Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 273 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 41
  2. Negative: 3 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Feb 27, 2014
    83
    Once you accept that he (Neeson) has the badge and gun, you’re in for an exciting trip.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Feb 27, 2014
    75
    The movie's fun. And now, thanks to our annual Neeson thriller, spring can come soon.
  3. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Feb 27, 2014
    70
    Non-Stop doesn’t make any sense, but that’s expected, uninteresting and incidental to the pleasures of a slow-season Liam Neeson release as diverting as this one.
  4. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Feb 26, 2014
    60
    Even in the movie’s most ridiculous moments, Collet-Serra keeps the pacing brisk and knows how to divert our attention with a well-timed bit of comic relief.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Feb 28, 2014
    60
    It keeps you guessing, it keeps the tension ratcheted up, and it offers a dose of breathless -- if sometimes brainless -- suspense.
  6. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Feb 27, 2014
    50
    Thanks to him (Neeson), I not only enjoyed Non-Stop, but I'd watch it again. Particularly on a plane.
  7. Reviewed by: Nick de Semlyen
    Feb 24, 2014
    20
    Non-Stop is weak sauce, a cheapie snoozer that not even heavyweights like Neeson and Moore can save.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 87
  2. Negative: 9 out of 87
  1. Mar 2, 2014
    10
    non stop is worth seeing . it has everything someone wants in a movie. liam neeson is great so is julliane moore . and the others . take your family to see it Collapse
  2. Apr 8, 2014
    9
    I have seen all of Liam Neeson's movies, and this one is as good as the others. This was so cleverly made and I couldn't take my eyes from the screen. I would recommend this to anyone that likes working out puzzles or thrillers. Expand
  3. Jul 9, 2014
    8
    Despite some plot inconsistencies and conveniences the movie succeeds thanks to some actual tension and the always enjoyable Liam Neeson. Watching him trying to piece together exactly what is going on is quite entertaining thanks to some novel ideas and the fact that it leaves you constantly guessing at what's going on. It's one heck of a flight and Neeson and the rest of the cast keep things tight. Overall I give it an 8.8/10 and recommend you check this one out. Expand
  4. Mar 7, 2014
    7
    I like the beginning of the movie which creates lots of mystery and thrilling scene. However, as it approaches the end of movie, revealing who the antagonists are, I found it too straight forward and plain. I was looking for something more surprising and a similar ending to Inception where it gives audience space to think what actually happened. Overall, the whole idea of the movie is great but not enough to become an Oscars candidate. Expand
  5. Jun 14, 2014
    7
    Just a flat out fun movie that lacks all plausibility but in the end who cares. The film is well acted and even with the ridiculousness it's never boring. B+ Expand
  6. Apr 19, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Modern day action man Liam Neeson is back in Non-Stop, a fairly generic mystery thriller set almost entirely aboard a transatlantic flight from New York to London where Neeson must root out a terrorist who has vowed to kill a passenger every twenty minutes until his demands are met.

    Even if the plot is a little contrived, it does have unexpected twists and turns; including the methods through which the killer carries out his murders. There is plenty of suspense, and Neeson bring his natural gravitas to the role.

    It may seem grandiose to apply such analysis to an obvious B-movie such as this, but there’s something elegant in its adherence to the classical unities of drama, which are rarely explored in mainstream works. Indeed, the film is almost set in real time, each twenty minute increment of the film roughly corresponding to each twenty minute ultimatum given by the antagonist.

    The initial sequence in the airport is an engaging opening; a collage of disorientating images which emphasise the disconnection Neeson’s character feels from the world around him. Once aboard the aircraft, we are treated to a less subtle series of shots introducing us to the motley crew of passengers, who invite suspicion with their mysterious aside glances. You can tell already that these characters will later become the major suspects in the investigation.

    Neeson’s as forlorn and enigmatic as ever, though his character is unlikely: a jaded alcoholic US Air Marshal who’s terrified of flying, when he really needs all his wits about him. In contrast to other films which cast him as an American with no explanation, Non-Stop takes a rare opportunity to justify his Northern Irish accent by listing his birthplace as Belfast, and even making a small plot point out of the revelation.

    Indeed, despite the very American themes which ultimately come to define the picture, this is an inspiringly international affair. It was produced primarily as a French-American collaboration, but helmed by Juame Collet-Serra the Spanish director of Neeson’s previous action outing, the Berlin-set Unknown (2011). In addition to the Northern Irish leading man, there’s a British vein running throughout by virtue of the plane itself being a British staffed flight to London, providing the chance to cast some UK talent as well as some Americans feigning over the top faux accents.

    When he’s not working furiously against the clock, Neeson’s character humanised with a few compulsive characteristics: a shameless tug at the heartstrings each time Neeson interacts with the terrified child aboard the flight, a weakness for smoking in aeroplane toilets, presumably as a stress relief, and a ribbon he ties around his fingers during takeoff.

    Naturally, the latter provides an icebreaker, sparking a conversation with fellow traveller Jen (Julianne Moore). The ribbon is also an all important connection to the character’s daughter, whose story will later become an important plot point, paralleling the sadness in Neeson’s own life.

    The cabin lights are dimmed, bathing everything in an ominous blue colour palette. The atmosphere is emphasised by the slow and intoxicating soundtrack, under which lies the heavy throb of the aeroplane engines. Though the wall of sound can become grating at times, this weaves an appropriate tapestry, undoubtedly highlighted by the complete absence of dialogue during this first stage of the flight as Neeson converses with his unseen adversary for the first time through an instant messaging conversation; a thoroughly twenty first century touch.

    Non-Stop is nothing special, but it delivers a competent if uncomplicated thriller, even if it does take some liberties with our disbelief, and indulges in some eye-rollingly gratuitous slow motion action shots near the end. Still, it comes in to land a few increments above trite.
    Expand
  7. Jul 8, 2014
    0
    I can't imagine the money wasted in this movie. I can't imagine the money wasted in this "movie" All those clichés were just : wow ! Wait, an arabic pro neuroscientist nuclear doctor or **** like that, the bad guy who is bad cause he lost his father blablabla, the N-Y cops, Liam Neeson who is an old alcoholic depressive mourning daddy and so many bull****
    The improbabilities in the plane crash, the gun scene... Juste too much for me
    Expand

See all 87 User Reviews

Trailers