User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 74
  2. Negative: 16 out of 74

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    This movie is inherently tragic. Both protagonists are searching happiness and fulfillment, but cannot find it. Meanwhile, life goes on. I sometimes ask people if their lives look like they had imagined it twenty years ago, and pretty much everyone chokes. This is exactly what this movie does, it makes you choke. I can think of only one remedy: increase the level of energy necessary to make your dreams come true, never ever give up, and screw everything else. Expand
  2. Aug 24, 2011
    3
    There is a lingering and persistent distraction throughout One Day which severely impairs the audience from becoming absorbed in the film. This is Anne Hathawayâ
  3. Sep 1, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers. Does life imitate art or does art imitate life? I'm one who tends to avoid the discussion entirely by saying "both." One Day is the most real (save a few accents) movie I've seen in a long time. It explores time and how it often slips away from us. Our hearts' desires are often decimated by bad timing, and the movie finds a variety of ways to demonstrate this. So in the case of One Day, art imitates life to the fullest, as we can all sympathize (if only a little) to crushed hopes and shattered dreams, though hopefully we eventually find our way.
    Anne Hathaway stars as insecure working-class woman Emma, who, for one reason or another is drawn to Dexter, (Jim Sturgess) a charming upper middle class man with a great amount of self-confidence. It may be hard to understand just what the two have on each other, but they are characters I'm familiar with. The woman who is way too into a man that
    Collapse
  4. Aug 29, 2011
    10
    One Day is a beautiful movie, but beautiful in a way that life often is, not movies. Nothing is sudden or easy, either for the characters or for the audience, and there are no thunderbolts from the blue.
  5. Sep 25, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One day, a young man from America, on a layover in Vienna, having sensed some connection with a sublime French girl he enjoyed chatting with, who, as serendipity would have it, changed seats when an arguing couple had disturbed the bilingual nymph's reading, would convince the near-stranger to follow him and continue their easy flirtation and banter, while the train pulled out of Austria without her. According to the ephemeral lovers, it was July 16 in Richard Linklater's "Before Sunrise", just a 24-hour differential from July 15, 1992 in "One Day", the year that Dexter, a budding a**hole, convinces his best friend, a budding writer, to go on holiday with him. This invitation comes in the nick of time, since Emma's job as the manager of a greasy-looking Tex-Mex restaurant is just about ready to kill her. While Celine was visiting her grandmother in Budapest, and Jessie, gauzy and infinitesimal from wandering around Italy like a transitory jilted love, unaware of what fate would await him, the Edinburgh graduates were in their third year of a platonic relationship, mostly due to the blue blood playboy's assessment of Emma, who lacks the proper lineage and refinement. The working-class girl, wrongly thinking that their "just friends" status was her idea, sets up rules in the car, which she, nevertheless, hopes Dex will break during the course of their vacation. Chronologically, "One Day" begins in 1998, six years after Dex almost declares his love for Emma while skinny-dipping in a man-made lagoon. This explains why the then-struggling novelist would swim regularly in public pools. Being water-bound, being wet and chlorinated, for Emma, who passes the time with an unfunny stand-up comedian she doesn't love, puts her in communion with that sensual night in the partitioned brine where Dex almost put class differences aside and finally started being honest with himself. It's the best she can do during the intervening years that the star-crossed friends part company, on account of the talk show host's many demons. If only Emma had better musical taste. Ten years earlier, had it not been for a fatal mistake in setting the right romantic mood for a dormitory room tryst, when she sets the needle down on "Talkin' Bout a Revolution", Tracy Chapman's rabble-rousing call for a poor people's insurrection against bourgeoisie types like Dex. Indeed, he heeds the singer-songwriter's warning to "run...," while Emma, the amateur seductress, brushes her teeth for a man that feels nothing about the great unwashed "standing in the welfare lines". Because she had missed Dex's attempt to sneak out of the room, as a consequence, the gawky woman with the dubious pedigree would resign herself to being his personal stooge. If only Emma knew how close he came to humiliating her former novice lover-self. Jessie would put up with Tracy Chapman. Just hear the music he has to put up with. Making up the itinerary as they go along, the improvising tourists end up at a record shop, where in the listening booth, Celine cues up Kath Bloom's "Come Here", which isn't Jessie's cup of tea at all, but the folk singer's lilting voice starts to work on the American, and in an instant, he falls irrevocably in love with the strange girl, whom initially, he probably just wanted to seduce. As day turns to night, they find an outdoor cafe, and while they talk and drink coffee, a fortune teller approaches their table, then proceeds to read Celine's palm. After the old woman leaves, the cynical American, so eager to unmask the hag as a charlatan, enacts his idea of an honest palm reading, predicting Celine's future with uncanny accuracy, since in "Before Sunset", her days indeed had become "a tedious collection of hours," but she has only herself to blame. Whereas Dex has social class issues, Celine had dismissed Jessie for being American. She cursed herself. In all likelihood, Celine probably made up the story about why she missed their appointed rendezvous in December on that same Viennese railway. Even before Celine's reservations about the US calcified into a hardline anti-American stance, you hear the snobbery in her younger self when she lampoons our collective persona during the club scene with the pretend phones. Celine all but admits her mistake when she tells Jessie, "...you just believe they'll be many people whom you'll connect with," adding, with a grimmer face, that "later in life, you realize it only happens a few times." For Dex too, "young and stupid" like Celine, it only dawns on him later in life how he missed out on true love, due to his petty prejudices. He could have written the waltz. When Celine sings, "It was for you just a one-night thing," the performer actually means "me", since it was she who had wrongly dismissed the idea of eternity in a day. Dexter knows the feeling. As a result, both Jessie and Emma wrote about the great loves of their lives, so careless in handling hearts. Expand
  6. Jul 15, 2013
    4
    One Day is a fairly entertaining romance drama all the way up until it's final reel. It's well shot, with some fun references to 90's culture. That said, the movie spreads itself too thin by covering such a huge 23 year time-span. There just isn't much detail covered here. Then the ending totally sinks the ship, leaving the picture feeling pointless and mean-spirited.
  7. Oct 14, 2011
    4
    In 1988 Emma played by Anne Hathaway and Dexter played by Jim Sturgess meet in her apartment to celebrate their graduation, they don't make love but decide to have their friendship kept. Till 2006 they try to make a life socially and professionally. He fails at both levels, he loses his job and get divorced after having a baby girl. On the other track Emma works in a restaurant and later becomes a writer, socially she never finds real love. Both are in contact, even when apart for 16 years, till 2004 where they come to live together again. She cannot have a baby from him and is killed in 2006 when run over by a bus while riding her bike. The script is boring, the audience has to count the years one by one from 1988 to 2006. No real events or attraction for most of the 108 min, the years count may be faster, even the death of Emma is not justified unless it is meant as a shock to wake everybody up. Globally bad and disappointing movie. Expand
  8. Dec 1, 2011
    5
    Sadly this misses all the way around. Anne Hathaway's accent is horrid and it never gets better during the entire film. Her performance is pretty damn good but that accent kills it. There are gaps in the screenplay that make you scratch your head for a moment. The very sad thing is that Patricia Clarkson who is excellent in the few scenes she is on the screen is for the most part wasted by the director. Scherfig lost control or vision with this project. Expand
  9. Aug 26, 2011
    1
    Alright first off i never saw myself seeing this movie but i had to because its what my girlfriend and her friends chose and i knew from the start my night was over then. This movie sucked, it was seriously boring, i couldnt even believe how much this movie sucked. The only reason i give it a 1 is because Anne Hathaway was in it and shes a good actress but this movie was definitely not her best. This movie was boring, stupid and the ending is really tragic. The story was dumb and made no sense at all. I didnt enjoy one secomd of this film, dont see this unless you wish to kill yourself with a stupid, tragic, horribly made romantic film with a dumb story, BOMB Expand
