Observe and Report

Observe and Report Image
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 120 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: At the Forest Ridge Mall, head of security Ronnie Barnhardt patrols his jurisdiction with an iron fist. The master of his domain, he combats skateboarders, shoplifters and the occasional unruly customer while dreaming of the day when he can swap his flashlight for a badge and a gun. But hisAt the Forest Ridge Mall, head of security Ronnie Barnhardt patrols his jurisdiction with an iron fist. The master of his domain, he combats skateboarders, shoplifters and the occasional unruly customer while dreaming of the day when he can swap his flashlight for a badge and a gun. But his delusions of grandeur are put to the test when the mall is struck by a flasher. Driven by his personal duty to protect and serve the mall and its patrons, Ronnie seizes the opportunity to showcase his underappreciated law enforcement talents on a grand scale, hoping his solution of this crime will earn him a coveted spot at the police academy and the heart of his elusive dream girl Brandi. (Warner Bros.) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 35
  2. Negative: 6 out of 35
  1. The superb character actor Celia Weston (In the Bedroom) is truly breathtaking as Ronnie's boozer mom.
  2. Funnier than the silliest comedy because it's surprisingly real.
  3. 63
    This new movie is crazier, scarier, funnier, and more bewildering. It's the strangest movie I expect to see from a Hollywood studio for the rest of the year.
  4. Barring a Terry Zwigoff return to "Bad Santa" territory, it's hard to imagine a filmmaker embracing this dubious hero to the extent writer-director Jody Hill does.
  5. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    50
    What's meant (I think) to be a "f*** you" to action-movie conventions reads instead as a "f*** you" to the audience. Observe and Report tickets should come with a free breath mint, because however hard you've been laughing, that ending leaves a seriously bad taste in your mouth.
  6. If you thought Abu Ghraib was a laugh riot then you might love Observe and Report, a potentially brilliant conceptual comedy that fizzles because its writer and director, Jody Hill, doesn't have the guts to go with his spleen.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 47
  2. Negative: 18 out of 47
  1. MichaelF
    Apr 11, 2009
    10
    Absolutely hilarious. A bipolar hero? I was rooting for him!
  2. JefferyS
    Apr 11, 2009
    9
    This is not for everybody, but its rare to see a flick as funny, as it is sad, as it is scary, as it is entertaining. Great performances all around.
  3. KGFreeze
    Apr 20, 2009
    9
    This movie is not funny. It's quite disturbing. And it's really really good.
  4. Sep 4, 2011
    5
    This is a strange movie. Regular fans of Seth Rogen movies will either love it because of him, or be disturbed by his dark turn in this one.This is a strange movie. Regular fans of Seth Rogen movies will either love it because of him, or be disturbed by his dark turn in this one. Playing a sociopathic, bipolar mall guard, it serves as an adult alternative to Kevin James's similar premise family comedy, Paul Blart: Mall Cop. All in all, I found myself bemused more than amused by the whole thing, and the as the end credits rolled in front of my eyes, I thought "what the **** did I just witness?" Expand
  5. AMovieCritic
    Apr 10, 2009
    4
    Yeesh. Had some funny moments but this dark comedy's at times so dark that it's almost hard to watch. Rogen's character's Yeesh. Had some funny moments but this dark comedy's at times so dark that it's almost hard to watch. Rogen's character's a delusional and psychotic person with a very bleak life who simply has no grasp of any sort of reality, and watching him's just not funny. Yes, some jokes work, but overall it's hard to get any enjoyment out of a movie that tries to play up a character, who so obviously needs psychiatric help, for laughs. And when the laughs do happen, they're really not all that funny. Plus, towards the end, the movie goes completely into fantasy land, and it just doesn't make sense considering the realism before it. I dunno. An unfortunate miss. Expand
  6. davey
    Sep 28, 2009
    2
    I thought it was remarkably unfunny, except for maybe 3 good lines. Mostly embarrassingly condescending, confused, and pointless. Rogen could I thought it was remarkably unfunny, except for maybe 3 good lines. Mostly embarrassingly condescending, confused, and pointless. Rogen could have been replaced by R2D2. The director couldn't decide if it was supposed to be a weepy or a comedy, so tried for both and got neither. Maybe the worst movie I've seen this year (unless Sex and the City was this year). Expand
  7. CindeeG
    Apr 14, 2009
    0
    WORST movie ever. We usually compare our favorite parts, but for this movie we chose our "YUCK-YOU" moments 1) the swinging limp dick; long WORST movie ever. We usually compare our favorite parts, but for this movie we chose our "YUCK-YOU" moments 1) the swinging limp dick; long scene: short penis 2) the humorless "f*ck you" yelling match 3) the drunk/vomiting kiss and screw scene 4) creepy policemen. Legendary Productions is a legend in my mind, but not for ONE good reason. Don't waste your time or money! Expand

See all 47 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 12 Films to See in September

    12 Films to See in September Image
    Published: August 30, 2016
    Our editors select the month's most promising releases, including a Blair Witch revival and new films from Clint Eastwood, Andrea Arnold, Oliver Stone, Ron Howard, and more.
  2. The 28 Biggest Summer Blockbusters of 2016, Ranked From Worst to Best

    The 28 Biggest Summer Blockbusters of 2016, Ranked From Worst to Best  Image
    Published: August 27, 2016
    We rank this summer's highest-grossing films by Metascore.
  3. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  4. Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Kenneth Lonergan's Manchester by the Sea, Damien Chazelle’s La La Land, Adam Wingard's Blair Witch, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.