No Country for Old Men

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1411 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. TomB.
    Feb 20, 2008
    10
    Awesome film, a great re-visit of the Coens first naive masterpiece (Blood Simple) combined with all their work since. The scenery and cinematography are magnificent, and the character development is pitch-perfect. Thosee characters that demand development get it, and those that must remain a mystery are haunting. I did not read the book so I have no idea what the story was "supposed" to Awesome film, a great re-visit of the Coens first naive masterpiece (Blood Simple) combined with all their work since. The scenery and cinematography are magnificent, and the character development is pitch-perfect. Thosee characters that demand development get it, and those that must remain a mystery are haunting. I did not read the book so I have no idea what the story was "supposed" to be, but the screenplay stands by itself as a complex, absorbing, mysterious, and ultimately satisfying tale. Not satisfying in the sense that all the circles were closed, by any means, by satisfying in that it made you think and enjoy doing your thinking. The actors' performances were spot on, and everything techincal about the movie was near-perfect. Expand
  2. NebojsaN.
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    Reading the reviews, there seems to be a clear divide between those who require their movie experience to be one where they can turn off their brains, go on autopilot and be spoonfed a neat little predictable package, and those who are bored by this approach and instead appreciate something with more depth and theme. The poor reviews, almost without exception, complain about gratuitous Reading the reviews, there seems to be a clear divide between those who require their movie experience to be one where they can turn off their brains, go on autopilot and be spoonfed a neat little predictable package, and those who are bored by this approach and instead appreciate something with more depth and theme. The poor reviews, almost without exception, complain about gratuitous violence, the early demise of the protagonist and especially the ending, which they perceive as a non-ending. In my opinion, the ending was perfect and brought home the whole point of the movie. Any other "neat" ending that some folks seem to crave would have made this a completely different kind of movie - a movie of cheap, gratuitous violence - and I'm sure they would have loved it. Basically, if you need everything spelled out for you in obvious, simplistic terms - you will hate this movie. Most everyone else will love it. Expand
  3. JasonJ
    Apr 8, 2008
    10
    The review from the Onion gets it right in its tag-line above: ''NCFOM reminds us that civilization is the aberration'; ugliness and evil are the norm in our world. That said: What if the film had a conventional ending, a shootout between Brolin and Chigurgh; and one of them got the money-- or perhaps neither of them? The film would likely have resolved with a formulaicThe review from the Onion gets it right in its tag-line above: ''NCFOM reminds us that civilization is the aberration'; ugliness and evil are the norm in our world. That said: What if the film had a conventional ending, a shootout between Brolin and Chigurgh; and one of them got the money-- or perhaps neither of them? The film would likely have resolved with a formulaic 'what is good?, what is evi? 'motif, probably thinking enough for most filmgoers. But that doesn't happen, and we are left with something much more difficult (or impossible) to digest. Jones will endure, like his father leading the way through the cold mountain pass, bearing the struggling, sputtering light into the unknown, into nothingness. And when our time comes, like Brolin's does (and Jones's will soon), none of us will see it coming. And the result? The world, with its default setting for ugliness, will continue to turn, unconcerned with us, or with our notions of good or evil and our struggles to define or contain either. And that's the message-- and it's bleak, no doubt. The film's draw for critics and other thinkers is this message, however; and it is precisely because it is far more sophisticated than a freshman philosophy resolution that would have left us questioning the nature of good and evil;or, heaven forbid, an ending that would have entailed the death of Chigurgh, the credits rolling on a final shot of a millionaire Brolin and his wife sipping Margaritas on a Mexican beach. The film's message is indeed nihilist, perhaps beyond nihilist; and it's great in the way that Macbeth is great, and for many of the same reasons. Expand
  4. TonyB.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Great film. Acting was incredible the story line was superb. I hate people commenting on the ending, the ending was extremly well done, it was how the story was supposed to end.
  5. ChristosM
    Sep 4, 2009
    10
    There's a fragile allegory lurking behind the scenes of this so called,alternative western and it's that of a human world loosing it's humanity,drifting away from values and ideals,surrendering to the fascinating corruption of money,violence and lust of power.In this pitch-dark universe of vulgarity,killers like Anton Chigurh rule supreme and the few humane existences There's a fragile allegory lurking behind the scenes of this so called,alternative western and it's that of a human world loosing it's humanity,drifting away from values and ideals,surrendering to the fascinating corruption of money,violence and lust of power.In this pitch-dark universe of vulgarity,killers like Anton Chigurh rule supreme and the few humane existences left,like Sheriff Llewelyn Moss,struggle to proove humanity's evil urges are not native and spontaneous,though facts tend to proove them wrong.Hollywood endings have no space in such films! Expand
  6. DevinN.
    Dec 2, 2007
    10
    Isn't it great that when people complain about this movie, it usually involves disdain at how well its rated? Excellent theme, excellent execution, brilliant film.
