Ocean's Eleven

Ocean's Eleven Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 395 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: In this remake of the 1960 Rat Pack heist movie, Clooney plays Danny Ocean, a man of action attempting to orchestrate the most sophisticated, elaborate casino heist in history.

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. It's a scrumptious and dizzy-spirited lark, a what-the-hell-let's-rob-the-casino flick made with so much wit and brains and dazzle and virtuosity that the sheer speed and cleverness of the caper hits you like a shot of pure oxygen.
  2. One thoroughbred of a movie. Sleek, well-muscled and brisk, director Steven Soderbergh's newest offering delivers just about everything anyone could possibly want from filmed entertainment -- except deep thought.
  3. The movie, in a very real sense, is about the privilege, the sexiness, of being a movie star. Certainly it isn't about the heist; never was.
  4. 75
    This time, the actors don't seem to be making up the movie as they go along, and they're guided by a gifted director who has earned the right to have some guileless fun.
  5. Soderbergh and writer Ted Griffin added plot twists that will catch you off-guard, dumped the clever ending and worked in a love story that's as superfluous as elevator shoes on Shaquille O'Neal.
  6. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    40
    Doesn't offer much.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 57
  2. Negative: 4 out of 57
  1. CRL
    Sep 24, 2011
    10
    Ocean's Eleven is the slickest of heist movies, perfectly paced, star-studded, excellently acted by its entire cast, exciting in parts, funnyOcean's Eleven is the slickest of heist movies, perfectly paced, star-studded, excellently acted by its entire cast, exciting in parts, funny in others, and visually brilliant in every single scene. This is one of the few movies that, if on, I have to watch until the end. Expand
  2. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    One of the best movies I've seen in a while. This very well made and bound.
  3. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    The witty cast, brilliant heist, and the overall style in this movie is marvelous. While this movie is actually quite shallow I still findThe witty cast, brilliant heist, and the overall style in this movie is marvelous. While this movie is actually quite shallow I still find myself returning to watch it. The interaction between the actors in this movie is oddly quite remarkable on screen chemistry. The mindless banter and the brilliant heist will keep you smiling until the credits roll. Maybe it's just me but I found Don Cheadle's British accent to be a bit cheesy and almost cringe-worthy. But other than that this is a brilliant movie. Enjoy! Collapse
  4. Jul 23, 2013
    8
    George Clooney and Brad Pitt lead a fantastic cast in Ocean's Eleven. The plot is also very interesting and the movie and characters, evenGeorge Clooney and Brad Pitt lead a fantastic cast in Ocean's Eleven. The plot is also very interesting and the movie and characters, even though there are a lot of them, develop rather nicely. My favorite character is probably Don Cheadle's though. He plays the role of reckless british explosives nut flawlessly. I thought there were a few plot holes but none that actually affected the critical plot points regarding the heist so they are easily overlooked. I think they could've spent more time on the actual heist/planning process but the movie would've probably been too long if they did. Overall, this is a really good movie with solid acting and, while it's isn't exciting, it still provides for some nice entertainment value. Expand
  5. Jul 15, 2014
    8
    One of the greatest heist movies every made. It is smart, sharp and suprisingly very funny and heartfelt. I think that Ocean's Eleven is aOne of the greatest heist movies every made. It is smart, sharp and suprisingly very funny and heartfelt. I think that Ocean's Eleven is a must see for film lovers; it is awesome despite some of its flaws. Expand
  6. Sep 7, 2011
    7
    One of the first Soderbergh movies I have encountered. Despite the preposterously shallow plot, Soderbergh's stylish direction, splendidOne of the first Soderbergh movies I have encountered. Despite the preposterously shallow plot, Soderbergh's stylish direction, splendid acting from the cast (especially Brad Pitt), and witty humor easily makes this movie one of the best heist films I have seen in my life. Expand
  7. TonyB.
    Jan 25, 2006
    3
    Not even as good as the original, and that wasn't very good to begin with, "Ocean'se 11" is a star-studded piece of tripe of Not even as good as the original, and that wasn't very good to begin with, "Ocean'se 11" is a star-studded piece of tripe of questionable morality and ethics. The sequel is likely to be worse. Expand

See all 57 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Remakes of the Past Decade

    Ranked: Best and Worst Remakes of the Past Decade Image
    Published: August 16, 2011
    This Friday brings remakes of "Conan the Barbarian" and "Fright Night" to theaters. Just how good (and bad) can a remake possibly be? We take a look at examples of both extremes released since 2000.