Weinstein Company, The | Release Date: December 18, 2009
4.4
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 233 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
79
Mixed:
50
Negative:
104
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
CharlieparkerJan 16, 2011
Unbelievable trash - Fellini would turn in his grave. Daniel Day Lewis and Kate Hudson will be ashamed of playing in this forever. Judy Dench - totally miscast. Worst musical score I've ever heard. Cheesy, ugly and pathetic. Zero points.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
killdarrenFeb 13, 2010
Question: who thought this was filmmable? What's wrong with Kidman's face, it never moves. This film is misogyny incarnate. Every woman is either a slut or a virgin and there only to kneel to men. Yes it deserves an award for worst Question: who thought this was filmmable? What's wrong with Kidman's face, it never moves. This film is misogyny incarnate. Every woman is either a slut or a virgin and there only to kneel to men. Yes it deserves an award for worst film in recent memory. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JeanRJan 1, 2010
Probably the worst movie that I have seen in many years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
FrankJJan 5, 2010
What was Rob Marshall thinking? Or Daniel Day Lewis for that matter? I walked out of the theater. Give me back my Fellini.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
tjalletJan 10, 2010
Sophia Loren, in her 30 second apperance, talks an almost accent-free English with Daniel Day-Lewis, who in his turn sounds like Sophia Loren used to in her early English-speaking films. That's funny!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AaronSJan 11, 2010
We the people are beyond disappointed with Rob Marshall. Chicago was undeniably a well-acted and well-sung masterpiece. And Nine was the exact opposite- a complete, uncomfortable and utter disaster.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GloriaJan 11, 2010
A lame, lame film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BaltazarHJan 16, 2010
The "Italian" acting in my opinion was kind of in the middle for me...either you exaggerate the funny Italian accent or you do it for real. None of the songs were very interesting at all. I don't understand how a movie with so many top The "Italian" acting in my opinion was kind of in the middle for me...either you exaggerate the funny Italian accent or you do it for real. None of the songs were very interesting at all. I don't understand how a movie with so many top actors wasn't entertaining to me at all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GaryD.Jan 19, 2010
A nightmare of timing with a staggering start leading to a collapse in the middle with an inadequate finish. The music poorly contrived. Though the costumes were beautiful the movie failed to capitalize on the period. Kate Hudson and Fergie A nightmare of timing with a staggering start leading to a collapse in the middle with an inadequate finish. The music poorly contrived. Though the costumes were beautiful the movie failed to capitalize on the period. Kate Hudson and Fergie had the best numbers and the best choreography. Daniel Day Lewis had the worst. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MattAJan 2, 2010
I want 2 hours of my life back. This movie will go down as the worst movie of 2009/10. Don't waste your money or time. The trailer makes this movie look better than it was. Gweedo Gweedo Gweedo
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AgnesJan 3, 2010
One of the worst movies I ever saw. Totally disjointed. Avoid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MarkIDec 26, 2009
I didn't like Marshall's new musical. I enjoyed 'Chicago' a lot, but 'Nine' is not a good film. I just liked Penelope Cruz's performance. She's a goddess, a great actress.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
FantasyDec 30, 2009
Shoot Me Now. Possibly the most boring movie I ever saw. Run!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MiaJan 11, 2010
A mess of emotionless overproduction, wretched songs, terrible acting and disorganized writing. Easily the worst film of 2009.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
NintendoJan 11, 2010
John Lennon once said, "There's a great woman behind every idiot." This time, I'm counting seven of them.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
FredJan 11, 2010
The golden globes, by nominating Nine for Best Picture and 4 other awards, have lost all credibility. Todd McCarthy's review for Variety lost him all credibility. Anyone with a brain for criticism and honesty knows this movie is The golden globes, by nominating Nine for Best Picture and 4 other awards, have lost all credibility. Todd McCarthy's review for Variety lost him all credibility. Anyone with a brain for criticism and honesty knows this movie is horrendous. Laughable until it's not funny anymore. Laughable until its time to leave the theater. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
FilipeMJan 13, 2010
Good performances, but it reminded me of Thurdays nights, because I was like completely LOST. =P
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ChrisR.Jan 22, 2010
The cast gave it their all, but this movie is completely devoid of any point of connection or relatability for the audience. It is impossible to care about any of these characters, no matter the skill of the actors portraying them(Cottilard The cast gave it their all, but this movie is completely devoid of any point of connection or relatability for the audience. It is impossible to care about any of these characters, no matter the skill of the actors portraying them(Cottilard is possibly the only exception). You can't even sit back and enjoy the dance numbers because the choreography is lost among the editing and the tunes are just dirge. Terrible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MichaelBJan 26, 2010
Emotionless crap. Pretentious and avant garde for the sake of it. Lacks a good story line and substance. The songs feature awful lyricism. It's a dud. Worst film i've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KennethS.Feb 15, 2010
Absolutely the worst freaking junk of 2009. The lyrics to the tiring, boring, exhausting, and blaring songs were absolutely emotionless and meandering. The plot goes nowhere, and there's no central theme. Daniel-Day Lewis and Nicole Absolutely the worst freaking junk of 2009. The lyrics to the tiring, boring, exhausting, and blaring songs were absolutely emotionless and meandering. The plot goes nowhere, and there's no central theme. Daniel-Day Lewis and Nicole Kidman and Sophia Loren and Judie Dench are all fine, accomplished actors but are truly horrible in this film, doing absolutely nothing but standing around, smoking, and singing. The costumes were flat and not spectacular at all, and overall, this "musical" was nothing but nothing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
HappyDec 31, 2009
I would rather have bamboo splints stuck under my fingernails then be subjected to this mess. This is awful as nothing works. Not a memorable song or dance routine in the entire movie. And Judy Dench singing please! Every song is BAD!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AndresB.Dec 30, 2009
This movie had no plot whatsoever. The songs didn't add anything to the story, it was a repetition of what we already knew about the characters. This is probably one of the worst movies I have seen this year. What a waste of time and money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AntonTDec 31, 2009
Stunningly bad. How could so many people with so much collective tallent produce something so worthless? Vapid lyrics, mediocre choreography, innane story. This movie comes at you until you can no longer stand it. Like watching a Slasher Stunningly bad. How could so many people with so much collective tallent produce something so worthless? Vapid lyrics, mediocre choreography, innane story. This movie comes at you until you can no longer stand it. Like watching a Slasher film--how will this next starlet's appeal be killed, you wonder as each breaks into innane son. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BahHumbugDec 19, 2009
Fellini is going to rise from his grave and kill those responsible for this steaming pile.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AllenFDec 25, 2009
This film is nearly a complete failure. Difficult to watch, boring through most of its length, except for Cotillard's early scenes. The musical numbers are superfluous and totally unnecessary to the storytelling. A sad, alienating This film is nearly a complete failure. Difficult to watch, boring through most of its length, except for Cotillard's early scenes. The musical numbers are superfluous and totally unnecessary to the storytelling. A sad, alienating failure and a big step backward for the movie musical genre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RipsiKDec 26, 2009
We were very disappointed. None of the songs were interesting or catchy, and there wasn't a storyline or plot - very chaotic. We sat through the entire thing hoping that something was going to happen that would help justify the money We were very disappointed. None of the songs were interesting or catchy, and there wasn't a storyline or plot - very chaotic. We sat through the entire thing hoping that something was going to happen that would help justify the money that we spent but were left wishing we had seen Avatar again instead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MojitoKDec 26, 2009
Visually artistic but that is where the good points end. This movie was terrible, boring, and disappointing. I was hoping for an entertaining musical like Chicago or Moulin Rouge, but got a two hour snooze-fest without a cohesive storyline Visually artistic but that is where the good points end. This movie was terrible, boring, and disappointing. I was hoping for an entertaining musical like Chicago or Moulin Rouge, but got a two hour snooze-fest without a cohesive storyline or catchy tune. Save your money! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DeanUDec 26, 2009
Very loosely based on the award-winning stage play but misses the growth the play showed. Good acting but only two numbers (Fergie & Kate Hudson) are up to Rob Marshall's standards. The rest are lame at best. Has all the charm of Very loosely based on the award-winning stage play but misses the growth the play showed. Good acting but only two numbers (Fergie & Kate Hudson) are up to Rob Marshall's standards. The rest are lame at best. Has all the charm of cardboard. The trailer should win the Oscar for best performance not depicting the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
VirginaDec 31, 2009
You know what made Seinfeld great? It was a show about nothing that was fantasically funny. Nine is a movie about nothing that is neither funny, interesting, and offers nothing to the arts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
istanbulJul 14, 2011
I wish I could have graded 2 and 1/8ths because "nine" the movie is exactly that, the original 8 1/2 turned into a musical, then turned into a movie again, losing half of its potency with every transformation. too bad that marion cotillard'sI wish I could have graded 2 and 1/8ths because "nine" the movie is exactly that, the original 8 1/2 turned into a musical, then turned into a movie again, losing half of its potency with every transformation. too bad that marion cotillard's elegance is wasted on "nine". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
LillyIMar 23, 2011
This movie was an insult to musical theatre. I honestly think it was the worst movie I have ever seen. I could hardly sit through it. Of all the musicals to turn into a movie, this was not the one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
alleyt1989Jun 5, 2011
This movie was very poor. There was very little story development and half the time you couldn't even tell what was going on. Marion Cotillard and Judi Dench stood out in terms of her acting, but the needless overuse of risque poses reallyThis movie was very poor. There was very little story development and half the time you couldn't even tell what was going on. Marion Cotillard and Judi Dench stood out in terms of her acting, but the needless overuse of risque poses really let this one down. I really did not enjoy this and was spending a lot of the movie hoping for it to end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews