Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: December 10, 2004
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 241 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
138
Mixed:
72
Negative:
31
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
RadioSoloSep 12, 2010
This movie has a interesting plot but it's very difficult to understand if you watch it for the first time. It definitely helps to watch Ocean's Eleven first.
The actors are succesful in bringing you the characters closer.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
nboley08Aug 16, 2010
Until the last 15 minutes or so, "Ocean's Twelve" is pretty damn perfect. It has insane amounts of style and swagger and does things in unusually quirky but fascinating ways. The locations are gorgeous and the dialogue is hilarious and theUntil the last 15 minutes or so, "Ocean's Twelve" is pretty damn perfect. It has insane amounts of style and swagger and does things in unusually quirky but fascinating ways. The locations are gorgeous and the dialogue is hilarious and the jokes are really funny if you pay attention to what the actors are trying to do. But the ending...there are MIT graduates who probably got confused by what had just happened. It's rather poorly done and leaves a bitter taste in one's mouth, because they feel like their intelligence was just demoralized. Still a good movie however, especially if you were a fan of the first. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
5
grandpajoe6191Sep 7, 2011
The story has become overly complex followed by trivial humor that was not necessary. Makes me remind myself if the director was the same guy that made 'Sex, Lies, and Videotape' and 'Traffic'.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
3
ThugThugNov 17, 2005
One of the worst movies I have seen recently. Oceans 11 was good. This... is not.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
MatthewM.May 8, 2006
I think this is the worst film I have ever seen. The Slate review had it right. All smarm. Tries to be far more clever than it actualy is. A plotless piece of self-indulgence from start to finish, this is the only film I have ever considered I think this is the worst film I have ever seen. The Slate review had it right. All smarm. Tries to be far more clever than it actualy is. A plotless piece of self-indulgence from start to finish, this is the only film I have ever considered walking out of. The only reason I didn't was because I thought it had nearly finished..... it hadn't. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JaredC.Mar 10, 2007
In a way, I think this one was better than the first. Ocean's Eleven had some style, but this one ruled the comedy room. Even though this one was kind of slow, it had a cool plot and amazing acting.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
StephenB.Aug 14, 2006
I was stunned at how unbearably dull this film was. Please do not think that the first film was good so how bad can the sequel be. Its awful. There are some talented actors on the screen, however all the wit and verve of the first film has I was stunned at how unbearably dull this film was. Please do not think that the first film was good so how bad can the sequel be. Its awful. There are some talented actors on the screen, however all the wit and verve of the first film has been removed with a dreadful script and surprisingly poor pacing and direction from Soderberg. Please avoid. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
OmegaR.Sep 1, 2005
Of course David Sterritt of the Christian Science Monitor liked this film, its full of Hollywood's most outspoken Liberals!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
devo-ncJan 22, 2014
Feels like going for a burger at Wendy's after having steaks at a fancy restaurant is the best way to sum up Oceans twelve in continuation from Oceans eleven. It's like twelve was one too many, but like I said it's a baconater: a littleFeels like going for a burger at Wendy's after having steaks at a fancy restaurant is the best way to sum up Oceans twelve in continuation from Oceans eleven. It's like twelve was one too many, but like I said it's a baconater: a little messier, greasier and floppier. But (there's always a 'but' in a 6/10 rating) even though I was kind of confused with the narrative at times Ocean's Twelve is still cool and like Wendy's, even though it's not good for you at all you still go back, even more so than that fancy restaurant. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
