Our Idiot Brother

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 101 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 101
  2. Negative: 9 out of 101

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Sep 21, 2011
    4
    Typical precious indie comedy, way too pleased with itself to make it worth watching. It's one of those films the critics love to love, but audiences don't really enjoy.
  2. Aug 27, 2011
    6
    It's a fun movie with plenty of laughs - Rudd doesn't cross the line into annoying. He's a good foil from which to call his sisters' faults into focus, and they are all terrific. Coogan is hilarious as the jerk husband. And Ned's ex-girlfriend and her BF are awesome. So go in with modest expectations and you'll enjoy this.
  3. Aug 29, 2011
    6
    As a rule of thumb, I like quirky movies. The ones that work best are over the top quirky (a la Little Miss Sunshine). I wish this movie would have taken it one step further into quirkiness. It was a little too serious at times with long stretches of no humor, but still held my interest. I thought the best part of the movie were the scenes with Billy, played by T. J. Miller. He playedAs a rule of thumb, I like quirky movies. The ones that work best are over the top quirky (a la Little Miss Sunshine). I wish this movie would have taken it one step further into quirkiness. It was a little too serious at times with long stretches of no humor, but still held my interest. I thought the best part of the movie were the scenes with Billy, played by T. J. Miller. He played the over the top stereotypical hippie to perfection. I wish the other characters were as over the top as he was and were as memorable. I did like Paul Rudd in his role and overall the movie works, but could have been better. Expand
  4. Dec 29, 2011
    6
    Our Idiot Brother is a good-hearted movie, with a great cast. After a while though, you just start wishing it would go somewhere, or at least a little deeper. It's totally enjoyable- Ned is so lovable and so familiar you can just feel him throughout the movie. The whole cast is so familiar that you can just feel like it's your own family battle going on. But halfway through the movie, IOur Idiot Brother is a good-hearted movie, with a great cast. After a while though, you just start wishing it would go somewhere, or at least a little deeper. It's totally enjoyable- Ned is so lovable and so familiar you can just feel him throughout the movie. The whole cast is so familiar that you can just feel like it's your own family battle going on. But halfway through the movie, I was able to see how the general events would fold out, and there didn't really turn out to be too many surprises along the way. While the writing was great and the casting was fantastic, there was a lack of depth to the story that left me feeling really disappointed. Expand
  5. Aug 31, 2011
    4
    I'd like to blame the aimlessness of this flick on the script but honestly there was plenty of acting that could have been done to save the movie..and it just wasn't. The interesting cast including Steve Coogan, Zoe Deshanel, Paul Rudd, Rashida Jones and Elizabeth Banks turn in uneven performances. Banks and Jones deliver when they are allowed on screen but they aren't allowed to gel withI'd like to blame the aimlessness of this flick on the script but honestly there was plenty of acting that could have been done to save the movie..and it just wasn't. The interesting cast including Steve Coogan, Zoe Deshanel, Paul Rudd, Rashida Jones and Elizabeth Banks turn in uneven performances. Banks and Jones deliver when they are allowed on screen but they aren't allowed to gel with other characters. Meanwhile Rudd--who is funny and charming in the flick--delivers a cartoonish performance that throws off the balance of the rest of the cast. Steve Coogan, a fave of mine, is put to poor use as a dour, cheating husband. And Zoe Deshanel, who is given an extremely compelling character still thinks that opening her eyes wider is acting. She mumbles her way through the piece. This performance is even worse than the one she delivered in all-time-terrible flick The Happening. *Cringe* How does she still get work? The director needed to decide here between cute and real and the decision was never made. It is a trend in indie comedies that needs to die quickly. See--Cedar Rapids, Cyrus, Greenburg. All had a spark of something but could not pick a side. The funniest moment in the movie comes while the credits role. Take that for what you will. Expand
  6. Sep 20, 2011
    4
    Very average, middle of the road movie. I wasn't expecting much, and didn't receive much. Rudd's performance was admirable, but his sisters were weak...especially Elizabeth Banks. The screenplay needed plenty of work but never got it. It's a shame because Paul Rudd deserves better than to be stuck in a tiresome film that was billed as a laugh out loud comedy...hardly!
  7. Nov 6, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Too American for me/the only 3 people in the film who were not attractive. The mother, the policeman at the market at start and the policeman who closed the jail cell 2wards the end. In a family there are all sizes and looks, not in this one-typically American. Could have done more to make it FUNNY because it wasn't. I agree with BobbyG it is the one critics love to love but the everyday person doesn't really. Expand
  8. May 18, 2012
    6
    Laughs were had but they were few and far between and merely chuckles every now and then. While this isn't a bad film (it's not exceptional either) I didn't find it to be particularly funny. I would classify it more as an independent spiritual awakening with an element of dramatic flair than anything else. The cardboard storyline and simple dialog won't win any awards but the charactersLaughs were had but they were few and far between and merely chuckles every now and then. While this isn't a bad film (it's not exceptional either) I didn't find it to be particularly funny. I would classify it more as an independent spiritual awakening with an element of dramatic flair than anything else. The cardboard storyline and simple dialog won't win any awards but the characters themselves are quite interesting especially Paul Rudd who portrays the lead as the "idiot brother". It's no surprise this flick debuted at Sundance as it emulates that indie vibe. Expand
  9. Nov 7, 2012
    5
    Paul Rudd's likability saves this one from disaster. The sisters aren't well thought out, and that's a big whoops, since they're a major part of the movie. Zooey Deschanel does what she can with her role, but it still felt sloppy to me.
  10. Apr 22, 2013
    6
    This was better than I had expected. I love Paul Rudd and would marry him in a heartbeat so him just being in a movie makes me somewhat enjoy it. This movie was alright while you were watching it but it's utterly forgettable. You will barely remember it the next day.
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 39
  2. Negative: 2 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Sep 1, 2011
    50
    Ultimately a shambling tale told with genial grace but little substance. It provides a pleasant buzz while it unfolds but vanishes quickly in a puff of smoke.
  2. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Aug 28, 2011
    50
    The ensemble is unwieldy and the attendant yarn much too cluttered.
  3. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Aug 26, 2011
    75
    Watching Rudd bring dimension to what could have been a clownish caricature is the best reason to see this good-natured family comedy.