Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 287 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: During a transatlantic flight from New York City to London, U.S. Air Marshal Bill Marks receives a series of cryptic text messages demanding that he instruct the government to transfer $150 million into an off-shore account. Until he secures the money, a passenger on his flight will beDuring a transatlantic flight from New York City to London, U.S. Air Marshal Bill Marks receives a series of cryptic text messages demanding that he instruct the government to transfer $150 million into an off-shore account. Until he secures the money, a passenger on his flight will be killed every 20 minutes. [Universal Pictures] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 41
  2. Negative: 3 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Feb 27, 2014
    83
    Once you accept that he (Neeson) has the badge and gun, you’re in for an exciting trip.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Feb 27, 2014
    75
    The movie's fun. And now, thanks to our annual Neeson thriller, spring can come soon.
  3. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Feb 27, 2014
    70
    Non-Stop doesn’t make any sense, but that’s expected, uninteresting and incidental to the pleasures of a slow-season Liam Neeson release as diverting as this one.
  4. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Feb 26, 2014
    60
    Even in the movie’s most ridiculous moments, Collet-Serra keeps the pacing brisk and knows how to divert our attention with a well-timed bit of comic relief.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Feb 28, 2014
    60
    It keeps you guessing, it keeps the tension ratcheted up, and it offers a dose of breathless -- if sometimes brainless -- suspense.
  6. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Feb 27, 2014
    50
    Thanks to him (Neeson), I not only enjoyed Non-Stop, but I'd watch it again. Particularly on a plane.
  7. Reviewed by: Nick de Semlyen
    Feb 24, 2014
    20
    Non-Stop is weak sauce, a cheapie snoozer that not even heavyweights like Neeson and Moore can save.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 93
  2. Negative: 10 out of 93
  1. Mar 2, 2014
    10
    non stop is worth seeing . it has everything someone wants in a movie. liam neeson is great so is julliane moore . and the others . take yournon stop is worth seeing . it has everything someone wants in a movie. liam neeson is great so is julliane moore . and the others . take your family to see it Expand
  2. Mar 2, 2014
    9
    This movie is great non-stop action movie. Just another classic from the great liam. You will not be disappointed. I could not guess who theThis movie is great non-stop action movie. Just another classic from the great liam. You will not be disappointed. I could not guess who the bad guys was till the end of the movie, that is the first time that has happened. Go see it. Expand
  3. Jun 9, 2014
    8
    Good mystery thriller- really fun time- liam neeson gives a good energetic performance -and also good supporting cast- simple plot presentedGood mystery thriller- really fun time- liam neeson gives a good energetic performance -and also good supporting cast- simple plot presented in a very interesting way- suspense make us excited- over all really good mystery suspense film,go and watch it Expand
  4. Mar 6, 2014
    7
    Non-Stop is a 2014 mystery suspense action thriller set aboard a flight from New York to London, starring none other than Liam Neeson. It’sNon-Stop is a 2014 mystery suspense action thriller set aboard a flight from New York to London, starring none other than Liam Neeson. It’s fortunately not in the style of Taken, whereby almost everything is offset by enjoyable, brainless action and a completely illogical plot, but this being from this specific genre with Liam Neeson it’s often hard to let off so easily. Sure, we gain a sympathetic situation from an air marshal with horrific problems to deal with (I couldn’t help it when it was announced his daughter had died from acute leukaemia at the age of 8, mirrored with the conversation with Jennifer about the blue ribbon that his 17 year old daughter had given him because despite being who he is, he’s still pretty much a damaged person), the film itself doesn’t often follow through with the morality themes it has given itself. To an extent, it is entertaining in a better way that you have to use your brain (for the most part), but has an ancient habit of not in the least well done plot devices.

    Liam Neeson is Bill Marks, an air marshal, who discovers the flight he is on has someone threatening to kill a passenger on board every 20 minutes if $150 million is not wired to a given account number. The set-up is simple and solid and we come to an understanding of a thrilling suspense ride that combines both intelligence and action. The hype is definitely not surprising.

    We gain much of this from the acknowledgement of the question many people would be asking: “How do you kill someone on a passenger plane without anyone noticing?” I mean, with the limited space 40,000 ft. above the ground, it would be too easy. That film wouldn’t exactly be the most popular.

    It helps that we are given a conventional beginning to lead us through, with the usual action of boarding the plane (his alcoholism is prominent right from the start) and interacting with crew members and passengers. In particular he takes a shine to Jennifer Summers (played by Julianne Moore) and manages to find trust in Steward Nancy Hoffman (played by Michelle Dockery).

    This is significant to the plot strength, because if he is to discover how someone kills someone aboard a passenger plane discreetly, he needs to know about the other passengers and that includes asking for help. Although, there’s a weakness here – of course it’s meant to be difficult considering the circumstances and what better way than to throw a plot twist in there? However, it does stretch out coherently enough, really only until the final act where a plot device manages to make its way in.

    What doesn’t make sense is that Bill gains and regains people’s trust too quickly in spite of the revelations. Perhaps the sympathy card was played for that reason – they can’t trust him enough as an air marshal but after airing his problems people have no other idea but to. I suppose it wouldn’t work if he didn’t have the jaded persona, but at the same time it doesn’t come naturally. If they had only one reason to trust him it would be because what he was doing was trying to save their lives and that they had to. The media is a volatile outlet and to retract the statement of being the FBI’s (we’re talking high class investigation here) prime suspect in a hijacking wouldn’t be that easy to do.

    The film sometimes forgets that it aims to bring its own morality to the table due to its own idea of logic.
    The distrust is too often forgotten, the theme of futility and hope getting more intermittent as the film progresses and whether the physics of being able to muffle a bomb blast in an airplane while managing to land it and have the present passengers all survive still sounds questionable. But a specific saving grace happens to be a young girl named Becca, travelling alone to meet her father, a walking symbol of a fragment of Bill’s life that he can finally share an experience with that he was never able to last with his own daughter. The blue ribbon being quite obvious.

    To an extent, this film is an enjoyable ride that sets up on a take-off with a solid, excusable premise that misses points and jumps too quickly. It is refreshing to see a wide range of people represented, showing a distinctive power of a lack of discrimination. When Bill doesn’t know who to trust, it’s simple to know he’s doing it out of a genuine lack of knowledge and that he addresses those he needs to in order to know what’s really going on. What doesn’t work though, is that what ends up as a possible development ends up being squandered for the usual kind of ending – Julianne Moore and Liam Neeson looking at each other in the style of a happy ending of a romantic comedy. Being a mystery suspense action thriller, that’s definitely not what I was expecting (for a Liam Neeson film, I was hoping he didn’t have to do this).
    Expand
  5. Jun 12, 2014
    7
    Going into Non-Stop i knew this movie was going to be unbelievable with a simple plot but to my surprise the movie was actually pretty good.Going into Non-Stop i knew this movie was going to be unbelievable with a simple plot but to my surprise the movie was actually pretty good. The movie is a thrill ride no doubt about that and it had me on the edge of my seat the whole time, its also really intense, fast paced, and well acted. I guess some people say the scenarios that take place in the film are unrealistic but honestly its nothing out of the ordinary for this genre. It seems like some people don't care if a movie is unrealistic mainly superhero movies but then with movies like this they expect realism. This is my second viewing of the movie first time was at the theaters and honestly it really did't catch my attention so that's why my first rating for it was average and i left a lazy review here but after just watching it i have to say i really enjoyed it more this time around.

    The film follows Bill Marks (Liam Neeson) a United States Air Marshal with a bit of a drinking problem and while on a flight from New York to London he receives a text message on his secure cell phone stating that if they do not get $150 million dollars transferred into an account they are going to kill someone on the plane every 20 minutes. Now we have our movie and which for the most part it consist of Marks, a few crew members, and Mark's side passenger Jen Summers (Julianne Moore) who he trust because she was sleeping next to him when he started to receive the messages. After trying a few ways to figure out the person and after a couple people die Marks starts to trust no one but that's not his only problem is seems the account that the money was supposed to be wired to was in his name so now the government thinks he is the one trying to hijack the plane. Things even become worse when Marks finds a bomb on the plane and realizes that who ever is doing this never really cared about the money.