  7. AndrewJohnmeyer
    Dec 7, 2007
    10
    Unsatisfactory resolution? Unclear plot and character motivations? Only if you are incapable of thinking for yourself. This is not a movie that everyone will like (obviously) but it is a fantastic movie for those who are willing to think about what they've just seen. One of the strongest points of this film is the sound/music editing, notably the strong role of silence in Unsatisfactory resolution? Unclear plot and character motivations? Only if you are incapable of thinking for yourself. This is not a movie that everyone will like (obviously) but it is a fantastic movie for those who are willing to think about what they've just seen. One of the strongest points of this film is the sound/music editing, notably the strong role of silence in sound//music editing in the film. In the absence of the usual barrage of sound, every click, scuff, and shuffle take on an unrivaled immediacy. Expand
  8. CoreyH.
    Jan 12, 2008
    10
    Umm... haven't seen it. I would, however, like to point out, that your prediction was completely wrong, M G. The film did exceptionally well at the box-office. Just because you didn't like it, don't assume that other people, who actually think when they watch a movie, won't.
  9. KH.
    Feb 10, 2008
    9
    The story works at a few levels and some folks were only looking at the basic plot and hence disliked the compressed narrative near the end. Some stories concern themselves with more than just the relating of plot. This movie is one of the more complicated movies. If you're looking for shooting action with a bad guy and a hero, you'll be disappointed and give this movie a low score.
  10. LindaS
    Feb 16, 2008
    10
    My heart was in my throat from the very beginning of this movie and stayed there til the end. This was a definite Coen Bros. movie and possibly their best one yet. The fear that Bardem projected through the entire movie was so gripping that it needs to be seen twice - the monologues of Tommy Lee Jones (Sheriff Bell) were priceless - gave you the feeling that he was making them up trying My heart was in my throat from the very beginning of this movie and stayed there til the end. This was a definite Coen Bros. movie and possibly their best one yet. The fear that Bardem projected through the entire movie was so gripping that it needs to be seen twice - the monologues of Tommy Lee Jones (Sheriff Bell) were priceless - gave you the feeling that he was making them up trying to escape the overwhelming situation that was happening and he was helpless to correct it. Expand
  11. TylerC.
    Feb 6, 2008
    10
    The Coen Brother's second perfect film. Acting, direction, cinematography, all exact.
  12. JoyceC.
    Mar 2, 2008
    9
    After reading most of the reviews given here, people start yapping about how crappy the ending was. Well, from my opinion, I thought the ending was neat. I overhear people walking out of the theatre saying, "where did the oscars come from.." or "that ending was awful." Well what did you expect, for Ed Tom Bell to catch Chigurh and arrest him and happily ever after. The ending of the film After reading most of the reviews given here, people start yapping about how crappy the ending was. Well, from my opinion, I thought the ending was neat. I overhear people walking out of the theatre saying, "where did the oscars come from.." or "that ending was awful." Well what did you expect, for Ed Tom Bell to catch Chigurh and arrest him and happily ever after. The ending of the film would basically end how it would in real life because people have to realize that the bad guy doesn't always win. And it was kind of strange, but people who hated the ending won't shutup about the fact that the film didn't turn out how you expected. Well, the Coen brothers surprise us with a weird ending. Do you think that the movie should've been neatly wrapped up with an expected ending? Apparently no, the Coen brothers ended it how it would in real life which was kind of cool from my point of view. I thought No Country was a very good movie with suspenseful moments and an exciting premice. It's neat how the title fits in with the story how its no country for old men. Though in the end, you actually cared about the characters and overall, No Country for Old Men was definitely worth my day. Expand
  13. Leibniz
    Mar 30, 2008
    7
    A real thriller. The actors and the director did a great job. Why a 7? The ending was like "Let Anton Chigurh decide what happens next".
