Tartan | Release Date: March 25, 2005
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 433 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
385
Mixed:
28
Negative:
20
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Buy On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
CoontZM.Apr 12, 2005
Overrated!!!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
PerfectCriticOct 5, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A highly overrated movie , it seems that people are taken by "visual candies" and cinematography that they loose focus on the plot and story.
The movie opens high and intense and grabs you from the beginning , and you'd want to know why Dae-so was imprisoned , but when he gets out and as soon as he meets Mido the first thing that comes to your mind is that she's his daughter, although they try to push that idea away later after that , still that's the first logical explanation you got , so that ruins the big surprise in the end.

Also the fight scenes were very strange... why all those (thugs , gangs , security personnel....whatever they are) why they didn't have guns and just shoot him ?!! why are they carrying baseball bats ? and why are they breaking them on walls?!!
and if his prison room had security camera why they let Dae-so continue digging through the walls all that time? and why didn't he block the sleeping-gas tubes?

And in the final scenes, Really all that was because of a "Rumor"?? 15 years in prison and make him **** his own daughter for a "Rumor"!!! and it wasn't a "Rumor" !! he said what he saw, what actually happened ...!

Woo-Jin should've just kicked Dae-so's ass in school and that's it , end of conflict.
I don't know how things happen in Korea but when the young school girl was pregnant or appeared pregnant no investigation was done by the parents or by school or anyone !!

Dae-so gave good emotional acting moments towards the end , but cutting the tongue was just too much , he could've just killed Woo-Jin and got back to his daughter...

And the Final scene made everything worse, after all what he knew , that Mido is his daughter and that he was hypnotized to love her for the revenge , even-then Dae-so still went back to hookup with Mido..!!

The Story is everything in a Movie no matter what genre it is even if it's a psycho / horror or even sci-fi , the story should always make sense.
Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
3
danb.May 14, 2005
It's just so... not good. if you want a wacky korean movie go see Save the Green Planet instead.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
2
BobA.Feb 18, 2006
After a thrilling, original premise, we take a two hour trip down mystery lane toward an incredibly unsatisfying solution. The filmmakers must have known this, when they decided to throw in another twist at the end (done to shock us on a After a thrilling, original premise, we take a two hour trip down mystery lane toward an incredibly unsatisfying solution. The filmmakers must have known this, when they decided to throw in another twist at the end (done to shock us on a pretty shallow level) since the original puzzle solution wasn't worth 2 hours. Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful
0
MattR.Nov 7, 2007
My question is, what is the point of this movie? Besides leaving you with the feeling of being raped. This movie sucked. If you enjoyed this, you probably secretly desire incest with your children. Or you just lack complete empathy or moral My question is, what is the point of this movie? Besides leaving you with the feeling of being raped. This movie sucked. If you enjoyed this, you probably secretly desire incest with your children. Or you just lack complete empathy or moral center as a human being. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JackieAug 17, 2007
Absolutely fucking horrific. Good people are tortured in unbelievably vile ways for having done nothing at all; everyone in the film is pointlessly disturbed and it leaves one with absolutely no satisfaction at the end. I didn't feel Absolutely fucking horrific. Good people are tortured in unbelievably vile ways for having done nothing at all; everyone in the film is pointlessly disturbed and it leaves one with absolutely no satisfaction at the end. I didn't feel that justice had been done, which is the point for me of films like this, I just felt like I'd seen some cool fighting and needless suffering. Watch this if you want to destroy your faith in humanity, watch the far superior Lady Vengeance to have it restored. Expand
0 of 8 users found this helpful
0
Cees_TimmermanApr 1, 2015
The torture porn flick i expected Saw to be. Sadly, it has less plot, cohesion, and balls than Ichi the Killer. The animal cruelty scene was a snuff masterpiece, though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews