User Score
4.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 223 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 223
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 24, 2012
    10
    Rob Marshall proves here that he still having the talent that made Chicago a Best picture winning,it has strong performances from Daniel Day Lewis and Marion Cotillard and dazzling musical sequences.
  2. EggyG
    Jan 28, 2010
    9
    This movie depends heavily on Guido Contini character...and Daniel Day Lewis delivered in stunning & stylish way...watching his acting was half the fun of this movie...quit amazing. The actresses, music, cinematography is also above average...enough to gives Nine a 9.
  3. EmilyH
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    Have Being in the Production on Stage i happen to know alot a bout the scrpit and the story behind it. Rob Marshall has showed us the fun of "Getting Away With Murder" and now he shows us the life and adventure of "Cinema Italiano" which in alot of our "American" cases don't understand or want to understand. But Rob Marshall showed us the truth in this film about Italian life and Have Being in the Production on Stage i happen to know alot a bout the scrpit and the story behind it. Rob Marshall has showed us the fun of "Getting Away With Murder" and now he shows us the life and adventure of "Cinema Italiano" which in alot of our "American" cases don't understand or want to understand. But Rob Marshall showed us the truth in this film about Italian life and Federico Fellini. I'm only 17 years old and i understood the movie more then half of the older and younger audience. Most people left because they thought it was boring and didnt understand and they wanted a movie with a love and a fun story line and that's not what they got. They got a true and amazing story about a man. i Thought it was liberating and really brought justice to the stage production and to Federico Fellini himself. And for who ever said this movie brought nothing to the arts i'm sorry to tell you that you are sadly mistaken and that it brought more to the arts then any movie or film i have ever come across. It brought true honesty to a man and his "Being Italian" and if you don't call that art then you don't know the true meaning of art and you can not call yourself an artist. Expand
  4. BrainR.
    Jan 31, 2010
    10
    I'm really surprised that a lot of critics didn't like this film at all! This movie is WAY better than "Chicago", ever can. The songs are wonderful, the cast is amazing, everything is! I really recommend this movie!
  5. MichelH
    Jan 9, 2010
    9
    This musical creatively tells a story about an honored artist's spiritual odyssey. It's a soul's journey of a media frenzied Italian film director, ala Fellini, who has finally met himself in crisis and doesn't like what he has become. He is creatively and ethically bankrupt and must change or perish. At this precipice of his life music, song, dance and beautiful sets This musical creatively tells a story about an honored artist's spiritual odyssey. It's a soul's journey of a media frenzied Italian film director, ala Fellini, who has finally met himself in crisis and doesn't like what he has become. He is creatively and ethically bankrupt and must change or perish. At this precipice of his life music, song, dance and beautiful sets play out the emotions of the characters in such a way as to dramatically feel, almost grok, the depiction of the joys, sadness, mortality and resurrection of the infinite human spirit. It's the most brilliant use of the musical medium of film making since the Phantom. However, the flip side sorely seems to be that this musical is another pearl tossed before the swine of critics enamored with but the pornography of violence or the "Shock the Monkey" type of teenage pandering. So.......? I'm afraid we won't get many more of these wonderful creative gems of spiritual dimension. DAMN! Expand
  6. ralph'sdeadbunny
    Dec 21, 2009
    9
    Great movie! A little weak, but the acting made up for it!
  7. DeanH
    Jan 18, 2010
    9
    Certainly not for everyone, yet "Nine" succeeds in being a gorgeous bridge between "8 1/2" and the stage show "Nine." Stunning cinematography, capable singing, and better editing than Marshall's "Chicago," "Nine" is a 9. Fans of gunfire, gratuitous sex, CGI, and The Real World should stay far, far away.
  8. LindaM
    Jan 2, 2010
    9
    Beautiful people, costumes, sets and artful music telling the engaging story of a tormented film director trying to bring honesty to his work and life.
  9. Seth
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    I have to say I'm shocked by the negative reviews this movie got. Many people claiming it to be the worst of 09. Shocking. Personally one of, if not my favourite movie of 2009 and but it looks like those of us who enjoyed it are very short in number meaning unfortunately a lot of people won't even give it a chance. If you have ever experienced creative blocks and love the I have to say I'm shocked by the negative reviews this movie got. Many people claiming it to be the worst of 09. Shocking. Personally one of, if not my favourite movie of 2009 and but it looks like those of us who enjoyed it are very short in number meaning unfortunately a lot of people won't even give it a chance. If you have ever experienced creative blocks and love the Italian culture from the 60s then you can't help but enjoy this movie. It looks fantastic, all the stars put in great performances and unlike what others have said, has some great and memorable songs. I can't say I was a massive fan of Chicago and didn't really enjoy Moulin Rouge, but for me, this movie was incredible. Do yourself a favour and watch it and make up your own mind. You might be surprised. Expand
  10. JasonL.
    Jan 17, 2010
    10
    This musical is downright perfect in every direction it goes. The songs, actors, everything is perfect in this wonderful movie by Rob Marshall.
  11. CJ
    Dec 22, 2009
    10
    Excellent film! A little chaotic, but so was 8 1/2.
  12. musicallover
    Dec 22, 2009
    10
    Fun, energetic, great time at a theatre.
  13. LindaC
    Dec 27, 2009
    10
    The spirit of William
  14. LonellF
    Dec 22, 2009
    10
    This movie is quite simply a masterpiece. Rob Marshall has bettered himself since Chicago and made a dark, quirky, emotionally rich work of art. Beyond the visuals is a real heart and a thoughtful examination of crises, relationships, the creative process and being creatively and emotionally stymied. All of the performances are pitch-perfect. Magnificent!!!!!!!!!!!
  15. Jan 24, 2013
    10
    Academy Award nominated for Best Supporting Actress I resent the fact that this movie would have negative reviews from fans.
  16. Dec 4, 2013
    10
    The saving grace is Dion Beebe's beautiful cinematography, Cotillard, Cruz and a superb ending that is delicately delivered and adds an excellent final touch tying up loose ends and book-ending the feature with its opening number, which will most likely be confusing for those that aren't familiar with Fellini's original film. Everything said, I'm interested in seeing it again. I am leavingThe saving grace is Dion Beebe's beautiful cinematography, Cotillard, Cruz and a superb ending that is delicately delivered and adds an excellent final touch tying up loose ends and book-ending the feature with its opening number, which will most likely be confusing for those that aren't familiar with Fellini's original film. Everything said, I'm interested in seeing it again. I am leaving room for this one to grow on me. Expand
  17. Feb 5, 2014
    9
    For me was a very good movie, if you enjoy movies and musicals, this is for you. The cinematography was excellent. Kidman, Dench, Cruz, Cotillard, Fergie, HUdson look very nice in the movie. you must to see it.
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 33
  2. Negative: 6 out of 33
  1. The numbers, while lively, remain cluttered and stage-bound. The women, however, are spirited and sexy.
  2. The disappointments here are many, from a starry cast the film ill-uses to flat musical numbers that never fully integrate into the dramatic story. The only easy prediction is that Nine is not going to revive the slumbering musical-film genre.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    80
    Sophisticated, sexy and stylishly decked out, Rob Marshall's disciplined, tightly focused film impresses and amuses.