    Now i really really enjoyed the whole movie but i felt like the last 15-20 minutes of the movie seemed to have some lazy writing. Now my biggest problem with the movie was the reason behind why the plane was hijacked it was just rather unsatisfying from a viewer perspective. Ill also give the movie credit for not trying to pull the typical twist cliche ending with who might be involved with the hijacking. The acting was great all around Liam Neeson playing bad ass never gets old it seems, also Julianne Moore was a delight to watch even though she does a basic performance. Director Jaume Collet-Serra and Lian Neeson have done two movies together both being good action thrillers i wouldn't mind them hooking up again to make another one.

    Overall i give it a 7.5 Give it a chance people its better then what you'd expect
    Expand
  6. Apr 19, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Modern day action man Liam Neeson is back in Non-Stop, a fairly generic mystery thriller set almost entirely aboard a transatlantic flight from New York to London where Neeson must root out a terrorist who has vowed to kill a passenger every twenty minutes until his demands are met.

    Even if the plot is a little contrived, it does have unexpected twists and turns; including the methods through which the killer carries out his murders. There is plenty of suspense, and Neeson bring his natural gravitas to the role.

    It may seem grandiose to apply such analysis to an obvious B-movie such as this, but there’s something elegant in its adherence to the classical unities of drama, which are rarely explored in mainstream works. Indeed, the film is almost set in real time, each twenty minute increment of the film roughly corresponding to each twenty minute ultimatum given by the antagonist.

    The initial sequence in the airport is an engaging opening; a collage of disorientating images which emphasise the disconnection Neeson’s character feels from the world around him. Once aboard the aircraft, we are treated to a less subtle series of shots introducing us to the motley crew of passengers, who invite suspicion with their mysterious aside glances. You can tell already that these characters will later become the major suspects in the investigation.

    Neeson’s as forlorn and enigmatic as ever, though his character is unlikely: a jaded alcoholic US Air Marshal who’s terrified of flying, when he really needs all his wits about him. In contrast to other films which cast him as an American with no explanation, Non-Stop takes a rare opportunity to justify his Northern Irish accent by listing his birthplace as Belfast, and even making a small plot point out of the revelation.

    Indeed, despite the very American themes which ultimately come to define the picture, this is an inspiringly international affair. It was produced primarily as a French-American collaboration, but helmed by Juame Collet-Serra the Spanish director of Neeson’s previous action outing, the Berlin-set Unknown (2011). In addition to the Northern Irish leading man, there’s a British vein running throughout by virtue of the plane itself being a British staffed flight to London, providing the chance to cast some UK talent as well as some Americans feigning over the top faux accents.

    When he’s not working furiously against the clock, Neeson’s character humanised with a few compulsive characteristics: a shameless tug at the heartstrings each time Neeson interacts with the terrified child aboard the flight, a weakness for smoking in aeroplane toilets, presumably as a stress relief, and a ribbon he ties around his fingers during takeoff.

    Naturally, the latter provides an icebreaker, sparking a conversation with fellow traveller Jen (Julianne Moore). The ribbon is also an all important connection to the character’s daughter, whose story will later become an important plot point, paralleling the sadness in Neeson’s own life.

    The cabin lights are dimmed, bathing everything in an ominous blue colour palette. The atmosphere is emphasised by the slow and intoxicating soundtrack, under which lies the heavy throb of the aeroplane engines. Though the wall of sound can become grating at times, this weaves an appropriate tapestry, undoubtedly highlighted by the complete absence of dialogue during this first stage of the flight as Neeson converses with his unseen adversary for the first time through an instant messaging conversation; a thoroughly twenty first century touch.

    Non-Stop is nothing special, but it delivers a competent if uncomplicated thriller, even if it does take some liberties with our disbelief, and indulges in some eye-rollingly gratuitous slow motion action shots near the end. Still, it comes in to land a few increments above trite.
    Expand
  7. Jul 8, 2014
    0
    I can't imagine the money wasted in this movie. I can't imagine the money wasted in this "movie" All those clichés were just : wow ! Wait, anI can't imagine the money wasted in this movie. I can't imagine the money wasted in this "movie" All those clichés were just : wow ! Wait, an arabic pro neuroscientist nuclear doctor or **** like that, the bad guy who is bad cause he lost his father blablabla, the N-Y cops, Liam Neeson who is an old alcoholic depressive mourning daddy and so many bull****
    The improbabilities in the plane crash, the gun scene... Juste too much for me
    Expand

See all 93 User Reviews

Trailers