  10. Aug 31, 2011
    5
    While the characters seemed very real, likeable and down-to-earth, there seemed to be something missing from the film - it felt very flat. The two main characters' up-and-down relationship does gain a lot of empathy with the audience, and you're almost willing them to hurry up and be together. It's a great story about loving someone who doesn't really feel the same way and so is easily relatable. The style is quite unique too, spanning events that happen on a certain date over 13 years. And this is also the film's downfall - there's not much time to get to know the characters and the consequences of their actions in that one day time frame. The themes are also very universal - the struggle to find happiness in life and in oneself, and the all too hard search for love. Some great performances, especially by Jim Sturgess. Anne Hathaway's accent is a bit hit-and-miss, one minute being quite "BBC English" then going northern. Not a soppy rom-com film either, which I was expecting, but brings more feelings of nostalgia than anything - maybe that's why it stirs up emotions of regret than anything else and makes you think more about how your own life is shaping up..... Expand
  11. Aug 10, 2012
    5
    this is movie is very tragic and for me it too much because don't need a lot of thing and other thing that there is no why because them only see one time a year, i know that the story is about but there is many others opicion but ok
  12. Sep 12, 2011
    5
    Skip-it - It's refreshing to see some apt plot twists in a romdramcom, but the book is much more affective than this script - which even Anne Hathaway can't influence.
  13. Sep 14, 2011
    9
    I'm shocked at how much justice this did to the book and for that, it's a hugely commendable film. The acting was fantastic and it's a major enjoyable Sunday evening film.
  14. Nov 26, 2011
    3
    If there was one word to describe One Day it would be unmemorable. Its a film that you can forget as soon as you finish watching it. The story is generic despite the novelty of the way its told, its let down by some poor casting (Anne Hathaway, Patricia Clarkson) and it just feels incomplete. It tells the story of Emma and Dexter who meet in the late 80s on the day they graduate university. From that point on the film shows you where there lives have taken them on the same day for 20 years. If this sounds interesting, it is....to start with. After a while it wears off and you realise you are getting snapshots of a story, it doesn't feel fully formed. The acting worked in parts but Anne Hathaway's ability to make British sound anything but does tend to annoy (especially if you're British). The film feels like its building to a grand purpose in its final moments but it never arrives. That may be the intent of the writer, the idea that life will continue but overall it just emphasises the point that the film is empty, toothless and a colossal waste of time. Expand
  15. Dec 16, 2011
    5
    Anne Hathaway's accent is horrible, but that did not kill the movie for me. There was more missing from this movie than just a proper accent. The acting isn't bad, in fact it is often very good, particularly on Sturgess's part.... the setting, the costumes, the way the film is shot, the cinematography... all good. However, the chemistry between the actors was nonexistent, which is a huge problem in a film that is all about the chemistry between the two main characters. While Anne Hathaway can sometimes act, she isn't very enthralling or charismatic generally, and less so in this film. And so, in this movie, where her character is a bit of a bore and a prude, it just became hard to care about her at all. Nor could I understand why the Jim Sturgess character was so in love with her.... I think if they had cast an actress with more spark and personality, not to mention a better accent, this movie would have had so been so much better. Instead, I didn't feel much for this movie. Expand
  16. Jan 15, 2012
    10
    Horrific. The writers and director of this movie display a complete lack of understanding of real human feelings and motivations. You have to believe that the main character portrayed by Hathaway is incapable of cultivating real feelings and real friendships, not to mention love.
