Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 554 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    May 30, 2013
    91
    Now You See Me can’t quite claim to be the ideal crime drama – that would be “The Usual Suspects,” which justly won an Oscar for its script – but it’s only one level down.
  2. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    May 30, 2013
    75
    At times, Now You See Me suggests Christopher Nolan's "The Prestige" made with a throwaway wink.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    May 30, 2013
    63
    The problem is that, in focusing on what makes a good caper, director Louis Leterrier forgot about what makes a good movie: character development, carefully constructed tension and believable plot points.
  4. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    May 30, 2013
    50
    A superficially diverting but substance-free concoction, a would-be thriller as evanescent as a magic trick and one that develops no suspense or rooting interest because the characters possess all the substance of invisible ink.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    May 31, 2013
    50
    There is nothing magical about seeing one’s umpteenth car chase. Mark Ruffalo plays the weirdly scruffy FBI agent on the case, while Morgan Freeman, in super-slow mode, plays a famous magic debunker. He’d make the ideal critic for this movie.
  6. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jun 6, 2013
    40
    It seems that the director, who also made "The Incredible Hulk" and "Clash of the Titans," will do anything to distract us from the emptiness to which he has devoted himself. [10 & 17 June 2013, p.110]
  7. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    May 30, 2013
    38
    This is a slick con, all flash and no substance. Now You See Me seems awfully sure of itself, with self-important, intrusive music, sweeping tracking shots and actors chewing up the scenery.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 168
  2. Negative: 30 out of 168
  1. Jun 5, 2013
    10
    We thoroughly enjoyed this movie...fun entertainment with a surprising twist at the very end. Not a lot of magic in the film, but enough toWe thoroughly enjoyed this movie...fun entertainment with a surprising twist at the very end. Not a lot of magic in the film, but enough to keep you watching for the next trick. I do not like either Harrelson or Freeman since both seem so arrogant, but the cast just *worked* together. Certainly a far better movie than a lot I have seen lately, but I go to be lost in the magic of movies, not for any deep psychological studies or great social commentary. Expand
  2. Jun 12, 2013
    9
    This movie was incredible. Ignore the ratings on Metacritic and go see this film. It requires you to think and look in places you wouldThis movie was incredible. Ignore the ratings on Metacritic and go see this film. It requires you to think and look in places you would never think to imagine and understand why the trick was happening. At the end there is a moral compass and core for which we should all live by. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie because it kept me on the edge my seat from the very beginning to the end. 2 thumbs up! Expand
  3. Jun 18, 2013
    8
    How refreshing it is to see a film where the child in you is brought out and bewildered. I found myself smiling from start to finish in awe ofHow refreshing it is to see a film where the child in you is brought out and bewildered. I found myself smiling from start to finish in awe of the magic and suspense.

    Perhaps it is the magic or rather trickery that had me smiling; you don't know how they do it and a part of you thinks it is magic. But of course you know it isn't there must be a trick. Either way you have a good time regardless. I found myself agasp much in the same way someone would be if they were personally tricked by a magician.

    It is cleverly written, humorous, and has action. What more could you ask from such a fun movie?
    Expand
  4. Jul 20, 2014
    7
    The movies plot really is extremely convenient, with it's story tied to random chance. Various plot points and questions were still unresolvedThe movies plot really is extremely convenient, with it's story tied to random chance. Various plot points and questions were still unresolved at the film's conclusion. It's confusing at times and implausible. However, if you can ignore that, you will enjoy this movie. An entertaining movie with a strange premise but two huge twists at the end. A cast that really hold this entire movie up, and very well too. Liked the magic and action. You really must see this movie.

    And whether you like it or not, a sequel is being planned!

    If you liked this review, read my other ones by clicking on my name and mark this review as helpful. Remember, every vote counts!

    (And P.S, you may have seen or read this review under "'andrewgarcia732". I can't get into my old account and have started a new one.)
    Expand
  5. Oct 24, 2013
    6
    Well, it had good enough twists, as well as good acting from most of the cast. However, the plot left a lot of questions unanswered orWell, it had good enough twists, as well as good acting from most of the cast. However, the plot left a lot of questions unanswered or answered unclearly. It was a good movie. I was just expecting something better. Expand
  6. Jun 1, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is not for someone who likes to think about the story during the movie, because of the fact that the story was kind of just summed up in short dialogue that moves on to more action sequences to be summed up again by dialogue. Also it seems like you are involved in this whole heist where actually you're not, The whole movie is kind of like the ending to an Oceans movie. Instead of having them talk over their plans they just go right into the heist and leave us out of it and making Morgan Freeman explain to us what just happened. They did have a plot twist at the end that no one saw coming though. There was very little parts to this twist though to make it seem awesome that that was the twist. The special effects were interesting though and there was a lot a of well known actors that were not used to their best ability. The movie kind of made most of them look like dicks. Expand
  7. Jul 9, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Oh how convenient, the "inside guy" was running the whole investigation the entire time. Yeah you really tricked the audience there, haha that was a great trick. And Morgan Freeman finally gets stumped by the tricky plot, so no freckle this time. Expand

See all 168 User Reviews

Trailers