully acted.