  17. Feb 16, 2012
    6
    I just saw the film last night. Some scenes of the movie are beautiful. But they still don't make it a good film. What is the film trying to tell us? I don't really get it. Some conversations are boring, and I nearly fell asleep. And how can Emma DIE that way at last? It's just not logic. Anne Hathaway has done great work in The Devil wears Prada, but not this time. If you want to see some romantic movies, don't waste your time to see this one, Midnight in Paris will be a good choice for you. Expand
  18. Feb 15, 2012
    3
    I don't know what to make of this film. The start of the film I found was so boring, accents seemed like people in Britain sound like pompous arses,and it took me a while to get into the film. It wasn't the greatest film at all but I was surprising left feeling "affected" by this film, I realised how grateful I am that I have and can bear my own children without any worries and that life can be over just like that. That surprised me, the twist in the story. Best part of the film, was the ending. Expand
  19. Feb 20, 2012
    7
    It's definitly a valentine's day movie. It's interesting to see how the director change Jim Sturgess from a arrogant selfish jerk to a classy middle-aged man. Even if I'm french I heard Anne Hathaway's bad brittish accent when I watched the english version. Too bad that they choose an american actress to play Emma.
  20. May 26, 2012
    10
    This movie is amazing, I enjoyed it a lot. The location, the actors, the bittersweet feelings. A movie that makes me laugh and cry.. this movies is incredible. It deserves a higher score.
  21. Oct 4, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Art is a promise. "Stendhal" Promises of One day A somewhat average looking woman, but kind of holds something special in her. Not quite tangible (1. you can be special even if you are average). She is good natured and somewhat pure. She meets drunk cool/jerky guy at the night of graduation and they go in her flat, nothing happened they just shared the bed and decided to be friends. They part ways but remain friends with somewhat special connection. He proceeds to have rich boy, somewhat showbiz next few years, he **** a lot and does quite a bit of drinking and some other drugs. She works cheap jobs to survive but all the time wanting to write. She hooks up with some guy that worked with her in some cheap dining place, he is good natured and caring, but nothing else. After a while she breaks up with the dude and goes to Paris. There she founds a French guy and has somewhat shallow relationship with him. The cool guy goes to meet her in Paris, unaware of the situation and bummed from end of his serious (sort off) relationship. Now is the big promise, the meeting was portrayed with the female in dominant position, where she feels power shagging in shallow relationship while man has some shame from his previous endeavors(2. Strong chain on women's freedom - inability to shag without getting a stain on your vagina IS NO MORE, while man who had that privilege HAS LOST IT). Cool guys mother is sick. She is dying. Before her death he visits, sometimes under influence. She is disappointed in him, mostly with his career choice - host of a show that young watch in late hours, with women in cages dancing and stuff. She dies, making him very unhappy(3. Not fulfilling others expectations will horribly backfire and the best thing is to walk the shown road). Somewhere here I dozed off but I suppose they end up together and become happy and stuff(4. Even if you are average, someone will see something special in you, and it is possible that even the strongest among the men can find beauty in you and that they will obey you and change under your influence). TLDR - and conclusion-big teenage girl **** that I watched because female friend of mine (after this ex-friend) nominated this as best movie ever against my nomination: Korean "My sassy girl", if you want a good movie go watch that **** You might like this movie, but he will not teach you nothing good, this movie makes a world worse place. For humanity sake it would be better if this movie was never made and that messages that it sends never lived. In other aspects an OK film, but I don't care for that **** so I give it a 3. Expand
  22. Feb 13, 2013
    6
    An average movie, would not recommend it, it claims to be a love story but at no point watching it did I care or find myself rooting for either of the main characters. Since seeing Les Miserables I now know the true strength of Anne Hathaway's acting skills but this this film does nothing for her but showcase her bad Yorkshire accent
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 41
  2. Negative: 4 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Ian Freer
    Aug 22, 2011
    60
    It may not truly capture the complexities of its source material but One Day is funny, winning and entertaining - if little else.
  2. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Aug 22, 2011
    40
    In short, this popular love story isn't much of a story, and falls badly short on love.
  3. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Aug 20, 2011
    63
    The effort is admirable, the movie not so much, and yet, contrary to most pictures, it does improve towards the end. At least a little.