  14. KL
    Mar 7, 2008
    7
    Not a bad film, and since the film seems to be a faithful adaption of the novel then the actual ending couldn't change. It is a subtle ending which, to some that might have got gripped by the Chigurh Vs Moss scenes may have got lost on, the film's opening lines spoken by Sherriff Tom Bell are crucial, but I can reasonable imagine that after 2 and a half hours most viewers would Not a bad film, and since the film seems to be a faithful adaption of the novel then the actual ending couldn't change. It is a subtle ending which, to some that might have got gripped by the Chigurh Vs Moss scenes may have got lost on, the film's opening lines spoken by Sherriff Tom Bell are crucial, but I can reasonable imagine that after 2 and a half hours most viewers would be a pains to remember what was said! That aside the film was well made but not quite the perfect film that some here have held it up to be. There are a few plot holds and scenes which didn't make much sence and wouldn't really happen in reality although this could be a critism of the writer of the original novel. Spoilers: Why did Moss go back with water to the injured man in the truck? Assuming that he did manage to survive after Moss left him, water alone wouldn't save the man. When the Chigurh come calling on Moss, why did Moss, a man that goes hunting not take some sort of cover or different position rather than sit squarely oin the bed so that Chigurh wouldn't be able to get a clean shot off first? Woody Haroldson's character also seemed to be rather pointless. Moss's off screen demise was truely anticlimatic having followed the guy's trials for much of the movie. Was this decision to do Moss death offscreen just done in that manner just to be different and suprising... perhaps but it still was very anticlimatical all the same. In conclusion No Country For Old Men was good but could have been better. Expand
  15. FlorianW.
    Mar 8, 2008
    10
    A stunning piece of cinema, personally, I think it's one of the best movies of the decade. The superb acting, to the minimalist, yet deep narrative that forced you to watch it mindfully and last but not least the immense amount of symbolism and deeper meaning elevate it to heights I thought unreachable for today's mainstream cinema. The ending was superb, it got my mind racing, A stunning piece of cinema, personally, I think it's one of the best movies of the decade. The superb acting, to the minimalist, yet deep narrative that forced you to watch it mindfully and last but not least the immense amount of symbolism and deeper meaning elevate it to heights I thought unreachable for today's mainstream cinema. The ending was superb, it got my mind racing, even if most questions were answered more or less. The final 20 minutes were far from boring either, the insights into Chigurh's fatalistic mindset, establishing his role as a quasi-angel-of-vengeance as well as the role of greed in the movie thrilled me. Highly recommended, even if I can't guarantee you'll like it - but that's how it is with art, it is discourse put into form. Where entertainment tries to please the masses, art seeks to challenge the mind. Expand
  16. Jennifer
    Apr 4, 2008
    10
    Could the guy with the lady do who only spoke what seemed to be five lines in the entire movie be any creepier! Although he didn't say much his presence in the movie was strong. Normally not the type of movie I would pick up but I am so glad I did. Make sure you see this movie. Yeah the movie feels like some things are left out or skipped but that is the style of this movie. Could the guy with the lady do who only spoke what seemed to be five lines in the entire movie be any creepier! Although he didn't say much his presence in the movie was strong. Normally not the type of movie I would pick up but I am so glad I did. Make sure you see this movie. Yeah the movie feels like some things are left out or skipped but that is the style of this movie. Don't score it down because everything isn't spelled out for you. I loved it. Best movie I have seen in a while. Expand
  17. ViolettaK.
    Apr 7, 2008
    7
    The only movie I've seen that really lets the viewer know what living in Texas is like. No one speaks English, the best you will get out of an average person is something close to Pidgin, Woody's character on Cheers is smarter than the local sheriff, there are guns always going off, every old person you meet thinks a hispanic in a suit is strange and there is at least one Anton The only movie I've seen that really lets the viewer know what living in Texas is like. No one speaks English, the best you will get out of an average person is something close to Pidgin, Woody's character on Cheers is smarter than the local sheriff, there are guns always going off, every old person you meet thinks a hispanic in a suit is strange and there is at least one Anton Chigurh in every county. Very realistic! Expand
  18. JoeM.
    Apr 7, 2008
    9
    Lean and mean, along with The Assassination of Jesse James my favourite film of last year. Both lensed by Roger Deakins coincidentally - or not, as his lonesome vistas and cool washes of colour add terrific intensity to both stories.
