Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Katie Walsh
    Jul 18, 2013
    91
    An illuminating and often hilarious portrayal of the man and his myth, and those who surrounded him.
  2. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Sep 6, 2013
    80
    Watergate has never really gone away for those of us who lived through it, and, in Penny Lane's Our Nixon, a shrewdly edited collection of news footage and "home movies" taken by members of the Nixon White House staff, there they are again, our familiars. [9 Sept.2013, p.91]
  3. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Aug 27, 2013
    80
    Having a backstage view of the momentous trip to China adds color, but the real takeaway here is a tone of dawning tragedy, sourness sneaking into even the most innocuous of visual records.
  4. Reviewed by: Staff [Not Credited]
    Jul 18, 2013
    80
    It's a haunting, thoroughly evocative ride.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Sep 6, 2013
    75
    We get to see film of daughter Tricia’s wedding (her father is a surprisingly agile ballroom dancer) and other oddities. We also hear more of the famous audiotapes than usual. You’ll be interested to know that Nixon, not in praise, referred to Henry Kissinger as a “swinger.”
  6. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Aug 30, 2013
    75
    Our Nixon seems to be more interested in evoking emotional than intellectual responses.
  7. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Aug 30, 2013
    75
    A more nuanced picture of the only president to resign from office emerges in Penny Lane’s clever documentary.
  8. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Aug 29, 2013
    75
    At its best moments, Our Nixon captures the split-personality of the times, and the apparently innocent face of corruption.
  9. Reviewed by: A.A. Dowd
    Aug 28, 2013
    75
    The results are akin to seeing the Nixon presidency through the eyes of his top aides; it’s as much a portrait of innocence lost as a behind-closed-doors exposé.
  10. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Aug 29, 2013
    70
    It isn’t a terribly intimate portrait of Haldeman, Ehrlichman, Chapin, or Nixon, but it is revealing in its own right, as a fascinatingly warped and aged Polaroid of an epic life that’s grown more compelling with the passage of time.
  11. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Aug 27, 2013
    70
    In the end, though, Our Nixon is an elusive piece of work. It doesn't add much to our understanding of the man himself, though admittedly, there may not be much more that we want or need to know, anyway.
  12. Reviewed by: Staff [Not Credited]
    Jul 18, 2013
    70
    A brisk, eye-opening documentary about the Nixon White House as seen from the inside, this triumph of editing is composed of home movies shot by the president’s staff, accompanied by later TV interviews and priceless audio from the secret tapes, making it a must-see for anyone interested in Americana.
  13. Reviewed by: Tomas Hachard
    Jul 18, 2013
    63
    Our Nixon never completely overcomes the disappointment of its recovered video, but it nevertheless offers a compelling portrait of Nixon and those close to him, one that captures how willfully blind they often were to their excesses, and how paranoid they were about apparent threats to them and America as a whole.
  14. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Aug 29, 2013
    60
    Pieced together, these behind-the-scenes moments are a thrill for history buffs. From the moon landing to the resignations, this is raw Nixon.

There are no user reviews yet.