Out Cold Image
Metascore
22

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 60 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 15
  2. Negative: 11 out of 15
  1. A good-natured, gleefully juvenile comedy in the tradition of such classic snowbound fare as 1984's "Hot Dog: The Movie."
  2. This sophomoric little gimmick picture -- although at times, serving as no more than a showcase for daredevil snowboarding -- provides enough powder power to keep the audience laughing, even over the rocky parts.
  3. 50
    A cheerfully dopey snobs vs. slobs teen comedy.
  4. Reviewed by: Carla Meyer
    25
    A purposely inane mishmash of maudlin love story, gastrointestinal gags and shredding snowboard scenes, Out Cold has a couple of laughs but mostly wipes out.
  5. About as arousing as an icy shower.
  6. I can't imagine why anyone would pay money to see this sorry excuse for a film, which plays more like a home movie than something from cinema professionals.
  7. What can you say about a movie that includes its outtake bloopers reel before the closing credits?

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. May 17, 2011
    10
    Out Cold! Incredibly hilarious movie.Come on it features Zach Galafanakis waking up and realizes he is getting his junked licked by a polarOut Cold! Incredibly hilarious movie.Come on it features Zach Galafanakis waking up and realizes he is getting his junked licked by a polar bear, need I say more? Expand
  2. AaronT.
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    Freakin awesome and funny movie.
  3. NICHeath
    Jun 4, 2003
    10
    I love this movie! I want to know what the name of the song is though - you know, "their song" from Mexico - if anyone knows email me .... Thanks!
  4. Mikeyp.
    Sep 13, 2006
    10
    By far my favorite movie of all time... Especially after seeing "Casablanca." If you haven't seen Casablanca, Out Cold took that same By far my favorite movie of all time... Especially after seeing "Casablanca." If you haven't seen Casablanca, Out Cold took that same plot and made it hip! Expand
  5. TylerL
    May 10, 2006
    9
    Well lets just start off by saying, island of the sun is a hell of a song, took me a while to find it, but i got it. But to the movie, it is Well lets just start off by saying, island of the sun is a hell of a song, took me a while to find it, but i got it. But to the movie, it is a very good movie, hillarious. Expand
  6. Oct 14, 2010
    2
    I gave it a 2 because that's how many times I laughed. The characters were so lame I ended up rooting for the bad guys. I even went out backI gave it a 2 because that's how many times I laughed. The characters were so lame I ended up rooting for the bad guys. I even went out back and got stoned and watched it again and it still sucked. The snowboarding was cool, but why not just watch snowboarding and lose the rest of the junk. Expand
  7. Aug 11, 2011
    0
    My friends told me that I *had* to see this movie because it was so unbelievably hilarious. I have to agree with the critics on this one: "OutMy friends told me that I *had* to see this movie because it was so unbelievably hilarious. I have to agree with the critics on this one: "Out Cold" is so bad that it isn't even fun to watch as a joke. It is one of the most thoroughly unfunny comedies I have ever seen. How bad does a script have to be to make Zach Galifianakis unfunny? This bad. Collapse

See all 37 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. When Film Critics and Movie Fans Disagree

    When Film Critics and Movie Fans Disagree Image
    Published: August 10, 2011
    Sometimes, movie reviewers as a group appear to be out of sync with Metacritic users. We look at the films with the biggest discrepancies between professional critic scores and the user consensus.