  19. RoryP.
    May 30, 2008
    8
    Good. Excellent production values, steeped in a style that never grates. The film produces some very tense scenes. I would NOT call it A MASTERPIECE however. Despite all the off beat flourishes, it never manages to transcend its thriller origins and become something truly moving and inspirational. It does seem to try, however, especially with the last few scenes, but can't escape the Good. Excellent production values, steeped in a style that never grates. The film produces some very tense scenes. I would NOT call it A MASTERPIECE however. Despite all the off beat flourishes, it never manages to transcend its thriller origins and become something truly moving and inspirational. It does seem to try, however, especially with the last few scenes, but can't escape the trademark 'Coen bag of tricks,' and the typically stylized reality such tricks create. The ENDING had a few interesting and brave ideas, although I wouldn't give them the credit that some die hard fans are giving them here. I do not give them the credit, mainly because, SOME of the IDEA'S simply DON'T WORK when put on the big screen. Well, in context anyway. For example ---SPOILER ALERT--- Tommy Lee Jones speech at the end is nicely written and delivered, but is simply too low key to register, given all the style and excitement that has come before it. It feels like an ending to a different film. Josh Brolin's sudden departure did not sit well with me either. If the REST of the film was a bit more daring/experimental with its conceptions of genre and representation (perhaps even deconstructing it a bit instead of piling on the homage), I could have accepted his absence. Again, unfortunately, what preceded it is not that kind of film. From the beginning its grounded in bog standard thriller elements, and to take the protagonist out of that so suddenly, after such a bond has been created with the audience, well, honestly its just plain rude to the viewer. We do not see him go, we do not get closure. Such daring ideas come too late, they leave you jarred, not moved. Expand
  20. KevinE.
    Jun 5, 2008
    9
    inspiring, top movie I was glued to the screen wanting the main character to survive and ride off with the $$$.
  21. SteveD.
    Jan 4, 2009
    9
    Great film, most enjoyable movie I've watched all year.
  22. Mack
    Jan 6, 2009
    7
    This movie was well made and was one of a very few movies that really knows how to build suspense and tension through quiet. Unfortunately, it is certainly not one of the all time great movies. It's basically the Terminator when you come down to it.
  23. KevinL.
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    Best American movie of the year, no doubt. Great contribution to the Western genre. NOT a Coen "black comedy," though, so I wish some critics would start reading it for the tragic contemplation about evil that it was written and directed to be.
  24. DanB.
    Nov 12, 2007
    9
    Fantastic film on all levels. However the only reason I am voting is to let DWilly know that the film takes play in 1980. Therefore the lead character would have been in Vietnam just at the right time. Pay a little more attention next time. Coens, out!
  25. ChrisK.
    Nov 10, 2007
    10
    Ridiculously good. 'No Country' will get under your skin and stay there; the Coen brothers' best since "Fargo."
  26. OgdenJ.
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    Great filmmaking loved the philosophical musings at the end by the sheriff exceeds whatever genre expectations
  27. DK
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Brilliant. One of the best films this year. Barden will lead a slew of Academy Award nominations.
  28. ChadS.
    Dec 1, 2007
    8
    The Coen Brothers get serious. With "No Country for Old Men", Joel and Ethan Coen answer critics' charges that they favor style over substance. The stylized(read: witty) dialogue is still there, but this time, the regional characters seem less like unwitting punchlines for urbanites to laugh at. When a deputy laughs, then checks himself, after the sheriff(Tommy Lee Jones) makes a The Coen Brothers get serious. With "No Country for Old Men", Joel and Ethan Coen answer critics' charges that they favor style over substance. The stylized(read: witty) dialogue is still there, but this time, the regional characters seem less like unwitting punchlines for urbanites to laugh at. When a deputy laughs, then checks himself, after the sheriff(Tommy Lee Jones) makes a pithy comment about a newspaper article, there's the unmistakable feel that the Coen Brothers are performing a mea culpa, an admission of self-awareness that they do sometimes treat rural folks a bit unfairly. Make no mistake: "No Country for Old Men" is not "O Brother Where Art Thou". Although Jones has occasional fits of long-windedness that stops the film cold in its tracks, "No Country for Old Men" is mostly engrossing, droll(not ha-ha funny) and bloody. Expand
  29. JackP.
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    "No Country for Old Men" is a masterpiece. It is the Coen brothers' best movie, and it only gets better with repeated viewings.
  30. PaulK.
    Dec 2, 2007
    7
    The user rating tells the real story about this movie. While it has it's moments, and Javier Bardem is nothing short of brilliant, the third act falls flat on it's face. I didn't read the book, but I have to wonder how faithful the screenplay was?
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
  1. It’s a near masterpiece.
  2. 100
    Joel and Ethan Coen's adaptation of Cormac McCarthy's 2005 novel is an indisputably great movie, at this point the year's very best.
  3. 90
    It's the most ambitious and impressive Coen film in at least a decade, featuring the flat, sun-blasted landscapes of west Texas -- spectacularly shot by cinematographer Roger Deakins -- and an eerily memorable performance by Javier Bardem, in a Ringo Starr haircut.