RirenApr 15, 2007
Take all the celebrities from the first film, add a few more faces, and remove all sense of pacing. That's your sequel. Less sense of purpose, even less screen time for its characters, less witty dialogue - Ocean's Twelve makes you Take all the celebrities from the first film, add a few more faces, and remove all sense of pacing. That's your sequel. Less sense of purpose, even less screen time for its characters, less witty dialogue - Ocean's Twelve makes you wait an hour before the crew start doing what you've been waiting for them to do. It feels less like a story and more like playground for wealthy actors. Matt Damon is the sole individual who ups the charm from the first movie, and while there is entertainment and wit in here, it shouldn't be so hard to excavate. Don't bother watching it without friends to help you laugh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MeUJun 13, 2006
This movie is the best stages and filmed ever. Sure it doesn't look like it but the filming, scenery, and everything goes with the feel of the movie. Also, i am glad they went for a different feel using music unlike all the other This movie is the best stages and filmed ever. Sure it doesn't look like it but the filming, scenery, and everything goes with the feel of the movie. Also, i am glad they went for a different feel using music unlike all the other movies. Sure it was filled with all famous stars but without them being great actors who would even declare them! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
HalfwelshmanDec 18, 2011
Ocean's Twelve has lost the main thing that made its predecessor a fun diversion - pace. In this sequel, nothing happens, and it happens slowly - it's only in the last fifteen minutes or so that anything makes you sit up and pay attention.Ocean's Twelve has lost the main thing that made its predecessor a fun diversion - pace. In this sequel, nothing happens, and it happens slowly - it's only in the last fifteen minutes or so that anything makes you sit up and pay attention. The returning characters are still pretty dull and under-developed, and the new ones are uninspired. The script isn't by any means awful, and stylistically the film is polished, but this doesn't make the film entertaining enough overall. The best part of the whole film is Don Cheadle saying in his cringe-inducing mockney drawl "the accent is crucial - the first thing people notice is the accent", and I sincerely hope this was a bit of self-deprecating humour on the script writer's part. In the end though, chief among Ocean's Twelve's crimes is not that it's boring, or empty, or even that the actors appear to be doing it purely for the money, it's that it is unashamedly smug. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Bruce722Jul 23, 2013
Ocean's Twelve gives ammunition to those who are against the concept of sequels. It started out ridiculous, dragged quite a bit, became mildly interesting, became even more ridiculous, then was stupid, and then finally even more ridiculous.Ocean's Twelve gives ammunition to those who are against the concept of sequels. It started out ridiculous, dragged quite a bit, became mildly interesting, became even more ridiculous, then was stupid, and then finally even more ridiculous. The acting was once again fantastic but outside of a few main characters, none of the side characters seemed to get any further development or decent screen time. Bernie Mac and Don Cheadle especially seemed like almost wasted roles because they were both so underutilized. Yes, George Clooney and Brad Pitt got more screen time and Catherine Zeta-Jones got quite a bit as well but still, it felt like the great cast just wasn't used properly. The writing was the worst part though. It's almost like they said "hey, let's make a movie and then if the ending doesn't work, let's just make some stupid stuff up and if it doesn't really make sense or seem plausible, who cares, at least we get the ending we want." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oxanaSep 12, 2014
The movie was fluent as ever, the characters all but themselves - which awokes more humour than in some other cases. Yet the sequel lacks the imagination and surprising element we had in "Ocean's Eleven".

