Warner Bros. | Release Date: June 8, 2018
5.3
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 137 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
63
Mixed:
26
Negative:
48
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
AcaciaJun 14, 2018
I really enjoyed this movie and found all the cast members to be very fun to watch. Some of the people I saw the movie with thought it was kind of slow at the beginning. That didn’t bother me at all. I found all the planning and attentionI really enjoyed this movie and found all the cast members to be very fun to watch. Some of the people I saw the movie with thought it was kind of slow at the beginning. That didn’t bother me at all. I found all the planning and attention to detail to be pretty interesting. And, once the plan was in motion, I was very caught up in it. Very entertaining and enjoyable. Expand
2 of 10 users found this helpful28
All this user's reviews
8
LamontRaymondJun 12, 2018
I thought the critics were a little tough on this one. It has the same level of fun as the original Ocean's 11 - it's only lacking a true bad character you can root against. The supporting cast is truly top notch.
2 of 13 users found this helpful211
All this user's reviews
7
GreatMartinJun 8, 2018
In 1979 Cindi Lauper sang "Girls Just Want to Have Fun" and in "Ocean's 8" they do and, as an added benefit, so does the audience. The first "Ocean's 11" took place in 1960 and the remake in 2001 so it only took 58 years for the females toIn 1979 Cindi Lauper sang "Girls Just Want to Have Fun" and in "Ocean's 8" they do and, as an added benefit, so does the audience. The first "Ocean's 11" took place in 1960 and the remake in 2001 so it only took 58 years for the females to have their own caper. As the other Ocean films, this revolves around a heist, in this case of a diamond necklace worth over $150 million and, as in those films you really don't have to follow all the ins and outs of the heist. Sit back, relax, enjoy watching the women, leave your logic at the door and don't nick-pick at the holes in the story or wonder at some scenes that never would have been in the male versions.

All 8 women have a particular job to do regarding the heist though one who has not been recruited figures what is going on and joins in. The heist takes place at the Metropolitan Museum of Art yearly Gala to raise funds where the stage, movie and social stars attend dressed to the nines and costumer Sarah Edwards does a great job of putting the stars in outstanding, mostly hug fitting, evening gowns. Aside from filming at the Metropolitan, we get to go into the Plaza Hotel, Bergdorf Goodman's department store along with Cartier's jewelry store including their underground vault. Also, there are famous people making cameos throughout the movie.

Regarding the stars, Cate Blanchett makes the biggest impression followed by a funny turn by Awkwafina and I wish she had loaned some of her playfulness to Sandra Bullock who gives a straight and unplayful performance which doesn't belong in an "Ocean's" movie. On the other hand, Helena Bonham Carter goes too far with her character. Anne Hathaway plays a vain movie star to the nth degree while Mindy Kaling, Sarah Paulson and Rihanna all come through with just the right attitudes and performances.

Along with the women, there are two major roles by men one being Richard Armitage and the other James Corden The latter offers a few laughs as an insurance adjuster and the former as 'eye candy'. The problem is that Armitage's role/story in the movie is one that never would have been allowed in any of the other Ocean films with a woman being the eye candy and the aim of revenge.

Oh, one spoiler, Danny Ocean (George Clooney) is dead but you find that out at the beginning.

"Ocean's 8" is the second movie within 2 weeks, the other being "Book Club", that focused on women being the stars and delivering the goods. In both, you know what to expect walking in and you aren't disappointed but now it is time to give us a movie, or movies, starring casts of women where men are the followers or eye candy or are 'just' the husbands, boyfriends, etc.
Expand
3 of 21 users found this helpful318
All this user's reviews
10
bfeddersJun 9, 2018
The chemistry between Sandy and Cate alone make the film worth seeing. Add to that some great cameos and a serviceable plot -- and Rihanna! -- and you have a summer hit. Chew your popcorn loudly and you won't notice the fact that the otherThe chemistry between Sandy and Cate alone make the film worth seeing. Add to that some great cameos and a serviceable plot -- and Rihanna! -- and you have a summer hit. Chew your popcorn loudly and you won't notice the fact that the other Ocean's films got better writing and directing. Sequel please -- and with Greta Gerwig, how 'bout? Expand
3 of 25 users found this helpful322
All this user's reviews
8
lyraterraJun 13, 2018
It was a fun movie. Not mind-blowing, but few movies are. It was an enjoyable two hours and worth the 9 dollars.
1 of 9 users found this helpful18
All this user's reviews
8
Brent_MarchantJun 10, 2018
Fun, fun, fun -- that's what drives this entertaining heist romp with a stellar, all-female cast. The story admittedly has its plot shortcomings, and certain characters aren't as fully developed as they could be, but the overall package isFun, fun, fun -- that's what drives this entertaining heist romp with a stellar, all-female cast. The story admittedly has its plot shortcomings, and certain characters aren't as fully developed as they could be, but the overall package is amusing, briskly paced and flat-out enjoyable. If for no other reason, see it for the fine performances of Anne Hathaway and Helena Bonham Carter. Now this is summer entertainment! Expand
1 of 11 users found this helpful110
All this user's reviews
9
BUTCHYPIEJun 8, 2018
This latest installment in the franchise really adds a new flavor of fun. I'm a fan of heist movies, and this is now one of my favorites. Great performances, some fun plot twists, and a lot of the playing-on-a-trope moments that make theThis latest installment in the franchise really adds a new flavor of fun. I'm a fan of heist movies, and this is now one of my favorites. Great performances, some fun plot twists, and a lot of the playing-on-a-trope moments that make the Oceans movies fun. I want to see these ladies again, maybe mixed with some of the other stars from previous films. tl;dr Fun thriller, excellent heist film, sexy actors at their prime, everything I want in an Oceans movie. Expand
2 of 27 users found this helpful225
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Jun 9, 2018
While it's by no means overtly poor or even mediocre in quality, Gary Ross's "Ocean's Eight" -- like a lot of recent spin-off films, I've noticed -- still never really cemented its worth with me. Did this movie really need to happen the wayWhile it's by no means overtly poor or even mediocre in quality, Gary Ross's "Ocean's Eight" -- like a lot of recent spin-off films, I've noticed -- still never really cemented its worth with me. Did this movie really need to happen the way it did? Did we need a spin-off of an already solid franchise? Was this a calculated move on the part of tone deaf studio execs looking to capitalize on the current political climate? Depending on who you are, the answers may vary, but looking at the actual film we're presented with, there's nothing particularly awful or fantastic about it. The performances, the plot, the stakes, the look - they're all just fine in the end. Nothing special in either direction. This movie's just fine. Expand
0 of 9 users found this helpful09
All this user's reviews