But I have to admit, as much as I
The movie was fluent as ever, the characters all but themselves - which awokes more humour than in some other cases. Yet the sequel lacks the imagination and surprising element we had in "Ocean's Eleven".

But I have to admit, as much as I dislike Julia Roberts, her part playing "herself" was hilarious.

Even if not as good as the first part, still a good watch.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
beingryanjudeAug 25, 2014
Much of the zeal of the original is lost; however, there's still plenty of fun here... especially surrounding Julia Roberts and the recent addition of Catherine Zeta-Jones.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LighterThingsMar 29, 2012
The fun in Ocean's Twelve does not lie with the absurdly over-the-top plot, but what happens in between. Twelve isn't the easy going heist movie, with razor-sharp wit and dialog, that made Eleven one of the most enjoyable films of 2001. I wasThe fun in Ocean's Twelve does not lie with the absurdly over-the-top plot, but what happens in between. Twelve isn't the easy going heist movie, with razor-sharp wit and dialog, that made Eleven one of the most enjoyable films of 2001. I was really disappointed with Ocean's Twelve when leaving the theater on opening night, but after re-watching it several times, I've grown to realize just how much fun it can be once you look past the plot, and enjoy a bunch of excellent actors simply enjoying themselves on screen. And that's what it comes down to for Twelve: shutting your brain off and just having fun with Clooney & Pals. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RealMuthaFJul 30, 2014
Personally, I don't understand all the hate towards this movie. I enjoyed it almost as much as Ocean's 11, and the plot was very enjoyable, sufficiently complex and full of twists. I suspect that people who are complaining that it's "tooPersonally, I don't understand all the hate towards this movie. I enjoyed it almost as much as Ocean's 11, and the plot was very enjoyable, sufficiently complex and full of twists. I suspect that people who are complaining that it's "too complicated" are not among the smart ones. I would also like to point out that the soundtrack is as great as in the original, the antagonist is awesome and Catherine Zeta-Jones looks absolutely ravishing in this, a real joy to watch (unlike Julia Roberts). The only minor fault I see here is that the focus in the script switches a bit too much to Pitt, Clooney and Damon, not leaving the others too much screen time. Still, I highly enjoyed Ocean's Twelve and strongly disagree with ones saying that this is "terrible", "worst part of the trilogy", etc. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
oliver1hMar 24, 2013
Same as Ocean's Eleven, but without the wit of the plot and depth of characters. This time I felt the story was too unrealistic (The previous movie required suspension of disbelief, but it was tolerable). The whole Julia Robert playing theSame as Ocean's Eleven, but without the wit of the plot and depth of characters. This time I felt the story was too unrealistic (The previous movie required suspension of disbelief, but it was tolerable). The whole Julia Robert playing the alter ego of Julia Roberts was pointless, and the Catherine Zeta-Jones subplot was too simplified... The director tried too hard to be "stylish" and the music and editing felt heavy handed. Overall the movie was decent, but nothing outstanding. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RikiegeFeb 4, 2013
A sequel with little action that fails the first part, but it's still good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Compi24Oct 9, 2015
"Ocean's Twelve" has the same quirky spirit of its predecessor, but it gets too caught up in implausibilities and ambiguity to hit anywhere close to the greatness that came before it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieGuysApr 20, 2014
Ocean's Twelve is the weakest in the series, but nonetheless entertaining. The action and thrills are more dull than sharp, but it gets the job done in the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
eagleeyevikingNov 29, 2013
Ocean's Twelve replaces the fun, simple plot of its predecessor with less wit and humour and a densely complex plot which confuses, rather than entertain.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
vikesh2206Nov 9, 2014
Ocean's Twelve replaces the fun, simple plot of its predecessor with less wit and humour and a densely complex plot which confuses, rather than entertain.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CineAutoctonoJul 25, 2015
Ocean 's Twelve was a good movie , bad in the series but I do not care nothing will stop the big players in this film . George Clooney, Brad Pitt , Julia Roberts, Catherine Zeta- Jones and Andy Garcia
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FilmQueenNov 20, 2015
I am surprised by the number of bad reviews. I've found this sequel just as much fun as the first film. In fact I think I've enjoyed it even more. It's very witty, I laughed a lot. Plus Tess Ocean is not as useless and boring like in theI am surprised by the number of bad reviews. I've found this sequel just as much fun as the first film. In fact I think I've enjoyed it even more. It's very witty, I laughed a lot. Plus Tess Ocean is not as useless and boring like in the first film.

SPOILER:

In the end the story of the Night Fox about how he managed to steal the egg is quite ridiculous, I must say.
The father-daughter reunion is a similarly laughable cliché.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
EpicLadySpongeApr 4, 2016
Ocean's Twelve doesn't seem lovely like its first installment. Ocean's Twelve is more like a buried up copy of Ocean's Eleven found in the middle of a dinosaur-bone finding zone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews